Customer Reviews


271 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girlfriend Ain't RIGHT!!
This film did more for a return to monogomy than any social diseases! I've just re-watched this flick, and it's just as effective as when I first viewed it. Picture a younger Baby Jane Hudson combined with Jaws, and that's pretty much "Alex", Glenn Closes' woman scorned. Michael Douglas, as the typical, successful, arrogant, mid-'80's Yuppie, who, though perfectly nested...
Published on June 17, 2002 by F. Gentile

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Aspects, But Flawed
Sometimes we have great ideas and potential, and we may hold onto a lot of the great aspects, but we just can't work out the bugs. If we watch this movie fairly and objectively, we can see that this is most certainly the case here.

To make a long story short, Douglas is a good lawyer who is going through the stress of climbing the ladder of success. He has...
Published on June 2, 2009 by Bradley Headstone


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girlfriend Ain't RIGHT!!, June 17, 2002
By 
F. Gentile (Lake Worth, Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fatal Attraction [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film did more for a return to monogomy than any social diseases! I've just re-watched this flick, and it's just as effective as when I first viewed it. Picture a younger Baby Jane Hudson combined with Jaws, and that's pretty much "Alex", Glenn Closes' woman scorned. Michael Douglas, as the typical, successful, arrogant, mid-'80's Yuppie, who, though perfectly nested in a seemingly great marriage to gorgeous, giving, Anne Archer, has to prove he's still a desirable stud by having a "casual" (WRONG!!) fling with Closes' "Alex", a sexy, also seemingly sophisticated associate of his. She initially gives the impression she wants the same thing as he, a "no strings attached" sex-fest, but, after a 24 hour marathon, while wifey is out of town, it begins to become apparent that Alex is becoming just a teensy bit possessive, and when Douglas, as diplomatically as possible, tries to explain to her that he's happily married, and it's dumpster time, Miss Alex IS NOT buying it. The ensuing harassment of he and his family, which starts with pranks from Alex to express her displeasure, turns into a horror-ride that will have your emotions tap dancing faster than Ann Miller!! Some people feel the need to rationalize the entirety of a film, "why'd she do that", that wouldn't happen", etc... not me. With a film like this, it either entertained me, or didn't. Well, this one certainly did. I found all the acting excellant, and the situation not all that unbelievable. Though "over the top", it is a non-stop ride of suspense as Douglas' nightmare (and life) un-folds. I recall there were some copy-cat flicks made shortly after this came out, trying to duplicate what this film has. Well, they didn't succeed, and were soon forgotten. I feel that this film, with its great cast , production, intelligent script, and direction, will not be topped for films of it's kind, and will stand the test of time. It pushes ALL the buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Ain't Fiction, March 31, 2004
By A Customer
I always thought this film was totally unrealistic, just WAY too over the top in its presentation of the Alex Forrest character. Her initial little quirks, her escalating manipulation, her ultimate eruption into wholesale psychosis -- I lalways thought, "Oh pshaw, this is a cartoon! This is a movie-writer's concoction!"
And then: It happened to me (though not exactly the same circumstances... we both were single). I met a genuine borderline personality disorder, and that person behaved EXACTLY like Alex Forrest (though stopping short of rabbit boiling and knife violence). I watched the film again later, and was astounded at how well the details of borderline personality disorder were captured, the self-delusion, the emotional coercion, the complete disintegration of logic and final loss of control.
This is a great movie. And believe me, there really are people with all the tools (or lack thereof) necessary for becoming Alex Forrest in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my wedding ring?, November 30, 2003
This review is from: Fatal Attraction [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Let's face it: we're guys. Wandering eyes. A perceptive inclination to gander at a short skirt, a hint of cleavage, a heart-pounding hip wiggle. I ran smack dab into a door the last time I gawked, but consider myself darn lucky compared to Michael Douglas' character in FATAL ATTRACTION--a white-knuckled "don't-let-this-happen-to-you" thriller that vividly demonstrates what can happen to a guy when he lets other parts of his anatomy do his thinking for him.
Manhattan lawyer Dan Gallagher (Douglas) has it all: successful career, attractive wife, loving daughter. So why not have an extramarital fling with a woman he met at a party while the family is out of town? Sure. Just a one-night stand. No harm, no foul. But there's something very "foul" about Dan's partner in crime, because blonde Alex Forrest (Glenn Close) may have all the right moves in the sack, but she also has an elevator that doesn't go all the way to the top. So when Dan wants to shake hands and part company, Alex will have none of it, and the table is set for a one-way ticket to Looney Land.
Let the stalking. . .the suspense. . .the thrills and chills. . .begin. The bathroom scene, in which Dan's frazzled wife Beth (Anne Archer) wipes the steam off the mirror, is worth the price of purchase of this video alone.
Director Adrian Lyne (as usual) delivers a gripping, antacid-popping story. The only positive in FATAL ATTRACTION was the fact all this bad stuff happened to an attorney. Like, how sad. I'd like to write more, but I hear the wife calling--something about all the hair in the sink. Don't want to get her riled.
--D. Mikels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spellbinding performances and superior dialogue help make this irresistible despite its shortcomings, November 17, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although it may seem hard to believe for many of today's viewers, 1987's "Fatal Attraction" was considered to be quite a breakthrough upon its release. There was even a lot of trouble in getting it off the ground because it was considered too risque and uncommercial.

