Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I actually finished it
I finished Far Cry 2, including most of the side missions. The guys that gave it 1-star reviews only played it for an hour or two. My played time was about 40 hours.

The graphics and the environmental sounds in this game are stellar. It's a full world, with day and night, animals (zebra, buffalo, gazelles, chickens, goats, and other flying birds), weather...
Published on November 24, 2008 by B. White

versus
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can you say 'repetitive'?
One thing about this game is that it's initial appeal is huge. You launch the game and quickly notice that:

(1) Graphically, it's incredible. One of the best I've seen.
(2) It's got tight controls and it's fun to kill things
(3) The story seems immersive

But then after a few hours you notice:

(1) The story's not that...
Published on February 1, 2009 by Christian A. Orton


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I actually finished it, November 24, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I finished Far Cry 2, including most of the side missions. The guys that gave it 1-star reviews only played it for an hour or two. My played time was about 40 hours.

The graphics and the environmental sounds in this game are stellar. It's a full world, with day and night, animals (zebra, buffalo, gazelles, chickens, goats, and other flying birds), weather (shifting wind that picks up before a rainstorm), and fire that spreads and burns things. In this world, you can drive cars, Jeeps, trucks, boats and hang-gliders. There are no loading screens as you travel the 5x5 kilometer map.

And the parts of the world react to your presence. Animals run. Plants bend over as you walk on them. Grass sways in the wind. When you shoot, you hear your spent brass landing in the grass. Everything has a shadow that moves with it. It's incredibly well-done.

In the PS3 version, there were some graphical glitches, including basically all the things you always hear about: aliasing, tearing, pop-in, and occasionally slowing frame-rate. Overall, graphics were great though and these glitches are familiar.

The game is a shooter. There are dozens of weapons you can unlock. If you don't like the recoil on the starting weapon, you can buy a much better one.

There are about 85 total missions. Many of them can be done more than one way. It IS repetitive though. Generally, you're going to shoot someone or retrieve something or both. I'm not sure what people were expecting here, but it would have been nice if there were more variety.

The story is unexpected. You play a guy in a situation. There aren't a lot of real choices to be made. And it's a civil war so the choices you do have aren't very good ones. It's like Grand Theft Auto in this way -- don't play it if you always have to be the good guy. Overall, I'd say the story is only ok-to-good. But it wasn't predictable and there was a satisfying pay-off at the end.

Good things about the game:
- Graphics
- Environmental sounds
- Weather
- Malaria - I liked what it added to the story. (Other reviewers thought it was annoying.)
- Swamp boats
- Weapon variety
- Length - 40+ hours is a good value
- Story ending
- Dialogue
- Buddy rescues for continues.

Medium things:
- Voice-acting - Could have been better. It was recorded in South Africa so the accents were authentic. Needed a separate control for voice volume versus shooting volume. And the actors talked a little too fast.
- Few cut scenes - I like cut scenes.
- You don't play a good guy.
- Characters weren't individual enough.

Bad things about the game:
- Soundtrack - it added nothing. It wasn't annoying, but what a huge missed opportunity.
- Getting attacked at every crossroads by guards
- Too much driving (But this isn't as bad as the other reviewers say. It seems bad for the first 60 minutes of the game, but after that you realize you can ride the bus or drive a boat.)
- Mission variety
- Wacky reasons behind some of the missions
- Graphical glitches
- Some bugs - Guys would die and stay crouched. Game crashed a could of times. And vehicles jumped to kill me once or twice. Overall bugs were rare.
- Shooting realistic-looking guys in the face might not be best for kids.

Overall, it was an amazing game. I'm glad I played it. There are games that are more fun. There are games with better stories. There are certainly games with better soundtracks. But this game had a wonderful world and an intriguing story. I hope Ubisoft comes out with another African adventure set in a world like this. I'll buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can you say 'repetitive'?, February 1, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
One thing about this game is that it's initial appeal is huge. You launch the game and quickly notice that:

(1) Graphically, it's incredible. One of the best I've seen.
(2) It's got tight controls and it's fun to kill things
(3) The story seems immersive

But then after a few hours you notice:

(1) The story's not that immersive.
(2) While the fighting is fun, it's super-repetitive. This is why the game should be avoided. To be honest 99% of your missions are to go scout an area, or kill a guy, or take over an outpost, but they don't feel any different because this is how it plays out:

You get your mission, you spend 3 or 4 minutes driving to the mission, you encounter an outpost and have to kill everybody in it, drive 3 or 4 more minutes, then get to your mission point and kill everybody. That's fun to do for the first couple of times. But then you realize, that's the whole game until the last mission. I'm not kidding, it gets boring really fast. You get another mission, drive, kill people, drive to mission, kill, boring, boring, boring.

