Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More good writing from a unique and gifted author.
Neil Peart's latest offering, Far and Away: A Prize Every Time, stays true to the author's established vision. While an argument could be made that most of the writing here isn't original to this work (most of it comes straight from Peart's personal website) it is an argument that doesn't hold much weight. Having first read most of the material as it appeared on line I...
Published on April 7, 2011 by Jay W. Lundgreen

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Was Expecting Something New
After reading all of Neil Peart's previous books I was looking forward to enjoying another. This is not a new work for those of you who are fans of Neil's. This is simply a compilation of all of the small stories Neil writes and posts on his website [...] and lists under "News, Sports, and Weather". I had read each of these when they were published on-line. Having a...
Published 21 months ago by VICTOR A GALANTE


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More good writing from a unique and gifted author., April 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Neil Peart's latest offering, Far and Away: A Prize Every Time, stays true to the author's established vision. While an argument could be made that most of the writing here isn't original to this work (most of it comes straight from Peart's personal website) it is an argument that doesn't hold much weight. Having first read most of the material as it appeared on line I have to say that new life has been breathed into it in this new and refreshing presentation.

Aesthetically, Far and Away is Peart's most impressive book to date. The photography is a mix of beautiful sights, or interesting insights, but more importantly always relevant to the writing. This book is a labor of love and it really does come through in the physical feel and presentation.

Peart's writing is a lot like his musicianship. He has an established style, but it isn't stagnant, it is a living breathing thing. Part of the fun with this read is not only being taken on the journey through the events in the author's life, but also on the journey of the author's relationship to his own craft. The end result is a new layer of intimacy to his prose. Peart, though somewhat shy, has never been so as an author, which is one of his greatest strengths. And though the proverbial floodgates aren't wide open in this work (which is for the best) regular readers of his material will have the sensation that, with this book, the doorway into his life and times has been opened just a crack more.

Peart's writing usually makes me want to go buy a motorcycle and travel the country, but this time around it has left me wanting to start keeping a journal. And that's one of the best parts about a new Peart book, like the title suggests, it's a prize every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Drums Up Another Awesome Solo, April 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Q: Why should I buy this book when I can read Neil Peart's blog for free?

A: 'Far and Away' includes additional essays not included in Neil's excellent blog. They blew me away, sprung tears of joy and pride in my eyes, and made me laugh out loud.

Neil ascends further into the pantheon of great writers with stand-alone packets of stories filled with the usual adventure, geology lessons, and humor in his writing. My favorites are "Under the Marine Layer" and "The Ballad of Larry and Suzy", where he shares his thoughts and feelings of becoming a father again after losing his only child (and first wife and even his dog in 1997). This is not `The Motorcycle Diaries' or the kind of fluff designed to sell to the lowest common denominator of reader. Neil used metaphor wrapped in everyday Southern California events and some lucky circumstances (his friend's daughter is named Selena and she shines an enviable facet in his prose) to tell the story.

It's an interesting read if you have no idea who Neil is, but as a Rush fan it's delightful to share bittersweet life on the road and the hilarious interactions with bandmates Alex Lifeson and Geddy Lee.

In an April 2011 interview with Neil by Jim Ladd of KLOS Jim wishes we could see `the infectious gleam in his eye and smile'. Wishes come true in 'Far and Away'; it's filled with pictures (mainly taken by Neil) who has an artist's eye for composition. My only regret with the book is some of the non-professional photos, particularly ones taken on overcast winter days, would shine better with a little enhancement. Neil's probably used to the brightness of photos lit by a monitor; print immediately snuffs them. The art director could've said or done something--Neil's a writer, not a Photoshopper.

I love a blog, but I love a book more. I took 'Far and Away' on the train to the show at Madison Square Garden, and when I finished I hugged its linen cover with copper foil title and smiled deeply. Nothing like a book.

I hope his agent sends this to The New York Times. Neil's ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jack of All Trades, and a Master of - Several, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far and Away: A Prize Every Time (Paperback)
"Far and Away" is my favorite of Peart's books. The "open letter" format gives him terrific agility between subjects, form, tone, and perspective. There is a careful informality to each piece, as if he is chatting with the reader over a late-night drink, sitting on a terrace overlooking the lights of Southern California. There is intimacy, too, the intimacy of strangers. The emotional timbre of each piece has increased, as opposed to some of his earlier work (even "Ghost Rider") where the subjects where more obviously private - and therefore the reader needed to be kept a little farther away from the author by careful use of grammar and style.

For the audience not familiar with Peart's day job, "Far and Away" is a treasure of travel literature, both between geographic locales and between ideas. The casual tone of the work belies its attention to the craft of writing. Much as Rush fans practice playing "YYZ" repeatedly just for the joy of it, Peart practices writing for the pleasure of creating a finely tuned, precise, meaningful phrase. The essays stand on their own, and anyone who appreciates the patient, meticulous, loving effort of good writing will be satisfied - and grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another motorcycle journey - you will learn things you never thought you'd be interested in!, December 1, 2013
By 
MSW (Desert Southwest) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far and Away: A Prize Every Time (Paperback)
Once again Neil adds miles to his motorcycle - informative and historical. I gave this to someone who is interested in travel and knew nothing about Neil or Rush - he thoroughly enjoyed it and is reading Neil's other books.

Not just for a fan of Rush's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., June 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Once again Neil proves how strong of a writer he really is. This was thoroughly enjoyable reading and every bit as good as Ghost Rider. Although many have complained that most of it was also on his blog, most people (myself included) don't read the blog and prefer to read the "old school" way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Writing at its best, April 19, 2014
By 
Tony "tigerMT" (Columbia Falls, MT) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What Neal does with this book is incredible. It is intelligently written and has a depth to it not often found in books of this type. The photographs sometimes do not come out as well on a Kindle as I would like, yet what Neil paints with words is beyond what a simple photograph can convey anyway. In reading Neil's book, I see humanity at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Professor gives us a great prize!, March 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can I say! It's the Professor at his best. I enjoy reading his work almost as much as listening to his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A drummer and poet, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beautifully written, with imagery and passion galore. Neil is gifted in many respects. I'm a huge fan of his words, set to music or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Peart does it again, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far and Away: A Prize Every Time (Paperback)
After having read 'Ghost Rider', I had to try another Peart volume. I was not disappointed. This is written in a series of 'articles/letters' and in chronological order during 2007 - 2010. His descriptions and his travels are very well written. I recommend this book, particularly if you are a motorcycle rider, drummer, or Rush fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Work, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When one is faced with a long journey, one rarely stops to think about its impact on their life or the lives of those around them. It is not so with Rush 's drummer. He uses his travels as a metaphor for his life, which is something we should all aspire to do.
We are all capable of writing our own stories like this. We can look to the works and travels of others to show ourselves that it can be done. We simply have to want it badly enough.
A good read, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Far and Away: A Prize Every Time
Far and Away: A Prize Every Time by Neil Peart (Paperback - September 1, 2011)
$19.95 $15.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.