Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


266 of 269 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mill Creek best seller!
FAMILY CLASSICS 50 MOVIE PACK is an outstanding box set of vintage films of superb variety: adventure, comedy, musical, drama, action, fantasy-- all in one great package! The few silent films offered are among the most acclaimed of that era: THE KID, THE GENERAL and THE LOST WORLD (watch for Arthur Conan Doyle, who appears as himself in this last one). This is a...
Published on April 13, 2007 by Annie Van Auken

versus
83 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50 Movie Classics - REAL Classic
Bunches of wonderful black & white family entertainment. An absolutely excellent offering to a baby-boomer..

One caveate - about 1/3rd of these titles are SILENT.

But considering that there are at least 25+ other home&family feel&good movies in the collection this is 'such uh bawgin' :-?
Published on September 9, 2004 by Noah TW Givens


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

266 of 269 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mill Creek best seller!, April 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
FAMILY CLASSICS 50 MOVIE PACK is an outstanding box set of vintage films of superb variety: adventure, comedy, musical, drama, action, fantasy-- all in one great package! The few silent films offered are among the most acclaimed of that era: THE KID, THE GENERAL and THE LOST WORLD (watch for Arthur Conan Doyle, who appears as himself in this last one). This is a collection of features, programmers and shorts that's sure to please every member of your family for years to come.

Parenthetical numbers preceding titles are 1 to 10 imdb viewer poll ratings. (updated: 9/6/10)

(6.1) Africa Screams (1949) - Abbott & Costello/Clyde Beatty/Max Baer/Shemp Howard/Joe Besser
(6.6) Beyond Tomorrow (1940) - Harry Carey/C. Aubrey Smith/Charles Winninger
(4.7) The Big Chance (1933) - Mickey Rooney/John Darrow/Merna Kennedy
(5.6) The Big Trees (1952) - Kirk Douglas/Eve Miller/Edgar Buchanan/Alan Hale Jr.
(7.3) The Black Pirate (silent-1926) - Douglas Fairbanks/Donald Crisp/Mary Pickford (cameo)
(7.1) The Blacksmith (silent-1922) - Buster Keaton
(6.9) Brideless Groom (1947) - The 3 Stooges/Emil Sitka
(6.4) Captain Kidd (1945) - Charles Laughton/Randolph Scott/Barbara Britton/John Carradine
(7.0) The Dentist (1932) - W.C. Fields
(7.7) Disorder in the Court (1936) - The 3 Stooges/Bud Jamison
(6.2) Dora's Dunking Doughnuts (1933) - Shirley Temple/Andy Clyde/Ethel Sykes
(7.6) The Eagle (silent-1925) - Rudolph Valentino/Vilma Bánky/Louise Dresser
(6.6) A Farewell to Arms (1932) - Helen Hayes/Gary Cooper/Adolphe Menjou
(7.0) The Fatal Glass of Beer (1933) - W.C. Fields
(6.6) Father's Little Dividend (1951) - Spencer Tracy/Joan Bennett/Elizabeth Taylor/Billie Burke
(6.7) The Flying Deuces - Laurel & Hardy/Jean Parker/James Finlayson
(8.4) The General (silent-1926) - Buster Keaton
(6.6) The Golf Specialist (1930) - W.C. Fields
(6.3) The Great Dan Patch (1949) - Dennis O'Keefe/Gail Russell/Ruth Warrick
(6.9) Gulliver's Travels (animated-1939) - vocals: Jessica Dragonette/Lanny Ross/Jack Mercer (as Gabby)
(6.9) The Inspector General (1949) - Danny Kaye/Walter Slezak/Elsa Lanchester/Alan Hale
(7.6) The Iron Mask (1929) - Douglas Fairbanks/Belle Bennett
(5.0) Jane Eyre (1934) - Virginia Bruce/Colin Clive
(8.3) The Kid (silent-1921) - Charlie Chaplin/Edna Purviance/Jackie Coogan
(6.5) Kid Dynamite (1943) - The East Side Kids
(6.1) The Last Time I Saw Paris (1954) - Elizabeth Taylor/Van Johnson/Walter Pidgeon/Donna Reed
(6.0) Let's Get Tough! (1942) - The East Side Kids/Tom Brown/Robert Armstrong
(7.3) Little Lord Fauntleroy (1936) - Freddie Bartholomew/C. Aubrey Smith/Mickey Rooney
(7.1) The Little Princess (1939) - Shirley Temple/Cesar Romero/Arthur Treacher
(5.5) Long John Silver (Australia-1954) - Robert Newton/Connie Gilchrist
(7.1) The Lost World (silent-1925) - Lewis Stone/Wallace Beery/A. Conan Doyle (as himself)
(6.8) Malice in the Palace (1949) - The 3 Stooges/Vernon Dent
(5.2) Managed Money (1934) - Shirley Temple/Frank Coghlan Jr.
(5.0) The Medicine Man (1930) - Jack Benny
(6.9) My Favorite Brunette (1947) - Bob Hope/Dorothy Lamour/Peter Lorre/Lon Chaney Jr.
(5.9) My Dear Secretary (1949) - Laraine Day/Kirk Douglas/Keenan Wynn/Rudy Vallee
(7.0) Our Town (1940) - William Holden/Martha Scott/Thomas Mitchell
(7.1) The Paleface (silent-1922) - Buster Keaton
(5.5) Pardon My Pups (1934) - Shirley Temple/Frank Coghlan Jr./Dorothy Ward
(5.7) The Racketeer (1929) - Robert Armstrong/Carole Lombard/Hedda Hopper
(6.7) Royal Wedding (1951) - Fred Astaire/Jane Powell/Peter Lawford/Keenan Wynn
(5.2) The Scarlet Letter (1934) - Colleen Moore/Hardie Albright/Alan Hale/William Farnum
(7.5) The Scarlet Pimpernel (UK-1934) - Leslie Howard/Merle Oberon/Raymond Massey/Nigel Bruce
(6.9) Sing a Song of Six Pants (1947) - The 3 Stooges/Vernon Dent
(6.1) The Son of Monte Cristo (1940) - Louis Hayward/Joan Bennett/George Sanders/Clayton Moore
(7.7) A Star is Born (1937) - Janet Gaynor/Fredric March/Adolphe Menjou/Andy Devine
(6.2) That Gang of Mine (1940) - The East Side Kids
(6.4) Till the Clouds Roll By (1946) - June Allyson/Judy Garland/Frank Sinatra/Van Heflin
(6.2) The Time of Your Life (1948) - James Cagney/William Bendix/Broderick Crawford/Ward Bond
(4.7) War Babies (1932) - Shirley Temple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good collection at great price, January 6, 2006
By 
Wayne A. (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
Ive purchased a few from this series of boxed sets--it's a great way to pick up decent B-movies that may be of interest and some older A films that have fallen off the radar. These films have not been fussed over or remastered, so quality is variable and that's OK. Generally, for the cost, you'll get more-then-adequately rewarded. It's all similar to old late-night TV fare back in the pre-cable days.