It's a shame because the game does look incredible. And it truly is fun for about 2 hours. Don't waste your money. But if you have to feed your OCD and play the game, buy it on eBay for less than $20 if possible. That's how I did it and I'm glad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Far Cry 2" is Not a Far Cry From Being a Great Game, But Still Falls Short, August 17, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I played "Far Cry 2" over a 4 week period, mainly due to being busy, but also due to the fact that, while enjoyable to play, it didn't have that "I just gotta play it every day" feel to it. Don't get me wrong, it is an enjoyable game for the most part, but if you are not a fan of exploring, trial and error gameplay, and re-exploring (emphasis on having to backtrack constantly, nearly every mission), this game definately is not for you.

The locations are highly detailed, particularly the jungles, deserts and mountains. The character models are very detailed, as are the many different weapons you collect or buy along the way. The game has 3 Acts and each one has a cutscene or two setting up the Act, with the cutscene being pre-rendered CGI, which kind of stands out compared to the other scenes with you getting your missions, where those are real-time. The story of the game is interesting enough, but after awhile it drags on as their are constant betrayals, cliches, etc.

The sounds and music are all solid and help with the mood of the game. Voice acting is rather good as well and there are a lot of characters--so many that you will likely be confused as to what faction you are working for.

The enemy AI is very tough at times as a lot of enemies are thrown at you at one time, all with superior firepower and aim. Many of the enemy checkpoints are filled with enemies and it's usually best to just drive through as fast as you can and hope they don't jump in a jeep (which they 99.9% of the time do) and chase you. Then you have to hit "X" and take control of the large mounted gun and take 'em out. (It's fun the first few times, but with all of the backtracking, it becomes tiresome to always have enemies pop up in the same locations and you have to stop to take them out. Also, your vehicles don't take much damage before you have to repair them--yes, repair them. (I thought it was a gimmick at first, but the game developers really make you use it. My suggestion is upgrading your vehicle repair ability early on to avoid frustrating time ticking away as you have to stop and wait while you repair them.)

The controls are good, but the driving controls are a little too loose causing you to veer off paths or roads and wreck your vehicles. Also, an auto-aim would have been a nice touch, as often it is hard to target the enemies as they run around a lot.

I didn't really notice any glitches except a little slow down, which I have become used to. The save system is pretty generous and I recommend using safe houses or any save location as often as you can to keep from having to drive all the way from one side of the map to the other.

For first person shooters, it is a pretty solid game with story, graphics, controls and sound. Overall, I had a good time and it lasted for me for about 15-16hrs. which is good. Again, many missions are underwhelming or similar and there is a lot of backtracking. The side missions are more of the same and are not necessary to beat the game, only to get all of the trophies. Some might get tired of the muted colors of the terrain and locations. Had the missions been a little more interesting and there was less backtracking, I would have given it 4 stars. As it stands, it is a solid 3 star game. It's at least worth a rental or maybe $29.99 (as I have seen it at stores).

3/5 stars

Pros:
*15+ hrs. of gameplay.
*Nice graphics and sound.
*Interesting story and characters (NPC's.
*Controls are solid and intuitive for your character.
*AI is good.
*Nice selection of vehicles and weapons (most are upgradeable).

Cons:
*Missions can become redundant and involve a lot of backtracking. It's a tradeoff between length of game and repeating exploration of some of the same areas.
*There's no real boss characters and no mission is that difficult that you can't beat it on the first attempt.
*You can die cheap deaths, so save often.
*Enemy AI can be nearly super hero at times requiring far too many shots to take them down. (Also, be aware that some don't die immediately and while moaning on the ground, they will still shoot at you.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry 2 is everything I expected and more..., October 22, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I just played about an hour of single player to get the feel for the game before I tried the map editor and the online play. Single player visually is just a hair below the quality of COD 4 but hardly noticeable and at times it looks better. Guns break down over time and jam and then break unless you upgrade your weapons. Running is more like Gears of War than COD. Fire propagation is brilliant! After an hour I tried the map editor for about 10 minutes and the possibilities are absolutely limitless and show the most potential for online play out of any game available!!! Couldn't stand it anymore so I turned on the multiplayer. Fearing lag problems I was pleased to find NONE!!! We had several fires burning large areas and did not notice any lag at all. It takes allot more ammo to kill someone than Im used to but I quickly adapted to the change in play and absolutely loved it! Shotguns are 1 shot 1 kill at close range, sniper rifles accurate and powerful, the uzi is deadly accurate within 20 feet, and the machete is more fun than a knife ;) There are 6 classes to choose from and many different weapons available. All classes available can be upgraded for different weapons, more grenades or more powerful secondary weapons... Maps are huge and very beautiful! Supports 16 player online battles with an endless amount of maps that are as good as any I've seen. Lobby is well designed and works perfectly. You can vote past a map, vote off obnoxious players, vote to scramble the teams, mute players, and just about everything else we've found ourselves wishing we had in other game lobbies... If you were at all interested in this game you must buy it! If your just tired of COD 4 and not too stoked about COD 5 being WWII AGAIN try Far Cry 2, you will not be disappointed. Any fan of FPS's should buy this game for either console! My pick for sleeper hit of the year!!! I say sleeper hit because its not getting the buzz other games (ie;Little Big Planet and Resistance 2) are and may go unnoticed by allot of people. Absolutely love it so far and can't wait for my clan to get the game tonight!!!

