ACDelco Radiators & Heating Components Best Books of the Month Shop Men's Watches Cloud Drive Photos nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums belkin All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer wdftv wdftv wdftv  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM Toys & Games

Format: DVDChange
Price:$12.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

93 of 111 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2011
I've been a fan since January 31, 1999.. Bought every DVD including the random DVD's they release so Seth MacFarlane could make some extra cash (like he needs it). But now I'm starting to get a little upset with these half season DVD releases.. I really feel scammed. I almost feel like not buying anymore. Between netflix, hulu, and amazon prime I'm starting to realize that people like Seth MacFarlane cant hold my arm behind my back in order to have their shows on demand.. Let alone the fact that family guy has kinda gone downhill the past 3 years... Maybe a handful (2-3) are memorable. Lets take a stand and maybe they will go back to trying to make us happy instead of filling their pockets :)
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2011
I hate to add to the rest of the comments complaining about the release date fiasco (reviews are only supposed to be for people that actually purchased the item), but I did a quick look online and found that all of season 8 and the first couple of season 9 have already been released in other markets (as Volume 10) and the rest of season 9 has been released (after checking as 'Volume 11'. What gives with the giant wait? In the same amount of time between Volume 8 and Volume 9's release in the US, region 2 got the next two volumes already released!

Season 8 is pretty decent in itself, but much of the series has lost its comedic spark and turned more serious. I don't know if FG will regain its hilariousness (the original writing staff before the long cancellation period was genus), but I do know that American Dad seems to have gotten the better writers (as per commentary/comic-con appearances by Seth, the writers of the two shows are separate and rarely interact with each other unless one does a joke that the other is considering).

The stars are for the rest of Season 8, not for the wait.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
67 of 91 people found the following review helpful
on March 3, 2011
Family Guy Volume 9 contains 14 episodes. The last 11 episodes of season 8 (not including "Something, Something, Something Dark Side") and the first 3 episodes of season 9. The 3 episodes of season 9 on this set are shown in a Widescreen format.

Episode list

Business Guy 2/5 (Last episode of 2009)
Big Man on Hippocampus 4.5/5 (First episode of 2010)
Dial Meg for Murder 3.5/5
Extra Large Medium 4.5/5
Go Stewie Go 3/5
Peter-assment 2/5
Brian Griffin's House of Payne 4.5/5 (Good episode except for the scenes with unconscious Stewie)
April in Quahog 3/5
Brian and Stewie 1.5/5
Quagmire's Dad 2/5
The Splendid Source 4/5 (Cleveland appears in this episode!!)
And Then There Were Fewer 3/5 (Season 9 premeire)
Excellence in Broadcasting 3/5
Welcome Back Carter 3.5/5

The episodes that I would reccomend are "Big Man on Hippocampus", "Extra Large Medium", "Brian Griffin's House of Payne", and "The Splendid Source" .The rest of the episodes are OK with the exception of "Brian and Stewie" which was absolutely horrible. Didn't care much for "Quagmire's Dad" either. This obviously isn't the best Volume of Family Guy and the next one probably won't be any better. For some reason in a few of these episodes Quagmire has lost his humor and is hardly funny at all. At this point the series is well past its prime with decent episodes few and far between. The only reason I'll buy this set is to complete my collection and for the handful of decent episodes.
2121 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 22, 2011
Okay before i get started, why are there almost FOUR pages of previews dated before the DVD release date?

Anyway, the quality is pretty good. Audio is DD 5.1, A/V bitrates are standard for a Mpeg2 DVD. Nothing to complain about on the quality. I buy these things for the Extras. For some reason, only 5 of the 14 episodes have a commentary track, whereas every previous Volume from 3-8 had commentary on ALL episodes - so that was a letdown. Each disc also has fewer deleted scenes than previous Volumes, for some reason. But we get a "bonus" Cleveland show episode. Goody. Menus are fine, though basic. Easy enough to navigate what little there is, but each menu is the same. Not a REQUIREMENT of a good set, but indicative of the effort put forth to create this Volume. Naturally, every one is uncensored and there are alternate versions of jokes/scenes that could not be aired for S&P reasons.

For thoae complaining about the smaller number of episodes, every volume has been like that. Yes, Id' rather see actual full seasons, but whatever.

