Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (187)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


196 of 204 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review-Previous edition repackaged comic created for this edition
Blu-ray review.

Please note that the reissue contains the same transfers and commentary tracks as the previous Blu-ray edition. Unfortunately , we don't have "The Peacekeeper Wars" still has been released on Blu-ray in the U.S. This edition might have been worth while picking up again IF that had been licensed as an extra. There isn't enough new material...
Published 14 months ago by Wayne Klein

versus
42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If upgrading from DVD...don't bother
A friend whom I had lent season one to decided to get there own and bought this blu ray set. I borrowed the set and did a comparison.
I played an episode on my good upscaling DVD player which I have owned since before Blu Ray came out. I played the same episode on my Sony Blu Ray player.

I then changed the TV input back and forth. The result...The Blu Ray...
Published 13 months ago by Glen R


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

196 of 204 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review-Previous edition repackaged comic created for this edition, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Blu-ray review.

Please note that the reissue contains the same transfers and commentary tracks as the previous Blu-ray edition. Unfortunately , we don't have "The Peacekeeper Wars" still has been released on Blu-ray in the U.S. This edition might have been worth while picking up again IF that had been licensed as an extra. There isn't enough new material here to justify repurchasing for most fans.

"Farscape" came at a good time providing a bridge during a key time when most science fiction on TV was "Star Trek" or nothing else ("Babylon 5" excepted) and it brought a much needed dollop of humor, fascinating storylines and great characterizations. It's true that the series presents a hodge podge of ideas that were successful in other shows from "Star Trek" to "The X-Files" but what was great as with all things that are an amalgamation of other ideas from other shows was how it was put together.

"Farscape: The Complete Series" is, well, somewhat incomplete. While it includes all four seasons it doesn't include the mini-series "Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars" due to licensing issues with Lion's Gate (which released that title)so you'll need to keep your DVD set for that until the latter is released on Blu-ray.

The Blu-ray presentation for "Farscape" suffers a bit from the fact that it was produced prior to studios thinking of high definition. The show was shot on film but the visual effects were done in digital standard definition, that wouldn't be a problem but the show was assembled in standard video as well and the 35mm source prints are nowhere to be found.

The first three seasons are in full screen as it was originally presented. The fourth is widescreen also as it was originally broadcast.

Having said that the New Video used a number of digital techniques to enhance the SD picture and bring it into the high def realm for a decent looking transfer.

Subtitles ARE on the Blu-ray release.

If you adjust your expectations that this ISN'T going to look as good as, say, "Battlestar: Galatica" on Blu-ray or even the original "Star Trek", you'll enjoy this set. Should you buy it? That depends on how picky you're going to be about teh image quality here but this does look marginally better than previous editions.

As a result we have a Blu-ray presentation that isn't in 1080 instead New Video the distributor here had to go to the best source possible the PAL video (which has higher resolution than U.S. NTSC)thus while this isn't in high definition it DOES look slightly better than the the regular DVD's in particular because the higher bit rate for Blu-ray allows the show more "breathing" room. The show looks soft but there's no way around that. Detail is better than the 2009 DVD's but the compression artifacts that were problematic for the DVD set released in 2009 aren't as problematic here. Likewise, this is a huge upgrade over the "Starburst" editions of the series put out a couple of years back.

The audio is a big upgrade with a lossless 5.1 presentation that is quite powerful and well done.

The special features from the previous 2009 set have been carried over for this set with one new high def featurette included looking back on the show. We get mulitple commentary tracks for a number of episodes (with the first season getting the most).

The box states that there are 35 commentary tracks but, unless I'm missing something, this has exactly the same amount as the previous edition.

Summary: -video quality: Is soft but with better detail than most of the DVDs I've seen of the show because the producers used the higher resolution PAL video masters. The encoding and use of compression here is an improvement as well helping the picture quality. It's a marginal upgrade in image quality though.

Audio: Sounds brilliant with a nice, immersive 5.1 lossless mix.

Special Features: All of the special features from the 2009 A&E/New Video release are included with a 16 page hard copy comic book which also includes a brief interview with Brian Henson discussing the legacy of the show.

We also get deleted scenes and TV spots.