My update - 11-08-2008 After playing this title for a couple weeks I am continued to be impressed! There are a few multiplayer issues that I would like to talk about. When playing "Ranked" games and running a lobby the room doesn't carry over to the next map. Everyone gets kicked (except the host) and goes to new rooms and continue that cycle. There is NO team/clan support so finding the room your friends are in doesn't assure you will be on the same team and there's NO option to change that. You can carry over the room from map to map in "Player" but when that room closes your rank will be reset due to your stats not counting. "Ranked" is the mode that keeps your stats and weapons earned but its easier to play with friends on "player" so that kinda sucks! I messaged Ubi about these issues that everyone is complaining about and they said they were aware of the problem and trying to fix it ASAP! Even with these complaints I still give this title 5 out of 5 because it is that good!!! Don't believe these idiots who are giving it 1 star, they are just trying to bring down the score because they wanted another COD 4! The controls in this game are different (not button configuration but response) than COD 4 but once you adjust your gameplay it works great! Its a poor musician that blames his instrument... The map editor is absolutely brilliant and hopefully a sign of things to come! Burning fields/bushes/and other destructible objects are still as fun as the first time. I have never had the mic's cut out or seen the dreaded "Connection Interruption". For every legitimate complaint I can find I find 5 great things that are only in this title... Single player is fantastic!!! Anyone complaining about the amount of driving should learn the bus system, problem solved... The complete freedom to approach any situation ANY way you'd like is incredible and carries this single player past 30 hours easily!!! Blowing up ammo dumps sending bullets and explosives everywhere while people are reloading is sooooo much fun (multiplayer) and getting shot while hiding and trying to heal myself keep things very interesting! Multiplayer needs some lobby tweaks NO DOUBT but this title has only been out for a few weeks. Mine (and everyones) beloved COD 4 was unplayable for the first month. Give them a chance to perfect it because it would have been a shame had everyone bashed that title and gave it 1 star out of spite and nothing else..... If your still on the fence about this title then rent it and see for yourself! EXTREMELY PROGRESSIVE GAME in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME ACTION ADVENTURE IN ULTRA-REAL ENVIRONMENT, October 21, 2008
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Wow. For me, this is cutting edge gaming. I like the total immersion in a beautiful, hostile and huge landscape that allows me to explore a variety of habitats in all kinds of vehicles (including a glider!).

The minimal gamer data intrusions on-screen allow for much more of a feeling of entering the African world. On a widescreen HD TV, this is absolutely breathtaking.

Specific game play details are widely available, but I am very satisfied with the array of weapons, confrontations, variable character behavior for repeat play and startling action set-pieces.

The fact that day becomes night, the weather changes, fires left unattended can burn out of control and that weapons age and fall apart over time enhances all elements of this absolutely terrific game. Hard to imagine areas for improvement on this one given the premise.

And let me say again the terrain for open exploration is huge. Must be about 20 square miles of savannah and jungle. That is very big for a seamless open and widely variegated naturalistic landscape.

The mission is simple. You're a bounty hunter looking for an arms dealer equipping both sides of a bloody (tribal?) war.

Oh yes, here's the coolest thing of all. There's a fantastic Map Editor that allows you to design your own level. Yes, create a world of rivers, plains, jungles and structures. There are over a thousand choices! And then you and your friends can enter it for game play.

Highly recommended. This world is hard to leave...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars immersive, but some catastrophic design decisions, September 26, 2011
By 
Caraculiambro (La Mancha and environs) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I would be lying if I didn't admit that I got completely absorbed in this game for a few days, but there are serious issues with it which heavily affected its replayability. If it weren't for those issues, I'd probably still be playing it. Forget a sequel: all UbiSoft would need to do to make one of the greatest video games of all time is not issue a "Far Cry 3," but simply repair this disaster, something that could be easily done with a few tweaks.

