Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good resource!
This book REALLY goes over the practical EVERY-DAY spirituality of the heathen family .. its well thought out, and simple rituals over a meal, family time, even games to play -- to bring out the "realness" of the spirituality -- is VERY good to see.

I highly reccomended this book to friends!
Published on July 3, 2011 by Kevin Urbanczyk

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed
I came away with a few scraps of information from this book that I didn't already know (and I'm a newbie). The title is quite misleading. There are no "rites" in this book for the Heathen holidays (High Tides). There are short little paragraphs explaining each holiday and a few suggestions for activities. The author did provide a rituals or two for things like weddings,...
Published on March 20, 2012 by tressa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good resource!, July 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen (Paperback)
This book REALLY goes over the practical EVERY-DAY spirituality of the heathen family .. its well thought out, and simple rituals over a meal, family time, even games to play -- to bring out the "realness" of the spirituality -- is VERY good to see.

I highly reccomended this book to friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Swain's best, March 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen (Paperback)
This is the best book of its kind to come out since James Chisholm's "True Hearth". It is a very practical, easy to understand and use, family ritual handbook. Every heathen household should have a copy. The section in the back on family games and plays was a delight to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential for the heathen home, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen (Paperback)
Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen by Swain Wodening, is a simple and very accessible path toward the missing ingredient for many heathens, which is actually DOING SOMETHING heathen. Being heathen is more than adopting a set of beliefs, heathenry means living life in a certain way, it means putting your beliefs into action through your deeds. This book strikes the perfect balance between information and practice and contains more than enough material to help an individual or an entire family start living the heathen life, daily, weekly and throughout the year. This book is full of wise insights and helpful suggestions for any heathen family. A must have for any heathen home. (Jeff Wolf)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review: "Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen", by Swain Wodening, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book. Although I do not have a family, there is an informative list of topics that helped me learn about Heathenry: Daily Prayer, Gods and Goddesses, Ancestors, House Wights and Land Wights. Other chapters such as Family Traditions, Family Altars & Family Rites are more in keeping with the author's intended topic. Additional chapters cover everything from teaching children lore to ideas for fun time, such as heathen-oriented crafts & games; our Ancestors did similar things for their children. I recommend this very readable book, especially for those new to heathenry who are considering starting a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work!, July 16, 2014
By 
Roman Glick (Powder Springs, GA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great wealth of knowledge for anyone looking to bring the old ways back into their family. Many thanks to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, March 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen (Paperback)
I came away with a few scraps of information from this book that I didn't already know (and I'm a newbie). The title is quite misleading. There are no "rites" in this book for the Heathen holidays (High Tides). There are short little paragraphs explaining each holiday and a few suggestions for activities. The author did provide a rituals or two for things like weddings, and suggestions for funerals and coming of age ceremonies, but the rest of the book was weak. When will someone write a Heathen parenting/family book with recipes, fun crafts, and ritual liturgy? That is what I was expecting from this and didn't get it. But the worst thing was that this book wasn't edited at all. There are errors on every page; sentences that leave off in the middle, garbled sentences, and even a repeated paragraph. It makes me wonder if I can even trust any of the information therein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen
Family Rites for the Germanic Heathen by Swain Wodening (Paperback - February 14, 2011)
$15.99 $13.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.