Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history
One of Crankshaw's best, this forthrightly conservative and sympathetic book is premised on the idea that, whatever its faults, Austria's solution to the problems of nationalism and the Balkans were not self-evidently worse than what followed in Europe. He's deliberately rebutting A.J.P. Taylor, as he also does in his biography of Bismarck.

But Crankshaw is...
Published on February 7, 2008 by A. Lowry

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Euridite opinionated read
3 out of 5. I purchased this book so that I could better appreciate a visit to Austria and I was not disappointed. I recommend for the non-historian, that a less scholarly read is perused first, as this book is chock-full of characters and so broad in scope and rich in description, that it is easy to lose track of people, places, and events. I took notes to better keep...
Published on October 6, 2007 by B. C. Flick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history, February 7, 2008
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
One of Crankshaw's best, this forthrightly conservative and sympathetic book is premised on the idea that, whatever its faults, Austria's solution to the problems of nationalism and the Balkans were not self-evidently worse than what followed in Europe. He's deliberately rebutting A.J.P. Taylor, as he also does in his biography of Bismarck.

But Crankshaw is too good a writer, and too intelligent, to beat a hobbyhorse. He writes magisterially of Franz Josef's reign and the many personalities who came and went. His description of the Franco-Austrian war is particularly good.

Readable and humane -- not to be missed by anyone who enjoys history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little special pleading but still good, January 8, 2008
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
Edward Crankenshaw's sympathetic history of the last decades of the Habsburg Empire is an excellent and informative read and good to keep along side the equally good but slightly too harsh history by AJP Taylor. The one criticism of the book is that the author shows an obvious sympathy with the dynasty rather than simply relating the story. Comments on the Hungarians and reference to their manipulation and abuse of the 1867 Compromise to their own benefit are spoken in a censorious manner. The facts may be true but the Hungarians had a number of good reasons for not being crazy about the Empire or its ruling dynasty. To expect anything other than temporary and conditional loyalty from them is expecting too much from a nation the dynasty would have destroyed if it could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B.Wells, Esquire, reviews The Fall of the House of Habsburg, December 13, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
This is a marvelous little history of one of the great royal dynasties of Eurpoe which came to an end with the First World War.
Proof of the universal appeal of this book and Crankshaw's writing style lies in the fact that this reviewer has read the book at three different times in his life (once as an undergraduate, another time at the conclusion of law school and yet another time about a year ago). Even though each of these three readings occurred at times when the reviewer's outlook and background on the subject matter was quite different, he derived pleasure and something new with each reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Euridite opinionated read, October 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
3 out of 5. I purchased this book so that I could better appreciate a visit to Austria and I was not disappointed. I recommend for the non-historian, that a less scholarly read is perused first, as this book is chock-full of characters and so broad in scope and rich in description, that it is easy to lose track of people, places, and events. I took notes to better keep track of the lineage of the Hapsburg rulers and my subsequent impressions of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grand and impressive historical narrative, September 25, 2012
By 
exurbanite (Inverness, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
Although first published almost a half century ago, this remains an authoritative and highly readable account of the gradual decline and final fall of the Habsburg empire. Crankshaw provides a colorful and detailed account of the endless intrigues, conspiracies and machinations that characterized relations among the European powers in the 19th and early 20th century, culminating, of course, in World War I.

The Austrian monarchy had a dual problem unique to the Europe of the period: it was forced to thread its way through complicated foreign maneuverings; even more essential, it had to cope with and balance the multiple rivalries and interests of the ethnic groups that composed the Empire itself. Franz Josef, the decent and dedicated, if unimaginative, monarch slowly lost out on both counts. His rule, which lasted for 68 years, included wars lost first to Italy and France and then to Bismarck's Germany. Domestically, his ministers, many of them bumbling aristocrats, failed to come to grips with the rising nationalist ambitions of the Magyars and the varied Slavic language groups.

Crankshaw is not shy about exposing his biases. He admires Franz Josef `s courage and diligence while acknowledging his shortcomings. He takes an opposite view of Bismarck, respecting his brilliance, but recognizing the catastrophic long term damage his aggressiveness and militance brought to Europe. He despises the Magyars for their ruthlessness and narrow-minded assertion of their parochial interests.

Crankshaw crams a huge amount of historical detail into the space of 420 pages. Occasionally, his elaborate prose runs afoul of the point he is trying to convey. Occasionally, also, he assumes a greater background knowledge of the period than the reader is likely to bring. These, however, are minor flaws, in what is a grand and impressive historical narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars all you ever wanted to know about the work-up to WWI, October 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
Even though this book was written over thirty years ago and the period has probably been subject to many revised histories, I found this book interesting because it gives the in-depth reasoning behind the actions of the various players. It includes lots of intrigues and gives a glimpse of flawed personalities. My only complaint is the writer uses personal pronouns when he should name the person and it's confusing to whom he's referring at times. It seems unbiased, but it's difficult to know if it really is without reading dozens of other books for the period. It is not a good book to go to sleep by, but is excellent when you feel the need to make yourself smarter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read!, March 13, 2014
By 
A. G Provencal "Armey" (Taunton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
I bought a paperback copy, 1963 Eagle books (subsidiary of Popular Library) at a country fair several years ago for .10 cents. I Just read it. Great popular history! Very entertaining. This is not a scholarly book. Nor is it a gossipy account of Franz Josef's life and loves. I learnt a lot from this book. I grew to love Franz Josef as pictured in this book. How much tragedy could one man take in a life time! Sort of like a Greek tragedy.
Even more than that this book is about Austria. Prior to Franz Josef's reign Austria was synonymous with the House of Hapsburg. The union with Hungary, in 1867, was both a positive factor and a negative factor, which saved Austria in the short run but doomed it in the long run. Mr. Crankshaw shows no pity on the Hungarians as the ultimate factor in the fall of the Hapsburg dynasty. Also the centrifugal force which was pulling the empire apart was nationalism. Nationalism was antithetical to the notion of a sovereign ruling many disparate peoples as their divinely appointed lord, liege king. Which Franz Josef sensed was inevitable after his passing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pro Historian Versus Pro Journalist, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
Well, maybe that's a silly title, but Crankshaw's book has to be compared with A.J.P. Taylor's and the latter was a professor.

I'm sure Taylor is better informed, but Crankshaw is the better writer. Unless you're doing a degree and specializing in the Hapsburg dynasty, I'd read Crankshaw.

Ditto for the biographies of Bismarck that both men wrote. Crankshaw is the more enjoyable read unless you're majoring in German history.

I read mostly fiction and poetry, and so am no judge of historical writing, but I think learned professors might consider that the common reader can be put off by too many obscure allusions and too much technical jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Less than expected, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Granted, the book is an older one; but, I was surprised that it was in poorer shape than indicated in the listing. Still in all, a good read for anyone interested in the final years of the Habsburg Empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best european history book ever, August 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fall of the House of Habsburg (Paperback)
the book is detailed and it is packed with very important
data if you are interested in how the map of europe
evolved and especially the events leading up to
WWI. the best i've ever read. highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fall of the House of Habsburg
The Fall of the House of Habsburg by Edward Crankshaw (Paperback - January 27, 1983)
$22.00 $17.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.