Here's a list of things I didn't like:

1. First, I have heard this game praised for its realism. Please! What a silly view of Africa. Do war-torn African nations really have a problem with people leaving cases of diamonds on the top of rusted-out buses? And I hope the game's programmers are not congratulating themselves on having made a coherent contribution to the discussion of conflict diamonds: they certainly have not. And who's this loser endlessly driving back and forth in a Ford Pinto? I thought you guys said gas was scarce! And am I the one who has to point out that equatorial Africa is not overrun by white mercenaries? This was preposterous. Maybe one or two I could believe. But hundreds and hundreds? (I imagine, though, that they did this for a reason: if they hadn't the game would basically be you going around shooting a bunch of black people, something they couldn't have. But I think they went too far the wrong way: you're in Africa, and black people are actually kinda scarce?!

2. At first I found this game extremely confusing. Virtually everybody you see wants to kill you. Why? Am I trespassing? I had mistakenly thought it was a game that involved role-playing. Er, no. My mistake. It's just you versus everybody that moves, for the most part. What was the point of having you select your character? All you get to see of him is his arm. HINT: Don't choose the character you like. That way, you'll at least get to get to interact with the one you like once in a while, whereas if you choose the one you like, you'll never get to see him.

3. Another thing I didn't understand was that, in this game, cars are communal property. If you see one, you can simply drive off without anybody's batting an eyelid. I thought people owned cars. Not in this game. I walked many a tedious mile before it dawned on me how the car thing worked. Some clarification on that would have reduced a lot of the initial frustration.

4. You can't finish the main mission you're given, the one regarding the Jackal. I can't give away the ending, but this was beyond belief. The game -- for the most part -- lets you roam around the world seeking your own adventures, but then railroads you in an unforgivable way at the end, resulting in a completely unsatisfying video game experience. A real disappointing, French-style ending.

5. The missions are repetitive and lack variety. Actually some people might view this as a positive: if you like this kind of mission, you don't mind its being repeated. But all of the encounters along the road ended the same way. You say you came across a checkpoint and had a shoot-out? Lemme see if I can guess how it went: you shot absolutely everybody but then there was one guy who was sniping you from way off and there was no way to locate him? That's how virtually every encounter went.

6. Which leads me to another thing: this game sorely needs a radar. Don't tell me that's not realistic: I have a magical map and can miraculously heal from gunshot wounds. I can't count how many times enemy encounters became infuriating affairs because there was no way to tell where the last guy was. Meanwhile he can see you perfectly clearly the whole time.

7. This is possibly because this game has a problem with the brightness, or rather the gamma. It's bright day, and it's too dark. Only this game has this problem: other PS3 games don't have me getting into my monitor's brightness controls to figure out why I can't see anything.

8. One of the most frustrating things about this game is the long drives you'll have to get from one place to the other. It's true, there's something of a fast-travel system, but there aren't enough bus stops in the world, so you end up doing a lot of walking, driving, or swimming.

9. The villains at the checkpoints respawn (even their jeeps) if you wander about 50 feet away. This was the single worst thing about this game. No enemy operation is that efficient. If this country were that efficient, it wouldn't be so poor! I can't count how many times this sent me into a rage. You take all this trouble to clear out a section, and as soon as you wander away, all the villains are back at full strength. You should have been able to set this somewhere in the options. It made the whole game absurd. It would have been more tolerable if you were actually getting something for killing all these infinitely respawning enemies (money, points--something), but since the fights are completely meaningless, the maddening respawning will send you into a rage before long. Imagine a dungeon that was filled with nothing but wandering monsters that you weren't being given XP for. Not fun.

10. All the enemies, if they know where you are (i.e. most of the time), can snipe at you and often hit you even if they don't have line of sight to you! It's amazing. Don't ever hide in the grass in this game: enemies can see you just fine. In a way, this is the most unforgivable problem with this game. Stealth: it's presumably the key mechnaic of this game, and it doesn't work right. Unforgiveable. Many, many times I found myself getting plugged by some distant enemy. I hid behind this, I hid behind that--he still got me. Finally when I figured out where it was, I caught him dead-to-rights shooting through solid rock, metal, or a mound of earth!

11. There's no way to tell how much health you have left. This is one of those games that think's it's cool to make the screen go gray and blood-besplattered when you're dying instead of giving you a health bar. The result is that you don't know how much certain weapons damage you or whether it would be wise to use a syrette.