"Fatal Attraction" was built up from a short film by screenwriter James Dearden, and the plot is admittedly pretty basic and straightforward. Michael Douglas plays Dan Gallagher, a lawyer who's been married for 9 years to his wife Beth, played by Anne Archer. Dan crosses paths with the Glenn Close character Alex Forrest for the first time at a business meeting. Instantly attracted to her, he introduces himself to her, and when Beth goes on a weekend vacation... Well, you can see where this is ultimately heading.

Don't get the wrong idea though thinking that "Fatal Attraction" is an airheadedly assembled movie. The premise may be simple, and the movie does kinda fall apart near the end, but apart from this, the scripting is masterful, the performances from Douglas and Close are intense and spellbinding, and Adrian Lyne's phenomenal, no-holds-barred directing keeps the suspense level ultra-high and the atmosphere just right throughout. The movie also sucks you with in how realistic most of it feels--just check out the one-on-one dinner scene early on in the movie where Dan tells Alex that his wife is out of town--Douglas and Close absolutely go to town with this brilliantly-realized, compulsively watchable scene.

Many viewers have complained that the movie doesn't zero in enough on why Dan would cheat on his wife in the first place. However, the movie does make it clear that Dan is somehow feeling unsatisfied in his marriage. There's a very sly scene early in the movie where Beth is seen in bed with their 6-year-old daughter Ellen, forcing Dan to sleep elsewhere. Presumably Ellen is scared or just can't sleep, and yet when Beth informs Dan it'll just be for that one night, you can detect a sense of disgust from Dan--clearly, Dan's feeling unsatisfied in his marriage.

The ending of the movie that was used for its theatrical release is highly debatable, and how you feel about it depends on the kind of person you are. If you're the kind who feels that a man cheating on his wife is inevitable and bound to happen once or twice, then the movie's official ending will probably be satisfying to you; the producers seemed to feel that this is how the majority of the public feels, hence their decision to end the movie this way and make it more "accessible". However, if you find cheating to be flat out inexcusable, you'll probably find it to be an incomplete, unresolved movie. I see where the producers were coming from, but I feel they could have done better. Alex Forrest is a deeply disturbed individual who undoubtedly has been sexually abused before her encounter with Dan, but that certainly doesn't make her psychotic behavior acceptable. At the same time though, no one on the right mind is going to find Dan Gallagher to be a very likable man--he really is despicably selfish and deserves to suffer some for his actions. It's a shame that the movie doesn't dig deeper into the marital issues of Dan and Beth, and also that it doesn't reveal more about what goes through Dan's mind regarding his actions, including having apparently gotten Alex pregnant.

