Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Andra Day $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services gotS5 gotS5 gotS5  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Metal Gear Solid 5 Big Savings in the Amazon Fall Sportsman Event STEM Toys & Games

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

111 of 121 people found the following review helpful
on November 8, 2010
A little background and disclaimer before we begin: I am a longtime fan of the Fallout series, having played the originals many times. I was one of the doubters, the nay-sayers of Fallout 3. This review is written from the perspective of a role player who places emphasis on quality world building, dialogue and voice acting. If the reader feels that other aspects of a game are more important when determining its quality, perhaps they should take the following with a grain of salt.

As always, my reviews are spoiler free.

GAMEPLAY

For players completely unfamiliar with Fallout 3 or New Vegas, the engine is very close to other games that Bethesda (its creator) has crafted. In a nutshell, this means that after the introductory sequence, the player is placed onto a large, 3D over-world map. The player immediately has the power to go wherever they please, if they can survive. Hundreds of points of interest populate the map, ranging in scope from a little hole in the wall gas station years beyond use, to the ruins of a factory, or even a populated, rebuilt remnant of the Las Vegas Strip.

Combat in this game is primarily focused on projectile weapons, though for this release Obsidian endeavored to make unarmed a viable combat option. They succeeded, by the way; it is a force to be reckoned with. However, most players will likely choose either Guns or Energy Weapons as their primary combat skill. This plays out as a typical 1st or 3rd person shooter (by preference) during combat. Players new to the FPS/RPG hybrid genre will likely complain that their shots are not aligned with the crosshairs, that they seem to fly about uncontrollably. This is intentional! In an RPG, the beginning character has a low combat skill that will improve as he or she gains experience, modeled after reality. If you don't like your weapons skill represented realistically, then use a cheat or pump up the skill as fast as possible. It doesn't need to ruin the experience.

If a player wishes to avoid combat, they can always run, or they can engage in the other primary facet of the role playing game: Talking! Speech is a powerful skill in this game, and can take the place of a primary combat skill for the advanced user. There are many ways to advance quest lines and plots sin violence in New Vegas, though if the player aims to get the most bang for their buck their first time through, they better sling a rifle over their shoulder and prepare to draw some blood.

One of the other alternatives to the standard FPS gameplay is the Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System (VATS). This allows the player to pause combat and assign shots to various targets and body parts. As a side note, unfortunately the eyes and groin did not return as targets from Fallout 2. VATS shots take up action points which slowly regenerate in real time. This system allows the player to fire in VATS, where the action is in a bullet-time like state, and then return to real time. Upon which they can either choose to let their AP regenerate again before firing, or to unload a fresh clip into the raider's face. Most players will choose the latter. Because of the balance issues that such a powerful tool creates, VATS has been significantly nerfed in New Vegas. It still functions normally at ranges of less than about 30 feet, but anywhere beyond that will yield dramatic drops in the players to hit percentage.

If you're familiar with the Fallout 3 engine, you will immediately be comfortable with New Vegas. This has its ups and downs. On the plus side, Obsidian was able to address many qualms that players had with the original engine. For instance, the companion interface is no longer solely dialogue based. When interacting with your companion, you will first see the Companion Wheel. This gives many helpful and oft used options for healing your character, inventory and tactics management, and dialogue initiation. If you prefer, the old dialogue menus are still easily accessible underneath the wheel, but they seem tired and clunky in comparison.

Obsidian also made an absolutely massive improvement in the way that the armor and damage systems work. Though simple, this completely changes much of the gameplay and improves the quality ten-fold. Without going into the mechanics of it all, a character with a very high armor rating, or "Damage Threshold," will not be damaged by a weapon without enough power to punch through the armor. No longer can one attack a giant scorpion's hardened carapace with a piddley 9mm spitball shooter and expect results. This allows power armor to be the power house it was meant to be. When you're wearing it you are a walking tank, not a house of cards.