Season One:
Premiere: Rockne S. O'Bannon, Brian Henson and Ben BrowderI, E.T.: Claudia Black and Anthony Simcoe
Exodus from Genesis: Brian Henson and Virginia Hey
Throne for a Loss: Ben Browder and Claudia Black
Back and Back and Back to the Future: Ben Browder and Rowan Woods
Thank God It's Friday. . .Again: Rockne S. O'Bannon and Anthony Simcoe
DNA Mad Scientist: a) Ben Browder and Claudia Black; b) Rockne S. O'Bannon and David Kemper
Jeremiah Crichton: Ben Browder, Claudia Black, Rockne S. O'Bannon and David Kemper
A Human Reaction: Ben Browder and Claudia Black
Nerve: Ben Browder and Claudia Black
Born to be Wild: Anthony Simcoe
Family Ties: a) Ben Browder and Claudia Black; b) Rockne S. O'Bannon and David Kemper

Season Two:
Crackers Don't Matter: Claudia Black and Ian Watson
The Way We Weren't: Ben Browder and Claudia Black
Won't Get Fooled Again: Rowan Woods and Richard Manning
The Locket: Ben Browder and Claudia Black
Die Me, Dichotomy: Ben Browder, Claudia Black and David Kemper

Season Three:
Self Inflicted Wounds Part II: Wait for the Wheel: Claudia Black
Eat Me: Guy Gross
Green Eyed Monster: Ben Browder and Tony Tilse
Relativity: Lani Tupu and Peter Andrikidis
The Choice: a) Claudia Black; b) Rowan Woods and Justin Monjo
Into the Lion's Den Part II: Wolf in Sheep's Clothing: Rockne S. O'Bannon and David Kemper
Dog With Two Bones: Ben Browder and Claudia Black

Season Four:
John Quixote: Ben Browder and Claudia Black
Kansas: Ben Browder, Claudia Black and David Kemper
Bad Timing: Ben Browder, Claudia Black and David Kemper

The first season of "Farscape" is a bit uneven but the show finds its footing by the second season and was positively on fire once Scorpious was introduced as a character.

I'd still recommend this as long as you adjust your expectations on the video quality of the series particularly if you can get it at a good price.

Series: 4 1/2 stars
Image for show: 3 (translated as good)
Audio: 4 1/2 stars
Special Features: 5 stars
Overall average: 4 stars.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same as previous release for the most part. Still the best transfer available., November 11, 2013
By 
SRFireside "ZOOM!" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love this show. Farscape is a big mix of a lot of the things a science fiction fan like me love to see. You get the visceral stuff like cool sets and special effects that move from neat to full on spectacle. You get the science stuff like explanations and effects of alien physiology and various advanced and imaginative technologies. You get the story driven stuff with scripts going from drama to action to comedy (sometimes all in one episode), dealing with complexities of alien cultures and governments, to straight up space opera type fair complete with villains in black and scary monsters to fight. There is a reason why Farscape was considered by critics and viewers alike to be one of the best science fiction television shows ever made.

You have a modern day Earthling astronaut who is the main character in the series. His is a fish out of water kind of story as he is thrust into this alien part of the galaxy by a wormhole with absolutely no clue regarding his new surroundings. This isn't your normal fish out of water character. This is an intelligent, wise cracking fish who not only takes his new challenges with relative stride, but also with a note of sarcasm. The supporting cast is just as interesting... and interestingly enough all escaped convicts. There is the human female looking plant organism of mediation and empathy (convicted of murder). There is the aggressive tentacle-headed alien with a warrior's rage (also convicted of murder, but is innocent). A blue pixie-like skinned party girl who plays thief and spy at times (convicted of non-conformity). A froggish-like alien with a superiority complex (imprisoned after a coup against him). And last, but certainly not least the tough as nails female Peacekeeper soldier who is a strictly by the book type (ironically on the run for being socially exposed to said convicts). The cast changes a bit later on, but this is pretty much the core group and shows a taste of the interesting developments based on characters alone.

The series has varying story arcs much like what you have seen on Deep Space Nine, Babylon 5 and other such shows. What seems to be the main premise of the show slowly morphs into something else. This is done in a way flows smooth and feels organic. What surprises they do pop up on you make sense and aren't just to shake things up. Most episodes have a good mix of the things I mentioned earlier, but sometimes they go off on tangents. Especially on the third season. One example is an episode done entirely animated and ran like an old Warner Brothers cartoon. Even in the odd episodes the show is pretty good.

