Customer Reviews


458 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (84)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Blu-ray has 3-D pop!
We've all waited a while to see movies from Fox on Blu-ray, but this one was certainly worth the wait.

I'd say the most amazing thing about this movie is the 3-D pop to an absolutely immaculate picture. Dark scenes, like the starfield and planets in the beginning title sequences and the night skylines of NYC really sparkle. There is no edge-enhancement or...
Published on October 7, 2007 by J. Lynch

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A spectacular Silver Surfer in an otherwise unspectacular film
Whether it is because the first FANTASTIC FOUR movie was so bad that anything else would look great by comparison or because I was just in the mood for a superhero movie or that it actually was pretty decent, I really enjoyed watching this movie. I suppose it doesn't hold up well when compared with the best of the superhero movies like SPIDER-MAN 2 or HELLBOY or BATMAN...
Published on September 1, 2007 by Robert Moore


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Blu-ray has 3-D pop!, October 7, 2007
We've all waited a while to see movies from Fox on Blu-ray, but this one was certainly worth the wait.

I'd say the most amazing thing about this movie is the 3-D pop to an absolutely immaculate picture. Dark scenes, like the starfield and planets in the beginning title sequences and the night skylines of NYC really sparkle. There is no edge-enhancement or pixelization to be found anywhere in the feature.

Bright outdoors scenes like the wedding, and the F4 battle with the Silver Surfer are pure demo material.

The lossless DTS-HDMA is another showcase soundtrack from Fox. Although I can only hear the DTS 1.5 mbps core with my current setup, I can hear the music, rear surround and effects in such a rich presentation that it reminded me of my theatrical viewing of this movie.

There is an awful lot of extra content that I have not begun to explore yet, but the Galactus game is interesting.

Some of the other reviewers here mentioned problems playing the movie. I can understand their frustration, but the insert inside the case clearly advises every viewer to update the software on their Blu-ray player. I would not fault the movie or even Fox studios for this problem, but most likely the player manufacturer's who don't have current firmwares that can play this disc. (Currently only LG and Samsumg are having issues.) I played the movie without a hitch on my Sony BDP-S1 and my PS3. I will mention that the BDP-S1 had firmware that was 2 versions older than the latest. The player handled it flawlessly both before and after I updated to the latest version. It is reported that the Panasonic, Sony, and Pioneer players are working well with this disc.

With the stellar picture and sound quality, extra content and games, this disc is truly worth a purchase if you like this type of film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Pretty Fantastic, June 28, 2007
Of all the sequels we've been fed this summer, I have to admit that "Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer" best meets its expectations. While other major sequels ("Spidey 3" and "Pirates 3") take a decidedly darker tone, "Surfer" kicks up the fun a notch. This should be expected since the previous film and the comic that it is based on is a lot more lighthearted and family-oriented than other films and books of this genre. In "Surfer," director Tim Story isn't tied down to an origin story. He is given free reign of the action in the film and does not let anybody down. All of the original core actors (Ioan Gruffudd, Jessica Alba, Chris Evans and Michael Chiklis) have returned (including good ol' Doom, Julian McMahon). The newest addition to this film is the Silver Surfer, the galactic herald of Galactus, a cloud-like being that consumes planets to stay alive. I won't go into comic geek mode, but just know that Galactus is not a cloud in the comics. I do think that the handling of the character in the film, however, is perfect.

When the Surfer arrives on Earth, an Army general (played wonderfully by the underappreciated Andre Braugher) demands that Reed Richards create a sensor to track him and find out what he's doing on Earth. The only problem is that Richards is helping Sue Storm plan their oft-cancelled wedding, Ben Grimm is heating up his relationship with Alicia and Johnny Storm is trying to get sponsorships and girls. It all leads up to the return of Victor Von Doom who gladly offers to assist the military in figuring out what the Surfer is all about.

From there, we are given a healthy dose of light comedy and action in the form of a bickering/normal family trying to battle an old foe and figure out if the new guy is a friend or foe. The special effects, especially those involving the Surfer and Johnny, are wonderful. The only effects miscue that I noticed was with Mr. Fantastic which, honestly, is passable due to the fast-paced and well plotted storyline. Scientific terms fly all over this movie in a fun fashion. Mr. Fantastic steps it up a notch and shows that his confidence is growing. Ben and Johnny are still at each other's throats and Sue is just trying to prevent them from killing each other. It's a fun family-oriented film for the most part.

