Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real People and Real Situations
A morality play...disguised as a medical mystery...with the requisite dash of romance? Hmm, was this worth my time?
Although I believe in the sanctity of life, the subject matter of this book almost kept me from reading it. I feared a thinly veiled anti-abortion discourse--and one thing I don't handle well is agenda-heavy fiction. If you want to make a point, make...
Published on August 31, 2002 by Eric Wilson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncertain
I am a neonatologist oppposed to abortion. So I undertook reading this book both for its entertainment value and to see how a fictional effort by authors clearly in agreement with my view would treat the subject. I appreciated the fact that they treated those who opt for abortion with sympathy and compassion.
I did not like several things: 1) not everyone who does...
Published on March 3, 2009 by Keith Peevy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real People and Real Situations, August 31, 2002
By 
Eric Wilson "author" (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
A morality play...disguised as a medical mystery...with the requisite dash of romance? Hmm, was this worth my time?
Although I believe in the sanctity of life, the subject matter of this book almost kept me from reading it. I feared a thinly veiled anti-abortion discourse--and one thing I don't handle well is agenda-heavy fiction. If you want to make a point, make sure to entertain and tell a good story at the same time. That's why Grisham's legal thrillers continue to sell even while taking on the tobacco industry, the homeless crisis, etc.
Cutrer and Glahn dispelled my fears quickly. The medical details, the unflinching looks at difficult subjects, and the likeable characters drew me in. ...
Although "False Positive" doesn't have the immediate hook of a Grisham-type thriller, it does have the very human motivations, readable dialogue, and ethical dilemmas that Grisham has used to such marvelous effect. The authors handle this medical mystery with maturity, surprises, and grace. As the story draws a growing number of characters together, the action accelerates and the emotional impact rises. While never veering from their spiritual beliefs, the authors (and publisher) demonstrate open minds and open hearts. Beware: stanch advocates of either side of the abortion debate will cry foul, but this book rises above the mudslinging. Cutrer and Glahn raise questions not easily answered by either side. They write about real people who don't always agree. And I liked that.
In fact, I liked this book. A lot! Although "False Positive" was my first read by these authors, it will not be my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncertain, March 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
I am a neonatologist oppposed to abortion. So I undertook reading this book both for its entertainment value and to see how a fictional effort by authors clearly in agreement with my view would treat the subject. I appreciated the fact that they treated those who opt for abortion with sympathy and compassion.
I did not like several things: 1) not everyone who does abortions is driven by economic motives; they may be misguided, but are not always evil; 2) portraying a high risk OB person (Kedar) as someone competent to care for the most critically ill neonate stretched literary license to the breaking point, since most OB docs run for cover when a sick baby needs intensive care; 3) suggesting that a 17 week fetus would a) be 300 grams (very unlikely) and could survive in any manner after delivery injects a sense of false hope that I fear might lead prospective parents to have even more unrealistic expectations at the margins of viability (which are 21-22 weeks, not 24 as the book suggests).