So good characters and good stories are nice, but science fiction for many lives of dies by the visuals. This is where Farscape shines. Sets are intricate and the CGI scenes are dynamic. Special effects can be found all over the place from laser blasts to animatronics to computer generated space battles. As a matter of fact Farscape has the distinction of being the television series with more special effects on average per episode than any other science fiction show to date. So you want flash and style in your substance? We got you covered.

I think it's fair to warn you the series ended on a cliffhanger, but was finally concluded with the made for TV movie The Peacekeeper Wars (which creator Brian Henson refers to as episodes 4:23-4:26). Sadly you will have to get this separately on DVD (there is an import Blu-Ray out there too).

Aside from two minor details the 15th Anniversary Edition is essentially a re-release of the Farscape: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] repackaged in a more minimalistic cover (first detail change... cool look though). Like the previous release you won't get 1080p high definition. Technically it can be called high definition because it's going to be more than 480p in resolution. However not by much. You see the original 35mm film used to film the episodes are pretty much lost so there is no remastering of the source material. Even if they had the original film the CG effects weren't done on that resolution so remastering would have been difficult. Best they can do is use the European PAL video master tapes, which should be at 576p resolution. While this isn't truly high definition it is the best these shows have ever looked, and the end result even has Brian Henson's approval on it.

This Blu-Ray set will have 20 disks covering all 88 episodes (minus the mini-series of course) plus all of the extras from the previous Blu-Ray release (including the extras from the Starburst Edition DVDs). Here is a breakdown:

Peacekeeper Wars Collectible Comic - This is the second thing different from the previous release. It is a 16 page comic written and drawn by award winning Ramon Perez. It's called Backyard Barbecue and it takes place at the same time of the Peacekeeper Wars (the mini series that Lionsgate still refuses to allow to be added to the collection). At 16 pages it's going to be short though. The comic will also include an interview with creator Brian Henson and some images from the Henson Archive. No idea if the interview and images are going to squeeze away at those 16 pages or are considered an addition to.

Episode Commentaries - The packaging says 35 commentaries covering the spectrum of all the major cast and crew throughout, however it seems you are still only getting the same 31 commentaries found in the 2011 Blu-Ray. These are the original commentaries from the DVD collections.

Memories of Moya: An Epic Journey Explored - New documentary exclusive to the Blu-Ray releases chronicling retrospective interviews from cast and crew.

Farscape Undressed - This was a one hour behind the scenes feature shown on the Sci-Fi Channel to help prime new viewers for the third season. This feature wasn't released on the Starburst or DVD sets before it (it is in the new DVD series collection though) and was big in demand back in the day.

In the Beginning: A Look Back with Brian Henson - A very informative interview with Brian Henson that was made in 2004. It runs about a half and hour and was on the Starburst release and up.

Making of a Space Opera - A 22 minute documentary on the making of the series. Not quite as informative as Brian's interview, but makes a good promotional piece for the series.

Season 3: A Look Back with Executive Producer David Kemper - Basically David's take on season three and how the show has matured so far.

Farscape: The Story So Far - This is a 22 minute catch up feature for people to get familiar with Farscape up to the fourth season. This featurette was in previous collections.

Inside Farscape: Villains - 15 minutes of interviews with the actors who make up the major villains Scorpius (Wayne Pygram), Crais (Lani Tupu), and Commandant Grayza (Rebecca Riggs). Cool to see Wayne out of makeup.

Inside Farscape: Special Effects - Animal Logic was the visual effects company that worked on Farscape. This feature shows before and after images of various effect pieces along with a commentary explaining what you see.

Inside Farscape: Save Farscape - Pretty inspiring piece on the efforts by fans and crew to revive the show enough for it get a proper send off.

Deleted Scenes - There have been 90 minutes of deleted scenes previously released, and we are getting them all.

Farscape in the Raw: Director's Cut Scenes - Compares the final scenes with the director's print. Keep in mind these scenes are without special effects, music, or sometimes even proper dubbing.

Alternate Version of the Season 2 Premiere

Listening In with Composer Guy Gross - Focuses on Guy and the process he goes through composing the music for the series. You get to watch him at work pretty much while he gives a commentary on what he does.

Behind the Scenes Interviews - I am thinking this may be the interviews from the previous collections from actors Ben Browder, Claudia Black, Anthony Simcoe, Gigi Edgley and Wayne Pygram.