**Spoiler**
However, there is one part in the film where Dr. Doom has his way with a few military men. One of them is turned into ash. This part of the film made me think that perhaps the MPAA should have edged this flick up to a PG-13 rating. Other than that particular part of the film, everything else is fairly PG-oriented. There's one brief implied nudity scene with Alba. There's also a little bit of strong language but the characters who attract the most attention from kids, Thing and Torch, have very few curse words to throw around. I'm just throwing this bit of info in for parents still pondering on whether or not to take their child to this film. If they're under eight, you might want to preview this film before taking the kiddoes.
**End Spoilers**

Overall, "Rise of the Silver Surfer" is the best sequel of the summer. Is it better than the original film? Only slightly. Is it better than the first two "Spider-man" flicks? Probably not, but this is sort of like comparing apples to oranges. Just rest assured that by viewing "Surfer," you'll be getting an action-packed, fairly family-friendly comic book flick. The interaction between the fantastic foursome alone is worth the price of a movie ticket or, in a few months, a DVD. Highly recommended, especially to families with children who love comics and action film fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie and Blu Ray Disc, October 7, 2007
By 
JMB (Miller Place, NY) - See all my reviews
I saw this movie at the theatre and thought it was really good. I then was psyched when I saw that it was being released on Blu Ray. The video and sound are even better than what I would have expected. This is a must own for any fan of comic book movies or if you want to show off your blu ray player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC PICTURE AND SOUND!!!, October 5, 2007
By 
Modrnknght (Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First, the negative reviews below need checking out. The one saying that half of the players won't play it is bogus. It has been determined only two models of Blu-ray players haven't been able to play the movie, not half! Second, the one from Wiggins is obviously a HD-DVD fanatic. Check out his other reviews and you will see he only knocks the two recent Blu-ray titles but gives glowing reviews to anything HD-DVD. It is obvious he doesn't have FF or Day After Tomorrow, that he is just rehashing news to scare away anyone from buying anything Blu-ray. Very immature.

I played the FF: Rise of the Silver Surfer movie last night and it is gorgeous. The story isn't that great, but did we buy Hi-Def for story? No, the visuals make up the story. And, wow, the clarity of the images is something to see, definitely one of the best to come out on Blu-ray. Breathtaking at times in the depth. There is a DTS track, too, which sound phenomenal! Together, audio and video, make a powerful experience.

As to the extras, many of them are also in 1080p, and there are a lot of them. I admit the two games moved a little bit slow, but otherwise okat. (They are nothing special, anyway. One that runs slow is a trivia game, no big deal. The other is a strategy game but you don't do anyting but pick planets in the game.) All the other extras work perfectly. I am sure a firmware uprade will correct the slowness of the games (and HD-DVD fans are jumping all over this, forgetting, however, the HD-DVD machines they have have had to go through firmware upgrade after upgrade after upgrade) (Let he who is without upgrades cast the first stone).

Loading time for the disc is a bit longer than Pirates of the Caribbean, but that's fine, I am in no hurry.

All in all, I would recommended seeing this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A spectacular Silver Surfer in an otherwise unspectacular film, September 1, 2007
This review is from: Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer (DVD)
Whether it is because the first FANTASTIC FOUR movie was so bad that anything else would look great by comparison or because I was just in the mood for a superhero movie or that it actually was pretty decent, I really enjoyed watching this movie. I suppose it doesn't hold up well when compared with the best of the superhero movies like SPIDER-MAN 2 or HELLBOY or BATMAN BEGINS, but all in all this was a fun movie. I'm not a comic book fundamentalist (you know, the people who stomp out of a movie because it deviates in the slightest from a plot detail in issue 114 in the series) so I don't get too worked up if a film departs from the traditional depiction. I will confess that I was afraid that they were going to botch the Silver Surfer. Anyone who even casually follows the Marvel universe knows that the Silver Surfer is one of the best - if not the best - characters they have ever created. He is wonderfully complex and manages to be both an enormously sympathetic character while remaining unalterably alien.

The great news about this film is that the Surfer is marvelously done and I personally am very excited about the forthcoming Silver Surfer movie that is due to come hope hopefully in 2009. Laurence Fishburne voiced the Surfer while his CGI body was performed by Doug Jones, who is building a quite impressive resume. I'm not quite sure what you call Jones. Originally he was a mime, but he has carved a career out of performing characters that demand a unique command of their bodily movements. The earliest role most will know him for is as one of the main Gentlemen in the classic BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER episode "Hush." To this day the Gentlemen remain the most haunting characters to ever appear not merely on BUFFY but on all of TV. He went on to portray Abe Sapien in HELLBOY and more recently the fawn and the pale monster in PAN'S LABYRINTH. The CGI was just great and visually the Surfer was as compelling as one could hope. I think the physical presentation of the Surfer in the movie was, in short, a great success.

