Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


245 of 269 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Family Guy Vol. out
Family Guy Vol. 3 is the funniest Family Guy set out. It includes my favorite episode Petarded. This set will contain 3 discs (like Vol. 2 did), all 13 episodes of season 4, and extras. Here is the list of the episodes in Vol. 3:

Disc 1

1. North by North Quahog

2. Fast Times at Buddy Cianic Jr. High

3. Blind Ambition...
Published on September 11, 2005 by darkmosquito

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
Make no mistake, Family Guy Volume well below the standard set by Volumes 1 and 2, but it is still very good. With the exception of a few episodes (most notably, 'Don't Make Me Over'), Family Guy still retains the same off the wall humor that was prevalent in previous seasons, and thankfully, much less singing.

The worst aspect about Family Guy Vol. 3 is that...
Published on December 4, 2005 by Steve Buscemi


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

245 of 269 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Family Guy Vol. out, September 11, 2005
By 
darkmosquito "Patrick" (Fresno, California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
Family Guy Vol. 3 is the funniest Family Guy set out. It includes my favorite episode Petarded. This set will contain 3 discs (like Vol. 2 did), all 13 episodes of season 4, and extras. Here is the list of the episodes in Vol. 3:

Disc 1

1. North by North Quahog

2. Fast Times at Buddy Cianic Jr. High

3. Blind Ambition

4. Don't Make Me Over

Disc 2

1. The Cleveland-Loretta Quagmire

2. Petarded

3. Brian The Bachelor

4. 8 Simple Rules for Buying My Daughter

Disc 3

1. Breaking Out is Hard To Do

2. Model Misbehavior

3. Perfect Castaways

4. Peter's Got Woods

5. Jungle Love

6. Extras

Extras Include:

1. Commentary Tracks

2. Behind The Scenes With Stewie

3. Resurrection of Family Guy

4. Deleted Scenes

5. Animatics

6. Family Guy "Live In Las Vegas" Music Video

This set is a must-have for any Family Guy fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., December 4, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
Make no mistake, Family Guy Volume well below the standard set by Volumes 1 and 2, but it is still very good. With the exception of a few episodes (most notably, 'Don't Make Me Over'), Family Guy still retains the same off the wall humor that was prevalent in previous seasons, and thankfully, much less singing.

The worst aspect about Family Guy Vol. 3 is that it only contains the first 13 episodes of Family Guy. Fox, not content with milking Family Guy with 'The Freakin' Sweet Collection', have split the 4th production season into three DVD titles: 'Family Guy Vol. 3', 'Family Guy Vol. 4', and 'Stewie Griffin: The Untold Story' Vol. 3 is half the running time of Vol. 1, and of course, not half the price.

This allows Fox to push out the third volume before Christmas rather than wait until all of season 4 has aired. The second half of Season 4 is notably funnier and comparable to previous seasons in terms of quality...but does not appear on this disc.

The drop in quality and the lack of actual episodes on this volume may leave a sour taste in your mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the correct info for this set., August 14, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
North by North Quahog"

Original Airdate: 05-01-05

Lois & Peter try to spice up their sex life by taking a second honeymoon and end up fighting Mel Gibson to stop the release of Passion of the Christ 2. Meanwhile, Brian and Stewie are charged with watching the kids while they are gone and slip into the role of 'mom and dad'.

"Fast Times at Buddy Cianci Jr. High"

Original Airdate: 05-08-05

Chris falls in love with his new substitute teacher whose looking for a boy to kill her husband. Brian takes up substitute teaching for the Remedial English class filled with hoods.

"Don't Make Me Over"

Original Airdate: 06-06-05

When Meg is turned down by a cute boy, she is devasted until Lois takes her to the mall for a makeover. Peter and the neighborhood guys decide to form a garage rock band and when catastrophy happens at their first performance, the whole Griffin family kicks in to help. A talent scout turns them into a family bus touring band.