Zhaan Forever - A more in depth interview with Virginia Hey. Runs about ten minutes.

On the Last Day: Wrap Speech from David Kemper - A goodbye speech from David to the crew. Recommended viewing once you finish watching the series.

Production and Design Galleries - archival photo galleries, character concepts, promo photos, design gallery screen shots, rough drafts, and concept slide shows.

Original TV promos and trailers

Farscape is a sci-fi TV series that ranks right up there with the best of them. Every fan of the genre should get familiar with this show. This release has little to add to the table since the previous 2011 Blu-Ray. So if you bought the original you can breath happy unless you really need that comic. Although it seems at least at the time of this review be cheaper than the 2011 Blu-Ray, and you get the new cover art, a tiny bit more content and the 15th Anniversary moniker. If you haven't already made the plunge it looks like you are getting a better opportunity now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If upgrading from DVD...don't bother, December 10, 2013
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A friend whom I had lent season one to decided to get there own and bought this blu ray set. I borrowed the set and did a comparison.
I played an episode on my good upscaling DVD player which I have owned since before Blu Ray came out. I played the same episode on my Sony Blu Ray player.

I then changed the TV input back and forth. The result...The Blu Ray didn't look any better than the DVD. This is obviously a bang bang upscale release with nothing down to tweek quality. In fact there were times when I thought my DVD looked better.

So if you already own this great series which ended too soon don't waste your money on the Blu Ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest assured, picture quality is excellent even if it's not true HD, March 17, 2014
By 
Brian Sullivan (Grover's Mill, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Had totally missed out on Farscape when it was originally broadcast and it wasn't until I found it on Netflix Instant that I was finally able to really dive into it, which had me kicking myself for not getting on board sooner. Watched the first season online then checked to see it it was available on Blu-ray, saw that it was being offered at Amazon at a fantastically discounted price but hesitated on pulling the trigger due to the various reports saying that this set was merely an upconverted version of the PAL masters (since the original 35mm source prints are still missing and assumed lost). Read more reviews, checked out screenshots and figured I could live with less-than-stellar picture quality, made the purchase. Upon receiving the set and viewing the first couple episodes, I am here to tell you that it looks FANTASTIC despite not being "true" HD. Color register is true, image is sharp and doesn't look overly processed, blacks are deep and fidelity is absolutely above average. I'm pretty picky when it comes to HD and am very happy with the job they did on bringing this show to Blu-ray. If you're on the fence about ordering this, don't be. It's a five star winner, start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FARSCAPE Remains An Epic Adventure For Its Growing 'Cult' Audience, November 12, 2013
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series (DVD)
In March of 1999, the Sci-Fi Channel premiered its latest foray into the genre of science fiction with a little program promisingly named FARSCAPE. There wasn't a lot of pomp and circumstances surrounding the new program - certainly not the kind of media blitz Sci-Fi practically demanded for its BATTLESTAR GALACTICA reboot a few years later - but, to be fair, that may've actually served FARSCAPE's assortment of slightly bizarre characters best. You had an American astronaut displaced into a distant galaxy by a wormhole. You had a ship filled with escaped convicts, each one an oddity until himself, herself, and/or itself. And you had a living, breathing ship with all of its own faults and foibles. This unlikely crew was thrown together out of circumstances yet forced to cooperate, to collaborate, to get past their petty differences in order to have one last chance at survival. Fate be damned, they'd make something of themselves or die trying ... so it was perfectly acceptable that FARSCAPE came in below everyone's radar but endured for four epic seasons. It even managed to defy death in its own way when its stars and creators joined forces to fight for a final miniseries with which to wrap up its principle storylines, and THE PEACEKEEPER WARS brought back John Crichton, Aeryn Sun, Ka D'Argo, and the rest for one last shot at glory.

Now, Cinedigm is giving audiences a chance to relive these adventures in a glorious 15th anniversary release of the complete series, so I figured there was no better time like the present to tell you what I thought of it all.

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and characters. If you're the kind of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I'd encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you're accepting of a few modest hints at `things to come,' then read on ...)

John Crichton (played with a right balance of sanity and insanity by Ben Browder) is the astronaut at the center of this epic tale. After finding himself thrown across the galaxy thanks to a wormhole swallowing him up on the maiden voyage of his Farscape 1 spacecraft, Crichton finds himself smack dab in the middle of a galactic prison break. His entrance into the foray accidentally causes a death that sets up one of the program's ongoing storylines ... but rather than focus on all of the details (trust me: there's vastly too many for a single review!) I'll leave it at that and just tell you this is one space journey that's definitely worth taking.