Another major change concerns ammunition. If a weapon doesn't have enough oomph to get past the target's Damage Threshold (DT), the player has the option of using armor piercing rounds instead of stock ammo. These pierce through a targets armor but do slightly less damage overall. On the other end of the spectrum, hollow point rounds bounce off of stronger armor like petite peas, but punch inch wide holes in a target that isn't properly protected.

More on the negative side, the game's crafting system allows the player to take advantage of all the junk in this post apocalyptic world. You can craft food at a campfire, ammo at a munitions bench and other items at a work bench. This sounds like a very cool idea, but its execution was clumsy and uninteresting. Occasionally I converted ammo from one type to another, or I cooked up a nice wasteland omelet at the fireside, but more often than not the items that I could craft were available for purchase. When faced with the choice of hauling around junk across the desert (which can weigh a lot if you've got enough of it!) or keeping my weightless caps at the ready to purchase what I need, it was an easy choice. The only item that I relentlessly crafted as much as possible was the weapon repair kit. While I purchased as many as I could as well, there were just not enough to go around. The major advantage of the repair kit is that with one or two of them, you can increase the worth of a higher end weapon from around 30 caps at its lowest useable durability to potentially several thousand. This is a great money maker for the frugal traveler. However, even the mighty usefulness of this item wasn't enough to interest the reviewer to spelunk further into the dark reaches of what turned out to be an annoying and fairly useless system.

Finally, in a glorious stroke of brilliance, Obsidian created Hardcore Mode. This mode is separate from the normal difficulty settings of easy, normal, hard and so forth. Instead, this option changes fundamental gameplay aspects to make the game more realistic and challenging. The changes made by activating Hardcore Mode are: Stimpaks and RadAway heal over time instead of instantly. Ammunition has weight. Companions die permanently, they are not knocked out. In order to heal a crippled limb you must use a doctor's bag instead of a stimpak. And last but certainly not least, the player must eat, drink and sleep or suffer serious penalties and death! While this certainly sounds hardcore, the mode was quite a bit easier than expected. Upon reflection, this turns out to be a blessing, as it's not fun to be constantly scrounging around for water when you could be questing. Obsidian found a pleasant balance between forcing players to survive in a realistic desert and letting the player play the game.

Overall, New Vegas was fun to play, and that's what it really comes down to. I simply ignored the aspects of the game that I didn't feel were fun, and I didn't feel any sort of crafting shaped holes in my heart from doing so. 8/10

VISUALS

The graphics for this game are in the genre of stylized realism. They are not photorealistic, nor do they try to be. They present the game world in a realistic way with a slight artistic flair. Considering this, the graphics are dated, Obsidian barely touched them. This was likely a purposeful choice intended to allow more time for world building and writing. I could bore you with technicalities, or try to describe some of the landscape, but that wouldn't really replace the effect of looking at a few screenshots now would it? 6/10

ACOUSTICS

The soundtrack to this game is very good. With a highly atmospheric and ambient feel, the musical stylings of Inon Zur compliment the mood of the game quite well. The opening theme is a little generic in my opinion. Also, many of the locations in this game have music from the original Fallout and Fallout 2! This was a welcome surprise to say the least. In several areas I was moved by memories and feelings of the older games' atmosphere in ways that made me more deeply appreciate this new venture into the franchise.

Sound effects in this game were fairly standard. There were some minute complaints that arose as I played: Shouldn't such a large sniper rifle have a heartier boom? Why don't my enemies scream in agony as I tear them in half with a chainsaw? Is that really the sound a walking tank would make running on a steel floor? However, most of the sound was well done. A player shouldn't notice good sound effects; they should take them for granted because that's how a real world would function. That's exactly how it was in New Vegas.

The voice acting here was far above the caliber traditionally seen in partnerships or ventures by Bethesda. It was not quite up to the Bioware standard, but then, what is? There were only two instances where the voice acting threw me for a loop, and both of these were instances where a character switched to a different voice actor for a line and then switched back. One of these was in the final 4 minutes of the game. While expected in Bethesda's track record, Obsidian should do better. Come on guys. 7/10

THE GLITCH SECTION (DUN DUN DUN!!!)

