Customer Reviews


752 Reviews
5 star:
 (553)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive
First let me say that I am starting to like the intro's Ubi Soft is doing. Just like AC3, this game begins as a playable introduction (lead in) to the game

I will do a more thorough review after I have completed more of the game, but after 10+ hours (**update** 17+ hours), I really like this game. As stated in previous reviews, do not think that you are buying...
Published 24 months ago by Army Boatie

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game with problems. (spoilers)
This is a great game in terms of gameplay, graphics and all the things you are able to do in the game like hunting and taking over outposts, so there's that. Then there is the story and characters of the game, this is where it's not so great. After putting in over 30 hours into this game i can't help but feel disappointed by it. What we know is that a bunch of friends go...
Published 16 months ago by Josh Miazga


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, December 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
First let me say that I am starting to like the intro's Ubi Soft is doing. Just like AC3, this game begins as a playable introduction (lead in) to the game

I will do a more thorough review after I have completed more of the game, but after 10+ hours (**update** 17+ hours), I really like this game. As stated in previous reviews, do not think that you are buying a SKYRIM game with guns. This game is not that. It is its own game, and qualifies for 5 starts under its own merit.

I enjoy the hunting and crafting in this game, as it is not to complicated. Find and craft. I like that. No need to find someone to train you to make better things. Just pick up the supplies and craft from the menu. Really LOVE THAT!

Killing is great in this game. Many different styles and approaches to take. Are you a silent hunter? Or are you a in your face killer. To me, I am both. Some quest have you take down the "leader" with a knife and some are just shoot them up. You decide how to go about it. I find a combination of both work, with plenty of health and green leaves in the bag. (To make more health shots)

I like the fact that you do not have to train on one weapon and that will be your focus for the rest of the game. I like being able to go from AK to sniper or sneaking around with the bow to take out a Tiger (Really hard by the way). All fun.

Only one down side that I have seen so far. The actual quest system. Currently there is no way to designate which quest you want to work on. The last one you pick up is the one that the map will show. I hope that this is because how early I am in the game, but thus far it seems that is the system. (Cause of this, I would drop it to 4.5 starts, but I rounded up) Not a game killer, but kind of annoying. **UPDATE** So far the quest system is getting more annoying. Once you "enter" an area with the main quest, it will lock you in to completing it. You are not allowed to leave the area or the game will reset you to your last auto save. So be careful on where you walk when doing side quest or roaming, as you may get locked into doing another part of the main quest. (Even with that annoyance, I am still leaving it a 5 stars. I am having that much fun with the game)

Other than that minor issue, if you like sandbox open world games, and like shooters, and like a challenge, and like good voice acting, and great story (so far) then this game is for you.

(I cant wait to get off work and get back to it)

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game Of The Year!, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I love a good open world game, Skyrim, Fallout, GTA etc. This game is right up there with those. While those games featured rather bleak setting this game gives you a lush tropical archipelago to explore, There is no shortage of things to do and see. The best part of this game is its complete freedom and unpredictability. One time I was stalking an enemy base, plotting out the best way to attack it, I found a good sniping position, set up to take the shots, and BAM! out of nowhere I got attacked by a tiger out of the jungle! Me and the two friends watching me play the game all literally screamed "HOLY S***"! Never had so much fun losing a life on a game! Another example of the spontanaity this game provides? I took a boat out on the ocean to go deep sea treasure hunting. I dive down, grab the loot, easy enough, I'm swimming back to the surface, BOOM! Shark attacks me! Blood goes everywhere, he lets me go and swims away, I'm thinking ok good hes gone. He turns around and bolts back towards me, I turn and swim like mad towards a tiny rock outcropping, fingers missing buttons as i swim and then attempt to climb the rock. I slip down the rock back into the water, i go under and he bites me again! I manage to get on to the rock, quickly spin around and spray the water with my chaingun. The beast is dead and im down to next to zero health. It felt like I was playing the best jaws game ever! So there I am on this little rock with my boat close to me but still probably a 50 yard swim. I'm contemplating whether I want to attempt the swim to it or make the longer swim to land but go thru clearer shallower waters. Great Great random moment! Oh and if you think its all random animal attacks theres sooo much more. Theres also the constant threat of pirates, radio tower and enemy base takeovers, ancient ruin exploration, hunting expeditions, contract killing, racing, hang gliding, and oh yeah if thats not enough theres also the actual story missions! The world is so damn fun I've only done two of those so far, but both were excellent! Get this game and prepare to be sucked in for hours on end! Can not recommend this enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game worth more than its price tag., December 16, 2012
By 
Dan (Knoxville TN) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Far Cry 3 is by far the best installment in the series so far. The sandbox style world is frankly amazing, the firefights intense, the strategy demanding, the challenge real and the story excellently balanced between disturbing and amusing. I am writing this review after having played through on the PS3.

