Customer Reviews


394 Reviews
5 star:
 (271)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Movie, Original Parts...
After three high-octane rides on the street racing scene, the fourth film in the "The Fast and the Furious" series features a departure from the flashy, overblown colors, obvious CGI-enhancement, and at times over-the-top stunts of the previous two films. With "Fast & Furious" the series returns to its roots with a grittier, more realistic leaning tone and reunites the...
Published on July 4, 2009 by Justice0309

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than expected
These movies (under direction from Lin) have consistently improved from project to project. These movies need the Vin Deisel's character. It is not as effective without it.
Published 17 months ago by V. K. Bell


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Movie, Original Parts..., July 4, 2009
This review is from: Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After three high-octane rides on the street racing scene, the fourth film in the "The Fast and the Furious" series features a departure from the flashy, overblown colors, obvious CGI-enhancement, and at times over-the-top stunts of the previous two films. With "Fast & Furious" the series returns to its roots with a grittier, more realistic leaning tone and reunites the primary players from the original film's cast of gearheads for more high speed mayhem.

"Fast & Furious" finds Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) continuing his lawless ways in the Dominican Republic alongside his girlfriend Letty (Michelle Rodriguez) and a new crew of velocity addicted miscreants. When the law begins to close in on Dom and his crew, difficult choices are made, plans are put into motion, and a life is lost. All of this forces Dom to return to his native Los Angeles on a quest for answers and to ultimately deal with those responsible. While back in town, Dom is reunited, albeit begrudgingly, with his former friend Brian O'Connor (Paul Walker), who once again finds he is torn between doing what he desires most or following the letter of the law he's sworn to uphold.

With the slightly weaker feel of the previous two films in the series, I was kind of unsure of how good this fourth attempt would prove to be, regardless of the fact that many of the original film's cast members were reprising their roles eight years later. After seeing "Fast & Furious" over the weekend, I can honestly say that any misgivings I had regarding the film were easily blown away by the sheer entertainment value and superiority exuded by this film over anything included in the previous two films.

Besides the original film's primary cast returning to the series that made them stars, the writer and director duo of Chris Morgan and Justin Lin ("The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift") make their return to the series with a much more polished final product than what had been featured in their previous effort. The screenplay is a much more complex work than one may expect from this type of movie. Screenwriter Chris Morgan ups the stakes for all the players, delivering several twists along the way, and some very sharply written dialogue, all of which makes for a thoroughly entertaining ride from start to finish. The story really seems to focus on resolving storylines begun in the first movie, and creating a stronger link between all of the other movies in the series, especially "Tokyo Drift" (which has always felt a little bit like an outcast in the franchise). As a fan of the series, I believe that this film's more mature storyline and well-written dialogue showcases the time and effort that Chris Morgan put into this film, and the work definitely pays off by rewarding longtime fans of the franchise by interconnecting each of the films, while not alienating any newcomers.

Director Justin Lin shows an even steadier hand when it came to helming his second effort in the series. Even though Justin proved quite capable in capturing the high speeds and general fast-paced nature of the series with "Tokyo Drift", his work here is stronger even if it is with a little less flashiness. By approaching the film more in the vein of the original's look and tone, Lin imbues "Fast & Furious" with a grittier nature that cements its close ties to the aforementioned, along with having the slight feel of an urban crime drama (albeit without the same level of intensity inherent in most of those films). If there are to be any more films in this series, then I believe that the powers-that-be may have found a valuable asset in this director, and one that they should use whenever possible to maintain consistency between the installments (something this series has previously lacked).

As I've mentioned a couple of times already, the cast for this film features many returning members from the original film. Let's begin with one of the biggest breakout stars of the original, Vin Diesel ("A Man Apart"). In his reprisal as Dom Toretto, Vin gives one of the best performances of his career, if not his best yet (easily rivaling his work in "A Man Apart" or "Find Me Guilty"). In this film, Diesel is given more opportunity to explore Dom, whether it is his passion for the various facets of his life, personal loss, the issue of trust, or merely the unbridled fury that we had only heard mention of in the first film. Here we are presented with a much more layered and developed anti-hero than had been previously established, and one who is more weathered and world-weary from all of the experiences he has endured whether good or bad. If there are still some detractors of Vin's work out there, then the combination of his movies mentioned above should help convince them to the contrary, so long as they ignore his misfire with the dismal "Babylon A.D.".

