Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode list (I always wish I knew before I bought)
I always wanted to know what episodes I was looking to buy, so here. Hope this helps.

Stewie Loves Lois - Lois saves Rupert and Peter gets a prostate exam.

Mother Tucker - Peter's mom starts dating TV's Tom Tucker.

Hell Comes to Quahog - Meg gets a job at a store just like "Wal-Mart."

Saving Private Brian - Stewie and Brian join...
Published on October 16, 2008 by Paul W. May

versus
71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please release the full seasons
This review wil not be helpful to other readers, but I just wanted to voice my displeasure with the repeated release of half seasons. This is an unacceptable format and is just one little screw you that the target audience of the show (college age - 35 year old males) will put up with for awhile. This will and has inspired resentment in friends of mine and has caused...
Published on November 12, 2007 by Ross A. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode list (I always wish I knew before I bought), October 16, 2008
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
I always wanted to know what episodes I was looking to buy, so here. Hope this helps.

Stewie Loves Lois - Lois saves Rupert and Peter gets a prostate exam.

Mother Tucker - Peter's mom starts dating TV's Tom Tucker.

Hell Comes to Quahog - Meg gets a job at a store just like "Wal-Mart."

Saving Private Brian - Stewie and Brian join the Army.

Whistle While Your Wife Works - Lois has to help an injured Peter at work. This is also the first episode with Jillian.

Prick Up Your Ears - Lois teaches sex ed at Meg's school.

Chick Cancer - Peter makes a chick-flick. Stewie and Olivia reunite.

Barely Legal - Meg falls for Brian. Peter, Quagmire, and Cleveland become policemen.

Road to Rupert - Brian and Stewie go to Aspen to save Rupert. Meg becomes Peter's personal driver.

Peter's Two Dads - Peter accidentally kills his "father" and learns that his REAL father is an Irish drunk.

The Tan Aquatic with Steve Zissou - Stewie gets his tan on. Peter becomes a bully.

Airport '07 - Peter gets Quagmire fired, so he must get him rehired.

Bill and Peter's Bogus Journey - Peter and Bill Clinton partake in shenanigans. Lois has a "meeting" with Clinton.

All good episodes, especially Whistle While Your Wife Works, Peter's Two Dad's, Tan Aquatic..., and Bill and Peter's Bogus Journey. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please release the full seasons, November 12, 2007
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
This review wil not be helpful to other readers, but I just wanted to voice my displeasure with the repeated release of half seasons. This is an unacceptable format and is just one little screw you that the target audience of the show (college age - 35 year old males) will put up with for awhile. This will and has inspired resentment in friends of mine and has caused them to view recent seasons more harshly. This is still a great show, but when half a season costs $39.99, the listed price, that means the price of a full season would be 80$. With other shows, such as the simpsons, selling COMPLETE seasons for 20$ it makes it dificult to shell out cash for another half season of Family Guy. The goodwill the show has built up with its hilarity won't last much longer when it continually screws its fans. Either release full seasons or sell the half seasons at $20 or less.

In summary buy this DVD if you love Family Guy, which I do, but beware that your only getting half a season. You may want to buy some Simpsons seasons instead and get twice the length of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FULL price for HALF a season, November 7, 2007
By 
Mattphoto (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
Buying half a season for what you would pay for a full season of any other show just encourages the jackasses who put this together to do it again. Wait until the price drops then buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I've gotta echo the negative sentiments here, September 20, 2007
By 
N. Cassidy (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
I think the show is still quite funny, and almost all of the episodes in this set are worth having, but come on. Thirteen episodes for $40? That's absurd. Especially for a show that owes its resurrection to supporting fans and DVD sales. This is a spit in the face. They should be selling 4 discs for the price of two, not the other way around. They should be making Dane Cook look like Kurt Cobain as far as fan appreciation goes. They shouldn't be selling a three-disc set (that should, by all rights be a two-disc set, as the third is entirely special features that would've fit onto the other two quite easily, thus saving the packaging fees) for an outrageous sum. This is another egregious misstep after the "movie" debacle, in which they strung three episodes together, tossed a few curse words in, and marketed it as an uncensored, saturnalian romp. It's ridiculous and unfair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious but only 13 episodes? No way man!, November 14, 2007
By 
Francisco Javier Nunez "film lover" (Somewhere in Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
Family Guy Vol. 5 is as hilarious as ever but what's certainly not funny is the price. For a retail price of $39.99 you get just 13 22-minute episodes making it a not-so-good deal. Sure quality is more than quantity, but quantity still counts. Regardless this volume contains some very funny episodes but you may want to the consider the overpricing before you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Your Welcome!!!, October 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
I was a huge fan of Family Guy and I was until recently. I have my reasons, but here we go:

