Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
95
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

It was the spring of 1960. Dwight D. Eisenhower was the President, and Senator John F. Kennedy had yet to squeak by VP Richard Nixon in a to become President. Elvis Presley had recently been discharged from the U.S. Army. The average American's annual salary was around $4800, and minimum wage was $1.00 per hour. Cadillac had lowered their high tail fins. Elizabeth Taylor won an Oscar for her performance in Butterfield 8. The first manned space flight wouldn't take place for another year.

The formation of the Peace Corps was a year away as well. Gary Powers was shot down in a U2 spy plane over the Soviet Union. Barbie dolls had just been introduced the year before. The Flintstones were almost five months away from their premiere. The Beatles hadn't even cut their first single record, and there were no Russian missiles in Cuba. Osama bin Laden was only three years old. The World Trade Center wasn't even on the drawing board yet.

But in early May, a small band of actors entered the Sullivan Street Playhouse, a tiny 150-seat theater in Greenwich Village, to perform a beautiful, romantic little musical about a boy, a girl and the pains of young love.

The week that The Fantasticks opened on its sparse stage, it was suggested to producer Lore Noto that he close the show. It suffered from mixed reviews, and the ticket sales could have been better. He decided to try and keep the show running for awhile, to the relief of the relatively unknown cast members. One of these was a young actor with a rich baritone voice named Jerry Orbach, who played the role of El Gallo, the narrator. He imagined that the show could well succeed if it had time to develop a following.

"I thought it could run for like five years," Mr. Orbach recently recalled.

It ran for thirty-seven years beyond that then-optimistic estimate.

The Fantasticks featured music by Harvey Schmidt and lyrics by Tom Jones, who began writing musicals together when they were students at the University of Texas. It became the longest running musical in the world and the longest running show of any kind in the history of the American theater.

But on Sunday evening, January 13th, 2002, after 17,162 performances, The Fantasticks did what few thought possible: it made its final bow.

Lyricist Tom Jones told those who offered their sympathies, "You can't be sad for a show that has run forty-two years, " as he and composer Harvey Schmidt greeted the closing night crowd. The final performance was delayed for nearly a half hour late as the show's former cast members, many who hadn't seen each other in years, held tearful reunions in the aisles and largely disregarded the ushers' attempts to get them to stay seated. Among the attendees were the original "Girl" Rita Gardner, original "Mortimer" George Curley, Oscar-winner F. Murray Abraham, who had played one of many El Gallos throughout the run, and set/costume designer Ed Wittstein.

The timing of its closing is particularly moving, given the horrible deaths of other lasting New York City monuments in the past few months. The message of The Fantasticks proved to be dissonantly significant in the days after the September 11th terrorist attacks. The opening words of Tom Jones' lyrics could have been written that very week:

Try to remember the kind of September
when life was slow and oh, so mellow.
Try to remember the kind of September
when grass was green and grain was yellow.
Try to remember the kind of September
when you were a tender and callow fellow.
Try to remember and if you remember
then follow...

It's been noted often that there were quite a few handkerchiefs wiping tears from the eyes of the patrons in the theater when this song was performed during those performances last September and into the fall.

On Sunday night, there probably wasn't a dry eye in the house, either.

Don't miss this excellent remastering of the 1960 off-off Broadway original cast recording. Simply put, it's superb.

9/2/2002
99 comments| 118 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon June 5, 2000
If a show opens in 1960 and is still running after about 16,000 performances, one can reasonably assume it is a good show in every sense of the words. Standing on the other pole (so to speak) from the current run of Broadway's visually rich/musically barren spectacles, <The Fantasticks> is a charming little work designed for a basement production and so perfect that many have seen it several times, especially when friends come in from out of state. In fact, when they wanted to close it at last, the neighborhood would not let them!
So I don't have to sing the praises of this classic, which has been available for many years on the original cast LP. Now the Good News is that it has been made available in a "re-mastered, completely repackaged edition," as the press release expresses it on the Decca Broadway label (314 543 665-2). So sit back and enjoy once more the voices of Jerry Orbach, Kenneth Leson, Rita Gardner, William Larsen, Hugh Thomas, and all the others in this anti-spectacular with good dialogue, decent lyrics, and (Heaven be praised) lovely melodies. (And give the Rostand play, "The Romantiques," a read too. It is lovely.)
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2000
THE FANTASTICKS is my favorite show. The simplicity of the show, and some of the most beautiful music written, has kept this show playing sine 1960.
I was glad to see the remaster of the original cast recording. Having purchased the Japanese tour, I was disappointed in some of the portrayals, and I'm glad to hear the original performers on this recording.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2000
From the first staccato notes of the solo piano to Jerry Orbach and company urging us to "Try to Remember" this is a classic CD. The music and lyrics, though possibly a little odd at first, is witty, whimisical, clever, smart, and beautiful. This is one of the few cast albums of a show in which there is not a single bad song. The performances do nothing but enhance the music. This simple little show, which has been running off-Broadway for over thirty years, is well represented with this CD. Thirty years of audiences can't be wrong, and they aren't. This is a wonderful recording of a wonderful show. I gureente you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just scan the prior reviews and you will see an overwhelming percentage of raves regarding this perennial "little" musical about two hopeful young lovers and their respective fathers, who use reverse psychology to get and keep them together. Here are some other things you should know about THE FANTASTICKS if you don't already:

Its original Off-Broadway run lasted 42 years, from 1960-2002. This makes it the world's longest-running musical of any kind. Then it was revived in 2006, and still continues to play Off-Broadway.

Because it is small-scale, it has had numerous revivals around the world and is a favorite with amateur groups.

The original cast included Jerry (LAW AND ORDER) Ohrbach, and Kenneth (THE BOYS IN THE BAND) Nelson.

The composers, Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones, have given us I DO! I DO!, a musicalized version of THE RAINMAKER called 110 IN THE SHADE, and numerous other musical plays.

This Tom Jones is not the Welsh singer who sang "What's New, Pussycat?" and other pop hits.

"Rape" in this show means abduction, not carnal violation.

The most popular song from THE FANTASTICKS, of course, is "Try To Remember," but "Soon It's Gonna Rain" has achieved wide popularity, too.

At present, the CD of the original Off-Broadway cast album is amazingly cheap. So if you can't see it, HEAR it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
This is the original cast - hey! I shouldn't have to say anymore about it - but - if you are one of the rare ones who never saw this show or you saw it long ago and want to remember how sweet it is - this is your gift to yourself! You deserve it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
I'm too biased to give a fair assessment. I saw the original cast on my first date with my first love in my first year of College. Saw it again 20 years later. I plan to see it at least once more. The music brings back the play; the play brings tears of recognition that I could not appreciate 40 years ago. On it's own, I think the music is superb. If you've seen The Fantastiks this album will recall it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
For me, one of the greatest musicals ever written. I first saw it fifty years ago and loved it ever since. It was really nostalgic to hear the wonderful songs again. From this album, I especially enjoyed hearing Jerry Orbach (lately of "Law and Order" fame) sing "Try to Remember." They just don't do musicals like this anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
I saw the Fantasticks with my mom and uncle a few years back. My mom to this day sometimes still sings and quotes it.

Because of that, I had to get this for her on her birthday. The sound is great, and super nostalgic (no longer having to "Try to Remember" what the songs sound like) for us to remember such an interesting play.

Great purchase, great music. 5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
This show is one I first heard and saw when I was seven or eight years old; my parents played this soundtrack often and we saw several productions of it before I was ten. Recently, I saw that a film had been made of the story and rented it for my family to watch and I remembered the original soundtrack. This is that soundtrack, and it is just.simply.beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.