If you thought the other sets were worth the money, this will be, too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 19, 2011
The first time I watched Family Guy was with my then-boyfriend, now-husband. I've been hooked ever since. When Family Guy: Volume Nine was delivered at my door, I was so excited. Not only because it's something new for my hubby and I to enjoy, but because I knew that it would make James smile. When he got home from work and saw it sitting on the end table, his eyes got huge and he said, "oh yay!" I love it when I get to review an item that I know both of us will enjoy. This volume is filled with 384 minutes of laugh out loud fun. I laughed for like five minutes straight when I heard Peter say "close encounter of the turd kind". Family Guy comedy doesn't get old. We laughed so hard and enjoyed every second of this collection. My favorite part would have to be the deleted scenes. Family Guy friends everywhere will cheer!

WARNING: I wouldn't recommend watching this with the kiddies. It is uncensored and unless you want your children dropping f-bombs, I would keep it to teens and adults.

Disclosure: I received this item for review purposes. All opinions expressed are 100% my own.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 4, 2012
I love this show, but I have to admit this "Volume Eight" DVD set is very underwhelming. I found the set at Target and it was only 15 BUCKS!!! I'm so glad it was so cheap because it is very, for lack of a better word LAME.
The main complaint everyone has is these sets are only 13 episodes long even though there usually are 20 or more episodes every season.I understand why they do this, but it is getting old.
The episodes are in production number order and not necessarily in the order that they aired.
My personal problem with this set in, since volume 4 every episode (or close to) has had a commentary track.
This set has almost none, only a few select.
I know Mr MacFarlane is a busy man with three shows to produce,and maybe he has no part in the DVD sets, but this set just seems lazy.
I still love the show and I got lucky with the price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2012
Volumes 7 and 8 of the Family Guy DVD series were disappointments for me. The quality of the episodes declined so significantly I almost gave up on the show. The series righted itself, however, with Volume 9; in fact, it is my favorite Family Guy Volume except for maybe Volume 6 with its brilliant "Stewie Kills Lois"/"Lois Kills Stewie" two-parter. Almost every episode is excellent save for "April in Quahog" which I think is rather weak. It also has many laugh-out-loud moments. The scenes where Stewie gets punched (once by Brian and another time by Peter) are hilarious. When I first saw the title "Class Holes," I think I laughed for a full minute. The double-length season nine debut "And Then There Were Fewer" is one of the best FG episodes ever. I also like the episode where Meg finally gets her revenge on those who've demeaned her (which is, pretty much, every character on the show).

Disc 1:
"Business Guy"--Peter throws father-in-law Mr. Pewterschmidt a belated bachelor party which causes him to have a heart attack and slip into a coma. Peter takes over the Pewterschmidt company with predictable results. When Mr. Pewterschmidt recovers, Peter will not relinquish his position. The swamp monster/Scooby-Doo ending was lame, but it is still a good episode. Peter to the intercom: "Peggy, that fart I had at three, can you push that up to now?"
"Big Man On Hippocampus"--The Griffins are on Family Feud and Peter is knocked out by Richard Dawson (it was bound to happen) and develops amnesia. He has to be re-taught everything and, when Lois teaches him how to make love, he decides he can do it with anyone he wants. When Lois leaves the unfaithful Peter, Quagmire tries to move in.
"Dial Meg For Murder"--Brian is writing an article on the average teenage girl for Teen People and follows Meg around and discovers she is dating a convict. When she hides her boyfriend from the cops after he escapes, she goes to jail herself and returns a bada$$: "I'm home, you're all my b!#@#es now."
"Extra Large Medium"--Stewie and Chris get lost in the woods and a psychic gives Lois comfort they will be found (curiously, she never specified "alive," but Lois takes the prediction in a positive way). Lois then depends on the psychic and Brian tries to convince her the medium is a fake, but nothing convinces Lois more than when Peter decides he has psychic powers. Meanwhile, Chris tries to date a girl with Downs Syndrome who bosses him around. She is terrible, but the ending is hilarious.
"Go, Stewie, Go"--Stewie wants to be in his favorite kid's television show "Jolly Farm," but to get a part he needs to pretend he is a girl. He then falls in love with his female co-star. Meanwhile, Lois is getting tired of Peter putting her down and desires Meg's compliment-throwing boyfriend.

