Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
5 star
75%
4 star
25%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 3, 2003
This was our third year using this Haggadah with our children, now 7 and 9 years old, and we will probably use it for at least a few more years. The "Family Haggadah" includes a complete service (i.e., no steps are skipped) with brief, clear English narration and key blessings and verses in Hebrew or Aramaic. The service is traditional with some contemporary additions - the Matzah of Hope; a poem written by a boy imprisoned in a concentration camp; Miriam's Cup; and one of our favorites, the Frog Song. The authors estimate that the service will take 45 minutes before dinner and 15 minutes after; we found it took closer to 55 minutes before dinner. The book is beautifully illustrated and includes discussion topics in boxes alongside the main text ranging from "what is your favorite part of the service" to a more sophisticated consideration of what it means to be enslaved versus free. Because the text is streamlined and simplified, rather than dumbed-down, this is also an ideal Haggadah for first-time seder hosts and seder novices of any age. To keep the service brief, very few traditional Hebrew songs are included. If you like to sing, you will need to supplement the "Family Haggadah" with a more traditional book, such as the Maxwell House version available in supermarkets.
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 1999
This wonderful, easy-to-follow Family Haggadah was designed as a guide for the seder experience where young people are present. Elie M. Gindi originally compiled the Haggadah as a tool to teach his children the mysteries and secrets of the holiday, whild maintaining their interest and stimulating their curiosity. Seder participants are provided with easy-to-read instructions for a smooth and traditional ceremony. Special features include text boxes scattered throughout that provide questions and engaging commentary, encouraging thoughtful discussion. Images of ancient and modern illuminated Haggadot and artifacts adorn the text of this unique Haggadah, allowing the reader a chance to view a rarely seen part of Passover history. Seder participants will experience Passover not simply through words, but through a feast of rich and vibrant images.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2006
I was looking for an easy-to-read Haggadah that was intelligent but at the same time fun for kids. This is the perfect one after a 10 year search. It is also the perfect amount of information...enough to make the seder interesting, but not too much that you get the feeling it will never end! Thank you Mr. Gindi for this Haggadah!!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2007
The "Family Haggadah" appears to be illustrated and annotated for parents who want to keep their 7 - 12 year olds engaged during the seder. For that purpose, the Family Haggadah seems to be an excellent choice. Beautifully illustrated with lots of fun "side" facts. If you have teenagers or are a group of all adults, the Family Haggadah will likely come off as too childish. The content is good for various degrees of religious seders. If you are looking for a more cultural/humanistic/secular approach to celebrating Passover, this Haggadah will leave you wanting more. I take my hat (but not my kippa) off to the author for creating a kid friendly haggadah that parents could tolerate.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2008
I am a "haggadah hoarder"! I have bought them ALL and personally use many of them for pre-seder preparation from year to year. And yet, THIS version is the one I set my table with -- it is attractive and easy to read, the gorgeous, colorful photos and illustrations thru-out make each page a delight. The questions and BRIEF commentary generate discussion. Every section one needs for a "proper" seder is included, with transliteration of all key seder moments, but it is abridged for a contemporary, non-Orthodox group. Our seder includes folks of all Jewish backgrounds at our table, as well as non-Jewish friends, and the Gindi receives universal praise each year. The price is right, too! Use other haggadot for the occasional supplementary reading or insight during your seder, but bring Gindi to the table as your essential haggadah. (Even the price is affordable to purchase one for every guest, too!)Happy Passover!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2008
This is a delightful version of the Haggadah, perfect for wee ones as well as the bigger ones!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2007
We were very happy with this Haggadah. Everything is there (hebrew, songs, stories, the afikomen, the wine,etc.) yet it is not excessively long. We had observant Jews, non-practicing Jews and a few non-Jews at our Sedar and they all throughly enjoyed the service. The ages ranged from 9 years old to 53 years old and included 3 teenagers. Truly several generations represented.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
With Amazon Reviews as my shofar, may it be for a commandment that I let the world know this Family Haggadah is a Godsend. Beautifully illustrated and easy to share with those of all ages and religious backgrounds, Gindi has created a wonderful vessel for 'Telling' the story of Passover. We have always enjoyed celebrating Pesach with our non-Jewish friends who are able to delve deeper into their own biblical past as a result of the experience. This Haggadah moves along quickly, which allows time for an inquisitive interactive debate among the participants. Historical, political and social issues are always welcome at our Seder table. While we no longer have young children in the house (17-26), we would never change our Haggadah. It's part of the family.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
The Haggadah is written in very simple language suitable for children and others with limited English skills. I am happy with the language and the retelling of the Passover story, but suggest including more songs for singing at the seder table. I particularly love the Passover themed art from the last 1500 years. The art is a main reason I bought the Haggadah.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
What a splendid Haggadah. It gives beautiful meaning to our seders. It is not too long, so we can get to the eating and socializing, but does keep us well-grounded and makes the evenings go so well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse