Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practise to deceive!
Richard North Patterson, in my humble opinion, wrote the two best courtroom novels ever written "Degree of Guilt" and "Eyes of a Child" . Then something disappointing happened, his latter books became unreadable. I was pleased to read the reviews of "In the Name of Honor" and gave it a try two years ago. While not quite up to the old standards, still a very well written...
Published on February 11, 2012 by Nitty's Mom

versus
47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A BAD novel only made tolerable by the talent of author
Over ten years ago, I wrote my first novel. It was a rambling epic filled with long passages of flashbacks that tied intimately into the present day. The inspiration for my writing style at the time was Richard North Patterson. He's always been one of my favorites, and I even enjoyed his political novels even when I didn't agree with the politics. FALL FROM GRACE...
Published on February 15, 2012 by Bill Garrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way below par!, April 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It must have been difficult to write, but the book is depressing, not entertaining, and way below Richard North Patterson's usual standard. It's hardly a read for any purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Thriller, February 15, 2012
This review is from: Fall from Grace: A Novel (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've read quite a few of Richard North Patterson's thrillers, and always found them smart, and engaging and fast-paced. It's probably been a decade since I sampled on and was pleasantly surprised to find that Patterson, unlike so many of his equally prolific and well-known peers, is still turning out fun, readable fiction.

One of the things I always really liked about North Patterson's novels is that though he definitely writes in a genre, thrillers with a legal angle, his books aren't formulaic. Or, with just a couple of exceptions, endless sequels, exploiting the same main character. In fact, one of North Patterson's quirks is that he frequently takes a minor character from a former book, one that may have been barely mentioned in a previous story, and makes them the center of a future story. Because I haven't read his work in so long, I can't say if he did this in FALL FROM GRACE, but I did think it was a neat insider Easter egg for loyal readers, while not off-putting to newcomers to his work who needn't know the character's already presented (often slight) backstory to get into the current book.

Like many of North Patterson's works, FALL FROM GRACE is set in New England, specifically Martha's Vineyard, and delves into class conflict. Unlike many, the legal system is not precisely at its center, though there are definite explorations of legal issues. The main character is a law school dropout but this isn't a courtroom drama. The story of a family whose author patriarch has pretty much alienated his entire clan, gives them one final burn from beyond with a will that disinherits the bulk of his "loved" ones, including the always loyal wife and shunned son and older brother. When it comes to light the father's literal fall from a cliff on the family land was no accident, just about every one except totally estranged, and absent, son Adam, is a suspect. As Adam attempts to protect his mother and brother, family secrets are revealed, and Adam's own demons are explored.

It's a compelling, riveting popcorn-movie sort of story that I found a very quick and enjoyable read. I was interested in the well-fleshed out characters and wanted to keep reading to find out the various mysteries, both large and small, North Patterson sets up for them. It's a classic, fun whodunit, with plenty of twists and other elements to hold your interest.

This isn't deep or mind-bending and it doesn't even come close to being a genre-defining effort, but it is a fun, enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sooooo many lies and secrets within one family, February 14, 2012
This review is from: Fall from Grace: A Novel (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I am a fan of Richard North Patterson prior books so I was very happy to read this new book. Adam Blaine left Martha Vineyard a decade ago, vowing to never return for reasons only his father, the best selling novelist, Ben Blaine knew. Now Ben Blaine has suddenly died, forcing Adam to return to support his mother and brother through this difficult time.

So many questions arise; was Ben pushed off the cliff? Why did he disinherit his wife of 40 years and his son, Teddy? Adam goes in search of the answers and raises more questions than answers. As Adam moves through the web, secrets and lies unfold; and no one is as they seemed.

This was an enjoyable book, with twists and turns. Who killed Ben; you will have to read the book to find the answer to this and all the other mysteries that arise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unpleasant Stop at Martha's Vineyard, February 9, 2012
This review is from: Fall from Grace: A Novel (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Adam, an "agricultural consultant" who is working in Afghanistan, flies home to attend his father's funeral. They've been estranged for 10 years, and Adam finds it's easier to bury his father's body than the problems he's left behind. Faced with a disinherited mother, a brother who could be facing a murder charge, and his father's latest girlfriend, who stands to get most of the estate, Adam is more concerned with protecting his family than seeking justice.