"Blind Ambition"

Original Airdate: 05-15-05

While trying to set a world record for eating money, Peter succumbs to nickel poisoning that strikes him blind. Quagmire tries to shake off his addiction to women. God comes to earth to be a player. Lois decides to use Peter's blindness to try out a new au naturale look.

"The Cleveland-Loretta Quagmire"

Original Airdate: 06-12-05

Peter and Brian walk in on Loretta and Quagmire getting giggity and Cleveland becomes obsessed with getting revenge. Loretta kicks Cleveland out for not caring anough and he moves in with the Griffins. Quagmire goes into hiding while Cleveland trains and plans his revenge.

"Petarded"

Original Airdate: 06-19-05

After winning at Trivial Pursuit, Peter claims to be a genius, so Brian asks him to take an IQ test to prove it. When it turns out Peter is borderline retarded, he learns to use his handicap to his advantage.

"Brian the Bachelor"

Original Airdate: 06-26-05

Brian is selected to be featured on THE BACHELOR despite his belief that reality TV is all fake. Chris gets a talking pimple that convinces him to do mischeivious things, and Peter and the gang help Cleveland get back into dating.

"8 Simple Rules for Buying My Teenage Daughter"

Original Airdate: 07-10-05

Meg is jealous over Neil Goldman's new lady love and decides she wants him instead. Peter runs up a huge bill at Mort's Pharmacy. Stewie falls in love with his new babysitter and decides to rub out her boyfriend so he can have her to himself.

"Breaking Out Is Hard to Do"

Original Airdate: 07-17-05

Lois's kleptomania lands her in jail, leaving the Griffin household in a worse state of dissarray than usual. Peter takes up sumo wrestling.

"Model Misbehavior"

Original Airdate: 07-24-05

Lois decides to fulfill her lifelong dream of becoming a model while Peter deals with the fact that every man in town wants to bed his wife. Meanwhile, Brian gets worms and Stewie involves him in a pyramid scam to pay off the vet bills

"Perfect Castaway"

unaired as of this review

"Peter's Got Woods"

unaired as of this review

"Jungle Air"

unaired as of this review

The three part Stewie saga will only be available on the Direct to DVD release. Uncensored I might add, WOOO HOOO.

The special features anounced for this box set are,

Commentary tracks (episodes and participants aren't known at this time)

Behind the Scenes with Stewie

Resurrection of Family Guy

Deleted scenes

Animatics

Family Guy "Live In Las Vegas" Music Video

And more!

This should be a great box set when it's released in November. Many great episodes from the first season of Family Guy since it was resurected on FOX after steller DVD sells and great ratings on Adult Swim. Any fans of animation or just great comedy should pick this one up when it comes out. Should make a great Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Crappy DVD..., December 12, 2005
By 
E. F. Williams (Charlottesville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
*NOTE: THE 1-STAR RATING APPLIES TO THE DVD ITSELF, NOT THE SHOW*

I'm a Family Guy fanatic. Best animated show on TV, by far. I pre-ordered this thing a long time ago. I can't get enough!

But this is just evil, man!

I put in the first disc from the set, and oh, what's this? An advertisement. Oh, hey, look, another advertisement! How sweet. Hey, thanks, guys! No worries, just press the menu button and skip the ads, right? Wrong. It's blocked. You have no choice but to watch the ads every time you start the DVD.

Luckily, my DVD player has a recall feature that gives you the option of returning to your old place if you stop and then restart. However, if it's on the menu screen when you turn it off, then it goes back to the beginning. Which means that, every time I turn off the DVD, I have to make sure that it's actually playing an episode when I hit the power button. Otherwise, I have to watch their two stupid commercials.

