Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Tree Maker for Dummies - Is for All - new and Old
Pluses: This book has clear instructions and good hints on entering family information, and some of the tougher jobs such as exporting and importing files. The book has a unique section, not in the "official" manuals or companion publications: Chapter 16, "Ten Ways to Avoid Calling Technical Support". Here there are hints here that have never been...
Published on July 12, 2000 by ETR

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Familytreemaker for Dummies
Out of date and does not match the program I bought it with. The program was the newest version and the book was way out of sinc. Waste of money.
Published on May 9, 2007 by Betsy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Tree Maker for Dummies - Is for All - new and Old, July 12, 2000
By 
ETR (Denver, CO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
Pluses: This book has clear instructions and good hints on entering family information, and some of the tougher jobs such as exporting and importing files. The book has a unique section, not in the "official" manuals or companion publications: Chapter 16, "Ten Ways to Avoid Calling Technical Support". Here there are hints here that have never been published. Chapter 15 "Ten Things That Can Save You Time" has more short cuts than in the "official" publications. The short cuts are either not in the manuals or hard to find. All users will find some of them useful. The book also covers some of the fine points of Genealogy and computer management: Cite sources and Back Up, Back Up are two examples.
Minuses: The authors examples are a ridiculous genealogy of household pets,"Greyhound Canine" and "Tabitha Zee Feline". Their example did not allow the complexity of a real family. The animal parallel was distracting from the excellent work explaining the program. Some information and relationships which are in many family files were not covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Tree Maker for Dummies, June 18, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a good book for people who are new to Family Tree Maker software. The authors take you step-by-step through the different screens, explaining how to enter data, make changes to it, and print it out in the various formats. They also show you how to search the web for data and how to import to your database and export it to a friend or relatives database. All in all, it's an easy to follow book that will help you feel comfortable using this program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Familytreemaker for Dummies, May 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
Out of date and does not match the program I bought it with. The program was the newest version and the book was way out of sinc. Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Family Tree Maker for Dummies is a waste of money, August 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is more than 12 years out of date! Shame on me for not noticing the publication date! Shame on Amazon for selling this as new!

Out of date and does not match the program I bought it with. The 2011 FTM program is the newest version and the book is geared for Vs. 7. Waste of money.

Amazon should withdraw it from their stocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assistance needed for Genealogy Program, January 11, 2009
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
I have been researching my family for quite a few years now. I have used several versions of Family Tree Maker, what used to be a great program for storing and processing the data collected.

I purchased Family Tree Maker for Dummies in the hope that I would receive some tips on improving my techniques and systems. The ad said that "It works for all versions." I am not satisfied that it does. I have achieved no information that I didn't already have. In addition, the new versions of FTM are very different and, where a book of this type could be very beneficial, they aren't included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments on Family Tree Maker for Dummies, October 22, 2001
By 
Tom Woods (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
I think the book is helpful in many ways. However, I think buyers should be advised that the book is not compatable with some older versions of Family Tree Maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful., June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
This didn't work for me. I have family tree maker 2008 . I am not sure which one this works with. I really could use a newer version. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of date, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
Book is too old. Talks to technology that is history. CD's and formats described are no longer used. Very little is germane to Family Tree Maker 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Family TreeMaker for Dummies, December 28, 2008
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
Got this book to help with my FTW entries. Have done a lot, but in the first few chapters, I find that there is lots more to do, like to add facts about things, like what is the source of a graduation from high school, or what is the source of the degrees.
This is NOT a book to read from cover to cover. Start working with FTW, then when you get some data entered, read the chapter on what you've done, and you can go back and "touch it up" a bit for more interest for your family.
Well written, and easy reading, like most of the other "Dummies" books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genealogy, May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker For Dummies (Paperback)
This book was a gift but I'm sure it will be well appreciated. The arrival to Australia was a speedy one with no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Family Tree Maker For Dummies
Family Tree Maker For Dummies by Matthew Helm (Paperback - 2000)
$29.99 $18.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.