Fallout: New Vegas has its share of technical boo boos, yes, but it's nothing like some would have you believe. Occasionally a user will have major problems with frame rate, but this can be fixed with an unofficial dll file. Sometimes I hear about severe full system lockups, but very rarely are they anything more than un-updated drivers in windows 7 or Vista. Because of this, I fully recommend playing Fallout: New Vegas on a high powered Windows XP machine until more patches are released that address these issues.

Aside from the occasional program crash, most users will only experience mild bugs. Clipping issues are commonplace; I often encountered radscorpions that were half encased in a boulder or the ground. Other times I would come out of fast travel 10 feet above the ground and fall.

Many users new to the Fallout style of RPG complain of bugs and errors when they simply aren't thinking about the game world in a logical manner. If you hear another player whining about how a quest NPC isn't where the guide said they should be, ask a supplementary question. For instance: Is the game time 4 am? If so, it is likely that they're asleep. Most RPGs don't attempt to generate this particular aspect of realism. Thus, it is unsurprising that many players don't consider this particular avenue of thought.

Considering this, however, several of the more involved quest lines are touchy. They require the player to do exactly what the developers had in mind with little room for error. While not buggy, per se, the slightest deviation will result in disaster. For example: entering a room standing and then immediately going into stealth instead of entering already stealthed. Though from a strict standpoint this makes sense (unstealthily letting the door slam would likely get everyone's attention at least), the developers ought to have left the more casual gamer some wiggle room. Make no mistake though, these are not bugs, merely lack of polish.

When all is said and done, the glitches encountered in Fallout: New Vegas are nothing compared to past games of Obsidians and other companies alike. They are an inconvenience at most, and a slight amusement at least. Nothing to avoid the game over. Besides, any experienced RPG player knows that you should save your game at least every 5 minutes no matter what game you're playing. If you follow that rule, you'll be fine. 5/10

WRITING

This section is heavily weighted in the overall score for the game. The essence of an RPG is in its writing, and by definition the entire game depends on it. The main issue with scoring writing in a game is that it is difficult to provide spoiler free examples. In that vein I have left this section "New Vegas Example Free" for your protection. I guess you'll just have to trust me.

The main plot of any Fallout game is short, and this iteration is no exception. The game is primarily side-quest driven with a dash of free exploration on the side. Considering this, the plot is still interesting, and the Legion is one of the most compelling and original evil factions in recent gaming history. They're bad guys that you'll love to hate, and perhaps love working for even more. The early plot leads the player around the map in such a way that it opens up many side areas for the player. Depending on the player character's own motivation, they may or may not find the time to stop and smell the side-quests immediately, but the plot offers several breaks where the next objective is not particularly pressing.

Dialogue is the meat of any RPG, and Fallout: New Vegas is no different. Gone are the clumsy and awkward fumblings of Fallout 3's protagonist: Remember when, if choosing an "Intelligence" check dialogue option, your character would say something completely mundane? After this the NPC conversing with you would comment, "I can see you're pretty smart..." Instead, with New Vegas I was forced to remember things from my undergraduate education when choosing science related options. What a breath of fresh air. Other than the dialogue feeling natural, at times it was just plain bad@#%, but most of all, the humor is back. While not as joke ridden as Fallout 2, New Vegas definitely has its fair share of hilarity. With the "Wasteland Wanderer" perk the experience is enhanced further, almost reaching the comedic threshold of its predecessor. The jokes will not disappoint.