12. There's no way to tell what weapon you're using--or what weapon you've just picked up.

13. The enemies can use guns when they're driving but you can't (e.g., the guy in the Ford Pinto).

14. The map is not reliable. You'll have clear sailing ahead of you based on the map, but when you get there, you find a bunch of impassible mountains in the way.

15. There are times when the game deals with the player in bad faith. It tells you to complete this certain challenge, knowing full well there's no way it can get done, and that basically, you're supposed to die. Think of the shootout at Mike's Bar just previous to the second map opening up. The result of this is that players stop trusting the video game.

16. Your guy is not given a compass. Why not? It's very easy to get lost and get headed the wrong way.

17. The player is prevented from looking at the entire map. Why can't I? I need it to plan the least dangeous routes. It seems like one is always just on the edge of the map, but there's no way of clicking over to the next quadrant to see what lies just ahead.

18. There is a bug where the enemies are facing the other way, shooting, but you're still getting the damage.

19. There is a bug where your best buddy mysteriously persists in dying even though you've given him five straight syrettes.

20. There is a bug where you can kill all the enemies at a safehouse but not unlock it.

21. On the PS3 at least, there's no way to save when you want. You have to make it past several enemy checkpoints to get to a point where you can save. Why?!? What an aggravating hassle!

22. The game's interface when it comes to hopping in boats is intolerably poorly programmed. You're right there in front of it, wiggling around, and you still don't get the enter prompt?!

23. Your world-class hero can't climb up 2 feet's worth of rocks. To see what I'm talking about, try to approach the aiport in the second map from the south. This was absurd.

24. Not all the guard shacks are marked on the map.

25. There's no way to fast-click through all the dialogue is you're just replaying.

26. Why can't you have endless assassination, passport delivery, and convoy missions? Would that have been too hard to program?

27. The game's draw distance is too short, and there's no way to adjust it. You can see the world being created as you run up on it (e.g., the waterfall as you're coming up to the Marina bar by swamp boat).

28. There is no way to mass delete all your saves, or many of them at once.

29. Vehicles can kill you if they hit you with just one blow. Unfair. Meanwhile, if you hit your enemies the same way, they can get right up.

30. The save and load times are murder.

31. Your buddies all turning on you regardless of what you do really pollutes the game's replay value.

32. The big explosions you've earned at the end of your missions are ruined by the "Save and Continue" screen.

33. The enemies' jeeps can catch up with you and outrun you, even though you are driving the exact same vehicle.

34. They overplayed the gun jamming. That was .preposterous. People would have stopped doing business with the Jackal if he had been unloading weapons of such unreliable quality.

35. The battlefield surgery thing was silly. You've been swiss-cheesed by a MAC-10 and it'll have you pulling a twig out of your abdomen.

36. It's never clear what's causing your malaria. Nor is there any way to get rid of it. This just produces a downer video game experience overall. In fact I found the malaria thing in general a cop-out way of controlling the player's actions. You spend the entire game with it, by the way.

37. There are no benefits to having a high reputation. Instead, this will mean that many enemies attempt to simply hide from you, making it much more difficult to flush them out and kill them.

38. There's no way for your guy to drop prone, but the enemies can.

39. It takes way too many bullets to kill someone. Like I'm so sure.

40. There's no way to check your remaining ammo unless you fire a shot, which gives away your position.

41. Once I happened upon a diamond box on top of a shack. I thought of many ways of knocking it down: ramming a jeep into the corrugated shed to knock the entire shed down; hopping up on the trunk of the jeep and thence to the roof; shooting the box down with a gun. No, no. None of those will work. God knows how the designers wanted me to solve that puzzle, but that's what's so idiotic about this game, and very typical. You have to solve its puzzles on its terms, not yours. My guy's like an ex-Marine green beret. He can't hop up two feet? You can use all the logic you want to come up with a solution to the game's puzzles, but no. It must be Ubisoft's particular logic.

42. Warning: the PC version of this installs some rather invasive DRM. See the other reviews for details.

43. There is no way to interrupt your repairing your car or boat unless you take damage from a bullet.

44. The game is practically over before you're allowed to purchase the weapons you really want.

45. The camo suit is a crock. It's the most expensive item in the game, yet the enemies continue to be able to see you just fine.

46. Rain makes the game framey. I could understand on a PC: but on a Playstation? On a PC, the programmers can simply claim the user had other apps running, but what's their excuse on a Playstation?

