Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable and much needed updating of a classic reference.
Fashion in Costume 1200-2000 is an old classic catalog of western costume updated to 2000 in this paperback second edition. This detailed fashion survey contains a wealth of information valuable to costume researchers and designers and illustrators, and theatre workers and fashion historians. Over 800 line drawings illustrate the nine chapters which each cover a...
Published on May 8, 2000 by Midwest Book Review

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed not in content but printing
I really liked the explanation of costumes in this book. I ordered this book from Kindle to be on my ipad. When it was downloaded I found the descriptions next to the drawings are printed as handwriting script. Unreadable, fuzzy when enlarged and very frustrating! So I cancelled the order. I considered ordering a paper version, but hesitated afraid the script wouldn't be...
Published 11 months ago by Old Viking


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable and much needed updating of a classic reference., May 8, 2000
This review is from: Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised (Paperback)
Fashion in Costume 1200-2000 is an old classic catalog of western costume updated to 2000 in this paperback second edition. This detailed fashion survey contains a wealth of information valuable to costume researchers and designers and illustrators, and theatre workers and fashion historians. Over 800 line drawings illustrate the nine chapters which each cover a historical period. Incredible detailed information about underwear, accessories, jewelry, shoes, and hairstyles is included. An example of the 1980's-90's fashion era is a series of sketches of Diana, Princess of Wales in several outfits (p. 249). As in the previous edition, all is meticulously researched and presented. This reviewer has made good use of the previous edition in a second career as community theatre costume designer. I look forward to using this valuable and much needed updating of a classic costume reference.
Nancy Lorraine Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything in one book!, May 2, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised (Paperback)
This book covers the largest time period in fashion history available today. Although the author limited herself to one book, the amount of information that is packed into this book is absolutely wonderful for anyone interested in costuming. Not only is politcal history covered, trival facts and those who influenced fashion are described in concise detail. Most helpful are the sketches on nearly every other page, which show details of full outfits and variations of certain garments. Diagrams of how to tie men's ties and special period collars are extremely useful. Men, women, children, underwear, shoes, accessories - this book covers it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, September 19, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised (Paperback)
Throughout history, clothes have been worn not only for warmth but also, with constant variety and innovation, to convey status, wealth, occupation, personality and social and more values. Joan Nunn's detailed survey of costume in the western world over the past eight centuries not only gives the reader a vivid visual impression of the clothes themselves, but also out lines the historical and social background and the changes in manufacturing techniques the way costume has developed and the manner in which it has been worn. Each of the nine chapters covers a certain period, with an introductory section followed by descriptions of the underwear, outer garments, hats, footwear, hairstyles, accessories, jewelry, fabrics and colours worn by men, women and children. There are over 800 line drawings, specially made by the author from contemporary sources (carvings, paintings, portraits, fashion plates and photographs). This is an invaluable, copiously illustrated reference book for students of costume, social history and the visual arts and for those concerned with designing costumes for the theatre. It is also a fascinating book for general reader interested in fashion and the art of dress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, descriptions of drawings confusing, October 2, 2005
By 
Sara (Western Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised (Paperback)
While the text and drawings are separately very detailed and fairly descriptive, there is very little correlation between the text and drawings. At times it is unclear as to what kind of dress the author is talking about, making it useful that the picture of the dress should be right next to the text. The short descriptions of the costumes included with the drawings are also difficult to read due to the text they're written in. I also found that the sections for clothes from about 1930-2000 did not really cover the full scope of styles and fashions worn in that period of time.

However, despite these small difficulties, this is a great book, with abundant information and fairly detailed drawings. I've only had the book a week, and it has already been immensely helpful to me. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised, April 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised (Paperback)
This book is very interesting if you are interested in Fashion through the years 1200-2000 and seeing how the fashion has changed through the years. Whether you sew for cloth dolls or minidolls like I do or just for yourself or the stage I would highly recommend this book. Even if you don't sew and want to find out for yourself what changes in fashion were made, it is a book you won't want to put down and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Resource, February 14, 2010
By 
Graymalkin "uilleann piper" (Roanoke, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised (Paperback)
Possibly the best resource for researchers. Unlike other books which abound with pictures and little or no text, this book contains not only excellent illustrations, but critical descriptions.
While the "little or no text" books may be of some value to artists, for researchers and writers, it is essential to not merely know what a garment or hair style looked like, but what it was called. And, the detailed evolution of one style to another within a time period is invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and mostly illustrations, August 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is well researched--I recognized many illustrations from older books, and takes on an enormous length of time. I found it interesting, although not too well suited (ha ha, pun) for kindle. I'd like to see a companion book of patterns for some of these outfits. I bet that all of our cosplay friends would like that, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed not in content but printing, August 1, 2013
I really liked the explanation of costumes in this book. I ordered this book from Kindle to be on my ipad. When it was downloaded I found the descriptions next to the drawings are printed as handwriting script. Unreadable, fuzzy when enlarged and very frustrating! So I cancelled the order. I considered ordering a paper version, but hesitated afraid the script wouldn't be any easier to read. It really is too bad because I have other costume books but this one seemed to have the best details on how and why styles have changed. If it ever is revised again, I hope the notations next to the drawings are printed in print type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference!, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised (Paperback)
I used this book for a few classes during my undergrad program in tech thea. This book was a savior. It breaks down the eras into genders and styles into specific articles. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in costuming and fashion history. I feel it does give brief overviews of some parts but there are always other books to reference for more detailed information. But for great overviews and superb illustrations THIS IS A MUST HAVE BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars helpful for costume design., March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I find this book very helpful for people who wish to design in a certain century. it is very detailing as far as into the designing on buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised
Fashion in Costume 1200-2000, Revised by Joan Nunn (Paperback - February 14, 2000)
$22.50 $17.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.