The game world in this game is absolutely fantastic. This is where New Vegas truly shines. One major complaint about Fallout 3's game world was that there was little to know food being cultivated even 200 years after the bombs fell. With no way to sustain themselves, the communities in that world felt cheap, tawdry and fake. They were merely placed there for the amusement of the player. That has completely changed for Fallout: New Vegas with the addition of visible agriculture and pastoralism. Another major complaint many Fallout fans had about Fallout 3 was that each town seemed so isolated; this was drastically changed as well. The Mojave wasteland is filled with cultures that not only exist in their own minds, but in the world around them as well. There are so many strings tying factions together that it would be easy to become trapped in New Vegas' social webbing for weeks. Not only that, but the strings fit with the context of the world around them. Every aspect of the Mojave Wasteland feels like it works together to form a cohesive organism that will thrive with or without the player being there. It's this feeling, that the world does not revolve around the player, that differentiates good world building from great world building. 9.99/10

CONCLUSION

This is the game that I had hoped Fallout 3 would be. However, it is another two years later and I wanted something more than what Fallout 3 should have been. New Vegas mostly delivered, but it didn't capture my imagination quite like its early predecessors. I plan on updating this review after repeated playthroughs; we shall see if that changes.

The components of this game all add up to an excellent RPG by any standards, and even a pretty good Fallout game. Despite its few downsides, Fallout: New Vegas is a worthy addition to holiday gift lists everywhere. If you're reading this after December, buy it anyway.

It's well worth it.

FINAL SCORE: 8/10
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on October 20, 2010
After reading some of the reviews on here I feel fortunate not to be experiencing the "bugginess" some other players are having. The game did crash on me, once, after about 7 hours of continuous play. It may have been a sign for me to take a break.

This game is chalk full of content. I find New Vegas to be funner and much better looking than Fallout 3. Also, the level cap has been increased to 30.

The developers really did a good job of organizing the game in a way so that there are many paths you can choose. I don't want to give anything away, but just know you'll have to make a lot of tough decisions. The combat system and V.A.T.S is the same, with the addition of new guns and gun mods (accessories for weapons, such as a scope for a rifle, etc).

I'm going to keep this review short and say that if you liked Fallout 3 or like RPGs in general, then you will definitely enjoy this game (if you don't experience any "bugginess").

I'm running the game on 'Ultra' settings using an ATI Radeon HD 5770 and an AMD Phenom II x4 @ 2.8 GHZ. At very rare times does the game slow down for me, but when it does it is always very abrupt. I would have rated this 4 stars just because the game crashed once and is rarely slow, but this game deserves 5 stars because while playing you can tell the developers really put a lot of time and effort into making this.

Hopefully they can patch the bugs up so that everyone can enjoy this game.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
97 of 120 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 19, 2010
The previous installment of the Fallout series, FALLOUT-3, was an excellent open-world Role-Playing Shooter (RPS). Although it suffered a far from...happy ending and most of the DLCs offered little more than even more loot and a handful of unique items, it was a game I greatly enjoyed for hours at no end and was more than happy to replay it only to follow different paths every time the story bifurcated. I for one was sure left craving for more and the Obsidian/Bethesda people were more than happy to deliver. Even so, true to Vegas mentality, they seem to have let their winnings ride...

The first thing that hit you in the Mojave desert is how...familiar this new world looks like. The graphics, which were excellent two years ago, are still very good - but they are no longer cutting edge. Besides some richer shadowing and somewhat more vivid colors, if there are any major graphical improvements since FALLOUT-3 I failed to notice them. Having said that, I must admit that I loved the skies, especially during sunrises and sunsets!

Although both the story and the location are different from FALLOUT-3, I was happy to meet old friends: the handy PIPBOY-3000, the S.P.E.C.I.A.L. skill system and the V.A.T.S. targeting aid. The gameplay seems to fit like a favorite old pair of jeans.
Character development has both acquired more depth (with the return of Traits which offer advantages but at a price) but also made easier. There are new guns and more explosive kill-shot sequences as well as more skills and perks but I felt far less pressure to complete quests to gain experience points and translate them into perks, skills and traits as the game is generous in offering different ways to accomplish this.

