Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Iron Maiden $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now Deal of the Day


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on May 8, 2006
FFG has been making quality Board Games of late. This one takes place 8 years after the events of the novel and it is appearant to anyone familiar with the book that the people who made this game know the book, as well.

Knowledge of the novel is not required for play, though it certainly does help the players to understand their roles.

This game is competitive. The Dracula Player is competing against the Hunter player(s) by completing a certain set of objectives to score a determined set of victory points.

This would seem basic if it were not for the mystery and sleuthing element of Dracula's movement. The Dracula player's moves are kept secret and noted by playing face-down cards showing his location. A certain number of cards are kept on the board providing a trail. If a hunter lands on a place where Dracula has been, they recieve encounters and clues noting his passage and must then determine where he went next.

Educationally it really focuses memory and reasoning skills. Especially if the Dracula player is exceptionally cunning. The game will never repeat itself and makes each session unique.

The encounter resolution system allows combat to take place in less than three minutes. This gets the encounter resolved quickly and puts the players back into tracking down the vampire.

The player markers are plastic but well sculpted/molded and surprisingly rubust. The counters and tokens are of a thick and sturdy card board, not flimsy card stock. The board, sheets, and cards are of excellent durability and visually helpful by showing each hunter's unique powers right on the card for easy reference and having card icons to indicate the size of your maximum inventory.

A quick action summary card (one for every player) means that you will never have to flip open the rulebook to check sequence of events or timing issues since that is all one one handy card.

The game only has two detractions.

1.) The Dracula Player's powers and movement requires full and complete understanding of the rule book.
I could explain the rules the hunters needed to know in all of five minutes. Explaining the Dracula role is something I would not be able to do without ruining the experience.

2.) The contents for the price.
The box is of a decent, and almost standard, Board Game size. This betrays the size of the contents.
Four Dice, Two stacks of cards, a fistful of counters, player sheets, and a game board. At a price of $50- it is a bit much. $35- is a little more reasonable for the contents of the game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2008
First I would like to say this is a great game! I was impressed with the entire package from the box down to the little game pieces inside. My entire family loved it once we moved through a few rounds of play to work out the kinks and understand the rules.

The game recommends the most experienced player be Dracula. This is true. As my boys are only 10 and 8, they would have struggled to be Dracula right out of the box so I took that role first game. After our first game, my 10 year old handled Dracula like a champ! After our second game, my 8 year old did a great job as Dracula with only one hiccup during the game - he got a little excited and forgot what city he was in! Aside from that, he handled Dracula perfectly for the rest of the game. Three games and 11 hours later, the kids finally had to go to bed - they were exhausted.

I bought this game specifically to help develop my childrens deductive reasoning by tracking Dracula and following the clues. This is also a great game to teach kids how to work together as a team, communicate with each other, strategize, teach them to see how their actions have an impact on future rounds of the game and realize where they went wrong.

Long story short, the game has a lot of pieces to it and it appears to be complicated, but once you get a game under your belt and pick up on the rules it is a lot of fun.

Our next game - Arkham Horror!!!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2007
This game was a big hit with my gaming group. We played it twice in three days; once with a full group of five (the maximum), and the other time with only two players (the minimum). Both times were really fun and, despite the long playing time, didn't drag.

Overview
The game is based on the Bram Stoker novel with the major characters of the book hunting Dracula. Basically, one player plays Dracula against four hunters. The four hunters are always used despite the number of players, one to four, that are controlling them. The object of the game is for the hunters to deduce where Dracula is hiding and kill him. Naturally, the object for Dracula is to try to prevent this from happening through his powers and cunning (including bluffing).

Components
The board is well laid out and printed on high-quality cardstock. The same can be said for the cards and tokens.
The box has pretty good storage space already, but it would be a good idea to buy two small containers to hold the tokens.

Mechanics/Gimmicks
The game has a few clever mechanics that make the game quite fun. First, Dracula doesn't say where he is or place his miniature on the board; instead, he places "Location" cards facedown on his "Trail", a row of the most recent places that he has been. Hunters can reveal Locations by going to one of the cities on the Trail, either by accident or through deduction (e.g. "Let's see, Dracula was here and then played two Location cards. He is probably either here or here."), or by playing certain cards that reveal Locations.

