Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on PlasmaCar

Format: DVDChange
Price:$7.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2006
This was great! You'll watch this time and time again.

You have great dialogue between Stewie and Brian, great thought pans (who can forget the Jew Man Group?)

The plot centers around Stewie and his travel's to seek out a man he believes to be his father. Good sub-plots invoving Peter becoming a news anchor. This was honestly the funniest one I've seen since the Stewie goes to Europe with Brian episode.

Buy it, rent it but view it. If you're a fan you won't be dissapointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2005
First, I will say that I am a HUGE family guy fan. I have Vol 1 and Vol 2 of them, and have all the episodes memorized. I heard my friends talk about the movie, so I had to buy it and see it for myself. Overall... I did laugh... sometimes... but it was all "eh". If you are a die hard fan of the old family guy, you probably won't like this movie that much. If you are just an average person who doesn't follow family guy that much, then you'll probably like it (because a lot of my friends aren't big into family guy, but they loved the movie). The movie has memorable moments, which is why I would suggest seeing it once, but over all I wouldn't waste the money on owning the DVD. Borrow it from a friend or something.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 29, 2005
THIS MOVIE IS UNFREAKIN'BELIEVABLY FUNNY. I didn't stop laughing, and if I did I started a few seconds later. Stewie is my hero, man! I won't say anything else so I don't spoil this highly entertaining movie to anybody who hasn't seen it, but this is a definite buy for any Family Guy fanatic because it's everything you'd expect from Family Guy, but on DVD. Even the intermission (oops! I let it slip, yo) part is really funny.

BUY THIS DVD. It's absolutely worth the money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2005
This wasn't what I expected. Like everyone else, I am a family guy fan, but I didn't expect the movie to be this bad. I wouldn't give it a five but won't give it a three, so I'll give it a four.

The movie was funny in some parts. The other parts were just bad.

I can't believe they made the movie as bad as I thought.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 8, 2006
As a reformed Simpsons fan since the shows inception. I feel comfortable saying, with no hesitation, that the Family Guy is not only the greatest animated show, but quite possibly the funniest television show ever created. Thank You Seth MacFarlane and Thank You to the good people at FOX for reviving the show from cancelation...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 27, 2006
and its hilarious! Of course, even if it was only ok youd have to buy it because family guy is turning into a classic TV series. This volume of family guy and 28 total episodes, seven from the cut-short first season, all of which are surprisingly funny. But then it really gets histarical when the second season (discs 2-4) come in.

I really dont need to say much. Its family guy, so you know its going to be funny
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 4, 2005
I think this is great. I love Stewie. He is the funniest. I think this is better than any episodes on TV. The whole idea of them being at a premier is great. The fact that there were stars in the movie were great.

Need to buy the rest of the collection...

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2011
Each individual movie alone retails for 15-20 bucks at a brick and mortar store, so all 3 blu-rays for this price is a great deal. Excellent quality, and I love Fox once again for the digital copies, allowing me to upload these to my laptop and enjoy anytime.

May the force be with you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2005
The premise of the movie is that Stewie goes in search of who he believes is his true father, a man he sees on TV, but in fact is actually himself, from the future. He follows his future self to see how his life turns out and it is a very pathetic life, no world domination, he's a virgin at 35 and works in an appliance store, all due to one near death experience that scared him so much he decided to become mild-mannered.

I am a huge Family Guy fan since I saw the very first episode. The humor is usually non-stop, some might consider it offensive at first but that's really its charm, as it is offensive to everyone and every stereotype. I was so excited at the thought of a totally Stewie video (as he is my favorite) but I must say it was quite a letdown. Yes there were a lot of jokes, but honestly in the first 5 minutes I didn't laugh at all- which I've never had happen before while watching Family Guy.

It just seems like there was so much more they could do with this movie. There are a few good jokes but most likely you've already seen them on the previews, who didn't love the sex scene- Stewie saying "That's never happened to me before" girl saying "What the 8 seconds of sex or the 40 minutes of crying?" And PLEASE, just come out and say it, Stewie is gay! We get it, so stop beating around the bush already. At any rate, while that was indeed funny the rest was just not that great.

You spend more time watching Stewie run from scene to scene instead of hearing jokes. If I didn't know any better I'd say they just made a normal episode of Family Guy and stretched it out into a movie by adding a bunch of scenes where Stewie runs or drives.

