Start reading Familiar Stranger on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Familiar Stranger [Kindle Edition]

Michele Hauf
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: $4.75 What's this?
Kindle Price: $3.63
You Save: $1.12 (24%)

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $3.63  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Bone Clocks" by David Mitchell.

Book Description

Recruited by a secret paranormal organization to hunt demons, Jack Harris never guessed the revenge he sought for his partner's death would be this complicated. Jack's worldview is black-and-white--until he is ordered to follow Mersey Bane, a beautiful woman who is also a familiar with shape-shifting abilities. Mersey belongs to the Cadre--a peaceful hermetic order that captures and studies Otherworldly Entities--which is at odds with Jack's organization.

As Jack delves deeper into the inner workings of the Cadre, he finds himself drawn to Mersey like a moth to a flame.

She may challenge all his beliefs, but she brings color and passion to his world. Jack doesn't know whether what he feels for Mersey is love or lust. But if he doesn't figure it out soon, they may become the hunted instead of the hunters.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • File Size: 228 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Silhouette Nocturne (July 1, 2007)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000U0O9D4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #678,210 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
(9)
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny, sexy paranormal July 19, 2007
By Bookbug
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This is a funny, sexy book. The hero and heroine come to life on every page. Whether spattered in demon guts or borrowing a faery's glamour, Mersey and Jack are always engaging.

The author sets a breezy pace and delivers enough twists and turns to please anyone. Her world--chock-full of demons, faeries, magic rings and very odd childhood secrets--is richly imagined, but the focus is on the romance. Jack is a true hero and the love scenes are pure delight, with Mersey's feline characteristics lending a unique flavor to the action.

Fans of Buffy and Charmed will love this book. This is perfect thunderstorm reading, perfect cabin reading, perfect anytime reading.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enchanting begining to a unique paranormal series September 11, 2007
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Jack Harris works for a P-Cell an undercover branch of MI-5 which is the equivalent of a paranormal SWAT team. He had become a demon hunter after watching helplessly as his partner had been brutally murdered by a particularly nasty specimen. Now he sought revenge, for Monica and for the end to the possibilities he'd been too afraid to explore with her. The world would be a better place without paranormal entities in it. Or so he thought until he met Mersey Bane.

As a Cadre initiate, Mersey works for the opposition. The Cadre is a hermetic order, initiated by the first Earl of St. Yves, whose mission is to keep the balance between the dark realm and the mortal one. Their members trap demons rather than destroying them like the P-Cell death merchants. They then interrogated them and either returned them to the dark realm or cataloged them if they were too dangerous to release.

Jack's approach to the job is black and white, it's either kill or be killed. He is totally unaware of the collateral damage caused by his methods until the two meet while tracking the same demon. The attraction between them is undeniable, but Mersey had been told by her mother that there was only one man for her, her chosen mate. A barbaric death merchant could never be "the one". Or could he?

Following their encounter Jack is assigned to follow Mercy and discover the whereabouts of the Cadre. Although he is an expert tracker she always manages to give him the slip until she decides to use their attraction to teach Jack the error of his ways. The truth seems the best way to begin but Jack is totally taken aback to discover that this beguiling woman is not quite human. Watching her transform takes Jack back to his childhood and a memory he had tried hard to forget.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an improvement! August 9, 2007
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I almost didn't buy this book. After reading Hauf's Last Nocturne, From the Dark, I had crossed her off my list. But the blurb on the cover caught me and I just love shifters, so I gave her a second chance and was pleasantly surprised. The problem with her last book was that her characters were not at all likeable. That certainly isn't the case here. Both the lead characters have such charm. Jack is truly heroic, once he overcomes his ignorance and starts to see the world in shades of gray, instead of his initial black and white, And Mersey is quirky and sympathetic, looking for a place to belong, or a person to belong to.

This is a great start to a new series, Dark Enchantments(Night Mischief (Silhouette Nocturne),Rising Darkness (Silhouette Nocturne),Saving Destiny (Nocturne)), coming out over the next couple of months. With Fae, Demons, Vampires and other such mystical paranormals and the competition between two rival agencies that deal with the other worldy rogues, I can hardly wait for the next installment.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb romantic urban fantasy August 12, 2007
Format:Mass Market Paperback
When he was a child, Jack Harris received a glass gazing ball filled with magic; next he saw a cat turn into a pregnant woman who was about to be killed by a demon. Finally he threw the ball at the demon saving the woman.

Twenty-four years later he works in M-15. Recently a demon murdered his partner; Jack stopped believing demons existed years ago; now he knows first hand the truth. He is recruited by P-Cell, a division of M-15, to kill demons. While on a hunt, he meets Mersey Banes, a demon hunter too. However, unlike Jack she incarcerates them instead of slaying them as her organization, the Cadre, wants to know what and why this species is crossing into the human plane. They agree about many things, but neither wants to admit how much they care about the other although Jack feels queasy when he learns Mercy is a familiar, a bridge that enables the demons to enter our world and can shapeshift into a cat. One demon has dark plans for Jack and Mercy; however, each of his chosen ones is willing to give up eternity for the other to live.

This superb romantic urban fantasy will remind readers of a paranormal modernization of the "Gift of the Magi" as the lead couple is ready to sacrifice what they hold dear so that the other lives. Michele Hauf has an inventive take on demons in which some are good and others are evil. There are many interesting characters who should have their own story, but FAMILIAR STRANGER is owned by the lead couple.

Harriet Klausner
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and refreshing paranormal romance August 5, 2007
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Michele Hauf's Familiar Stranger is the first book in the Silhouette Nocturne paranormal romance series Dark Enchantments. The world building set up for the series by the author is carefully drawn so that the reader easily imagines the setting and the conflicts. The hero and heroine both will steal the reader's heart.

Jack Harris was recruited by the P-Cell, an elite and covert paranormal section of MI-5, the British Secret Service, to hunt and destroy demons. Jack is a modern day Rambo armed with all the weapons and gadgets needed to fight demons: an M4 carbine grenade launcher complete with salt grenades, an electromagnetic-field gauge with GPS function to create maps of the ley line gates of demon entry, a flame-resistant black shirt and trousers, a Dragon Skin vest made from Kevlar, a night-vision scope, a combat knife, salt spray and a silver dagger tipped with a UV cartridge. Jack is more, so much more than the typical Rambo figure. He has heart, charisma, innocence and depth.

Mersey Bane works for the Cadre, a hermetic organization that traps demons in order to study them. Mersey carries with her a crystal triangle that captures demons alive to return them to the scholars of the hidden Cadre. The Rambo tactics of the P-cell receive nothing but disdain from the Cadre. The two organizations are rivals and enemies in their methods and philosophy. Mersey not only works for the Cadre, but it was a substitute for family, a family from whom she desires independence and to which she feels loyalty. When Jack and Mersey meet on the rooftop in a battle with a demon, the attraction is is undeniable. Can the two find a way through the enmity of the these two organizations to save one another from a deadly demon and find their hearts?
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Michele has been writing romance, fantasy, action/adventure and paranormal stories for a couple decades and enjoys reading the same. It never fails that when she's working on a project set in the icy months of winter, that it's actually humid and hot outside, and vice versa.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category