47. The sound effects are horrible. For example, you should be able to hear the enemy's footsteps when he outflanks you (just like they can hear yours), but you can't. Additionally, the sounds your feet makes over the terrain are often wrong. You're moving over grass, and you won't hear anything. Or what you hear will be delayed, spooking you out. Or you run through a puddle and there isn't any splashy sound effect. Most seriously, the sound effects in the game are not done in stereo. What I mean is that in other games, if you were standing next to some noise source and turned your character around in circles, the noise should go through your left ear, your right, your left, etc., so you can tell where the sound is coming from. Not in this game. If you hear the sound of footsteps coming up on you, there's no way to tell, from the sound alone, the direction from which the footsteps are coming. This strikes me as a serious drawback to the believability of the game.

48. You are forced to have buddies and to rescue them before you can continue with the game's main mission. You're not allowed to opt out having buddies: they're an annoyance and a liability for the duration of the game.

49. As if it's not enough of an insult to have your guy befriending the Jackal in the face of your protestations, the game at one point actually forces you to help him deliver a ship of weapons. Who's writing this stuff?

50. On the PC version of this, there's no way to alt-tab back to Windows.

51. You can't set a waypoint on the map. Why not? The map is magical!

52. And the most unforgivable transgression, the real reason for my one star: the game's "Easy" mode is murderously difficult. When I choose Easy, I want an easy game, dangnabit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thinking Man's Shooter, June 1, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I don't have a whole lot to say that hasn't already been said on here so I'll keep it short.

1) You get out of it what you put into it. If you plan your journey from checkpoint to checkpoint, and actually take the time to avoid guard posts, listen for oncoming vehicles, and use a combination of methods of transportation (boats, swimming, walking, cars, etc.), it is easy to avoid the so-called "random" encounters. They are not so random. And
2) I've played through the game 3 times now and I've yet to encounter the "respawning enemies" I've seen claimed. Sure, guard posts re-populate after an amount of time, but they never re-spawn while you are there.
3) Like I said, I've spent probably a hundred hours playing this game, only once did I have to restart due to a game ending bug...I fell through the ground on a mountain where the edges were really jagged. It was weird, but like I said, only ONCE in about a hundred hours. So, I can live with that. And I used to program in some basic langauges and I know how hard it is to test for that kind of bug. So I can forgive them considering the map is huge!
4) If you come into the game expecting COD or another fast-paced shooter, you will be disappointed. But if you expect a cerebral experience, such as moving explosive containers into the road to blow up a convoy or parking your car on a bridge to trap a target, this is a very rewarding experience.
5) On-line experience is not up the par of some other games, but having gone back and looking at it again, it's not as bad as I originally thought. Still, COD is the best online shooter available. But Far Cry 2 has the best campaign experience ever.

Overall, the game is amazing. It's beautiful. It's huge. There's a lot to do. The first time I played through the game I didn't even do half the stuff possible. But again, you'll get as much fun out of it as you put into it. If you just go from check point to check point (WALKING!) and blasting everything that moves, you're sure to have a boring, frustrating, and unfortunate experience. Please ignore the nay-sayers, pick up this game and you'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give this game time and it will grow on you, December 15, 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Far Cry 2 has nothing to do with the original Far Cry game. You play as a nameless mercenary in an African nation in revolt. Most of the game, you're going to be tasked with various missions to shoot someone.

The engine is just jaw dropping at times. There is a complete day and night cycle in the game. You've got lush jungles, the desert and everything in between. Some of the waterfalls and other valleys are just so pretty. I have found myself just sitting there in water looking at the sky when a party of guards comes along to shoot me.

The game play is where I have to somewhat downgrade the game. Initially, until you figure out where to go and what to do, the game is confusing. However, if you give it about 6 hours, you're going to find that you're used to blowing through guard checkpoints, killing everyone in your way with ease. That's when this game really turns into an exploration / FPS. And it's fun to boot.

There's a set of side missions where you have to find a series of briefcases containing diamonds by which you can purchase new weapons. That works most of the time. Sometimes, it's really annoying because you just can't quite manage to jump up and reach a case that's in plain sight.

If you can get beyond the initial "WTF?", this is a solid first person shooter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, October 23, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is set up like Grand Theft Auto but is in Africa. You can do whatever you want. The map is based on 20 square miles, so don't accidentally blow up your car w/ a missle launcher while you are out on the plains. Controls are a lot like those of Battlefield, which I think are perfect. I recommend this game to a mature audience. Has some swearing, even the F-bomb. Game is a lot of fun. I tried the multiplayer briefly. I think it will be fun, however will not replace Battlefield, Bad Company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With Patience, You Too Will Get Into Far Cry 2, July 1, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Greetings and salutations!

I've looked over the reviews, yes this game is probably old to most by now but there may be some who have gotten a PS3 recently ( like me) and wanted to find a game that really showed me just what my money had bought me as far as graphics/entertainment on this console.