This really irks me. When I rent a dvd from Blockbuster or Netflix, I kinda expect to have to sit through some ads (it still irks me, though), but when I pay upwards of $30 for a DVD, I believe that it is reasonable to expect that, at the very least, I should have control over the pre-menu ads. The fact that I am locked into watching them each and every time I start up a disc shows what can only be described as complete disrespect for the consumer. Bloody hell, people, I already own the Family Guy movie---I don't need it hawked to me every time I want to watch Vol. 3!

Like I said, great show, and great season (the Pinocchio/Gipetto scene is already legendary), but getting screwed on the DVD technology like this is just...poor judgment on Fox's part. We consumers deserve better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's back, but..., December 24, 2005
By 
Reid V. Wilkening "swimmer13" (Denver, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
First off, I must say how thrilled i am that family guy is back. It has long been my favorite, and these new episodes are nice to see. However, it seems that at least in this season, the creators had to fall back on a number of laugh strategys that aren't really funny. For example, the repeater: where a charecter repeats himself over and over and over. or the progressor: ex, where Stewie reiterates his point about Brian's novel for 30 seconds. These things are not that funny!!! Also, Stewie is no longer an evil baby genius bent on world domination or matricide. There was a not a single attempt on Lois' life during a single episode. BRING BACK THE OLD STEWIE. I can't be too hard on this show, as i trully do love it, but it seems that the writers need some new joke ideas, and need to return to the old stewie charecter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In transition--I hope., September 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
Let me preface this opinion--opinion, because not many of the reviews on Amazon are actually reviews--by saying that Family Guy is probably my favorite animated television series ever. I really am a die-hard fan. I wrote a few letters to the CEO of FOX Broadcasting. I was in there begging for more seasons. I was on cloud nine when we got them.

This season has been good. Really, it has. I don't think many would argue that it was Family Guy's best, but it still remains better than 99% of everything else on TV. It's the typical nonlinear, almost psychotically random humor that has made the show a classic. But I've got my complaints, which are listed below. Which is why I gave it 4 stars and not the 5 I've given the other volumes. Rate me down if you're so fickle that you cannot stand a reviewer who doesn't give everything Family Guy 5 stars. I'm just being honest.

The first few episodes are really obviously bleeding over from American Dad. Go through your Family Guy DVD collection, and you'll find plenty of political jokes--but they're just off things. The first few episodes of this season come off really bitter and anti-Republican. It cools off and returns to good natured poking-fun-at-everyone later on, but it made me roll my eyes enough for me to list it here.

As reviewers have stated, its shifts are somewhat overused and formulaic. There were a lot of "remember the time I..." jokes in old episodes, and they are BRILLIANT. Even most of this season's were brilliant. But it seems like they're squeezing way too many into each episode and not relying on normal jokes to carry a part of the weight. The episodes suffer.

It seems like Seth is struggling to catch back up with every other show that has been running since Family Guy was canceled. Mel Gibson jokes? Honestly? South Park; The Daily Show; Arrested Development; even Conan O'Brien--it has been done, and better.

In passing, now that I think about it, the first few episodes of the season are also very Stewie/Quagmire/Joe/Cleveland-devoid. But as I've stated above, I believe this is Family Guy in transition; you can see toward the end of the season that Seth is catching steam and finding his rhythm. It gets better as it goes on.

I'm not saying don't buy the DVD. For God's sake, buy it. The show is still awesome. But it isn't perfect. I'd look for perfect, if it's going to happen again, to hit you with the season that just began and ones that possibly follow. The first episode of it was great, and I only see it getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