Nothing harms the effect of a technically driven plot like like technical errors. Its fiction, but it needs accuracy in the areas that speak to reality of the science involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, July 16, 2002
By 
James Larsen "Jim Larsen" (Richardson, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
Dr. Cutrer Sandra Glahn have produced another real page turner. Once I got started, I could not put it down. The characters are captivating and real to life, the story gripping, and their treatment of the subject matter thought provoking. We live in a day that minimizes the value of human life, especially the unborn. Despite what many proclaim, abortion carries a price far beyond that of taking the life of an innocent unborn child. This book explores various aspects of this hotly debated topic, including the lasting effects abortion has on women long after the ?procedure? has been completed. As well, implications for the medical community are explored, including ethics as well as research aspects associated with premature birth survival. The focus on the value of human life, from the moment of conception, is refreshing. Whether pro-life or pro-choice, this is a book for the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Look at Ethical Dilemmas, July 24, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
Do you like medical thrillers? Do you like books with good character development, entertaining plot twists, and believable villains? Do you enjoy a book that makes you think? False Positive delivers in all of these areas. A touching story with an intelligent exploration into the ethical dilemmas facing us all, whether you are pro-life or pro-choice, you will be challenged. Likeable heroes and heroines draw the reader into the lives of what could be very real people. Readers are allowed to experience the everyday decisions faced by medical professionals and pregnant women, in the rapidly changing world of medical technology. The book, classified as Christian Fiction, also provides a realistic non-Christian perspective on various issues without making either side look like �the idiot.� I sincerely recommend False Positive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly Outstanding!, July 23, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
FALSE POSITIVE is as intriguing as its title suggests! The emotion-packed pages grip and hold the reader with intensity from cover to cover. I am moved to give deeper thought on ethical responses to the topics and issues presented through this story of life events. The characters portrayed and situations developed are realistic and familiar. Interesting, timely, informative, enlightening, concerning, sensitive...these are some of the words that come to mind to describe Cutrer and Glahn's co-writings as they explore the rapidly changing and complex world of medical technology. I hope that many will read these pages and determine to become more aware and accurately educated of the scientific "advances" in our world. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All's Positive, August 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
I read False Positive in three sittings (that's good for me...I often don't even finish books). It was hard to put down. The plot was intriguing and unpredictable. The characters were believable. The message was thought-provoking. The ending was satisfying. If you are looking for a medical thriller/love story better (and 100 times more enriching) than any episode of ER, then turn off the tube and read False Positive. It will be an evening well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars False Positive--a Medical Thriller that makes you think, September 3, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
I couldn't put False Positive down. The authors really have a knack for clear, page-turning writing. Characterization was great, and I appreciated the humanness of the characters as well as the real struggles that people face in the abortion arena. It was dealt with sensitively, and with candor and reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tender approach to an explosive subject, August 28, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
False Positive is a fast-paced novel that handles the volatile subject of abortion in a tender and compassionate way. So often the debate between the pro-life and pro-choice camps deteriorate into name calling and vicious attacks. This book does NOT do that, but gently probes the deep questions without bogging down in theory or theology. The characters in the book present a variety of views and circumstances drawn from the real world are incorporated. (One of the authors is an OB-BYN physician.)
The characters are real and it should be required reading for those who have strong opinions on either side of the abortion question. All but the staunchest defenders of abortion, under ANY circumstances, will find this book worthwhile. This book is especially timely for women contemplating abortion as well as comforting to those who may struggle after having an abortion.

The heroes of the book (and the real world) are the tireless volunteers who give of themselves to help women facing unwanted pregnancies. Thumbs up to the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positively Riviting, July 16, 2002
By 
Karen Giesen (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
The dedication page of William Cutrer and Sandra Glahn?s third novel, False Positive, seems to state their mission: ?Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves. Proverbs 31:8.? Not only do the authors speak up for unborn babies, but they also speak for infertile women, mothers caught with impossible choices, and doctors facing ethical decisions. They cause the reader to think, and perhaps to speak up, too.
The typical reader, however, will whiz right past the dedication, not even notice the mission, and be thrust into the action. Within the first three pages, the main character, second year medical resident, Red Richison, a nice red-haired Christian from Garland, has delivered a premature baby and created his own ethical nightmare. Various sub-plots surface greed and selfishness, along with pain and fear, and love and romance among the various characters who work in a hospital, in an abortion clinic, and in a pro-life pregnancy resource center. By creating real people grappling with moral and ethical dilemmas as well as everyday emotions, the authors have produced a compelling medical suspense thriller you won?t put down. A great summer read. Positively Riviting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking and riveting medical suspence, July 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: False Positive (Paperback)
False Positive represents the best that medical fiction has to offer. Throughout the book, readers will come to love the characters as they are thrust into ethical challenges and even harm's way. This book did a masterful job of approaching delicate issues with fairness and compassion for readers of all viewpoints. The book is filled with twists and turns that will leave your head spinning and prevent you from putting the book down for even a minute. All in all, the book was filled with wonderful characters put in nail-biting situations. A wonderful read, I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

False Positive
False Positive by Sandra Glahn (Paperback - July 16, 2002)
$20.99 $18.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.