Far Cry 2 is as most have said already, a very different FPS because of its realism --- and realism is abundant to an extent. I think most have already talked to death about this game so I'll keep it to a bare minim. Here is a short list of the positives to this immense undertaking:

Sound --- excellent. At times you can even hear a guard's cell phone going off in the bush, a frantic conversation between two scared mercenaries after you've attacked their position where they plan out how to flush you out...or shouting as to where or how many of you there may be! ( very cool). The guns, explosions, bugs, boat motors, cars, field generators, the " bloop!" from your grenade launcher, mortar attack whistles, RPG rounds, rounds missing you and hitting your environment to the animals of the jungle.

Map and environment --- it is huge. You have two distinct maps and each one has many different climates you can encounter to rich-golden prairies with wheat grass blowing in the wind, desserts, thick jungles, mountainous regions with falls, dry regions with rock out cropping along with river channels that go through narrow rocky passages to open lakes and streams. The light detail of the changing times of day is particularly awesome, I even decided to investigate my self just how a grouping of bushes and trees look at late-afternoon vs Far Cry II and its exactly how you see it in real life. Simply gorgeous. The environment also affects how you will go and finish certain missions along with what type of day light your looking for. It also makes you think about the safest route or means to make your way to your destination as they also include re-spawned check points on most roads.

This can either be an annoyance or help you in the end because as most of this map is devoid of human life, in my perspective, if you cleared the check points then there wouldn't be much in terms of getting anywhere in a specific way... and very boring. On the other hand, I do believe they should have allowed you to clear big areas like the surprisingly well guarded " Post Office" that you'll run into later on in the game. That was one hard corps post office let me tell you!

This is a big world and with it, the realism of you getting somewhere may take awhile which is what will turn off many game enthusiasts used to having the action coming to them in a small scale pre-planned route. This is where the dedication of patience sets in. In many ways, FC2 will turn into a drawn out Armed National Geographic show in which you cross streams, valleys, mountains and hills to get to your target.

Action ---

There is no such thing as an automatic winning gun fight in this game, especially when more useful weapons enter the hands of the UFL or the APR. One man in an undisclosed place that has a better vantage point will chew you up --- whether he has a pistol or a rifle. The gun fights are realistic, you can't just blunder into the place and shoot everyone because you'll quickly get taken out. The AI is very good in many cases. They will hunt you if you don't hunt them. The foliage, cover, and ways to avoid your gun fire are plenty and they'll use it. If you happen to use a sniper rifle, they will intuitively find cover and wait you out, forcing you to get into a gun fight close up.

When guns get dirty from travel and use --- they will jam. When you get hurt, you see your wounds and if you don't heal, you can bleed out. ( this can get annoying specially when the means your character uses to get a bullet/shrapnel piece out of his body) I don't see this as a hindrance but more or less a realistic detail. Having shot many of these weapons in my personal experience for the exception of the bigger explosive weapons like the old RPG, the weapon at times, will not fire when you want it to so the detail is a tribute to UBI SOFT's work. Explosions and the use of your weapons are pretty detailed, when you shoot your RPG/Explosive/Grenade, make sure you have some room because the explosions and noise from it are pretty spectacular. The water affects of the boats as they go down stream, the sound of spent rounds hitting the ground --- all of it was amazingly put into the game.

Not So Great Elements that made it a 4 Star Game!

* Some of the accuracy of the weapons being shot at you were too accurate, in this case, a guy with a shot gun that has seen you can almost snipe you to death with it. In fact the bad guys are all crack shots and they seldom miss --- they also never have jamming issues until they die and you try to use their extremely dirty weapons. Their was a complaint that you can't see your enemies --- well its realistic...your not going to see folks trying to hurt you in a real engagement so its part of the game's challenge! However --- there is no such thing as concealment for you, for some reason, your enemy also has eagle eye vision and find you...all the time. Even if your miles away they'll run...and they are pristant too! There were high annoyances.

* Thin story line. There was a lot you could have done with this game as far as the story goes. Yes it does make you feel like your in war torn Africa during the nasty civil war days of the early 90's --- in fact --- you already know this game is dreary and dark because of it. The problem is... there was no depth into it. Your there to kill a bunch of people, relinquish the warring factions, and hunt for this supposed guy who started it all, " The Jackal". The NPC characters... ehh... aside from an excuse for side missions, they serve no purpose to the flow of the story what so ever. The meanings behind the missions are often ridiculous, and some of the technicalities to them mean less sense. How is it that any faction would allow you to continue to work for them after certain events that allege your character's involvement to their plans? You would be shot on sight...just like your shot at everywhere in this particular part of the world.

