Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Darn Good
What a great script! I'm surprised so many locals missed out on the humor of this film. Its easy to see the Coen brothers have a great vision what their films will be while they write. To the Minnesotans and North Dakotans who were harmed as a result of the "yah" stereotype, get over it. The Coens are the best thing to come out of the area since Lawrence Welk.
Published on February 27, 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a novel.
This is the script from the movie. It is NOT a novel. Disappointed it was not described more clearly.
Published 1 month ago by Tim Allan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Darn Good, February 27, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fargo (Paperback)
What a great script! I'm surprised so many locals missed out on the humor of this film. Its easy to see the Coen brothers have a great vision what their films will be while they write. To the Minnesotans and North Dakotans who were harmed as a result of the "yah" stereotype, get over it. The Coens are the best thing to come out of the area since Lawrence Welk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it or hate it, it's a darn good script., May 16, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fargo (Paperback)
This screenplay started with the premise, "Wouldn't it be cool if you put a guy through a wood chipper?" and snowballed (no pun intended, honestly) from there, according to the Coens. I think that's part of the amazing originality of this script. Why start with a plot? The storyline is so bizarre and non-linear that it at first you might be inclined to believe the movie actually is based on a true story. Twists, turns, and laugh-out-loud dialogue (for an extra laugh, watch the creative dubbing on TNT sometime: "frugal," "frozen," "flipping," etc.) make this a script worth reading, and well worth its Oscar. And to the Dakotans that have issues with the stereotypical accent: get over it. I'm from North Carolina, and I'm tired of you people whining about how all people in your region don't talk the same way. We southerners don't all talk like rednecks, but neither do we get uptight over movies that tend to forget that. But I digress. This is an excellent peice of writing, as is the rest of the Coen brothers' library. "Raising Arizona" and "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" are also wonderful; I recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Fargo Book, April 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are a big fan of the Fargo movie this book is a must have! My Husband and I have watched the movie countless times and like to kid with quotes from the movie. If I'm not sure about a quote I refer to this book:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a novel., August 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the script from the movie. It is NOT a novel. Disappointed it was not described more clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story about greed and its consequences., July 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fargo (Paperback)
A fabulous screenplay and an even better movie. Anyone who enjoyed Pulp Fiction or Jacky Brown will like FARGO. Frances McDormand plays a bright policewoman trying to maintain a normal and quiet life with husband Norm. GREAT bad guys you will love to hate. A must see!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humor, yes, but don't miss out on touching scenes, September 27, 2005
By 
C. Clonts (The Great American Midwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fargo (Paperback)
Yes, this movie was humorous. No, I don't think it was necessarily an all-out comedy. To wit: The scene where Norm is upset that he only got the "tree cent stamp" and Margie is comforting him by telling him the three-cent stamp is important.

Scenes like this, and Margie's soliloquy near the end of the movie about "a little bit of money" add a moving human undercurrent. That's what gives this film far more depth than things like Tarantino movies or other crime films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Movie And Even Better Script, August 20, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fargo (Paperback)
WOW!If you really want to read a great screenplay pick up FARGO by joel and ethan coen. I love the coen brothers and this is a perfect example why. the characters are all so great and the dialouge is sharp and funny. When you read it for the first time you'll probaly think you know where the story is headed. WRONG. It's full of twists and turns you'd never expect.TAKE MY WORD FOR IT READ THIS BOOK NOW, THATS AN ORDER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of dark, hard-core dialouge and frightening characters, December 21, 1998
This review is from: Fargo (Paperback)
FARGO by Ethan and Joel Cohen Review written for the internet by Omar Youssef
I saw this masterpiece of a flick when my father brought it home from the video store. Steve Buscemi was not someone I knew at the time, but his performances (all of them) were definetley worth watching in pretty much ANY movie ever made, especially "Tree's Lounge." The film's scenes where the kidnapped mother were actually humorous (especially the scene where she falls down the hill), instead of dramatic. Buscemi's sour, hard-assed, bitter replies to the parking space guy and his partner when he refuses to converse is very entertaining and really begins to generate for the film. The MGM/UA lion's share of these actors are unknowns, so it's easier to think of them as characters instead of actors.
The irony of the film is definetley worth seeing. As for the screenplay,not many people know this, but there's something so fabulous and excelerating about reading the screenplay that started it all. There are lines the actors didn't use, scenes that were edited from the finished film, often a foreword that takes us into the mind of the film's originators and tha great feeling you get when your imagination bring the characters to life instead of the actors. It deserved the Oscars it got. See it.
(STAR) (STAR) (STAR) 1/2 "FARGO" Written by Joel & Ethen Coen Starring Steve Buscemi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't even deserve the star I gave it., April 25, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fargo (Paperback)
This movie, and therefore the screenplay, sucks, to put it bluntly. Of course, my opinion might have been influenced by the fact that I am a North Dakotan. I live only 100 miles away from Fargo. The land Ethan and Joel Coen created simply does not exist. "Fargo" is an insult to the intelligence of all the citizens of North Dakota and Minnesota. Falsity on top of falsity does nothing but anger us more and more. I don't like profanity, but I became sick of the way all of the locals said, "golly," while Steve Buscemi swore like there was no tomorrow. We swear like everyone else. No one here listens to polka or speaks with one of those silly accents unless they happen to be over 70. We dress like normal human beings, and I've never met *anyone* as naive as the actors portrayed their characters. This is the most horrible movie I have ever seen. I can honestly say I don't know a single person who likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fargo
Fargo by Ethan Coen (Paperback - July 25, 1996)
Used & New from: $2.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.