Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY,VERY FUNKY!!!!
Counting about 99.8 % of the music on this album 'Fat Albert Rotunda' is Herbie Hancock's first dive into the world

of funk-jazz,a just blooming genre in 1969 when this was recorded and a style he wouldn't return to for another five years or so.As for the jazz side of his personality only "Tell Me A Bedtime Story",with it's gentle theatrics,works in this...
Published on October 18, 2004 by Andre' S Grindle

versus
15 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You're being taken
This is great music but you can get this album domestically as part of "Mwandishi: The Complete Warner Bros. Recordings" for literally pocket change more. It's worth it to check out the other two albums included in the set.
Published on March 3, 2006 by Michael Hardin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY,VERY FUNKY!!!!, October 18, 2004
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
Counting about 99.8 % of the music on this album 'Fat Albert Rotunda' is Herbie Hancock's first dive into the world

of funk-jazz,a just blooming genre in 1969 when this was recorded and a style he wouldn't return to for another five years or so.As for the jazz side of his personality only "Tell Me A Bedtime Story",with it's gentle theatrics,works in this

arena.Otherwise this album is pretty much instrumental funk,upbeat and well made but probably not quite as thrilling and

DEFINATELY not as innovative as later such efforts as 'Thrust',

"Man-Child','Secrets' and of course 'Headhunters'.But once fans of Herbie's funkier style have purchased those recordings (whitch

are essencial) this album is the next logical step to walk in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raw funky jazzy, July 15, 2003
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
This album contains some of the most lighthearted and yet still street serious grooves I've ever heard. It's loose and by no means perfect, but still one of the greatest albums - almost for those attributes. As well as having awesome grooves like the opening track, fat mama, and the title track; it also contains a classic and very beautiful jazz composition by Herbie, Tell Me A Bedtime Story. This is a beautiful piece of jazz groove history and still great to listen to today. If you don't have it, buy it. It will do you no harm except to possibly make your feet move all by themselves and your mind to be soothed by the touch of a master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get movin' get groovin', July 6, 2006
By 
Perry W. Clark (New Hampshire USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
Hancock takes the cake with this just about unheard of CD. This is a killer collection of "feel good use the dashboard or kitchen table as a percussion instrument" instrumentals. I could write a thank you letter to Herbie for getting me through numerous late night shifts at work with this CD...but I will just say that this is an audible "great day". If you're having a bad morning, drop this CD in and you'll feel better by the time track one kicks in. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to all audiences. Herbie Hancock for president.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable jazz soul album, February 27, 2004
By 
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
I love this album. It is funky and beautiful. Well arranged and expertly played. It may not be the purest jazz masterpiece, but it is perfect for what it is. It flows perfectly after Herbie's previous album, the Prisoner. I almost wish more people would try to rip this style off more often. When I first got the album I thought Fat Mama was the best song on it, but after listening, the driving but entirely laid back force of Tell Me A Bedtime Story is one of my favorite songs period. I wanted to buy a copy of this cd for everybody I knew for christmas but couldn't find a single copy in stores (aside from the complete Columbia recordings). Do yourself a favor and snatch it while you can. (Or just get the complete columbia recordings if you also like awesome space funk jazz)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUNKY!, February 14, 2003
By 
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
This album is amazing, I also cannot rave about it enough. Tight grooves throughout and funky beyond belief. Somehow this album has been forgotten in the Herbie catalog, but glad to see it's in print again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (almost) my favorite music, July 3, 2003
By 
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
I love that James Brown instrumental "Night Train"
and when I put this disc into a player and heard first
half minutes I knew that this was something mind blowing.
Just like "Night Train", songs on this CD have some catchy
riffs and then soulful saxophone (and other) solos.
Sometimes this CD is said to be soul-jazz, and sometimes
funk-jazz. The truth is that some tracks are like
instrumental soul and some others are like funk (4, 6, & 7).
This CD has a very interesting background (because it was Herbie's first
really funky album) so it is pity that liner notes
are not very informative.
I have been looking any other album that included same
style of music as this but in vain. Herbie has not made
any other CD like this (Headhunters sounds very different
as you can hear) and other "soul-jazz" CDs that I have
heard sound more like hard-bop than soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short Album Review - Herbie Hancock - Fat Albert Rotunda, May 19, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
Herbie Hancock is one of the greatest jazz and funk players of all time and this album and others recorded around the mid 70's reveals this in full groove splender. This is a brilliant album full of fat funky grooves. I cannot rave about it enough. Also available in 2-cd set with other (more spacey) songs of the warner brother period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Funky, December 13, 2002
By 
M. Detko "detkoralph" (Scarborough, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
Great album - first a correction, Herbie did not write the music for Bill Cosby's classic Saturday morning cartoon series. This music is the soundtrack for an animated one-off "special" which showed on TV somewhere around 1969. I recall seeing it (I was 9 at the time) and recall loving the music, and that the animation had a great sense of style, sort of like Spider-Man. I recall almost nothing of the cartoon nor have I ever seen it anywhere since. I came across this album on vinyl about 15 years ago and had a thrill putting it on. The music is very funky but a little static with repetitive grooves and horn sections which are a background for Herbie to solo on electric piano. A notable exception is "Tell Me a Bedtime Story", a beautiful ensemble piece, a funk ballad, worth the price of admission. The other tunes feature a lot of late-60's fuzz guitar riffs with understated Rhodes underneath. Kind of lightweight for Hancock, especially considering the great musicians featured, but fun and funky too. Remember that this is soundtrack music so it is subdued. Very nostalgic 60's funk sound to the album as a whole. The Spider-Man comparison can almost fit to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - Probably THE model for the Crusaders' Sound, April 11, 2008
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
If you like the early Crusaders, you will love Fat Albert Rotunda - Guaranteed. In fact, I do strong suspect this was the model for the Crusaders after they dropped "Jazz" from their moniker and re-invented their sound. The early Crusaders releases are strikingly similar to this music. My only complaint is that there isn't more of the music than is offered. You just want it to keep on going and going. It is a much better buy to pick up Herbie Hancock - The Complete Warner Bros Recordings. For a mere $2.00 more you get this release plus Mwandishi and Crossings which are also great fusion releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, July 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fat Albert Rotunda (Audio CD)
read that he had done the music for Fat Albert and decided to grab this disc. There are some really funky moments. A very "listener" friendly funk/jazz album. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fat Albert Rotunda
Fat Albert Rotunda by Herbie Hancock (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.