The sandbox world has just about everything you could ask for. The only thing I can think of that is missing is an actual volcano, otherwise the two islands that make up this game's playable area are everything you'd expect on a tropical island. The addition of wildlife in this game adds such an aspect of realism, I found myself stalking a tiger just to watch him take down a deer or goat. This addition also adds a new type of terror/suspense to the game. There is nothing like quickly trying to escape a firefight that you plundered into, running through the jungle and finally escaping your assailants, just to be mauled and pummeled by a tiger. While the resilience and toughness of some of the animals detracts from realism, it certainly adds to the anxiety. And just like Far Cry 2, almost everything will burn in this game. The world also goes between stages of weather and transitions between night and day. Standard these days, but still a nice effect. 11/10 ;)

The firefights, especially towards the beginning are very intense. Until you unlock enough of the "skills" to boost your health bars and make body armor more effective, only a couple of bullets will drop you on the intermediate setting. However this is followed by most of the enemies being easily eliminated by a small string of fire to center mass. What is different for this game is the implementation of cover. While the system is a little rough around the edges, it does allow you to hide behind cover and then peek out and fire rounds off at hostiles. 9.5/10

Unlike Far Cry 2, where it seemed impossible to use stealth. This game makes it a requirement in some missions, and is highly encouraged in others. Targets are capable of being marked prior to walking into an area, while it feels like cheating most the time, it does make using stealth a must more attractive option. To add to the push for using stealth, there are a plethora of different knife skills that can be unlocked. Each of these having its own unique "kill sequence", and some allowing you to silently remove more than one enemy, and the most useful to me; one that allows you to drag a recently parted victim's body to a discrete area. 10/10

The challenge in this game comes mostly from the improved use of enemy AI. While they are still not brilliant, they do notice sounds and are spooked by finding their buddy lying dead on the ground. The enemy itself will work together to suppress and kill you, as well as take cover to hide from your fire. The confrontations with some of the islands predators is also challenging, as well as occasionally terrifying, though the idea of a shark attack bothers me anyways. The enemies are also specialized, making some of them quite difficult to kill and makes plotting strikes against enemy establishments require careful and thorough planning. 9/10

The story, while touching on absurd in portions and stretches in other parts, is over all very entertaining. Quite frankly it is well written, much like any of the older Bond movies but with much more violence. There are amusing small quips and one liners spread throughout the interactions of the main character and the NPC's. Some of the situations you find yourself in are brilliant, but in an absurd sort of way. Expect to find yourself going down in a sinking ship, or being dropped into a deep spring, hands bound and tied to a concrete block. The story arc overall is fair to good, I would rate it at 7.5/10.