Disc 2:
"Peter-Assment"--Peter's boss, Angela, hasn't had "it" in years and , when Peter comes to work without glasses, she becomes attracted to him and threatens to fire him if he doesn't satisfy her desires. Peter actually shows a compassionate side in this episode. As for the school play at the beginning: Terri Schiavo was an odd news story to revive (so to speak).
"Brian Griffin's House of Payne"--Stewie digs out an old script written by "H. Brian Griffin." Lois uses her father's television connections to get Brian a TV pilot, but the television execs make changes to Brian's story, for example, hiring James Woods to play the lead, changing the plot to a father and 18 year-old daughter in college together, and changing the title from "What I Learned on Jefferson Street" to "Class Holes." I laughed out loud so many times to this episode.
"April in Quahog"--The Griffins, along with the rest of Quahog, await the end of the world only to learn it was an April Fool's joke by the news team. When they thought it was the end, Peter let it be known he hates being around the kids. When they survive, he has some explaining to do. This is the weakest episode of this volume and the ending was rushed.
"Brian and Stewie"--As lame as the preceding episode was, this one is actually very heavy although there are many hilarious moments, too. Brian and Stewie get locked in a bank vault for the weekend and battle, laugh, compromise, and share very serious feelings. This may be the only episode that only has two characters in it.
"Quagmire's Dad"--Quagmire builds up his dad's reputation as being a lady killer and becomes horrified when he learns his war hero father is going to have a sex change operation. If that were not enough humiliation for Quagmire, he finds out his "he-she father" slept with his mortal enemy: Brian.
"The Splendid Source"--Quagmire tells Peter and Joe a dirty joke and they go on a quest to find its source. Their travels take them to Virginia to be reunited with Cleveland and then to Washington D.C. where they make an astounding discovery: the Obama Memorial (ha, ha, just kidding). The dirty joke is told at the end; it is nasty.

Disc 3:
"And Then There Were Fewer"--This is one of my favorite FG episodes. It brings in all the prominent characters, including the hilarious airhead Jillian. Quahog citizens are invited to a dinner party hosted by James Woods. He wants to apologize to everyone, but then there is a murder, and then another one, and then another one. Who is responsible? This double-length who-done-it, it very well-done and clever and, graphically, it looks like a movie.
"Excellence in Broadcasting"--Rush Limbaugh comes to Quahog for a book-signing and an angry Brian goes to confront him. Leaving the book signing, Brian is inexplicably attacked by a gang and is saved by Limbaugh. In return, Brian agrees to read his book and turns into a hardcore conservative. Brian seems at his least articulate at the beginning of this episode. Maybe his anger was clouding his thoughts. The show was very kind to Limbaugh and even had him morph into an eagle at the end.
"Welcome Back Carter"--Peter catches Mr. Pewterschmidt cheating on his wife. Good episode, but, what I don't understand about this one and also the episode in another volume where Brian is dating a 50 year old is, how old do they think these people are? The back story of Carter and Babs Pewterschmidt would make them in their 80s at the youngest and more like 90s or 100s! The song "Jeepers Creepers" came out in 1938.
Extras include deleted scenes which were best kept deleted, commentary on select episodes, a comic-style phone conversation for "Brian and Stewie," "The Making Of 'And Then There Were Fewer'," Comic-Con 2010, "The History of the World According to FG," etc.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 26, 2012
This is the third phase of Family Guy, where the show (intentionally I think) becomes the very thing it long lampooned. The creators and writers of Family Guy love the bad television of yesteryear, and mined it endlessly for references or cutaways through the first two phases. In the third phase, Family Guy becomes a plot-driven traditional sitcom, attempting to develop its characters and push each episode with actual human conflicts.

This phase began with "April in Quahog," where Peter reveals that he does not enjoy spending time with his family. To the surprise of the long-time viewer, the rest of the family is offended by Peter's insensitivity, and the rest of the episode follows that conflict. Perhaps the best example of the third phase is "Brian and Stewie," where the titular characters finally reveal how they feel about each other (arguably the only successful episode because we're invested in the relationship between the characters). See also "Quagmire's Dad," where we learn that Quagmire's father is transgendered, "Excellence in Broadcasting," where Brian experiences a political change of heart after being introduced to the ideas of Rush Limbaugh, and "Welcome Back, Carter," where Lois's father loses his marriage after an infidelity. Even the zany episodes, like "And Then There Were Fewer" and "The Spendid Source" still resemble the gimmicky "very special episodes" of old sitcoms. The phase continues past the end of this DVD volume, such as "Foreign Affairs," where Bonnie goes to Paris intending to cheat on Joe.