Which leads me to the next issue. It sort of like you --- and then the rest of the violent nation. There is no middle ground and you can't talk nor speak to anyone that comes at you because your too busy getting ready to kill them first. The only time they don't kill or try to kill you is at the cease fire zones!...Yet...your able to drive to the hotel and back in the beginning, even bribing the guard post with beer of all things! Then there are parts where you can be sitting in the middle of no where, watching the wildlife when some car or armed pick up truck finds you --- or even better, roaming mercenaries just like you suddenly appearing from the bush to shoot at you.

Its also devoid of people too --- villagers/civilians. You keep hearing about these civilians, refugees, and people caught in the war...but you never see them. The buildings are there...but there is no one in them. There is also a lack of wildlife aside from the wildlife...say...elephants, giraffes. The rivers and streams are devoid of anything that could be unsafe.

* Lack of Character build up. They are different...with accents and behavior that sets them apart from another...but other than that... they share the Malaria issue as far as it being a part of the game's flow. If they were not there, the game would be the same. One thing was great about it, is that their fate wasn't exactly set in stone. You could very well loose them if they should be your back up and they get injured, or they are part of a mission but they get hurt in the process.

* Lack of means to climb rocks and a not so great map. It will take you 30 min at times to get to a destination and often times, a simple metal fence will be impassible.... and you can't blow holes into it to get by. Very inconsistent. The map will highlight an area in which you need to go...but will not let you know that its either within a rocky hollow or possible a few feet below you.

* Vehicle Verity. Its either going to be a pick-up truck or a car,jeep or a buggy...and that's it my friend. They may have a different color but that's all you get. The boats are also that way...either a very slow fishing trolley or what looks to be a modified San Pan from Vietnam.

* Weapons --- in reality its a crappy selection at the end of the day. Some pistols were pretty useless. The Markov with the silencer didn't do much for covert/up close action so you might as well have skipped and held the .45 or .50 cal D-eagle. Rifles were also garbage aside from maybe the AR-16 with the dot scope. They lacked real upgrading. The cost and time it takes you to get the diamonds to buy them does not equal their quality. The sniper rifles also lacking. The only weapon that half-way allowed you to keep your self covert only came with 5 rounds...and with an extra ammo pack...10. Woopee! The thing didn't even last either!

It was impossible to make stealth operations as well --- even with a silenced MP5. Why not have it to where you can buy silencers for most of the weapons? After all, this was an arms dealer you were dealing with, along with missions to get " better weaponry" but what you got was 3rd rate stuff. I suppose this added to the grimy world the game is place in...shanty towns and hand-me downs...but still. With all of this traveling and hardship, you think you would have gotten something better.

* Lack of a decent ending. I shan't spoil it but...geez...

There are some other oddities here and there but I must revert back to the previous games and consoles to conclude that we can have luxury now to be too picky at times because the computer age has drastically change since I was a kid ( it wasn't that long ago, 90-99 were my teen years) so we often forget what we didn't have versus what we have now. Its a good game. It was probably worth its money at 60.00 in the end because it does offer long playing hours, a big map, and numerous things to do. What else do you want at the end of the day? I doubt there will be a perfect game because someone more hard corp will think of something that had irked them.

This game isn't for the fast paced types who want a " wham-bam-thank-you mam!" experience where each turn, you can count how many bad guys come rushing up and you know how far it will go. This is a real " open" atmosphere.

You do need to add this to your video game library however, its a game that does put the PS3 on the map as far as first person shooters go. Remember --- patience is the key to FC2. It starts off slow and your armed with few things to do much with...but it does pick up pace later on. I mean if it were a smaller map, smaller this, smaller that, then the complaints would reflect what wasn't then what there to find.

So have fun --- because you will. There may be negatives suggested that might be positives for others. I should make this a 5 star game because god knows how long these creators and computer gurus took to program and come up with this product. Kudos to them! They truly made something to be very proud of --- but a 4 shall suffice do the very things I listed...but by no means should stop you from getting this game to enjoy.

I hope this little review sheds some light on that choice.

* One more thing. The Malaria pills. Its also a negative. Why? Why I say. It made you go out of the way to these humanitarian type of missions w/o payment...because your payment was the medicine itself. Great. They also made you go to far off locations that took you forever to find and get to let alone dangerous routes where you had to deal with numerous militants. It introduces you to a 3rd party organization called the " under ground" but it was quite useless and more or less a back drop than an asset to the game's continuation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3
Far Cry 2 - Playstation 3 by UBI Soft (PlayStation 3)
$29.99 $21.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.