Customer Reviews


524 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (102)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (80)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What I expected
Lower portion of bracket is made of plastic. Not what I expected, but this is a low cost item so I was not totally surprised. The top part, the clamp, is made of some sort of metal, and works well enough. Also wide enough to put a flash and a radio trigger in clamp at same time. Part that holds umbrella shaft is sort of flimsy, and would probably be a problem with a large...
Published on August 15, 2011 by Mister Fenster

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from this bracket!
It will not hold an umbrella, the screw threads into plastic and it will not tighten down onto the umbrella shaft and the threads will strip. Cowboy Studio has on for $12 which is all metal. Don't buy this one! I tossed mine in the trash.

The Cowboy Studio one can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0034WR71G/ref=aw_cr_item_title
Published on December 7, 2012 by K. Gomes


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away from this bracket!, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
It will not hold an umbrella, the screw threads into plastic and it will not tighten down onto the umbrella shaft and the threads will strip. Cowboy Studio has on for $12 which is all metal. Don't buy this one! I tossed mine in the trash.

The Cowboy Studio one can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0034WR71G/ref=aw_cr_item_title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could be better, January 26, 2011
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
In choosing a bracket I had three things in mind: fluid articulation, easy to adjust, and won't kill the pocketbook. Unfortunately this bracket only met the latter of the three. The materials used for this bracket are of quite decent quality given the price. Strong plastic wing-nut knobs that are easy to turn, combined with black aluminum body. The cold shoe platform is large and stable, but much longer than necessary. It's also permanently bolted to the rest of the bracket and provides no lateral swivel like in most brackets. The wing-nut knobs are easy to tighten and loosen. Yet the articulation of the whole unit is ratcheted, which is precisely not what I wanted (I already have two ratcheted brackets and they're annoying). This means articulation is not fluid and limited to the manufacturer's predefined angles. The lack of lateral swivel combined with ratcheting severely cut into the good points of this bracket for me, and overall it's not an ideal tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, July 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
You get what you pay for. The plastic stripped for me after less than two months. I will be replacing this now with something more durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flash Shoe UnHolder, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
I used mine 2 times and it broke, during a job! Luckily I had a mini stand and was able to use the flash without the umbrella! Wast of money and time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality flash shoe holder, March 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
This flash shoe holder looked good in the pictures and the price was right ($7.95) but... you know the old saying , "you get what you pay for". The quality was awful. The small screw that holds the umbrella shaft in place is in plastic and on both of the units I bought the threads were already stripped and will not hold. Useless piece of junk. Do not buy this. It will not work for the intended purpose and is a waste of money. Pay a little more for a well designed product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What I expected, August 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
Lower portion of bracket is made of plastic. Not what I expected, but this is a low cost item so I was not totally surprised. The top part, the clamp, is made of some sort of metal, and works well enough. Also wide enough to put a flash and a radio trigger in clamp at same time. Part that holds umbrella shaft is sort of flimsy, and would probably be a problem with a large umbrella.

I know this may sound like a negative review, but it is not. This is an inexpensive item. I own a much better clamp, but it cost a little over twice as much. So, for the money, this is a fair deal and although it is not perfect, it does work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for large (PLM) umbrellas, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
I got this to use my speedlite and 64" Paul C Buff PLM in conjunction. The plastic finger-tightener loosens up and droops the whole rig down. So it absolutely will not stay in position. If I ever buy a small umbrella this thing might become useful but definitely not for the 64" PLM. I guess it's my bad for thinking that might work. It was pretty darn cheap so I'm not complaining about that.

My review in summary is: " IT'S OKAY...?? "

If I find a better device for rigging this PLM I will link it here so that others with the same idea will know to get the right tool the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, June 24, 2013
By 
L. Jones "angsax" (Johnson City, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
Looks like any other Flash Shoe Holder. Can't tell it from any other.

Broke on first use while tightening to stand.

Try another from someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really bad quality..., October 1, 2012
By 
Laura (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
Really bad quality, what would you expect for less than $10?... but really doesn't work at all, really cheap, breaks easily and don't hold flash.
Don't buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great price, but its all plastic and that just ..., July 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fancierstudio Flash Bracket Swivel Bracket Umbrella Holder Studio Tilting Bracket for Nikon Canon E430 E580 SB600 SB800 SB900 By Fancierstudio Bracket B (Camera)
Great price, but its all plastic and that just isnt my thing. Im not into plastic for the functional purpose that the threaded grooves can easily be stripped on the body if the metal screws are twisted improperly. It has not happened so far which just keeps me having to slow down and be cautious with my treatment of the bracket. On the flip side its light weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.