Alongside Vin is Paul Walker as the other main lead for this installment. This film also marks Walker's second reprisal as the lead in this series, as Paul was the only main cast member to return for the initial sequel "2 Fast 2 Furious". To be fair, Vin has also appeared in the series three times, although his second appearance was just a cameo in the final moments of "The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift". But I digress, now back to Paul Walker's performance as one-time ex-law man turned outlaw turned active FBI agent Brian O'Connor. It's a rather convoluted series of events that comprise O'Connor's storyline through the series, but it works. In the first film, Paul gave a fairly solid, if not flawed performance, which he proceeded to follow-up with a decidedly more surfer-esque, flat and stilted performance, replete with more "Yo's", "Bro's", and "Check it's" than one would care to count. Paul's third stint in the series, much like Vin's return, makes for his best performance of the series, not to mention his entire career. I used to think that he was one of those actors that merely skated by on his looks and onscreen charm, with very little acting talent holding it all together. With his performance here he is much more reserved and believable, even intense at times, to the point that one wonders if there may be hope for Paul's career as a serious actor yet. Gone are the various surfer boy idioms, replaced by a much more mature character who is still trying desperately to atone for past mistakes.

The final two returning characters are the two important female roles of Mia and Letty (Jordana Brewster and Michelle Rodriguez respectively). Both of these characters suffered from very little development in their first outing, a problem that has now been rectified by this film. The character of Mia is given a very emotional arc to go through over the course of the film as she is forced to deal with the return of her former lover and betrayer of her family, Brian O'Connor. Jordana proves with her more developed role and character arc that she has the acting chops necessary to handle more of the story should the occasion call for it, something that future writers of the series may want to take note of should her character make any more return appearances. Michelle Rodriguez has proven in numerous movies and on TV's "Lost" that she is a very capable actress, but in this series she has yet to really be all that important or necessary for that matter. In the first film she was merely Dom's girlfriend and not all that interesting beyond that; however, in this story her character is central to the film's main plotline. I have to admit that while I wasn't all that enthralled by Michelle's character in the original film, she definitely proved more interesting in this one, and was much more enjoyable to watch as she really seemed to be having a good time in the role.

Lastly, we have one key newcomer to the franchise. Actor John Ortiz ("Aliens Vs Predator: Requiem") plays a man named Campos whose job is to find and recruit drivers to smuggle drugs for a very powerful Mexican cartel. I haven't seen John in any kind of tough guy roles, mostly because I haven't seen too many movies he's appeared in, but I have to say he was very convincing in the role. He portrayed the character with a subtle hint of menace, never really overdoing it just keeping an obvious air about him that this guy is not one to be trifled with. While he wasn't given an incredible amount of screen time, what he is given John makes the most of. John delivers a strong antagonist that could have ended up being just another stock character, but became something a little more developed thanks to his work in the role.

"Fast & Furious" is by far the best of the sequels in the series, and easily rivals the original film, possibly even surpasses it. This is all due to a much tighter and more developed story, the best acting in the entire series, and a much more grounded sense of reality than the previous two films boasted. If you've been a fan of the series or have simply become disappointed by the direction it's taken in the previous sequels, then this is the movie to see as it undoubtedly kicks the franchise back into high gear.

As a side note, it's important to know that "Fast & Furious" occurs prior to the events shown in the third film, "The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift".

"Fast & Furious" is rated PG-13 for violence, language, and sexuality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, July 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you enjoy the series, you will continue to enjoy fast and furious! It pretty much feels like a real sequel of the original with the cast back! Alot of action, cars, american muscle, you name it! Decent storyline, but it's all about action and fast cars! The video quality is great as well and sound on a nice system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast & Furious, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Another update for my collection and I am glad that I was able to get this on Blu ray thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Action packed, lots of speed. This was not a disappointment. Makes you want to watch the entire series. Not a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast And Even More Furious!!!, September 23, 2009
By 
Edubb (Richmond, Va) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Loved the Movie point blank!! Wish they could have had Tyrese from second movie in this one though. Him and Vin going at it would have been something. Still, enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeper story like the original, November 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is true to it's advertisement of going back to the roots of the series. Original cast with more more story then fancy machines and pure racing scenes. Good amount of features on this special edition. The picture quality and sound is consistent with action films on blu-ray.