This interesting psychological thriller borders on noir without quite making the leap. It features a large cast of characters, all of whom are intriguingly flawed, and none of whom is particularly likeable. I think Adam is the weak point of the story, because while he's entitled to be wounded and edgy given the circumstances, he comes across as smug, snide, and rather obnoxious.

Although told in third-person, the whole story is seen from Adam's eyes. Consequently, we get a lot of exposure to his feelings and emotions as he uncovers more and more family secrets. But the sentiments get very repetitive, and we hear over and over how he hates his father, and hates his father, and hates his father. We learn just how similar the two are, which builds into a gripping story. But it also makes it more difficult to journey along with Adam, with nothing to counterbalance his unrelenting cynicism.

Patterson masterfully uses flashbacks to slowly reveal festering truths, destroy delicate facades, and built tension. There are plenty of jolting surprises without overusing red herrings. It's very well written, just not very comfortable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Painfully Slow Mystery With "Dark" Characters, February 10, 2012
This review is from: Fall from Grace: A Novel (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a book were you plod along and wait for something to happen and very little does. Adam Blaine is a covert government agent working on an assignment in Afghanistan and is called home because his father (Ben) has died. Adam abruptly left 10 years prior and hadn't spoken to his father since. He finds that his father either fell, was pushed or committed suicide from a cliff. The police highly suspect foul play and their prime suspect is Adam's brother Teddy.

Adam is mysteriously selected the executor of the estate and a new will has cut off Ben's wife (Clarice) and Teddy. Additionally the will has left most of Ben's estate to his mistress (Carla) and smaller amounts to Adam's ex-girlfriend (Jenny) and to Adam himself. As Adam apparently hates his father and doesn't care how he died, he is also fearful for Teddy and wants to clear him of all charges. Therefore he decides to open his own investigation.

This is just at the beginning of the book. The rest of the book moves at a snail's pace and you keep expecting Adam to get into a battle or something based on his training but this never happens. All the people involved are very "dark" and the most "dark" is Adam himself. It seems like Adam has all the feelings of a stone. The reader never really cares for the characters, even when the author reveals how each character became the way they are it does not change the reader's opinion.

The author's style also sometimes gets in the way and the overuse of flashbacks gets annoying. There were also some inconsistancies is the story that I noticed and this could be because it was an uncorrected proof. Most of these inconsistancies did not detract from the story (I seemed to be confused when Adam was playing the last hole in a round of golf with Ben as it seemed like it said that Ben put his ball 10 yards past Adam's. Then they later tee-off on the hole so did Ben tee off 10 yards in front of Adam or did they replay the hole?).

Anyway, by the time we learn what actually happened on the cliff the reader really doesn't care (I guess we become like Adam) Also, it seems to have been taken more from a soap opera plot than real life. Further, how Adam is able to obtain information from the DA's office seemed to be like something you would expect from an episode of Desperate Housewives. I barely give this one 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vineyard read, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fall from Grace (Paperback)
Enjoyed. A good story about a not so perfect family. Bonus it's based on the Vineyard a place I love to vist whenever I can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, August 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fall from Grace (Kindle Edition)
It took me a long time before I started to read this author's work but again I was captivated with the story which kept me intrigued to the very end. Well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio Made The Road Trip More Bearable, August 13, 2012
This review is from: Fall from Grace: A Novel (Hardcover)
Interesting story that kept our attention on a cross country road trip...The story was a bit slow in the beginning like many are but the writer made it interesting enough to continue listening and it got better...A little bit of a soap opera but with a big twist at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fall From Grace, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this book very much. It had just enough twist and turns to keep your interest in solving the death. Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Critique of Fall From Grace, August 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fall from Grace (Kindle Edition)
Gripping thriller of a family in turmoil following the death of thier matriarch. The cause of his death is a puzzle leaving the reader anxious to discover the true reason when three possibilities exist. The changing of his last will is also a mystery which keeps the pages turning to enjoy his son's endeavours to solve the puzzle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fall from Grace: A Novel
Fall from Grace: A Novel by Richard North Patterson (Hardcover - March 20, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.