The game overall is worth every penny just for the single player. The addition to weapon customizations and the improved system controls, should also make this an interesting and likely worthy multiplayer. This game has a few small quirks, and no one should expect a Shakespeare story, but you should expect hours of thrills and plenty of enjoyment. There is one side note I wish to finish with, this game is especially violent and is likely not suitable for your 11 year old. It is brutal and graphic in many of the missions and in much of the game's surrounding environment. There are also scenes (while only a few) that border on soft core pornography, while I do not mind this myself, it is quite graphic. Don't let this deter you from playing, but do let this guide you if you think you might be buying this for your child. Overall 9.8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Single player vs. offline co-op, March 22, 2013
By 
ceigna (Edison, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I mainly wanted this game because I read that it has offline co-op and my husband and I enjoyed playing games such as Borderlands (1 & 2) and Left 4 Dead (1 & 2) together. So I'll split the review between offline co-op and single player.

We tried the offline co-op first and there were a couple of things we were both frustrated by in co-op. The first night we started playing, we found out that we have to play through a whole chapter (consisting of 4 or 5 parts) in one playthrough. It doesn't save your game anywhere in the middle of the chapter. So imagine our surprise when we got hungry, stopped the game, and came back after eating to find that all the progress we made in the chapter was gone and we had to play through the whole thing again.

Since there was no save, the characters and weapons do not level. I'm not sure if it's different in online co-op. But we're stuck using the same weapons and our characters remain fairly weak even after five, six chapters. Two or three shots will kill and since there's no leveling, the bosses get tough to beat. And worst of all, there are these attack dogs that'll get you and there's basically no way of surviving the attack (even though prompts come up for button smashing) if your partner is not there to shoot it off of you. It reminded us of the Left 4 Dead games where you just play the same-ish characters through these chapters. You don't level and you don't get better weapons. And towards the end, there's a swarm of enemies and some boss that you'll need to somehow survive.

The good is that the revive time is really long so there's usually some way to save your partner. But that and the fun of playing with my husband are really about all that's good with the offline co-op.

Since the co-op was a bit disappointing for us, I decided to try out the single player since, from descriptions, it seems like a totally different game than the co-op. And I am glad I tried it and I'm a huge fan of the single-player.

To me, the single player reminds me a lot of the Assassin's Creed games. You're given a map that's blurred and the blurred areas reveal themselves after you capture radio towers. There are treasure chests to loot and you can buy maps that reveal the treasure chests. Then obviously, you buy weapons and other upgrades with your loot. There are also forts to capture and, once you do, the good guys control the area. Just like Assassin's Creed.

The island environment is lush and beautiful and I greatly enjoy running around the island even when I'm not sniping someone. So far, I haven't had any major glitches or graphics issues and I thought the game sounds and looks great.

The hunting part I could have done without. After Red Dead Redemption, I really didn't want to play another game where I have to skin animals while accompanied by squishy sound effects. Sadly, it's actually pretty important to kill and skin animals in order to upgrade backpacks and holsters. Honestly, in all that killing and looting, the character couldn't have gotten a larger weapons holster off of those pirates?

And speaking of pirates, I'm going to go off on a tangent here: I thought the story logic was shoddy. I don't pay a whole lot of attention to the plot of games, but it seems like in this game, the protagonist and his friends were captured by pirates while vacationing and now they're on this island caught between the pirates and the natives. The natives are willing to help and there are working radio towers on this island. Yet no one ever thought of calling some sort of authority? Notifying the U.S. embassy? I mean, it's not just one or two tourists lost on this island. From the opening, it seems like the pirates have 30+ kidnapped tourists. From the abandoned suitcases everywhere, it seems like the island has a rich history of lost tourists. Yet no one calls any sort of authority in this matter? I really had to suspend belief every time the main character goes on about how he needs to save his friends...by himself. Anyways!

Probably the only major con about the single player (asides from poor logic) is the horrible weapons wheel thing. It feels like the intuitive thing to do is to switch weapons with the d-pad. But nope. You first have to equip weapons in the weapons wheel and then you can only switch between two guns without going back into the weapons wheel, even if you have four weapons equipped. So I basically only use an assault rifle and a sniper rifle even though I really want to try the bow and arrow and a pistol. But since switching between weapons is such a hassle, I don't.