The problem with these episodes is that these plots are predictable and boring (because they're largely recycled), and the jokes they generate have a very low hit rate. This show spent seasons creating the expectation in its viewers that these characters would do and say anything, and regardless of how awful or offensive, there were no real consequences. Suddenly, the characters' actions are examined and confronted, and the characters then seek to fix relationships that we've never been asked to care about before. Family Guy regularly and openly insults bad sitcoms that traffic in this nonsense, but it has become one, and worse, it hasn't invested enough in these characters to earn these plotlines. If I wanted this kind of show, I would watch How I Met Your Mother or something like that. I respect that these writers may see this as a tribute of sorts to the bad TV they grew up with, but the result is a show that is no longer entertaining or funny. (The simpler explanation could just be that Family Guy is out of gas and they've resorted to unwinding plots to chew the clock.)

In case you were wondering, the first phase of Family Guy is pre-cancellation, when it was actually a witty and sharp animated show, with just the right touch of the absurd. Those first three seasons are really quite magnificent, and I grow to appreciate them more when compared to the later phases. What is interesting is that Family Guy actually had the structure of a traditional sitcom back then, too, but it struck the balance much better than it does now, because the characters were consistent: Peter was a lovable buffoon, Lois the long-suffering wife and mother, Chris the idiotic but sweet son, Meg the ever-hopeful loser girl, Brian the witty observer, and Stewie, who was also a witty observer, but mostly was the wild card (arguably one of the most interesting television characters ever).

The second phase is after the show returned from cancellation. The show was basically complete insanity, but it was still quite enjoyable because there was an element of unpredictability, and the feeling that there was nothing else like Family Guy on television. This was also, however, where the show conditioned its audience to stop caring about any of the characters, turning them all into terrible people in different ways. Before, it could be assumed that we were supposed to like all of the characters, but in this phase, they're all put through the ringer. Furthermore, the characters' identifying characteristics became much harder to rely on. To go into much more detail would be beyond the scope of this review.

The first part of this DVD set captures the end of that phase. There is a basic skeleton of a plot, and then a series of loosely associated or random gags flowing therefrom. "Business Guy" is a perfect example: Peter comes into command of Carter's company, but the plot is irrelevant, as the episode is memorable because of a funny cameo from Hugh Laurie as Dr. House, a Scooby-Doo send-up involving a "swamp monster," and a "Black Guy Heart Monitor." Same with another hilarious episode, "Brian Griffin's House of Payne," where an old script Brian wrote gets developed into a TV show by CBS, or "Big Man on Hippocampus," solely for seeing the Griffins on Family Feud. These first seven episodes of the volume are all fairly strong. Hence a three-star review: just over half these episodes are good.

Bonus features: I don't really buy DVD on TV for that, so I couldn't tell you. They're for the more devoted fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 29, 2011
This was a Christmas gift for my children...but we have all watched it non-stop since they opened it. It is hilarious (especially because it is the uncensored version)!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 30, 2011
At this point, even Seth MacFarlane has expressed interest in ending the show. But FAMILY GUY still goes strong...or still goes...or however you want to look at it.

VOLUME 9 (no telling what half-seasons it comprises) is the weakest collection to date; there's no doubt about it. The show has become too self-aware, too eager to push the limits and mock FOX, the network that won't dare cancel it (for the third time). MacFarlane and company are still funny, but they have a tendency to take the joke too far, to go that extra step that kills the humor (the "that's why it's funny, stupid" moment). Almost every joke seems designed to push the limits merely for the sake of "going there."

And yet we keep watching. Why? Because of the creative curiosity behind such episodes as "And Then There Were Fewer." Because this animated show actually adapted a Richard Matheson short story ("The Splendid Source"). Because Adam West is still prominently featured. And there's something to be said about the audacity of a musical number called "Down Syndrome Girl."

The show is far too self-referential (the entire cast/crew seems all too aware that its best seasons are behind them, and are pretty much riding their own coattails), but FAMILY GUY still brings the yucks. It's not half of what it once was, but damn if it isn't still addictive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Family Guy, Volume Eight
Family Guy, Volume Eight by Family Guy (DVD - 2010)

Family Guy, Volume Seven
Family Guy, Volume Seven by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2009)

Family Guy, Volume Six
Family Guy, Volume Six by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.