Notably, with all the conflicting groups and factions angling for an edge in controlling New Vegas, the story seems more byzantine than FALLOUT-3 and the choices one has to make now cut deeper. And after about 20 hours of playing it feels like I barely scratched the surface. This is a longer game than FALLOUT-3.

Now some bad news. Whereas FALLOUT 3 had a simple disk-check, FALLOUT:NEW VEGAS comes with mandatory OnLine STEAM registration and activation. If you are wondering, the game lost its fifth star neither because of its somewhat dated graphics, nor its numerous bugs or occasional crash but rather its anti-customer DRM scheme. (That was a serious misstep BETHESDA, I was disappointed). Having to activate your game OnLine means that you never actually own the game you paid for at full price. If this does not concern you, well, you can now make an informed decision either way.

RECOMMENDED.
(But let's hope the hand dealt initially is improved).
5151 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
on October 21, 2010
Review for the Windows version:
I wish that I had waited for a couple of months before buying this game. FO-NV shipped with many many bugs. Bethsoft says that they are working hard to release a patch that will fix the issues, but these things should have been fixed BEFORE the game shipped.

This game uses STEAM as a deterrent to thieves and even though this is a single player game, an internet connection is required just to install it. Once the game (and Steam) are installed you can set STEAM to the offline mod, but you will still be going through the STEAM program in order to launch the game. All game updates will also be handled by STEAM, so you will want to go online every once in a while to make sure that you have the latest patches. The game itself is killer. I love the fallout series and hope the issues will be taken care of in a timely manner.

In closing, I would recommend that you wait to purchase this game, read the official forums and only buy after the game has been proven to be stable. $50 is a lot of money to spend on something that will sit on your desk for a month while patches are being created.

Peace
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 25, 2010
By "Original" I meant it is a carbon copy of Fallout 3 as far as coding goes. :)
Ok lets get the bad out of the way. People have been slamming this game saying it crashes and there many bugs. I have been playing it for days and have not had any actual bugs at all. I did have one crash about 3 hours after installing it but since then, none. It has played fine. I don't have the best system either. I'd say, it's a mid-range gaming machine if you looked at todays out-of-the-box gaming rigs.
STEAM!! Well, after a long installation (20-30 min) and STEAM registration and then updates (maybe another 20 min), it worked fine. I have had no problems with it being a STEAM game (other than the regular complaint that you can't resell or give it away once you're done and stuff). The positive of STEAM is that if you buy a new PC and have lost or damaged the original DVD, you can still reinstall it from the STEAM engines/website.
IMPORTANT: Once you have installed it (must have a good internet connection), you do NOT have to maintain an internet connection to play. You can play offline after it's fully installed and running.
That's about it. The So-so:
It feels and looks almost exactly like Fallout 3. Now, Fallout 3 was awesome, right?
You do not "raise" your character so it has been said you do not care for them as much as you did in the old Fallout. You start out as a grown man/woman and have been left for dead. Saved by a robot and a doctor. Now let's go get revenge...or...don't. Put a bullet in my head and see if I turn the other cheak. I found the more I played, the more I was building my character by my choices. My character looks just like Wolverine so you know the choices I'm making.
The enemies are HARD! I fired round after round into some enemies and it took so many rounds to take them out, I was running away sometimes to find more ammo or running up to dead guys (while still in the fight) and taking their weapons to keep fighting. Save save save.
The good:
Details in the new weapons are very well done. Such as; LUCKY the .357 I found (now have Pew-Pew the laser gun). It's my baby. My go-to gun. Or, the new plasma rifle that looks like a plasma rifle on steriods. It's called the Q-35 matter modulator (Now have a Gauss rifle that rocks). It's so cool to find something entirely new that wasn't in the old Fallout 3. HOLY HAND GRENADES!! (Monty Python Reference)
Familiar enemies are here with some interesting mutated versions of them as well such as the return of Geckos and new mother, baby, alpha male and the legendary deathclaw. The Nightkin are an awesome new Supermutant.
Aaand, you can now have characters (NPC) join you and assist in firefights and they may give more info on a current quest if they have input.
-Danny Trejo (tech guy) voices a ghoul you will meet at Black Mountain. Free him and he can join your group.
-Boone a sniper - help him find out about his missing wife and he joins.
-ED-E Eyebot you fix and it joins you
-Rex cyberdog - Help get his brain fixed and he joins you
-Lily the Nightkin Supermutant - help the doc and Lily with an stealth experiment and she will join if you do not have a human companion.
and a few more.
Wasteland Radio: Errrrm. Well, Wayne Newton voices the DJ Mr. Las Vegas and the songs he plays are limited and will become tiresome but he gives updates in the news as you do things in your quests. The alternative radio station plays some extra songs but are very country oriented and the same as other stations, will become tiresome. DLC should allow more songs or more stations.
I recommend this for anyone that trusts their system and is a fan of the Fallout series.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2010
Four hours into the Fallout New Vegas, I was disappointed with the technical issues. A day or so later (after the quick save fix,the patch,and the .dll work around), the negative technical aspects that were holding back my positive opinion are gone. I am enjoying the heck out of the game. This is like Fallout 3, only better. Fallout New Vegas, like Fallout 3, has lots of weapons and items, countless quests, an open game world including many niche locations (non-linear game play), perks, and many ways to differentiate your character.