151 of 197 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power to the people, September 2, 2005
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
It wasn't that long ago that Seth MacFarlane's Family Guy suffered an untimely death thanks to the brilliant collective minds at Fox, dooming the series to late night re-runs on Cartoon Network's Adult Swim block. However, the re-runs managed to get higher ratings then the syndicated episodes, and the DVD sales were surprisingly through the roof. Thus, the voices of the people were heard by the mighty network, and Family Guy was miraculously resurrected and back on Fox. The series gets off to a slamming start (including Peter's opening rant where he names every single show to air on Fox that suffered an untimely death as well) as Peter and Lois seek to spice up their relationship, and end up stealing the master copy of Mel Gibson's upcoming "Passion of the Christ 2". Later on, Peter gets judged to be mentally incompetant, and there's plenty of other gags, in-jokes, and absurd references that only a handful of people will get. It's true, this fourth season isn't the same quality as the previous three (Stewie is more of a wisecracking character than the evil baby genius hellbent on controling the world here, and his interaction with pet dog Brian isn't what it used to be) but it's still complete animated lunacy that is irreverant as ever, and hilarious as ever. The voice team, including MacFarlane, MAD TV alum Alex Borstein, Seth Green, and That 70's Show's Mila Kunis, do great deadpan work. All in all, it's great to have Family Guy back, and the prayers of longtime fans yearning for the show to return have thankfully been answered. Let's hope that this time around, Fox has learned a lesson, and won't shuffle the show around the schedule to the brink of cancellation like they did before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars yea its good but 1 season split into 2 for more cash is stupid, December 20, 2006
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
its funny but i refuse to buy a season thats split into 2 just to make more money. ppl shouldn't pay for ripoff. 1 full season yea its worth buying, 60$ on both parts of 1 season umm no
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best series so far, April 24, 2006
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
The best Comedy on television by far. Family Guy is back and better than ever.

Normally when a television show is cancelled, it is relegated to reruns and perhaps a revival as a theatrical film. But when the show is Family Guy and spawns record rating in syndication as well as record DVD sales, then you get another shot. It had been over three years since rabid fans of the dysfunctional Rhode Island family, the Griffins, last saw new episodes and thankfully, the 13 episodes contained in this DVD collection are amongst the best the series has had to offer, which is saying a lot.

For those unfamiliar with the show, series creator Seth McFarlane voices the family patriarch Peter. A large man who makes up in girth what he lacks in brains. It is his pop culture inspired antics that fuel the show that never fails to push the boundaries and to take a jab at celebrities and the powers that be. Infant son Stewie (Seth Mc Farlane), is a dictator in training while the elder son Chris (Seth Green), is content to draw and follow in his fathers large footsteps as a couch potato. Their only daughter Meg (Mila Kunis) is a social pariah who desperately wants to be popular but instead fails miserably at even being noticed by all but the nerdy son of the local pharmacist. Thankfully Lois (Alex Borstein), is up to the task of mom and keeping this nutty family in one piece that is when she is avoiding the lustful glances and acerbic wit of the booze swilling dog Brian (Seth Mc Farlane).

As crazy as the family is, there friends and neighbors run the spectrum from an ever pregnant woman and her disabled cop husband. A chronic womanizer, a greased deaf guy, a lustful old man with an eye for Chris and Mayor Adam West are just a few of the characters who blend with inspired and zany pop culture references as well as political and social commentary to make Family Guy one of the best shows on television.

Week in and week out, Family Guy is constantly controversial and funny and never fails to deliver the goods. It is nice to see that this show got a second chance as this collection shows they still have plenty to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I've brought these gifts for you, they're up in my bum"--Peter, December 13, 2005
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Family Guy, Volume Three (DVD)
The fourth season of Family Guy isn't up to the standards of the first three, but it is still great to have this show on again and very cool that they put it out on DVD so quickly (Thank You!). I wish other series would follow suit. Although I didn't enjoy most of these episodes as much as the earlier ones (there are a few I REALLY like), all the same Family Guy humor is here. After the years in hiatus, the new shows flow together with the older ones very well, like it was never off the air. Here's what you get:

Disc 1:

North By North Quahog-With their love life on the rocks, Lois and Peter go on a second honeymoon. Peter pretends to be Mel Gibson to get into his swanky hotel suite and try to prevent the release of The Passion of the Christ II: Crucify This ("Let He who is without sin kick the first ass"). Car chase scene is silly. Highlight: Pinocio joke. Opening joke on all the Fox shows that were canceled since Family Guy got the ax is classic.