The second mechanic we liked is the way the players draw from the "Event" deck. The Event deck has cards that benefit either the hunters or Dracula; the two different types of cards being indicated by a symbol on the back. The twist is that only the hunters draw from the deck (well, normally) and they draw from the bottom of the deck. This makes the card draw a little suspenseful.

Rules
The rules are pretty straightforward and surprisingly easy to pick up. Another reviewer mentioned that the Dracula player has to remember a lot more rules than the hunters and this is absolutely true. The rulebook recommends that the player who knows the rules the best play Dracula, at least initially. This is sound advice and should be followed. Even if you normally fight on the side of good, if you're teaching other people to play the game, you need to be Dracula.

Appeal
My gaming group includes different levels of gamers: from those that will play a game to just hang out with friends to those that listen to podcasts of Magic: The Gathering tournaments on their MP3 players (For the record, it's not me.). This game was a hit with everyone. I think that there is enough going on in this game to appeal to the "serious" gamer and it's accessible enough to be a great family game.

Educational note: The game is not designed to be an introduction into the Bram Stoker classic, but I could see it being used that way. Also, the game relies heavily on deduction, which helps to keep the brain limber.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Fury of Dracula is one of the best board game presents I've received yet. While not a fanatic I do some pretty hefty games like Shadows Over Camelot (great game) and Arkham Horror (good but long!) just to give background.

Its a 1 vs rest type of game where one player is Dracula and everyone else is on the hunter team trying to track down and kill him before he takes over Europe. In play this works fairly well with experience, and we've found having an experienced Dracula makes the game more fun overall. Similar to (but not as bad as) Shadows over Camelot, turn efficiency is important for both teams.

The tracking of Dracula and his hidden movement across the board is the most exciting part of the game. Watching the Hunters discuss where he could be and trying to guess where his next move could be is really entertaining as Dracula, especially if you've slipped the noose with some really clever moves and they don't even know it yet.

All of the materials are of good quality (seems standard for Fantasy Flight Games), strong card stock, good board, nice plastic icons, okay dice. There are quite a few cardboard tokens (not as many as say Arkham Horror :D) but they are of decent quality and my copy has zero printing defects.

My only criticism of the product is the combat system. It is a card-based affair with dice rolling determining the victor (for instance if its Dracula's Fang attack versus the Hunters Pistol, there are different conclusions than Fang vs. Stake, or Dodge versus anything). Its really important to understand what the results are for each ability card versus another as they all have different combinations, and after 3 games I'm just about ready to go through all the combat cards (there's like 12-15) and try to memorize what cards I should be playing as Dracula when I know the Hunter has a crucifix versus a stake. Its frustrating to make a bad play when you didn't know that your attack would result in your death with a particular combo.

This is a minor problem though as combat is fairly infrequent in the game, and its generally pretty straightforward. I highly recommend this game though it does often take a bit longer than the box suggestion (our games usually last 3 hours long with good players).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon January 27, 2014
It's really too bad that Fantasy Flight Games' "Fury of Dracula" is out of print. I actually bought mine a few years ago just before it started disappearing from store shelves and am I ever glad I did. In "Fury of Dracula" one player takes on the role of the iconic count, while up to four others become characters from Bram Stoker's classic novel, hunting Dracula throughout Europe. This is a game of hidden movement as the Dracula player lays down cards face down and slides them across the top of the board every turn. These cards detail his location, and the hunters must constantly guess where Dracula has moved to. Dracula is also laying traps all around Europe to attack the hunters should they stumble upon them. It is easy for the Dracula player to win if he just keeps running the whole game. Rather, the Dracula player must be willing to come out of the shadows and attack the hunters a few times, really ratcheting up the game's tension. If all Dracula does is run, it becomes an exercise in futility for the hunters. Really a great adventure game that tells fun stories with each play, you need to seek out an affordable copy of this game, or hope that Fantasy Flight Games will soon re-release it in the near future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on June 4, 2011
At the time when I ordered this game the graphic above on the box showed what I think is the German version. But the product information didn't mention anything about the game being in German. So I ordered it, hoping to receive the English version. Which I did. So if you're looking for the English version, and confused by the graphic, this is definitely the English version.