It is still Family Guy so you'll have a few laughs but I'm sorry to say: rent don't buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2003
I remember during the 1999 NFL Playoffs, FOX had heavily hyped Family Guy just as much as it promoted the Super Bowl XXXIII, which of course, was a laugher. Much like the clash between the Denver Broncos and Atlanta Falcons was nothing but hype, I was assured that Family Guy was nothing but just a Simpsons-looking ripoff. Instead of deriding it further, I just fell in love with Family Guy, although various highly acclaimed critics and a major proportion of FOX viewers, a lot of them, Simpsons fans thought otherwise. Furthermore, it was a darn shame that FOX did not have a whole lot of faith in the show, as it was shuffled in and out of lineups, like a baseball utility player. Sadly, instead of emerging as one of the marquee shows of the network, it was just thrown aside as an eccentric experimental show gone awry (i.e. Culture Clash, Andy Richter). Aside from all the bad press it received, Family Guy is fresh, offensive, and just downright hysterical. By far, it was edgier than the acceptable PG-rated norm, The Simpsons, pushing the ante for witty, satirical potty humor.
Family Guy follows the Simpsonic mold of characters. The series revolves around the Griffin family of Quahog, Rhode Island. The patriarch is Peter, your overly healthy average joe who works at a toy company and is basically your Homer Simpson-type. His wife is Lois, a redhead New England-accented average TV housewife. Meg is Peter and Lois' angst-filled teenage daughter, who like most teenagers, fights the uphill battle to fit in at school. Chris is the older son, who is a lunkhead like his old man. Then, we have everyone's favorite cartoon infant, Stewie, a wide-headed baby who speaks eloquently with an over-the-top British accent, obsessed with killing his mother for bringing him into this world and like your typical James Bond megalomaniac, he is after world domination. The Griffins' dog is Brian, a pooch that can walk, talk, and can become a drunken, sarcastic bum.
As far as the episodes go on this DVD set, there are 28 episodes in all, Seasons 1 and 2 in their entirety. Each episode is a guilty treat guaranteed to laugh yourself silly. Here are my personal favorites from the first two seasons:
Death Has a Shadow: The pilot episode. Peter is fired when he shows up to work extremely hung over and he receives a $150,000 welfare check by accident. When Lois reveals this ugly tidbit, Peter tries to save face by dumping money back to the taxpayers off a blimp over the Super Bowl.
I Never Met the Dead Man: When Peter teaches Meg to drive, Peter accidentally knocks out the city's cable by colliding into a satellite dish and he makes Meg the culprit, to avoid cruel and unusual punishment. Stewie attempts to destroy all vegetables by building a weather control device, when Lois forced him to eat his broccoli.
A Hero Sits Next Door: Peter becomes annoyed of his new next-door neighbor, Joe, a handicapped man who Peter was forced to invite to play on his company's baseball team. Because Joe emerges the sentimental favorite from his baseball-playing stint, Peter tries to become a hero by attempting to foil a bank robbery.
Death is a B!tch: Peter visits the doctor, worried that he has a lump in his breast. So that he does not have to pay a cent, Peter proclaims himself dead. Much hilarity ensues when Death attempts to claim Peter afterward.
The King Is Dead: Lois is the new artistic director of the Quahog Players theatre group and she plans to direct The King and I as her first production. For Peter to stop annoying her, Lois makes him the producer and he converts The King and I into a raunchy cyborg fighting extravaganza.
Road to Rhode Island: If I had to pick my very favorite episode, it's this one. Brian goes to pick up Stewie from visiting his grandparents in Palm Springs, and they miss their flight home due to Brian's drunkenness. The two set off back home on a heck of an adventure. Meanwhile, Lois forces Peter to watch relationship communication tapes, which turn out to be porn.
You can make a viable case for each episode to be a favorite because each one is laugh-out-loud funny, of course, some more than others. In summation, Family Guy is a very well-developed, well-executed comedy, which should be taken with light-hearted humor through its peak moments of rudeness. It is a hysterical riot worthy of a second crack on the airwaves, but since the likeliness of that happening looks bleak, there is more incentive into buying this extremely enjoyable DVD set.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Family Guy: It's A Trap!
Family Guy: It's A Trap! by Carrie Fisher (DVD - 2010)

Family Guy: Blue Harvest
Family Guy: Blue Harvest by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.