In the end, I thought the single player was so much fun that I can't see why the developers didn't just make offline co-op exactly like the single player except with, you know, two players. In short, I wish it was more Borderlands than Left 4 Dead. So overall, the game's great and I can't wait to play more of it. But I'm taking a star off for the subpar offline co-op, the animal skinning, and the horrible weapons wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously FUN Game, December 5, 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Far Cry 3 is an open-world, first-peron shooter that allows you to use a variety of weapons and approach missions using a variety of tactics. If you played Far Cry 2, and liked it even a little, Far Cry 3 will make your head explode. Gone are the elements that made FC2 a slog. You can fast-travel more easily. The terrain is more breachable, and the game autosaves. Hence, the pace of Far Cry 3 moves along at a nice clip. Not only is does the game provide a variety of weapons and upgrades, there are also a lot of takedowns and skill upgrades you can use to further tailor your experience to your preferred style of gameplay. There are also tons of side missions that prove to be more fun than tedious (e.g. Find a guy and kill him with your knife).

The storyline is one familiar to videogame mythos--but clear and well written: You and your friends have been captured by pirates. Your brother is killed while you and he escape. You're found by some indigenous warriors who help you badassify so you can free your enslaved friends and avenge your brother's death.

But the overwhelming feeling I got while playing FC3 was that the people making the game really took the time to make sure that the game is fun. That may sound like a platitude, but if you've played even a few games, you'll know what I mean. Some games are groundbreaking and beautiful and all that (LA Noire, Assassin's Creed 3), but they aren't really that fun to play.. FC3 not only looks beautiful, but it's addictively fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood in Paradise., December 10, 2012
By 
Bhavesh M. Bangdiwala (Mumbai, Maharashtra India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I'm hiding behind the bushes and i can hear the hissing of a 10 feet long snake just a few feet away from me below a wood cabin which is being guarded by a pirate. I manage to spot it's tail through the bushes and i hold my breath not making any sudden moves while i scan my surroundings with a binocular and gain information of all pirates patrolling the area and predators roaming freely to grab a snack out of the Pirates or me. The hissing grows as the snake takes notice of me but doesn't move towards me just yet, i quickly throw a stone which distracts the pirate who abandons his post and comes down to take a look and stands right where the snake is...his curiosity just cost him his life. The snake moves on ahead into the fields...while i continue to invade into the pirate camp and taking down those pirates one by one in stealth with a knife. It's hard...it's calculative...it's freaking intense.

On an exotic Island, i've escaped captivity and turn to the jungles, only to be hunted by mad men and wild animals. In process, i've learnt how to survive and scale the island inch by inch to find my kidnapped friends. I've been put into the shoes of a wimp and as i progress i turn into a warrior and face my greatest fears...Insanity and Death.

That's Far Cry 3.

Never has been a First-Person-Shooter been so engaging with a fantastic story line enacted by some really twisted characters. A special mention for the nut job called Vaas, i think he's probably the greatest villain ever made in the gaming world. This game is seriously addictive and fun, i'm on full alert mode while exploring the island. You never know what's lurking around you while you are walking ahead, someone or something is walking behind you, hunting you.

Kudos Ubisoft - this is one hell of a kick ass game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game with problems. (spoilers), July 9, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This is a great game in terms of gameplay, graphics and all the things you are able to do in the game like hunting and taking over outposts, so there's that. Then there is the story and characters of the game, this is where it's not so great. After putting in over 30 hours into this game i can't help but feel disappointed by it. What we know is that a bunch of friends go skydiving and land on rook island, and from there get kidnapped by the pirates on the island. You and your brother try to escape from Vaas and your brother ends up getting killed, you get killed and get rescued by Dennis and from there you make it your main mission to rescue your friends.

One problem is that your friends and girlfriend are never developed and we know nothing about them other then their descriptions, names and some of them are whiny and douchy. A bigger problem is that Jason is a very unlikable character and has no chemistry with his girlfriend or friends which makes me wonder again why he even needs or wants to save his friends, considering that and he already decided he wants to stay on the island to discover himself.