Ultimately, "Fatal Attraction" is flawed, but it sure is extremely entertaining and suspenseful, keeping you on the edge of your seat throughout, AND it sparked debate among its viewers about serious matters. All that said, "Fatal Attraction" deserves to be hailed as, at least, a near-classic.

The "Special Collector's Edition" DVD of "Fatal Attraction" is definitely THE version to have, containing tremendous bonus material that makes the whole experience even more worthwhile. For one thing, you get to see the original ending of the movie before it was changed for theatrical release. This original ending may not have the blood and guts of what was ultimately used for the movie, but it's extremely gripping and puts a whole new spin on things, and it's actually more effective and satisfying--it's a shame, on an artistic level, that it wasn't used for the movie. There's also a nicely done, highly informative featurette containing interview material from Douglas, Close, Archer, Lyne, and the producers Stanley R. Jaffe and Sherry Lansing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Rattling, May 9, 2003
By 
James Gibbons (Hawley, PA United States) - See all my reviews
With a hefty six Academy Award Nominations under its belt, Fatal Attraction is one of the most effective and intriguing thrillers ever made to date. Becoming a big hit in 1987 and years to come, Fatal Attraction crossed boundaries that film did not dare to cross in earlier years and caused this to be one of the most talked about films ever. With Adrian Lyne fresh of the FLASHDACE success, the direction makes this first so much better and more of a eye feast with everthing placed so logically. Many thrillers now have hints of ideas used in Fatal Attraction in them. Fatal Attraction was more than just a groundbreaking box-office hit.
Michael Douglas (giving an amazing performance) stars as Dan, a man married to a wonderful wife and father to a joyous daughter, who has dinner with a woman after a job meeting on the weekend when his wife goes to look at a new house. The woman, a stylish and sexy Glenn Close (who gives a nail-bittingly astonishing performance) whose character's name is Alex, first sees Dan at a book party when they have a quick chat together at the bar. When at dinner Alex begins to bring up the idea that they are two lonely adults both looking for some fun, and the next thing we know they are in the apartment.
After this one-night stand, Dan returns home to a call that his wife is staying another night because she could not go see the house. With another night of no wife, Dan gets a call from Alex who persudes Dan to spend another night with her. After contemplating another night of doing his relationship wrong, Dan goes back to Alex. Later in the film, Dan tries to shrug Alex away from him, but Alex will not feel like a "slut that Dan can bang when he feels". Now the terror begins. A loving father and a loving husband who has an affair tries to get back into a normal family life but the thought of Alex always searching for him and the thought of her being able to tell his wife whenever she gets in a bad mood, frightens him.
With chills and intrigument galore, Fatal Attraction turns into a mindblowing plot twister. The cast is fantastic, with career roles for both Michael Douglas and Glenn Close. Director Adrian Lyne shows an understanding of how to turn the visual screws with his camera movement and angles. Fatal Attraction turned out to be steep competition for all films and thrillers made in the years following. With both critical and movie-goer praise, this film seemed to impress all who watched.
The DVD includes over three hours of bonus material that includes the following: Commentary Track, Featurette, Rehearsal Footage of both Michael Douglas and Glenn Close, Alternate Ending, and the Theatrical Trailer. Whether you've seen this film or plan on seeing it, you will agree with me that this film is an ultimate thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Aspects, But Flawed, June 2, 2009
Sometimes we have great ideas and potential, and we may hold onto a lot of the great aspects, but we just can't work out the bugs. If we watch this movie fairly and objectively, we can see that this is most certainly the case here.

To make a long story short, Douglas is a good lawyer who is going through the stress of climbing the ladder of success. He has friends and a nice wife, as well as a 6 year old daughter. He meets an editor (Glenn Close) through work and he quickly has an affair with her. We are allowed to think that possibly, Douglas's wife was paying too much attention to the daughter and ignoring him. Or perhaps Douglas was just stressed from his job. (Either way, we have some reason why he accepts the offer of an affair.)

Moving on, Douglas tries to go back to his legitimate life, but finds that Glenn Close is not going to tolerate being 'used' and then just dumped in the garbage. To complicate things further, Douglas has made Glenn Close pregnant. (Great so far.)

