Familiar Stranger and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Value Promenade
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Very good overall with light to moderate wear; No dust jacket;
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Familiar Stranger (Silhouette Nocturne) Mass Market Paperback – August 1, 2007


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$0.99
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$63.28 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of January
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Silhouette Nocturne; 1ST edition (August 1, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0373617682
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373617685
  • Product Dimensions: 6.6 x 4.3 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,348,752 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Michele has been writing romance, fantasy, action/adventure and paranormal stories for a couple decades and enjoys reading the same. It never fails that when she's working on a project set in the icy months of winter, that it's actually humid and hot outside, and vice versa.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 9 customer reviews
Both the lead characters have such charm.
melindeeloo
The world building set up for the series by the author is carefully drawn so that the reader easily imagines the setting and the conflicts.
D. Merrimon Crawford
This book had an unusual ending that I found surprising but actually very fitting.
KayLovesToRead

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Leslie Tramposch on September 11, 2007
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Jack Harris works for a P-Cell an undercover branch of MI-5 which is the equivalent of a paranormal SWAT team. He had become a demon hunter after watching helplessly as his partner had been brutally murdered by a particularly nasty specimen. Now he sought revenge, for Monica and for the end to the possibilities he'd been too afraid to explore with her. The world would be a better place without paranormal entities in it. Or so he thought until he met Mersey Bane.

As a Cadre initiate, Mersey works for the opposition. The Cadre is a hermetic order, initiated by the first Earl of St. Yves, whose mission is to keep the balance between the dark realm and the mortal one. Their members trap demons rather than destroying them like the P-Cell death merchants. They then interrogated them and either returned them to the dark realm or cataloged them if they were too dangerous to release.

Jack's approach to the job is black and white, it's either kill or be killed. He is totally unaware of the collateral damage caused by his methods until the two meet while tracking the same demon. The attraction between them is undeniable, but Mersey had been told by her mother that there was only one man for her, her chosen mate. A barbaric death merchant could never be "the one". Or could he?

Following their encounter Jack is assigned to follow Mercy and discover the whereabouts of the Cadre. Although he is an expert tracker she always manages to give him the slip until she decides to use their attraction to teach Jack the error of his ways. The truth seems the best way to begin but Jack is totally taken aback to discover that this beguiling woman is not quite human. Watching her transform takes Jack back to his childhood and a memory he had tried hard to forget.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Bookbug on July 19, 2007
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is a funny, sexy book. The hero and heroine come to life on every page. Whether spattered in demon guts or borrowing a faery's glamour, Mersey and Jack are always engaging.

The author sets a breezy pace and delivers enough twists and turns to please anyone. Her world--chock-full of demons, faeries, magic rings and very odd childhood secrets--is richly imagined, but the focus is on the romance. Jack is a true hero and the love scenes are pure delight, with Mersey's feline characteristics lending a unique flavor to the action.

Fans of Buffy and Charmed will love this book. This is perfect thunderstorm reading, perfect cabin reading, perfect anytime reading.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By melindeeloo TOP 1000 REVIEWER on August 9, 2007
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I almost didn't buy this book. After reading Hauf's Last Nocturne, From the Dark, I had crossed her off my list. But the blurb on the cover caught me and I just love shifters, so I gave her a second chance and was pleasantly surprised. The problem with her last book was that her characters were not at all likeable. That certainly isn't the case here. Both the lead characters have such charm. Jack is truly heroic, once he overcomes his ignorance and starts to see the world in shades of gray, instead of his initial black and white, And Mersey is quirky and sympathetic, looking for a place to belong, or a person to belong to.

This is a great start to a new series, Dark Enchantments(Night Mischief (Silhouette Nocturne),Rising Darkness (Silhouette Nocturne),Saving Destiny (Nocturne)), coming out over the next couple of months. With Fae, Demons, Vampires and other such mystical paranormals and the competition between two rival agencies that deal with the other worldy rogues, I can hardly wait for the next installment.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By D. Merrimon Crawford VINE VOICE on August 5, 2007
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Michele Hauf's Familiar Stranger is the first book in the Silhouette Nocturne paranormal romance series Dark Enchantments. The world building set up for the series by the author is carefully drawn so that the reader easily imagines the setting and the conflicts. The hero and heroine both will steal the reader's heart.

Jack Harris was recruited by the P-Cell, an elite and covert paranormal section of MI-5, the British Secret Service, to hunt and destroy demons. Jack is a modern day Rambo armed with all the weapons and gadgets needed to fight demons: an M4 carbine grenade launcher complete with salt grenades, an electromagnetic-field gauge with GPS function to create maps of the ley line gates of demon entry, a flame-resistant black shirt and trousers, a Dragon Skin vest made from Kevlar, a night-vision scope, a combat knife, salt spray and a silver dagger tipped with a UV cartridge. Jack is more, so much more than the typical Rambo figure. He has heart, charisma, innocence and depth.

Mersey Bane works for the Cadre, a hermetic organization that traps demons in order to study them. Mersey carries with her a crystal triangle that captures demons alive to return them to the scholars of the hidden Cadre. The Rambo tactics of the P-cell receive nothing but disdain from the Cadre. The two organizations are rivals and enemies in their methods and philosophy. Mersey not only works for the Cadre, but it was a substitute for family, a family from whom she desires independence and to which she feels loyalty. When Jack and Mersey meet on the rooftop in a battle with a demon, the attraction is is undeniable. Can the two find a way through the enmity of the these two organizations to save one another from a deadly demon and find their hearts?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again