Even though Amazon doesn't advertise digital copy, as of the date of this writing the digital copy still valid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second best one., May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not as good as Fast Five but still one of the best. Has a crazy cliffhanger ending! This movie has Vin Diesel in it this time and nearly everything else that makes the other Fast/Furious movies enjoyable. Worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It..., December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fast & Furious (DVD)
I have been a sucker for "Fast and Furious" movies ever since I saw the first one the opening night in the theater.

This one is no different. It's not a great movie by any means, but it's absolutely perfect if you like the others. I liked having Vin Diesel back in the action for the first time since the first movie (other than the tiny cameo at the end of "Tokyo Drift"). I also liked the plot to this one. It seemed to make a bit more sense than some of the other movies.

Overall, if you like "Fast and Furious" movies, then you don't need to be told that you need to add this one to your collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Furious blu-ray looks and sounds AMAZING!, July 28, 2009
By 
Porfie "Porfie Jr. Medina" (Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Vin Diesel and Paul Walker team up again for some more heart pounding adrenaline action. Also returning are Michelle Rodriguez and Jordana Brewster. It's been almost eight years since The Fast and The Furious first debuted in the summer of 2001. This movie takes place five years after the original. After hijacking fuel tanks in the Dominican Republic Dom (Vin Diesel) leaves his girlfriend Letty (Michelle Rodriguez) and becomes a criminal on the run. When Dom gets a devastating phone call from his sister Mia (Jordana Brewster), Dom decides to return to LA to get revenge. Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) who is now an FBI agent gets assigned to hunt down a drug lord named Braga. This new enemy ultimately unites Brian and Don who want to get revenge for the tragedy that happened to Dom. I will not give away anymore as I don't want to ruin it for anyone who has not seen this movie. I will say as a huge fan of the first 2 movies in the franchise (especially the first one), I knew this movie had a lot to live up to. I'm happy to say Fast and Furious does not disappoint. This Movie will have your heart beating FAST and FURIOUS. Just like the original film that started it all, this new movie will also have you on the edge of your seat. Don't listen to bitter critics, if you like a fun entertaining movie to take you away from your life for a few hours check this movie out! With an weekend opening of $72+ million in ticket sales FAST AND FURIOUS was the all-time biggest debut for the month of April. The blu-ray looks absolutely stunning in full 1080p and the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 sound will give your home theatre a great workout. The blu-ray comes with a ton of bonus material including limited time digital copy and an iphone app that lets you access your compatible blu-ray player and control the virtual garage on your TV with your iphone.

Extras:

* Audio commentary by Justin Lin
* Gag Reel
* "Los Bandoleros" short film
* "Under the Hood - Muscle Cars"
* Under the Hood - Imports"
* "Getting the Gang Back Together"
* "Driving School with Vin Diesel"
* "Shooting the Big Rig Heist"
* Races and Chases"
* "High Octane Action: The Stunts"
* "South of the Border: Filming in Mexico"
* "Virtual Car Garage"
* "Fast & Furious Video Mash-Up"
* "Blanco" Music Video by Pitbull featuring Pharrell
* U-Control:
* "Take Control"
* "Virtual Car Garage and Tech Specs"
* My Movie Commentary
* My Chat
* D-BOX Motion Code
* Digital Copy
* BD-Live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Sexy Exciting Silly Saturday Night Pop-Corn Classic, August 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Fast & Furious (DVD)
I didn't expect to enjoy this movie as much as I did but I gotta admit- I really enjoyed it! Vin Diesel looked great! Paul Walker looked OLD! The cars were cool, the races suspenseful, the girls were superficial, the cops were really DUMB and the story was okay. Put it all together, and somehow this film was fun. I watched this with my teenage daughter and she loved it too- even the goofy parts that made no sense, even when we solved the case before the cops did. This is why you watch this film: Vin's muscles, the shiny cars, the pulsing synthesizer house music, the bubble boobed mini-skirted chicks, the ridiculous story- we were hypnotized. Just sit back, relax and have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray]
Fast & Furious (2009) [Blu-ray] by Justin Lin (Blu-ray - 2009)
$19.98 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.