Now, here is where we run into problems. The story tries to make Glenn Close out to be the villain. But let's be honest here. She did NOT FORCE Douglas to sleep with her. Douglas agreed to it. Then he tries to say he loves his wife and is happy with her. Well, Glenn Close is VERY RIGHT when she says: "If you were so happy with your wife, what were you doing with me?" And in all honesty, how can we not side with her a little when she says: "You had your fun, and now you just want to go back to your quiet life.

From here, the flaws start to get worse and worse. The simplest way I can put it is that the movie tries to make a hurt woman who has some psychological issues into an evil monster who has to be destroyed, and it tries to make the man who had an affair with her, got her pregnant, and wanted to just walk away as if nothing happened a hero. It just doesn't work.

A grand scale error is when Douglas goes to Close's house and brutally assaults her. Excuse me. This is a lawyer, and he doesn't know how stupid this is? (Even from a selfish standpoint, this is not going to help the matter if he wants Glenn Close arrested.) And even worse. Are we suppose to be cheering for him? Is it Glenn's fault that he consented to this affair? Is it Glenn's fault that he thought he could use her and walk away?

Reality check...A smarter man may have suggested a group therapy session with a psychologist....(And as a lawyer who understood confidentiality, he would have known his wife would never know about the affair from the mouth of the psychologist! The trip could have even been covered easily. He could have just said he was meeting with a client.)

Now the worst error. The original end (and at least we can see it as an extra on the dvd) tied things together nicely. Because of her severe depression and hopelessness, Glenn Close kills herself, and Douglas gets the blame because his prints were on the knife Glenn Killed herself with. (GREAT! And it underlines how stupid it was to go to Glenn's house and assault her.) In one option, Douglas was suppose to kill himself in prison. (Good) In the other option, Douglas's wife was to find evidence to clear him. (OK. A less disturbing, but still good end.)

But no. They choose the worst possible end they can. Let's see what's wrong. (Douglas consents to an affair with Close...He realizes you can't just sleep with someone and throw them in the trash...Glenn Close gets shot because Douglas had an affair with her...) This is a perfect example of an artificial (AND ABSURD) happy end that just doesn't fit.

Well, I should also say that Stuart Pankin does a good job of adding some badly needed comic relief in this movie.