The problem in the movie is the Fantastic Four. There seems to be little or no chemistry between the four comprising the famous quartet. I love Jessica Alba, but she just doesn't seem quite right for this role. Am I the only one who finds Jessica with blonde hair and blue eyes in contrast with her dark olive skin to be, well, weird? With dark hair and her dark eyes I think she is arguably the most beautiful woman in the world today, but I just can't buy her as a blonde. Ioan Gruffudd is terribly uncharismatic as Reed Richards, but to be honest this isn't entirely his fault. Richards is hands down one of the most boring of all the Marvel characters. Michael Chiklis is a great actor and he probably does as good a job as is possible of playing Ben Grimm as is possible, but there simply may not be a way of rendering a prosthetic costume to where it looks completely convincing. Grimm just looks like a cartoon character under any circumstances. I don't know if it is Chris Evans fault that he is so unappealing as Johnny Storm or if the problem is with the writing. As it stands, however, he seems like a knock off of a hundred other celebrity playboys. I'm not quite sure what they could have done to make him a stronger character, but I think the producers, writers, and director should have been honest enough to admit that Johnny was a terribly one dimensional character either due to writing or casting. The fundamental problem is that these four simply aren't fantastic.

The story was kept to bare bones specifications. There is an A plot and two B plots. The A plot is the Silver Surfer arriving on earth, where due to the demands of Galactus he is forced to drain the planet of all its energy to sate Galactus's needs. The first B plot is the marriage of Reed and Sue and the second B plot concerns Victor von Doom's inadvertent release by the Surfer and Doom's attempt to capture his board. There are a couple of C plots but, well, who cares?

Ultimately, the movie is all about the Surfer. Narratively the movie doesn't break any new ground, but I was satisfied merely that they made one of the greatest Marvel superheroes - in the minds of some perhaps the greatest of all cartoon superheroes - convincingly. While most of the film failed to be especially interesting, every shot of the Surfer was riveting. So, regardless of the credits, the real stars of the film were Doug Jones, Laurence Fishburne, and the CGI team that created the Silver Surfer. At the end of the film I was left feeling that I couldn't care less whether there is ever another Fantastic Four movie, but I'm really, really interested in seeing a Silver Surfer standalone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first FF movie, September 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was much better than the first movie. I liked it enough to purchase a Blue Ray copy. One thing I didn't like was that they failed to show Galactus who is the Silver Surfers's boss. There is a scene in the end where Galactus is supposed to be in the clouds but that was just plain dumb.

Speaking of dumb, I really hate how they change certain things and events and even people's skin color from the comics that I grew up with. Some things are ok like having Spiderman shoot webbing from his body rather than from those cartridges that he invented in the comic book. There is no way those small cartridges could hold enough webbing to go downtown and back let alone make parachutes and other items. Also there was no way to tell when they were near to empty. But changing a guys skin color is stupid as in the latest video game Ultimate Avengers, which features Nick Fury as a black guy. He is white in the comics and should have stayed white (I'm black by the way)I don't know who the next villian will be but I hope they don't pick one of the weak ones (and keep featuring him in subsequent films)like the Goblin in the Spiderman movies. FFROTSS is a step up from the weak, uninteresting first FF movie and may the next one be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firmware update coming people..relax, October 7, 2007
Plays fine in my 1400.

The firmware is coming real soon for the samsung 1200 and the lg super multi blu.Those are the ONLY players to have the problem.

There's been problems with HD DVD discs too...this kinda thing happens.

So relax.

This is a reference disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, Effects look great in HD, September 30, 2007
I thought this was a great action flick. Looks great in High Definition. Worth the extra $ for the Blu Ray Disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reference quality - Show it to your friends, October 7, 2007
Being a fan of the silver surfer and Marvel comics, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The PQ and AQ are stunning, this is definite reference-quality material that you can use to show off the Blu-ray ability to your doubting friends.

Also, please ignore the negative 1-star reviews that have been given regarding this movie. If you look at the people who left these negative feedbacks, their previous reviews show that they are HD-DVD supporters/trolls. They do not own blu-ray, and are just bitter that blu-ray is going to win the format war.

Buy this movie, it wont disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a winner on BLU RAY!, October 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
thank GOD and 20th CENTURY FOX this movie is on BLU RAY. the picture and sound is unbelievable. for this movie to fit on a HDDVD it would not even have stereo for audio. the movie itself is action packed and fun for all. highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer
$14.98 $6.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.