This is a great game, one player plays the hidden, stealthy Dracula, while the others play the four hunters who try to pick up on Dracula's trail and confront him and his minions. The combat in the game is like a lite-rpg type of combat; Complex enough to make it interesting, but not so much to put off those not interested in those kinds of mechanics.

Well, I'm keeping this review short, just wanted to clear up the bit about the image on the site.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
I got this game for christmas and absolutely love it. If you are a fan of horror novels this one follows as a sequel to Dracula, set about 6 years later. The premise is that Dracula survived and is plotting his revenge to take over Europe and create as many vampire slaves as possible. One player takes on the role of the dreaded Count, the other players (minimum 2 but ideally the game is best played with 3-4, up to 5) play the famous vampire hunters, Dr. Van Helsing, Mina Harker, Dr. Seward and Lord Godalming. Each hunter has special abilities, such as Van Helsing being an expert undead hunter and Mina, having been bitten in the course of the novel, possessing a supernatural bond with Count Dracula. The object of the game is to find and destroy Dracula's vampire minions, and ultimately, to find Dracula (who moves hidden on the board) and destroy him. It really is a game of cat and mouse and very enjoyable. If you play with only two players the course of game play is longer, as one of the players has to play all 4 hunters. The is probably one of my favorite board games because it combines geography, literature, adventure, detective mystery and strategy (particularly amongst the hunter players).
Fantasy Flight games, which publishes the game even has additional resources online you can download, such as optional rules. The figures are highly detailed molded plastic suitable for painting and all the cards and game pieces are of heavy card-stock that withstands many hours of play, it is really a very handsome board game with beautifully gothic illustrations.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 1, 2015
I was very pleased at the great condition the game was in when I got it. the game is very suspenseful and a lot of fun. one thing i realized is that if you trap yourself in this game you can always just move to attack one of the hunters cutting off your exits. Better to take your chances in combat than let the penalty for not moving eat at your blood points. Playing Dracula is really a Challenge but that's half the fun of the game If he Was too easy to win with then the game would get boring. The Dracula player Needs to Be a Little aggressive and not simply run from the Hunters for the game to be fun for everyone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on August 11, 2015
This is a great hidden movement 'one vs. many' game. It has immersive theme, good quality components, and good re-playability. THAT SAID, Fantasy Flight Games just announced that the 3rd Edition of this game is being released in late 2015 at a price of sixty bucks. It's supposed to be streamlined and improved over this edition so unless you specifically want this 2nd Edition release you're probably better to wait until 3rd Edition comes out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2011
Well, I won't bog this review down with an overly detailed explanation of how the game plays. If you'd like to know more about that, other reviewers have done a great job, and the rulebook is available to download for free on the game's website. In short, one player is Dracula and he must spend the game trying to outrun and outwit the humans hunting him. If he can do so for long enough (and help himself by making new vampires), then he wins the game. The humans win, of course, if Dracula is killed.

The game itself is fairly easy to pick up and play, for the hunters. Their role is fairly easy to understand and one game or two will have them very familiar with the flow. The Dracula player takes a bit more reading and thought, but I don't think it's anything most would have a problem picking up.

The real highlight of the game is the hunters working together to chase down Dracula. The Dracula player has to keep track of his route, and he has to tell the hunters if they find themselves in a city he's been in lately. It usually leads to an exciting cat-and-mouse finale.

The game itself is quite well made. The large map of Europe that the game is played on is durable and attractive. The cards, tokens, and pieces are likewise well made. The player figurines are plastic and unpainted, but are still well-made.

All in all, I think this is a great strategy game. And if you happen to be a fan of the original Dracula novel, it's even more engaging.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Tannhauser
Tannhauser by Fantasy Flight Games
$124.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.