As you play on we finally get to the ending and it's disappointing to say the least. Citra or the rakyat kidnap your friends once again and you fly to the temple with Riley and get to make a choice either stay with citra or save your friends. If you stay with citra you get a terrible ending which involves killing your brother and friends which makes absolutely no sense because you spent the whole game trying to save them, and then bang Citra and she kills you. If you save your friends Dennis accidentally kills Citra trying to kill you and you leave with your friends. One thin that bothered me with the ending is that Jason already decided to stay on the island earlier in the game so i thought the ending choice was unnecessary. The writers shouldn't have had Jason decide to stay that early in the story and just wait until the end, the whole killing your friends ruined the story. Originally i would have rated this game a 9/10 but then after seeing the ending and the bad characters i would probably now rate this a 7 or 6 out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ubisoft has created an amazing shooter..., December 6, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I love this game. This game has gave me the feeling when I first played Bioshock. If you have ever played that you know what I mean. Something original. Something so dang fun you don't want to quit playing. Crazy characters, crazy worlds, and something fresh for a gamer. This is what Farcry 3 brigs to the table when there's a bunch of copy cut out shooters out there.

Story: I love how they started it off and I love how you can connect to the character. He's not some generic bada** character going around blowing crap up. The characters are memorable and the story is very different from a lot of games. This game will pull you in from the very beginning. The single player story is impressive. It's always different and takes a lot of wild turns. You never know what to expect on this insane island. One of the best this year.

Gameplay: The game really shines here with controls. Each gun feels different. Each gun fires different. You have a skill tree to a learn a bunch of new moves and things to help you survive the island. When I say a bunch I mean a bunch! You get xp for every thing you do. Melee moves are always fun. Grenades pack a punch. Fire physics are important to use when you fight a wave of enemies. Throw a molotov and you can pretty much start a small forest fire. Houses will burn and so will anything the fire touches.

Another thing this game has that shines are animals. Sure, Red Dead Redemption did this and so did Skyrim, but what Farcry 3 does different and better imo, is with how much animals it contains at one time and how many different ones they actually have on the island. They also react to each other(wild dogs will attack deer, tigers will attack people, etc.). You can hunt these animals to skin and make items. Plants are also vital in the game to use to make items that are very useful.

Graphics: The graphics are pushing this gen consoles. I would actual compare the facial animations to the great looking playstation games Uncharted 3 and God of War 3. If you have played those games, you know that that is very impressive for an open world game. Now, the ONLY negative thing about this game is the framerate drops every once in a while. Now I would take a star off for this, but Ubisoft really pushed the graphics for this game. It's so detailed I'm surprised the frames per second does not drop more.

Multiplayer: You have a map creater, different competitive modes, and co-op modes. There is a lot to do and it's very different. Add this on top of the single player and you can add a long life time for this game. If you like any other shooter you will feel at home with this one.

Overall: There's still a lot I haven't touched on. You can go around the island and look for relics, memory cards that give you information, racing trials, bounty boards, outposts to capture, and so much more. There's different vehicles, gun customization, so many upgrades, crazy villains to fight, smart AI, different ways to approach the island, *catches breath*
so go explore and have fun!

My game of the year over Max Payne 3, Xcom: Enemy Unknown, Borderlands 2, and every other game I have played. Now, time to go find the definition of insanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible overcompensating AI, tapering story, and tedious sandbox elements destroy what seemed like a promising game, January 13, 2014
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I really tried to like this game. At the beginning, this game looked so promising and amazingly good. I am generally easy to please, but there were too many fundamental flaws that bothered me significantly.

The most egregious flaw is the terribly overcompensating poor AI. I could snipe a guard from 200m away and it barely misses the enemy yet fifteen enemies in an entire compound know EXACTLY where I am immediately after the miss (with a silencer no less!). I’ve played plenty of stealth games before, but the mechanics in this one are one of the worst because it significantly hampers the stealth aspects.

