Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fashion Photography 101
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$23.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 10, 2012
Although I'm an establish fashion photographer I couldn't resist picking up Lara Jade's book. Its very insightful for those who are looking to come into fashion photographer. I especially appreciate her dedication in showing the reader behind-the-scenes photos of her editorials and show casing just how much retouching can help or hinder your photography. She also lists her team for each shoot she discusses--something not many other photography books discuss. However, the book lacks any concrete insight into any one particular topic. Even her "lighting" demos are rather basic and not for those really wanting to see those demos move into "real world application".

Overall, a good book for beginners!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2012
I was looking for a nice book about portrait photography when I discovered that Lara Jade was going to publish her own. I ordered it because I am acquainted with Lara Jade's creative works and I really like the way she works with photography. The book arrived and it didn't disappoint at all. It's easy to read.English is not my first language but I was able to grasp all concepts, and it is a good guide for those who want to approach fashion photography. It basically covers any aspect, from casting a model to working with light to be known on network. I would dare to recommend it also if you are looking for something on portraits photography with an artistic streak.
A very good book, I would buy it again!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
Laura Jade is an amazing photographer and whilst this book is good overview of all the basics, it covers ares that many other books leave out. However, it is less good in few areas. 1. The photos are small. 2. There is very little about her creative process or personal option. and 3. It tries to cover too many areas - there is a pointless section on photoshop and lightroom, space in the book could have been used for larger photos and more depth on other subjects.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
This book will probably come as a bit of a disappointment for anyone that really wants a good overview of fashion photography because there's actually fairly little content specifically about this genre of photography. The real problem with 'Fashion Photography 101' is that it tries to cover way too many topics, most not specific to fashion, which dilutes its overall value. This came as a bit of a surprise to me, as I imagine anyone that is really interested in fashion photography already probably has at least a decent understanding of basic camera equipment, shooting, lighting, and post-processing techniques, and wants to learn about fashion-specific topics.

Throughout the book, there are many images from Jade's shoots, including behind-the-scenes shots in some cases (and some are from her workshops). There are some really nice images here, and in many ways, these are the highlights of the book. The bad part is that like the sidebars that are scattered throughout the book, often times these topics/images are not at all related to the main text (or it's a stretch), so they do little to reinforce whatever is being discussed. As with many novice photography books, EXIF info is stuck in there, even though it's honestly not relevant in most cases.

The sections on equipment and shooting were quite forgettable. Anyone who needs help with this really ought to start elsewhere because you won't find any real depth here. The real meat of the book goes over working with the creative team; scenarios; and overview of the overall process; and some shooting and lighting techniques/ideas. While some of the information was genuinely interesting, most topics only spanned ~2 pages, with segments only a few short paragraphs long, so there was really limited value you can take away. The information felt more like rapid-fire blog entries on various topics than a textbook.

The book also goes over basic info about digital asset management (i.e. lightroom), and very basic retouching in Photoshop. These are really big topics and ~30 pages isn't even going to come close to scratching the surface, so you can imagine what kind of information you'll find here. I've seen this pattern repeated in other books, not dedicated to post-processing, where the book just kind of jams in some 'tips', but try to pass off the topic like it's some kind of primer. Trust me, it's not, and you really need to get dedicated books on these topics and not just read a few page spreads to learn how to use the various features. This book would be a lot stronger without these topics and more depth on the fashion-specific topics.

The book ends with a few pages about some basic marketing/branding strategies, that is mostly obvious even for people outside of the business.

I really love the idea of a dedicated fashion photography book that can really shed insights into the unique aspects of fashion, and share ideas for those trying to get started, although this book kind of falls flat. Outside of the great images, and the handful of useful insights, most of the information was pretty shallow and generic; the book could have been much, much better. So while I'd say this is still worth a casual read (borrow it, if you can), I can't see this being a must-have title for anyone's bookshelf.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
I was hoping that this book would provide some decent insight and great tips on fashion photography world. But it's generic and totally basic. Nothing you cant find with a simple google search.

Don't get me wrong I think LJ is a great photography but the book is somewhat of let down. I would rather buy her photoshop editing videos if she made one.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
I found the book to be very well put together and the photos inside are wonderful, but like others have said it has little focus on any real technical information. Everything is vey basic. You do get a nice idea of how a fashion shoot is run and things that need to be considered when putting the shoot together. As a photographer who as been shooting for several years, the book had almost nothing to teach me and I found it hard to see how it would really benefit a beginner more than any other photo book out there. It's a book you would buy if you're interested to know how one photographer goes though her process. All the same, it's a nice addition to the other photo books on my shelf.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
Laura Jade has a style all her own.
She has written a book that shows anyone how to do fashion photography. Yes, you will learn how she does things, but more importantly, if you want to be a fashion photographer, this book will show you how.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
This is a GREAT book! It is packed with so much information ranging from the basics of equipment right down to finding models, and performing photoshoots! Simply one of the best photography books i've seen in a LONG time. Also, the book includes assignments!! A great way to get the creativity flowing while honing your fashion photography skills! Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Very good book; I hope to see more such books by other notable photographers. My only complaint(s) is that the book could stand to be more thorough and in-depth. I was surprised to finish the book and realize that I knew so much, yet there are still areas that seem to lack the details that I think most of the readers of this book are searching for.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
Lara Jade truly wrote a fantastic book on fashion photography. She goes through all the beginning steps to really get you and your work out there. She discusses the correct equipment, casting your model and creative team, different lighting scenarios, finding your studio, how to work with clients, organizing files, retouching photographs, and marketing you and your brand. She also provides practice scenarios for the reader to go and photograph. Her book is filled with tips and photographs to help demonstrate her ideas. I loved reading it from start to finish and it definitely educated me. It's called "Fashion Photography 101" for a reason. It's the basics to get started. I recommend this book to anyone interested in getting started in the fashion photography field. It was an amazing read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse