Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Tree Maker for Mac
This version of Family Tree Maker only works on Mac OS X 10.5 or later. If you have any OS X version before 10.5, this will not work for you. You'll also need 500 MB of free space for installation. I installed mine on an external drive to save space, and it has worked out very well.

There are lots of "bells and whistles" in Family Tree Maker Deluxe, allowing...
Published on February 22, 2012 by James Choma

versus
164 of 166 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fewer Features for More Money
Would you pay more for one version of an app that has fewer features than another version? That's what Ancestry expects Mac users to do. The Windows download version retails for $39.99 from the Ancestry online shop, while the Mac version retails for $69.99. According to GenealogyTools.com, the following features are in the Windows version but not the Mac version: Unicode...
Published on March 16, 2012 by Texas Bücherwurm


‹ Previous | 15 6 713 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adjunct to Ancestry.com, April 5, 2013
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
In a way, this software is not stand-alone; it's an adjunct to Ancestry.com, a paid-membership website for researching genealogy. Therefore, you need to set up an account in order to get really anything out of this program. The software comes with 3 months included membership, essentially a trial membership test-drive.

You can do family trees, keepsake charts, and projects with the whole family. If you are into genealogy, Ancestry seems to be the leading site for that subject. Personally, I don't have time to track down the myriads of cousins (my grandparents came from families with 13 plus kids, so you do the math.) But I have cousins who are the "keepers of the family tree" and for them, this software and website is key to their genealogy research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Refund feature didn't work; Poor replication with Ancestry.com, March 14, 2013
By 
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
A prominent feature of this product is its money-back guarantee offer. Although I carefully followed the product user guide in all respects, my experience was that a refund check could not be obtained, even two months after return of the product. Family Tree Maker is software for use on a customer's personal computer. Another attractive and prominent feature is a six-month cost-free subscription to on-line Ancestry.com. No difficulties were encountered in registration and use of Ancestry.com. However, prior to returning the software, repeated attempts failed in reliably and smoothly replicating and synchronizing trees and associated data both directions between Family Tree Maker and Ancestry.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fun trip!, January 12, 2013
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
It is a journey I have been reluctant to go on.

This is one of the things I have always meant to do and at 50 years old, now is probably the best time to get started - before I forget everything. The Irish side of my family is probably really easy to find, as it is about as Irish as you can get, without the O' in front of it. The family story was always that my grandfather removed the O' when he arrived at Ellis Island. It turned out that it was HIS father who removed the O'.

But for me, the most interesting of all, and probably the least likely to be found, is the Northern Mexican part of my heritage. Luckily, I interviewed my grandfather about our heritage when he was in his 70s, and learned of family names that none of us knew anything about. This information is difficult to come by, even with access to Ancestry.com.

I never understand why they include books with computer programs. Why? Why not make a simple file that can be updated as necessary?

I've seen the commercial - "Oh, my daddy was 2!" and thought, "No kidding." But this was a lot more fun than I thought it would be. I imagined sifting through a lot of pages looking for things, but the work is done for you. You just need to know dates and names to get started.

It's easy to start, difficult to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Tree Maker & Ancestry.com, January 11, 2013
By 
Bradford Smith (Berkeley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
As I understand it (and I may have this wrong), Ancestry.com owns FTM. Ancestry.com is in the cloud. FTM is on your computer. TreeSync keeps the FTM files on your computer and Ancestry.com files in the cloud in sync. FTM and Ancestry.com are two different ways of accessing the information in your family tree(s). I prefer using Ancestry.com to access my family trees and am blown away by the amount and type of data available on Ancestry.com. Attempting to merge files has been a trial. FTM and Ancestry.com are wonderful products, but, be careful; it can be a time sink. Maybe when I get a better feel of when best to use FTM and Ancestry.com, I'll change my rating to five stars, but for the moment, it remains a bit of a mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good results, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
This product was easy to install . Worked well with Mac 10.6.8, even though I had
initial reservations that it would. Synced easily with Ancestry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a subscription, December 16, 2012
By 
W. Miller (KY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
First off, I had problems importing info. Lost some dates and relatives. Good news is that it integrates well with ancestory.com and includes 6 months sub. The bad news is ancestory.com is expensive to use afterwards. I've basically just use the ancestory.com app with the ipad now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's just OK, November 6, 2012
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
After owning FTM for Mac2 for about six months, I like the fact that you can match up the Tree you create with Ancestry.com, and print off some trees or reports to give to relatives. The best feature of the software is also it's drawback. That is the ability to find duplicate people. The downside to this is that the software developers have done a poor job of warning you if a sync between FTM and Ancestry.com is about to go berserk and add a couple thousand duplicates; and when it does, there is no "fix" that is easy to correct the problem. You end up spending endless hours methodically merging then deleting duplicate individuals. The program crashes often, and the help desk at ancestry usually doesn't have answers for the problems. There also, never appear to be systematic updates to fix bugs in the software. If you can find it on sale, and are willing to put up when the software glitches, it ends up being a place where you can capture as much data as possible from Ancestry.com then drop the monthly fees from Ancestry. I say this after building a family tree with over seven thousand family members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered!, July 19, 2012
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Outstanding product! I am relatively new to developing a family tree and I was always stopped by problems I encountered along the way. My brother even traveled half-way around the country trying to establish birth certificates and find Indian records and look at grave sites. He saw this and got me on the road quickly (with Family TreeMaker). "If only I had this 3 years ago when...."

Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 with TreeSync will allow you to update your family tree online, and then allows you to sync it across devices (like to your iPad). It also lets you access interactive street and satellite maps, sync desktop and online Ancestry.com trees together with TreeSync, and add charts, reports, and photos (even audio and video).

The Companion Guide to Family Tree Maker helps you to develop your family tree and personalize it. Included with it is a six resource reference set (didn't use) to help you with research called the Family History Toolkit DVD. Uploading things to Ancestry.com was easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice integration with Ancestry.com, July 6, 2012
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The initial attraction is that the software offers a nice intro package with Ancestry.com, which otherwise can be a pricey source of good information. The software itself is nicely done and draws you in beyond the Ancestry.com package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For the serious genealogist--but with serious reservations, June 13, 2012
This review is from: Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] (CD-ROM)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Though this software is easy enough to use for a simple family tree, it's really intended for the serious researcher who wants to do thorough and accurate documentation. The software's ability to integrate and synchronize with Ancestry's website is invaluable, but there are some caveats. Be very cautious about properly labeling all of your media files; be very diligent about making backup copies; and expect the synchronization process to fail at some point, so have a fallback solution. I have found that it is less dangerous to do all my research and data entry on the Ancestry website and then synchronize the local file periodically for the production of printed reports. In a way, this is the reverse of what I first intended, since I thought it would be easier to enter data in the local copy of the software. Unfortunately, Ancestry's synchronization is not foolproof, and after learning the hard way that major glitches can occur, I rely on the software for showing family data to interested visitors and for preparing reports and charts. The latter two items--the reports and charts--are far less capable than software I have used in the past. Ancestry really needs to invest some time and effort into making this area of the software much better than it is. The incredible charts that were available in an old genealogy program originated by Reunion and subsequently taken over by Generations had far, far better charts ten years ago than what is available in this software. And who wants to print a birthday calendar filled with people who died two hundred years ago?

Overall, though Family Tree Maker is useful as an adjunct to Ancestry's online service, it is not a terribly reliable piece of software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 713 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION]
Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 [OLD VERSION] by Nova Development US (Mac)
$99.99 $45.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.