FARSCAPE lasted for four seasons, all of which is included in Cinedigm's release. Hoping to avert any kind of disillusionment, I'm comfortable admitting that all of this ends with a massive cliffhanger (THE PEACEKEEPER WARS isn't included in this set as it remains the property of different production companies), but, as any `Scaper will tell you, the sentiments wrapped up within that cliffhanger are a part and parcel of what made FARSCAPE such an impressive journey. In short, it was always `the little engine that could' (or `couldn't', depending upon one's perception). It defied the odds - defied the network that always kinda/sorta treated it like a stepchild throughout its stellar four seasons - and is one of those rare shows that's actually grown a bit in popularity since its cancellation. Indeed, this release's press materials reminded me that FARSCAPE remains one of the 25 best Cult TV Shows in history (according to TV Guide).

As opposed to belaboring you with any additional rundown of the materials - if you're already here looking into it, I suspect this is something you're interested in purchasing - I'll throw in a few fresh words on the new content with this release: a 16-page graphic novel called "Backyard Barbecue." It's almost entirely the creation of writer/artist Ramon Perez (there was some coloring assistance provided by Ian Herring), and it's essentially intended to be a prequel to the aforementioned THE PEACEKEEPER WARS. The story is basically more of a vignette - a few moments in the life of these occasionally Looney Tunes characters - which shows how they survived when pressed between a rock and a hard place. The artwork is solid - definitely reminiscent of the tone of the show as it aired - but, alas, it's an all-too-brief snapshot back at these beloved heroes. Lastly, the book closes out with a nice interview with Brian Henson, giving him a chance to reflect back on FARSCAPE, its production, and its legacy: truth be told, I enjoyed it vastly more than I did the comic, but that's only because of the type of person I am.

FARSCAPE: THE COMPLETE SERIES (15TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION) is produced by Jim Henson Productions, Hallmark Entertainment, Jim Henson Television, Nine Film & Television Pty. Ltd., Nine Network Australia, and the Sci-Fi Channel. DVD distribution for this release is being handled by Cinedigm and New Video. As for the technical specifications ... really? This is a Blu ray release, and, though I'm led to understand these are the same masters used and prepared for the 2011 release, it's perfectly clear that the highest commitment to providing the finest quality sight and sound has been taken. And how about the special features? Well, the downside is that there's nothing all that `new' here - countless hours of commentaries, deleted scenes, director's cuts, behind-the-scenes, and so much more - but there's a nifty exclusive 16-page graphic novel (see above for my thoughts on it) die-hard fans won't want to miss. Seriously, folks ... you couldn't ask for more.

HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION POSSIBLE. If you've never discovered FARSCAPE, then all I can say is that you've no possible idea what you're missing: for my tastes, it was the boldest, brightest, and most creatively invigorating sci-fi epic to land exclusively on the Syfy Channel (then `Sci Fi') when it aired originally. Even today, it retains a unique freshness with some modest narrative complexity, its willingness to keep raising the on itself and its various players, and its consuming insistence on seeing these characters through to the end of their days. I've said elsewhere that it is - without a doubt - the show that STAR TREK: VOYAGER probably wanted to be (VOYAGER began a few years prior to FARSCAPE) but, under Paramount's constant tinkerings, never had the stones to even try (don't even get me started on the some of the most obvious comparisons). Make this journey. Take this mission. You'll be glad you did. Prepare for Starburst!

