Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Textbook for Self Defense with a shotgun or rifle
If I had to choose only one book as a reference for self defense using a rifle or shotgun it would be this second edition of the Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting. While principles remain the same, over time tactics and weapons can change to meet new demands. John Farnam is on the cutting edge of those changes. John has a practical way through his...
Published on August 21, 2010 by Jenny

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Your call.
I would have to say that it is well written. However, a lot of it basically covers firearm safety, if you already own firearms and KNOW firearm safety, this book will teach you little. It does have some "tactics" in the last few chapters that may help you, however, its already stuff that I would consider common knowledge.
Published 13 months ago by Redbeard1911


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Textbook for Self Defense with a shotgun or rifle, August 21, 2010
This review is from: The Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting (Paperback)
If I had to choose only one book as a reference for self defense using a rifle or shotgun it would be this second edition of the Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting. While principles remain the same, over time tactics and weapons can change to meet new demands. John Farnam is on the cutting edge of those changes. John has a practical way through his classes and by interacting with other professionals in this field to determine not only what tactics and equipment work, but also the circumstances in which they should be employed.

The book covers among other things: Operating systems, sighting systems, ammunition selection (and why), stoppage reduction (It is my opinion that if you've never had a stoppage in your weapon you aren't training realistically enough for a self-defense encounter), fighting positions, weapon retention and a whole lot more. While the book is certainly a great addendum to formal police and military training, it shines as a textbook for the ordinary person who wants to protect themselves from violent career criminals and who recognizes that while having to defend oneself with a firearm is a remote possibility, when it does happen it is vital to have not only the best equipment one can afford, but also the best understanding of how to effectively and decisively use that equipment. This book (as much as any book can substitute for formal training on the range with a professional instructor) will show the reader how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, comprehensive and practical, October 29, 2010
This review is from: The Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting (Paperback)
John Farnum, Vietnam combat vet, retired Major in the Reserve, police officer, author, lecturer, instructor, consultant and expert witness has instructed thousands in the art and craft of defensive firearms. This is his fifth book and the second edition of his rifle and shotgun book. In 231 pages he covers tactics, handling, shooting, maintenance, in the use of tactical shotguns and rifles. In addition he devotes significant space to the mind set and principles to help readers prevail in dangerous encounters.

The book begins with a scenario - "You are facing four heavily-tattooed gang-menbers across the street. They are armed with knives and pistols that they are brandishing in a reckless and threatening manner. In fact, they are shouting threats as they point their weapons at you... the range is 40 meters. They know, as do you, the police aren't coming and that no one is going to help you..." From here, Farnum begins a conversation with you that reads like he lectures - dynamic and fast moving.

Half of the book is devoted to the shotgun, the other to rifles - not just any rifle or shotgun, but tactical, military type firearms. The reason is simple - military firearms are built to stand up to the abuse and heavy demands of combat and Farnum believes we should entrust our lives to nothing less.

The book covers how to carry, deploy, use and maintain these weapons. One of the most useful features of the book is the detailed photographs that show how to maintain, carry, shoot, load, and clear stoppages. One of my favorite parts of the book is his recommended brands of rifles, shotguns, ammunition and accessories - as well as those that are definitely not recommended. All are accompanied by his reasons - for or against each item. Very helpful.

Finally a word on Farnum's philosophy. There's lots of it in the book - all worth reading and considering. But, telling us that there is much about the warrior craft that cannot and has not been written, we are invited to take one of his (or any competent instructor's) courses. He ends the book with this thought: "Chance favors the prepared. Fortune, the bold. Providence, the audacious!" Buy this book. Check out Defense Training International ([...] Take a course, or three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book From Farnum, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great, universal truths and tactical thinking to effectively utilize long-arms for your defense. While useful for the beginner, it has in-formation that will clearly help the more advanced long-gun shooter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I took a course from John, March 9, 2014
By 
TJMBEAR (VA BEACH, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting (Paperback)
If you cannot take one of John's courses in person, then definitely read his books and defensive handgunning as well as this book. Experienced Law Enforcement people and a retired E-8 Army vet who were in my classes were highly complementary of what they learned. His ideas gained from decades in the business could save your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Your call., June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would have to say that it is well written. However, a lot of it basically covers firearm safety, if you already own firearms and KNOW firearm safety, this book will teach you little. It does have some "tactics" in the last few chapters that may help you, however, its already stuff that I would consider common knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview!, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting (Paperback)
I've trained with John, and consider him one of the finest instructors today. This book should be required reading for anyone contemplating keeping a shotgun or rifle for personal defense. Not only does John cover the material in depth, more importantly, he delves into the mindset required to defend yourself and your family. His knowledge not only of weapons, but of history is invaluable. Required reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for the serious student of the rifle., May 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have trained with Farnam and other instructors over the years, the knowlege I come back to over and over is that I learned from him. What he teaches is simple, strong and effective. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting
The Farnam Method of Defensive Shotgun and Rifle Shooting by John S. Farnam (Paperback - July 23, 2010)
$25.00 $20.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.