Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive account of 90s cutting-edge designers
Caroline Evans has written an important book that explores the work of cutting-edge designers of the 1990s such as Martin Margiela, Hussein Chalayan, John Galliano, Alexander McQueen and Viktor & Rolf. The book's subtitle - "Spectacle, Modernity and Deathliness" - sums up the author's focus on the underside of fashion. Evans acknowledges that much of the fashion...
Published on November 10, 2003 by Roger Tredre/WGSN

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just okay
I bought this book for my wife. It turned out not to have many pictures that shock or awe. For real fashion at the edge, I recommend fruits and fresh fruits, shots of Tokyo street style.
Published on September 17, 2012 by Lucas W. Bonner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive account of 90s cutting-edge designers, November 10, 2003
Caroline Evans has written an important book that explores the work of cutting-edge designers of the 1990s such as Martin Margiela, Hussein Chalayan, John Galliano, Alexander McQueen and Viktor & Rolf. The book's subtitle - "Spectacle, Modernity and Deathliness" - sums up the author's focus on the underside of fashion. Evans acknowledges that much of the fashion featured in this book was "economically negligible", arguing that its cultural import is of greater significance. She explores how designers of the 90s consciously or unconsciously explored the dark history of the 20th century through their work, with death, trauma, cruelty, and horror as recurring themes.
Where is this all leading? The conclusions are doom-laden but fascinating. British designers, with their focus on "gothic fashion", may represent the ghost or shadow of rational American designers. Creatively, Evans posits a bleak future for fashion "doomed to ricochet between modernist experimentation and dark despair." In a memorable line, Evans writes: "Now, more than ever, everything new and beautiful seems to arrive already haunted by its own demise." The financial insecurity of many of these designers in their early days may have fuelled their creativity. They were, as designer and teacher Fabio Piras put it, "fashion desperadoes". This book is full of illuminating insights that put fashion design at the core of our culture, expressing our deepest concerns.
Outstandingly researched, beautifully illustrated, and thrillingly authoritative, Fashion at the Edge may prove to be the definitive book on the generation of designers from London and Antwerp who came to prominence in the 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous inspiring book, March 25, 2006
By 
Carrie Grace (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The photographs, stories of design history and research in this book are phenonmenal. This is a great book to inspire, shock and mesmerize. It is my most recent favorite in my costume research collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible book for anyone interested in fashion theory., May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fashion at the Edge: Spectacle, Modernity, and Deathliness (Paperback)
Great study of fashion from an excellent author. If you are interested in fashion and art, this is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars epic., November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fashion at the Edge: Spectacle, Modernity, and Deathliness (Paperback)
i really love the photo references especially in reference to the text. this is a book about some of the darker edges of fashion and designers ideas. delves much more into the artistic side of fashion. broken up into aptly interesting titles as well as tight ideas well expressed. im really happy i bought this. one of my fav purchases in recent history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fashion at the Edge: Spectacle, Modernity, and Deathliness (Paperback)
Excellent book - well written and full of meaningful analysis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just okay, September 17, 2012
I bought this book for my wife. It turned out not to have many pictures that shock or awe. For real fashion at the edge, I recommend fruits and fresh fruits, shots of Tokyo street style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fashion at the Edge: Spectacle, Modernity, and Deathliness
Fashion at the Edge: Spectacle, Modernity, and Deathliness by Caroline Evans (Paperback - December 13, 2007)
$40.00 $32.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.