In the interests of fairness, I'm pleased to disclose that the fine folks at Cinedigm provided me with the Blu ray release set of FARSCAPE: THE COMPLETE SERIES (15TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION) by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farscape, February 8, 2014
By 
rls (Moore, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series (DVD)
When this was actually on I missed quite a bit of it. I was happy to get the complete series. It's very good but it does leave you hanging. If you get this and are a fan you also need Farscape: The Peacekeeper Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi and fantasy meet, with puppets!, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A great TV show that too few people know about. If you are a fan of everything with aliens and space travel, you'll have plenty to enjoy in this 88 episode series. A Human travels through a wormhole into alien-occupied space, and accidentally makes an enemy of the local authorities, throwing in with a group of escaped prisoners, he tries to find a way home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I go "Far" out for my Husband, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got this for my husband for Christmas and it was a success! We're both real big fans, but he is quite ga-ga about the series. I got a good deal on the complete series. We haven't had a chance to start watching it, but I look forward to it. A "Farscape" marathon is in our future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE!!! , Farscape 15th Anniversary, 27 disc, DVD Set . . ., January 14, 2014
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series (DVD)
There are numerous, very detailed reviews already posted which clearly and effectively explain the "Farscape" story arc. Given this, I will keep my posting very brief, and primarily focus on the "quality" of this particular, Farscape : The Complete Series , 15th Anniversary Edition, 27 disc, DVD set. The outer decorative box houses a total of 5 separate standard size disc cases, with each case holding multiple discs. The first four cases, each having 6 discs, contain the 4 complete seasons of "Farscape". The 5th case holds 3 discs of bonus material and special features. The actual disc cases seem to be of high quality, not prone to breaking, and the DVD discs appear to be of premium grade. All of the artwork, including on the face of the discs, is fresh and updated for this 15th Anniversary set release. All in all, this is a very nice and attractive box set. Please note, that this set DOES NOT contain the "Farscape : The Peacekeeper Wars" 2-part movie conclusion, which as of now can be purchased separately for less than ten dollars. Be sure to order that update conclusion, also, if you don't already have it in your collection.

When using a nice upscaling disc player, and viewing on a decent quality HDTV, the picture quality is EXCELLENT!!! The colors are vibrantly brilliant, the contrast is highly dynamic, and the resolution clarity is very strong (nearly razor sharp during many of the scenes). Overall, on a scale of 1 through 10, I would have to suggest that the offered picture quality is a very solid "9", even when using widescreen stretch mode. In my case, I was viewing the material on a 47" 1080p display. So, results may vary somewhat when viewing on larger screens beyond that range. Given that "Farscape" happens to be a weekly episode type television series from 15 years ago, the picture display is surprisingly strong, and offers a great visual experience even now in current times. The playback from the DVD discs within this set happens to be very smooth, consistent, and trouble free. VERY NICE!!!

This Farscape : The Complete Series, 15th Anniversary Edition, 27 disc, DVD set offers 2 different option selections regarding the audio. You can either choose the original 2-channel Dolby Surround soundtrack, or the re-processed and enhanced 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround audio. Both selections are of very high quality, and the 5.1 option sounds particularly strong when used with a nice surround sound system with appropriate settings applied. Both audio track options offer more than ample volume range.
GREAT AUDIO!!!

"Farscape" offers legitimate Science Fiction story telling at its VERY BEST. This series perfectly blends high quality production techniques, spectacular acting, stellar set props and wardrobe costumes, and more than enough sarcastic humor and ironic circumstances to suit anyone's entertainment appetite. Overall, the production quality of "Farscape" by far surpasses any other science fiction or fantasy type series from that same era (and there were some pretty darn good ones). When watching this series now, by way of this particular DVD set, the show feels just as "fresh" and relevant as it had when it was current.
THIS SERIES TRULY WITHSTANDS THE TEST OF TIME VERY WELL ! ! !

As of right now, pricing on this set (to your mailbox) seems to vary by as much as twenty dollars (from lowest to highest). So, please do your homework, and compare prices between trusted sources prior to ordering.
GOOD LUCK!!!

This is truly a 5 Star DVD set of a 5 Star science fiction series. NICE!!!

Happy FARSCAPE watching ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For sy-fy one of the best, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This has to be one of the best Sy-Fy series made so far. If you want to see what the definition of "alien" is watch this. Some of the most imaginative characters, sets, effects and stories. You will see things NO other Sy-Fy has or mostly likely will ever show. It's fast paced, exciting and at times funnier than you would expect from something like this. It's one of those series where you end up really caring about what happens to the characters and then sorry when you reach the end because there is no more to watch. Even the final ending in "The Peacekeeper Wars" is done perfectly.

That's the show and this release is very high quality. The first three seasons is not in wide screen format but that is because the original series wasn't shot in wide screen until the forth season. Don't know where they got the masters for this release but it looks great. Easily the same audio and video quality as any other Blu Ray title and this time with sub-titles. The DVD I have watched before didn't have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Farscape: Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Farscape (Blu-ray - 2013)
$149.95 $88.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.