Farcy 3 is mostly a sandbox game. It is fun at first, but many elements like finding relics are tacked on. Overtaking enemy compounds are wildly fun at first, but quickly become tedious.

The game is kind of split into two parts. The meat of the story is in the first half. I found no reason to play the second half as the story tapers off significantly, and the difficulty skyrockets to laughable heights. This left me very little reason to keep going.

Everything about the weapons is top notch. Their looks, feel, and use are one of the best of any shooter. This was one of the best aspects of the game.

Although somewhat unimportant, another head-scratcher was the wild animals that deplete your health way too easily. Getting attacked by a komodo dragon is worse than getting a point black bullet by an AK47. Additionally, falling from very short heights took away a lot of health.

The game seems like the graphics should be good. They are very pretty if not moving. I had an insanely bad framerate/screen tearing problem that was far and away the worst of any PS3 game I’ve played this gen. It was almost unplayable.

The game is mostly good, but the bad parts are really bad in my opinion. The premise was amazing, but the execution was mediocre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the jungle island., December 10, 2012
By 
M. Lohrke (Saratoga Springs, UT) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Far Cry 2 was just short of excellent. It was a beautiful, open world with fairly good gun play, but the story wasn't very focused and it was often very, very repetitive. Thankfully, Far Cry 3 remedies all those issues and delivers one of the best open world, shooter/RPG games of this year or any other.

If you've played Assassin's Creed II, Red Dead Redemption or Skyrim, you'll have a fairly good idea of what to expect. Rook Island is the setting and human trafficking is the name of the game. You, Jason Brody, and your friends have been captured by the evil pirate, Voss (one of the best villains in recent memory). What follows is an escape from captivity and a quest to free the rest of your friends. While the story is more focused than FC2, it's serviceable and not necessarily noteworthy. It's main purpose is to provide the catalyst for your island adventures. And it's there that FC3 really shines.

Rook Island is a beautiful place full of flora and fauna which can be used to craft syringes and upgrade your wallet and ammo packs. You can do special hunting challenges, rid certain areas of undesirables via "wanted dead" missions, make timed supply drops, take part in the island racing league, customize your guns, play poker, torch marijuana fields with a flamethrower, throw knives, clear out pirate outposts, find the 120 relics hiding throughout the island, help the native Rakyat people, hang glide over the island, go on timed killing sprees via the "Trials of the Rakyat," find 20 letters written by Japanese soldiers during WWII, and more. In short, there is a TON to do in this game. If you wanna C4 a passing pirate convoy, go ahead. You will spend hours roaming about the island without even touching the main story line.

Character progression is also pretty standard. With each skill you unlock, the tattoo on your arm expands and a more lethal and deadly person you will become (which alarms your friends). There are some pretty nifty skills to be had. The guns in this game are GREAT. They're beefy, handle wonderfully, and are a joy to shoot. It's no fun playing a shooter when the guns stink. My only complaint here is that I wish there more guns.

The multiplayer and co-op levels are a nice addition. The multiplayer is serviceable (I don't see it lasting very long, though). The co-op I've had a ton of fun with, however. You can join three other people in public lobbies are set up a private with your friends.

The one misstep in the game is the score/soundtrack, or lack there of. This game demands a great theme, but the music in Far Cry 3 is essentially non-existent. I've dropped about 25 hours into the game and I can't hum a single note. I don't think I would have enjoyed Skyim as much as I did without its incredible score. Unfortunately, Ubisoft missed a golden opportunity here. But that's only one quibble with a game that satisfies on so many levels.

If you're on the fence, rest assured this is a great, open-world game that will clock in at about 50-60 hours (about $1 an hour). In this day and age, that's money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 276 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3
Far Cry 3 - Playstation 3 by UBI Soft (PlayStation 3)
$19.99 $17.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.