I was a little disturbed by one of the reviews below complaining that one of the discs had "worn out." DVDs don't wear out. They can get mightily scratched up and that can cause trouble; that's an issue here since these are all double-sided discs and must be handled carefully. Also, significant dirt on the surfaces can unbalance them and cause some deterioration of image and sound quality. Allegedly, the materials within the disc may decay but there's talk of that happening after many decades or even longer. Still, in the immediate sense, DVDs don't wear out. Of course, players too can develop problems. Please don't let that comment dissuade you from considering this good bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whew....., October 7, 2004
By 
C. Falconer (valatie, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
I bought this collection last Christmas (about 9 months ago), and have finally watched all the films. I watched them when I found a couple hours here-and-there of down time. Seeing as I have never seen 95% of these, it was a real treat. Only one movie was so bad, that I couldn't finish it (Long John Silver). The rest varied from good to excellent. Just picked up the 50 pack of westerns, and am looking to watching all of them too. You'll probably see my review to that about 9 months from now (chuckle).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Fun, June 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
I don't typically go in for these fifty movie sets because most times you may get a couple good movies and the rest are so-so. This set offers at least a half dozen good movies that sold for at least five or more dollars and you may still see some of them sold independently. In addition you have some good Three Stooges thrown in as well. This is one of the few fifty movie sets I recommend. To top it off it is nicely boxed. The outer cover has a velcro closure to keep in the discs with there cardboard sleeves. Each disc has about four movies or shorts and the sleeves give the titles and a about a paragraph description. The quality of the discs is fair to good. Certainly as good as buying the individual titles in plastic covers for $5.99-6.99. I am really pleased with this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 pack of family movies: a great little set of some great family movies (and some great silent movies), April 25, 2006
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
i own many of these sets and like most of them. this set is very good. i don't know if i got lucky or what, but all the transfers look very good,not great,but very good. there are some fun movies on this collection,and as the title says they are family friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50 Movie Classics - REAL Classic, September 9, 2004
By 
Noah TW Givens (Marietta, Ga. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
Bunches of wonderful black & white family entertainment. An absolutely excellent offering to a baby-boomer..

One caveate - about 1/3rd of these titles are SILENT.

But considering that there are at least 25+ other home&family feel&good movies in the collection this is 'such uh bawgin' :-?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FAMILY CLASSICS, November 27, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
I grew up watching most of these classics movies on late nites.

It was just Awesome to see them again. lotsa comedy favs w' bob hope, danny kaye, shirley temple & others at their best. Hours of entertainment without the gross bodily functions & sexual innuendos of childrens movies nowadays. great for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for mom, June 7, 2007
By 
C. R. Thorn (Piscataway, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
bought this for my 80 year old mother. this was the solution to "there is nothing decent on t.v. anymore. she is really enjoying wathching the old and apparently "decent" movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value!!, June 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
They've done it again. Great value for the money. And while several of the "50 Movies" are short subjects, I'd recommend this pack to anyone who likes good, wholesome, old fashion entertainment. You can't go wrong!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection, December 12, 2007
This review is from: Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection (DVD)
Although I have not seen all 50 of the movies, this brought back memories of more carefree days. Be prepared to view some silent films. The older films also took liberties with the original stories. The Man in the Iron Mask combined a version of the Three Musketeers with it. A lot of Shirley Temple shorts. Good if you like Memory Lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection
Family Classics 50 Movie Pack Collection by Judy Garland (DVD - 2004)
$29.98 $8.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.