Fast Times at Buddy Cianci Jr. High-Chris has a crush on his new teacher and Lois grows concerned when she finds a note in Chris' room outlining a plan to murder his teacher's husband. Meanwhile, Brian becomes a teacher at the junior high and teaches a remedial class of pregnant girls and gangbangers.

Blind Ambition-Lois catches Quagmire peeping at her in the ladies' room (hilarious) and Quagmire is forced to reform. After saving a hot babe's life in a dressing room (Quagmire didn't realize he was giving her CPR), Quagmire is given a reward. With all his friends achieving great feats (Cleveland was once a prominent auctioneer), Peter is worried he will never do anything memorable. Peter tries to make the record books by eating nickels which cause him to go blind. Highlights: Rice Krispies spoof, Stewie tripping Peter. One of my favorites, but am I the only one who cannot stand those chicken fight segments?

Don't Make Me Over-Meg gets a makeover, becomes the hottie in the Griffin family band and gets deflowered on Saturday Night Live. Not a very good episode. Note: Brian's racist upbringing comes up. Hospital scene is priceless.

Disc 2:

The Cleveland-Loretta Quagmire-Loretta has an affair with Quagmire but Cleveland is too meek to react, until Peter finally succeeds in egging him on. A favorite of mine.

Petarded-Lois tries to help Peter's self-esteem by giving him Trivial Pursuit questions from the pre school edition ("What is the color of a fire truck?"). Peter takes an IQ test and finds out he's mentally retarded and takes advantage of it. Highlights: "Caution Special Dad" sign, Quagmire observing Meg's slumber party, 7 prostitutes.

Brian the Bachelor-Recently a viewer's choice. Brian goes on The Bachelorette and takes the results a little too seriously. Highlight: JFK Jr. joke even Stewie found distasteful.

8 Simple Rules for Buying My Teenage Daughter-Peter runs up a huge tab at the drug store and sells Meg to the druggist's geeky son, Neil, to pay it off. Stewie falls in love with his new babysitter and decides to kill off her boyfriend. Another one of the better episodes. Highlight: The "I'm Sorry for trying to sell our daughter" card. Peter-"You don't know how hard it was to find one of those in English."

Disc 3:

Breaking Out is Hard to Do-Lois discovers the exhilaration of shoplifting and is sentenced to prison for 3 years. When the Griffin house gets so bad that a deer wanders in, they break Lois out of prison and hide out in Asiantown. So-so episode.

Model Misbehavior-To get back at her strict father, Lois follows her dreams of becoming a model and goes down the wrong path. Meanwhile, in order to pay for medicine to treat his worms, Brian works for Stewie in a pyramid scheme. Highlight: Stewie's security guard is his teddy bear.

Peter's Got Woods-Brian falls in love with an African American teacher and tries very hard to hide his racist tendencies. Peter finds a new best friend in James Woods. One of my least favorites.

Perfect Castaway--Peter and his buddies are shipwrecked on a desert island (the old sailor with the wooden limbs is very annoying here. There is one joke he keeps running into the ground). Lois thinks Peter is dead and remarries. Highlight: Peter's Christmas album: "I've brought these gifts for you, they're up in my bum."

Jungle Love--In order to avoid the torment of being a Freshman, Chris joins the Peace Corps and marries an 11-year old tribal girl. While the family goes to the tribe to convince Chris to return with them, the natives attack them and Meg met her demise...or did she?

Commentaries on almost every show, deleted scene animatics, "World Domination: The Family Guy Phenomenom" featurette make up just a few of the extras. Note on a previous criticism: I was able to skip through all the ads at the beginning with the scene select feature on my DVD player (not the fast forward feature).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Family Guy, Volume Three
Family Guy, Volume Three by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2005)
$39.98 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.