SYNOPSIS: If you liked Fallout 3, you will most likely feel the same about Fallout New Vegas. If you disliked FO3 for any reasons other than the shooter mechanics, you will most likely not like FNV.

PROS: Darker story telling and better shooter mechanics than FO3. Iron sights and sniping in a FO3 type of game? Oh yeah!
CONS: A bit too many fiddly bits on some of the craft-ables e.g., ammo, and just like FO3: potato heads. Plus, the game doesn't do my laundry or mow my lawn when I play it all day.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
on November 30, 2010
In short, do not buy Fallout New Vegas, right now its more trouble than its worth. Check back in 8-10 months for a "game of the year" edition with fewer headaches, all DLC packs, tons of mods, and probably a lower price.

In long, normally I post reviews on forums or blogs, not here, Amazon doesn't offer much incentive and I look at it as a store, not a community, but in this case fair warning to potential customers is necessary...

False Advertising: The pre-order page mentioned online activation, not Steam, nor a forced update on install which at slow dialup speeds can never be completed (or takes longer than 16 days at 24-26.4Kbps, despite claiming its only a ~300MB download).

Customer Abuse: Bethsoft forum moderators are deleting all forum posts where customers attempt to force Bethsoft to acknowledge the rampant problems with this release - be it a public letter, petition, bad press, class action lawsuit, etc. This might be reasonable if they were making a good faith effort to satisfy customers or if customers were being unreasonable, but Bethsoft is clearly at fault here and trying to cover it up instead of solving the problems.

Bad Steam Implementation: Forced "update" on DVD install. Disabling auto updates doesn't work, but that is common for non-Valve games. The lack of delta patch support combined with the game data structure unnecessarily bloats update size, turning what should be a 20-30MB patch into a 300MB update. On slow dialup (24-26.4Kbps) these updates seem to fail, either repeatedly starting over or transferring huge amounts of data without saving anything to disk. I gave up after 16 days of "updating". By contrast Valve's own games do seem to update successfully at those speeds, it just takes two to three times longer than a normal download. The only solution here is for Bethsoft to release a standalone installer and patches, making Steam optional as a bonus to broadband users. Pirates cracked the DRM within 3 hours of the game launch so Bethsoft may as well make it official rather than forcing non-broadband users to turn to pirates for customer support, I guess they can be glad this DRM scheme prevented prelaunch piracy of the PC version, but now its just promoting piracy.

