Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars [...] Book Review
FallProof! 2nd Edition

A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program

Having had the privilege of reviewing the first edition of this text nearly 7 years ago, I was pleased to learn that its success had led to the development of a second edition. Back in 2003, FallProof! brought balance and mobility, two of the most fundamental components...
Published on May 21, 2010 by Spicy Mamma

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fallproof
This book is probably very good to those who work with or in the profession of P.T. I found it to be much more [info] than I needed. So I returned it and still looking for proper home exercises to prevent falls.
Published 20 months ago by Mary H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars [...] Book Review, May 21, 2010
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
FallProof! 2nd Edition

A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program

Having had the privilege of reviewing the first edition of this text nearly 7 years ago, I was pleased to learn that its success had led to the development of a second edition. Back in 2003, FallProof! brought balance and mobility, two of the most fundamental components of independent living, to the attention of a broader audience of physical activity professionals. For the first time, an integrated program of assessments and exercises aimed at improving the fall risk profile of older individuals was outlined in text form. During the intervening years, FallProof has gained an impressive amount of momentum. Its consistently positive results have served as a model for centers across the country. This has created a need for professionals with a special skill set. The Center for Successful Aging at California State University at Fullerton, the birthplace of the FallProof! program, has facilitated this process by creating a new Balance and Mobility Specialist Instructor certification.

FallProof!: A Comprehensive Balance and Training Mobility Training Program 2nd Edition begins with a solid introduction to the concept of balance, including an appropriately detailed overview of the sensory systems involved and how aging impacts them. The next section contains several chapters which detail each step of the program, from initial assessment of participants through illustrations of exercises that address each of 6 training components (center-of-gravity control, multisensory, postural strategy, gait pattern enhancement and variation, strength and conditioning, and flexibility). The exercise chapters have plenty of photos which illustrate proper form for the more complex exercises. The final section contains 2 chapters which offer practical guidance on implementing the program in terms of class management and interacting with participants to gain the best results.

This text also serves as the text for the Balance and Mobility Specialist Instructor certification and thus has some built-in "study-friendly" features, such as chapter objectives, boxed key points and reminders, and multiple choice questions at the end of each chapter. The 2nd edition has the added value of a DVD companion which includes footage of demo exercises and a class in action.

This book is highly recommended to all healthcare professionals involved in the care of older individuals. Falls remain a major threat to independent living. Given the association of falls requiring hospitalization with further morbidities, there are few preventative measures that can be taken with the same potential for improving quality of life as balance and mobility improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A key acquisition for any adult health-oriented library, March 13, 2010
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
Debra J. Rose's FALLPROOF! A COMPREHENSIVE BALANCE AND MOBILITY TRAINING PROGRAM includes a DVD video featuring testing procedures, training strategies and a sample class and provides a fine survey of a successful mobility training program no health collection should be without. There are very few specific classes on mobility, making this a key acquisition for any adult health-oriented library, especially libraries catering to senior patrons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for personal trainers, March 23, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
I am a personal trainer, specializing in working with older adults. With this population, training for balance is just as critical as training for strength. I like the way this book breaks down the different components of balance and explains some of the underlying physiology behind different exercises. I have included many of the exercises into my personal training sessions and my older adult fitness classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource!, September 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
The 2nd Edition of FallProof! is a wonderful rewrite of the first edition. It is clear and concise. It presents research information in layman's language. The chapters are laid out with clear objectives and goals and recap with a review of key concepts. This is an excellent resource for anyone working with seniors to promote balance and reduce the risk of falls. The assessment tools, particularly the Fullerton Advanced Balance(FAB)Scale is designed to (pre/post) screen older adults to assess fall risk. It is a great tool for anyone working in community based fall prevention programs or balance classes. Dr. Rose identifies the major factors that contribute to a fall and what steps can be taken to identify and mitigate fall risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
The content was very basic. I was hoping to get more ideas for interventions that were accompanied with evidence. Most of book was review information about falls not the prevention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fallproof, December 21, 2012
By 
Mary H (Washington State) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
This book is probably very good to those who work with or in the profession of P.T. I found it to be much more [info] than I needed. So I returned it and still looking for proper home exercises to prevent falls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for anyone working with a senior population, February 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
This book is a great resource for any personal trainers or other fitness professionals working with a senior population. If you work with older adults, you know that one issue that comes up regularly is lack of balance and a fear of falling. While a college education and the studying required to get a personal training certification (or other fitness certification) usually adequately covers how to design programs as far as cardiovascular and strength training go, training for balance is rarely ever mentioned.

Fallproof! does an excellent job of first explaining the science behind balance and why people fall, followed by a section on assessing balance, then progressing to how to train to improve balance, followed by sections on strength training and flexibility, and finally wrapping up with how to instruct the material presented and ideas on class management. The information provided is very well presented and very useful. The book provides a progression of exercises which can be used with your clients, with several variables which can be manipulated to provide the client with the right amount of difficulty. The descriptions also include coaching cues to help instruct the client in the best possible way. The balance assessment described in the book is fairly easy and not too time consuming, while also being very effective and testing all facets of balance. The sections on strength and flexibility are good but for the most part won't be anything new for the fitness professional. Lastly, I'd like to mention that the Fallproof! program is designed to be used in a small class environment. While the concepts transfer well to one on one sessions (with the exception of the fact that most of the culminating activities are group activities), I haven't and don't think I will transfer much into large group exercise classes as the activities here require a greater amount of individualized attention than large group exercise classes allow.

Lastly, there is the included DVD. The DVD includes an example of administering the assessment which is quite helpful, demonstrations of some of the exercises discussed in the book, and a sample class. The DVD is good but I wish it had more. There was more than one occasion that I read something in the book, wanted to see it in action and put in the DVD, only to find out that what I wanted to see wasn't included in the DVD. The other complaint about the DVD is a technical one, I don't like that each section of the DVD isn't broken up into chapter (for example each test of the assessment being a separate chapter), combined with the fact that, at least on my computer, it won't let me manually skip ahead so I need to watch the entire section. But this may be a weird computer thing as much as it is anything with the DVD. What is included on the DVD is excellent, I only wish it had more because what is there is so helpful.

If you work with older adults, this book should be in your collection. If your idea of working on balance is standing on one leg for 10 seconds and repeating a few times, you will gain so much from this book. Balance is a more complicated science than you probably realize and understanding it will help you immensely to improve the balance of your clients, class members, or whatever environment you may be working with older adults in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Expensive, March 10, 2014
By 
KTZ (New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
I was looking for a book to help aging friends and family do what they needed to avoid falls and stay home. I did nto buy this book necause there is no justifcation for the cost of this book. The price struck me as exploitive of people's who have needs. There are so many books and videos at under $20.00, and so much free info on line, I cannot see how the price asked for this is justified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall prevention, February 9, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Los Alamitos, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
I work in skilled nursing and we are always looking for ways to prevent falls. While this class has excellent, evidence based information for older adults with balance issues, I think it is more appropriate to use in an assisted living facility or senior center. I think those folks are more appropriate for these classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FallProof and senior citizens, July 5, 2012
By 
Donna Wasneski (Grand Junction Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program (Hardcover)
this text is a great compliment to my education in senior citizen fitness.Includes theory and practical activities for daily living enhancement. I am already yellow highlighting a chapter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fallproof! A Comprehensive Balance and Mobility Training Program
$72.00 $64.15
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.