Since Family Guy came back, the jokes have been horrible. The episode where Peter's dad dies is just awful. That was fine, I can deal with some subpar episodes, but how much is this DVD for that amount of episodes?

Eric Cartman was right. Family Guy must be stopped. Wait...Lets just place the blame on Fox. They cancelled 3 great shows in their prime...Arrested Development, Futurama, and Family Guy. Plus they charge up these DVDs...Fox is just a horribly run network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I knew it would happen eventually, September 17, 2007
By 
SF RAGE (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
Shame! The makers of "Family Guy" have a huge debt to their fan base. Who saved their butts when the show was cancelled? The very people they're now gouging with the shameful product division. You owe us, you Fox ingrates! I don't know if it's Seth and his buds or the money-hungry leeches that run Fox or the subsidiary video release company who's responsible for this, but remember, what goes up (Family Guy's popularity) certainly must come down. Along with the less and less funny material you're slinging over the airwaves, this scrimping of episode releases stunt could certainly be the bell tolling for your fall. If this is how you're willing to treat the people who made you rich and famous, then it couldn't happen to more deserving folks.

Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The show is awesome, the price is tragic!!!, June 15, 2008
By 
SBJ400 "SBJ400" (Mt. Laurel, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
Come on, this is Family Guy we are talking about. A truly great show, no question and the DVD's are great too. THE PRICING IS WHAT SUCKS!

This is just another FOX, Inc. Rupert Murdoch screw you good for your money ploy.

You are not getting the full season. You are getting half a season. Just like they did with Season 4. Two different DVD sets, 2 huge prices.

I do not blame anyone behind Family Guy, this is a real ripoff tactic by the scumbag Rupert Murdoch himself and his Fox executives (evil minions).

I will not buy this until I find it on sale at a drastically lower price. Of course, there is always NETFLIX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality worth the price, August 14, 2007
By 
Spike (Winchester, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
Well, half season or not, this collection consists of some of the finest material ever produced for this show. Sometimes quality is more important than quantity.

One of the episodes consists of Stewie dancing with the legendary Gene Kelly which is not only an oddity for ANY cartoon but qualifies this episode to be a classic and worth the price of this set.

The episode where Peter has a prostate exam and thinks he is a victim of sexual harrassment as a result is one of the funniest episodes Family Guy ever had. This one also ranks at the top and is worth the price.

All in all, there is nothing negative about this set, except perhaps, it's rather dull cover. The cover of the last issue was a blast. This one's a bit dull by comparison.

Here is a a suggestion for those who are concerned about the price. After this set is released, in a matter of months it will be available from Amazon for about half the price as a used copy. You can pay less and still enjoy it.

All five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIEVES AT FOX!!!!, February 12, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Five (DVD)
The reason for the full price for half a season is simple. When Fox realized they made a mistake when they cancelled it, they basically begged the creator to come back. The show was already picked up by Cartoon Network, so McFarlane raked Fox over the coals to get as much money as possible. And I don't blame him a bit. In an effort to recoup some of their losses, Fox decided to split the seasons to double their profits. Why do you think the first 3 seasons were NOT broken up? Because the show was not picked up by anyone yet. Typical Hollywood theivery, plain and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.