Extreme Bugs: There are widespread reports of game crippling bugs across all platforms. Win7 and Vista are worst affected, WinXP has mixed success, this spawned a class action lawsuit. Xbox 360 is mostly playable but suffers from saved game corruption and the same campaign/quest scripting bugs as other platforms. Not sure about PS3 specific problems. General consensus on their forums is the game was released in a beta state, or alpha if the DLC is considered part of it.

Benefits of waiting for a "game of the year" edition:
-- All major and most minor bugs will be resolved.
-- All DLC will be bundled, a minor savings over buying them individually.
-- Tons of reasonably mature mods will be available (PC only).
-- Steam might be optional (PC only).
-- Lower price.

For the record I started a few threads and posted in over a dozen others with the following requests:
-1- Public apology for the botched release including a detailed explanation to promote understanding of the problems, and with special consideration for pre-order and dialup customers for the breach of trust.
-2- Standalone installer making Steam entirely optional, possibly with other DRM (e.g. disc check).
-3- Standalone patches, this could be combined with an installer.

I just want Bethsoft do right by their customers. They burned nearly a decade of goodwill with this FUBAR release. When they botched the TES3 Morrowind for Xbox with rampant minor bugs and major saved game corruption they apologized and made an excellent GotY edition, I was impressed enough to get the PC version for modding, and from then on kept tabs on their online community. TES4 Oblivion and Fallout 3 on PC were excellent, problems were recognized and resolved rapidly, and their outstanding mod support caused an outpouring of popular support. StarTrek Legacy was awkward, a buggy release with poor support, ultimately abandoned to modders to fix the problems, that cause me to not explore their other game titles. Fallout New Vegas could go either way, hopefully some pressure from their supporters will remind them to do the right thing here. Otherwise this will turn into yet another example of a reality check on the concept of customer loyalty to a corporation (and hopefully renewed interested in free open source game development, gaming unadulterated by greed).

Finally, for anyone new to the Fallout series, get either the Fallout 1 & 2 combo for a classic RPG experience (isometric, turn-based, bad graphics, netbook friendly) -or- Fallout 3 GotY edition for a action-RPG experience with tons of mature mods (PC only). Skip Fallout Tactics and Brotherhood of Steel, they're kind of an embarrassment to the series. Fallout New Vegas can wait.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on November 4, 2010
Let me start out by saying I have submitted myself to purchasing games soely on Steam they haven't done me wrong and they always follow my new machine builds easily with a re-download. I state this simply because I want people to know where I stand with DRM.

I heard many people describe this as an extension of Fallout 3, but I would have to disagree. Even though the graphics didn't change much and the bugs are still there this game has made a name for itself. According to Steam I have played this game for a total of 44 hours on and off over the course of a couple weeks now (I have a job and a life). Even with this many hours put into the game I still feel I haven't scratched the surface. This game has a much more different feel than Fallout 3 and much more different gameplay.

Unlike Fallout 3 where there were about 5 weapons that pretty much did the job on everyone, in Vegas you have many more choices. Because of the diversity of the different weapons you can have fun in so many different ways. Tie this with the ability to purchase mods for weapons and it only increases the fun. I found myself actually restoring back to a previous save because I didn't think I had enough fun on the first run through a certain quest. With the new "Iron Sights" mode it only enhances the gameplay and has severely decreased my reliance on V.A.T.S. I actually use that mode in leu of VATS on many occasions.

I love the story lines and the constant onslaught of different mission choices. I currently have over 9 different quests to choose from and all of them a different adventure entirely, not just collect and report back or kill and report back. The quests have ongoing stories and different ways you can achieve these results.

With the new reputation system you can use the groups your allies with in your efforts to get around the wasteland and exploit other groups. This also plays into your ability to steal things from these groups or not steal things to maintain your good standing with them.

Overall, this game is not he quick run through and pillage game that Fallout 3 was (not to underplay its greatness). But, you can hang your hat on New Vegas and I just can't get enough of it.

For people new to the franchise you do not need to be a Fallout fan, just buy it, you don't need to know anything about the Fallout universe in order to understand what is going on or to have fun with it.

If I was to describe this game in one word it would be "complete," in several words "complete/diverse/engaging/fun." There is something for everyone in this world and you won't be dissapointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 1, 2010
As a huge fan of the Fallout 3 franchise, I love Fallout New Vegas.
Fallout 3 was one of the first games I truly felt addicted to play. The good about New Vegas? The game is like riding a bike, it comes back instantly. The game interface, the style of play, the types of missions, combat, and weapons all feel like Fallout 3. Some complain about the depth of the story line. I have not played the whole way through but remember similar feelings at the end of Fallout 3 -- where it ended and the game was pretty much over, not even allowing you (at the time) to come back and play more. Instead you had to back up to prior save without the ending in place. Of course that was fixed with subsequent releases. New Vegas brings familiarity with some new characters. If you liked Fallout 3, you will like New Vegas.

Now the bad. All the Steam discussion aside, upon first start and immediate updating, New Vegas had frame rate problems in almost any resolution and quality. It was virtually unplayable. NPC's had time lags. Just moving around was painful. Typing the words, Fallout New Vegas slow, into a google search quickly revealed why. A graphic problem related to DX10 implementation. The fix? Drop a easily found and downloaded dll file into the New Vegas file folder. The file forces New Vegas to detect a different video card than the one you may be playing, one that forces DX9 implementation. Once done, everything plays properly at the highest settings with no lags at all. Graphically, I cannot see any significant differences, after (or before) this change in New Vegas. There are no obvious differences in graphic quality from Fallout 3. But seriously, why do we have to fix such things? Bethesda or Obsidian did not drop the install disk into any number of XP, Vista, or Windows 7 computers to see what would happen? Me, I am playing on Vista (x64) and a Nvidia GS9800.... a combination that seems to run pretty well on just about anything I choose to play. To have to fix the program right off the bat just seems like poor product management. On the good part of bad, despite many complaints about buggy behavior, I have not seen anything significant, and certainly no BSD or other recoverable shutdown errors. Fix the game yourself, then enjoy smooth sailing (?).

Highly recommended if you liked Fallout 3.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2010
This game is much better than the first. I played the first one extensively and enjoyed it very much, but there was a lot missing. I felt that the wasteland was a very dreary place to be in Fallout 3. In this one, the landscape is a lot more colorful. Plants actually exist! (which give this game to some degree a "alchemy" element to it because you can collect plants for healing powders, etc)

The number one feature that makes this game so much better to people who have played fallout 3 is the hardcore mode feature. Let me explain what this does:

1. Food and water have their own meter and are required for survival.
2. Stimpacks don't instantly heal you, now they heal over time.
3. You have to get sleep. That is metered as well.

Some may find no use in this mode, but I think this mode brings out what makes this game really fun! It's a post-apolyptic survival game, and hardcore mode allows it to be more like that. If you played Fallout 3, you know that it got pretty easy after a certain point, even if you cranked up the difficulty level. This really improves what this game is really all about.

Another thing I'd like to mention. You can look down sites now. Now THAT is one huge improvement over the last fallout game. I like the feel of a first-person shooter, so that was a huge upside for me.

Voice acting has gotten a lot better. The number of people acting out has dramatically increased since the last Fallout.

I'd like to make note that this game is not multiplayer. If you want to play multiplayer online, there are plenty of other games to choose from out there. I personally like to get away from the intensity and frustration of competitive online every once in awhile. Think about it... Online gaming can really get stressful. Playing fallout is a nice change. Non-multiplayer games can still be amazing!

I can't think of a reason not to get this game. It's improved much from the last installment (like ALL sequals should) and it offers a lot of new things to do. Keep in mind that I've only touched a few things about this game that are new from the old one. If you got some cash to drop on a new great game, this is top priorty. If you have any doubts, go watch some video play.
1414 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.