SIDE NOTE: It is utterly absurd that Glenn Close became the most hated woman is America for playing this part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's trash, to be sure, but it's stylish, likeable trash., February 18, 2002
By 
D. Litton (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Fatal Attraction" isn't so much an erotic thriller as it is a stalker suspenser. Sure, the movie begins with the standard lurid sex scenes involving two respected actors pawing at each other like there's no tomorrow. But rather than succumb to such torrid displays of goofy, laughably cheesy eroticism, the material actually becomes interesting in its second half, building a solid sense of menace and intensity around the mind games of its psychotic centerfold.
Michael Douglas stars as Dan Gallagher, a lawyer whose firm's clients include a well-known publishing company in New York City. His wife, Beth (Anne Archer), has hopes of moving out of their city apartment and buying a house in Bedford, where she and their young daughter travel for the weekend. And as they say, when the cat's away, the mice will play, which is just what Dan does when he crosses paths with Alex Forrest (Glenn Close), an editor from the publishing company whom he spends the weekend with.
So far, so mediocre. The various conversations between characters meant to advance the plot are silly and ongoing, while the inevitable images of lustful satisfaction between Douglas and Close provide some unintentional laughs that seem to work in the film's favor. Once you see these two credible performers manhandling one another, you have a choice: you're either in or you're out.
The film picks up considerable momentum once the reality of the situation sets in. Dan realizes that he can't continue seeing Alex, who becomes embittered when he avoids her phone calls and dismisses her from his office after an invitation to the opera. As he tries to juggle his secret and keep up the pretence of happiness with his family, Alex acts as a thorn in his side that keeps inching deeper and deeper, until he acknowledges the fact that she is a real threat to his family's safety.
This turn of events isn't as unexpected as it would hope to be; from the various expressions of underlying menace that grace Close's face, we can already gather that she's cooking up more than just spaghetti for dinner. But, as we wait in breathless anticipation of Alex's next move, the shocks multiply, the suspense grows, and everything we initially thought about the film's beginning act is but a memory as we follow the plot into familiar yet overall satisfying grounds.
Much of this rests on the shoulders of Close, who carries her character so well that any inhibitions one may have about the extent to which her character will go are left behind. Alex's coolly-calculated, ultimately psychotic plan of attack gives way to moments of sheer lunacy that Close masters with little more than a delightfully menacing smirk. When Dan finally comes clean and gets the police involved, we know just what she's going to do, and how she's going to do it, but under such a brooding performance, it all seems fresh.
It's also quite nice to see Michael Douglas squirm as the victim of the movie's role-reversal, where this time, the woman makes all the rules. His performance here is commendable, and he does show a sincere amount of fear and worry over the revelation of his dark secret, and the safety of his wife and child. His scenes with Close carry their weight in sweaty-palms tension, as well as some sweet lessons about the consequences that he must face as a result of his affair.
If you have the stomach to stick with "Fatal Attraction," you may find yourself enjoying it for its acting zeal and wonderfully-executed second half. It's trash, to be sure, but it's stylish, likeable trash, made so by a predictable plot tailored with a low-lying charge of intensity that grips the viewer by the hair until the blazing, bloody end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost, September 26, 2003
Except for the final scene (which I suspect was "borrowed" from Henri-Georges Clouzot's Diabolique), this is a solid film. In it, Director Adrian Lyne examines the consequences of a one-night affair involving two very attractive people, Alex Forrest (Glenn Close) who is single and Dan Gallagher (Michael Douglas) who is married and a parent of young children. While Beth Gallagher (Anne Archer, also "borrowed," from Jack Ryan) and the children are visiting her mother, Dan unexpectedly finds himself having drinks and then dinner with Alex. They feel an immediate and powerful sexual attraction to each other. Later, they spend the night in her loft apartment. Insofar as he's concerned, it was a memorable night, thanks ever so much, but that's it. Alex reacts differently, at first asking and then demanding that they continue the relationship. She even claims to be pregnant and at one point attempts suicide. Of course, all this is not what Dan had in mind but Alex forces him to recognize the significance of his adultery.
The acting is consistently strong but the screenplay allows for almost no character development, nor are the nature and extent of Alex's psychological problems ever revealed or even explored. Obviously, she is lonely and delusional as well as envious of the lifestyle Beth and Dan share. Only an actor possessed of Glenn Close's talents and temperament could reveal (albeit only in brief moments) Alex's tenderness which helps to explain her vulnerability to both real and perceived grievances. After seeing the film again, I still think the final scene in the upstairs bathroom doesn't work. In fact, I think it detracts from the narrative development which precedes it. On balance, however, Fatal Attraction offers solid entertainment even as it raises (at least in my mind) questions about the two main characters and their relationship which, for whatever reasons, Lyne and/or his screenwriters do not address in the film.
Hence my interest in the special features provided with the DVD version. They include a commentary by Lyne, "Forever Fatal: Remembering `Fatal Attraction'" (which offers new, exclusive cast and crew interviews), "Social Attraction" (an analysis of the cultural phenomenon of a fatal attraction), "Visual Attraction" (a behind-the-scenes production featurette), rehearsal footage, and the alternate ending introduced by Lyne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray: Nothing new added to the Blu-ray release from the 2007 SE DVD Edition but for those who want it in HD, def. worth it!, June 11, 2009
This review is from: Fatal Attraction [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In 1987, the thriller "FATAL ATTRACTION" was released into theaters and the film touched a nerve worldwide that it became a social phenomenon and a box office hit. The film jumpstarted a wave of many psychopath films right after but also generated fear for men who have ever contemplated an extramarital affair.

The film was directed by Adrian Lyne ("Indecent Proposal" and "Nine 1/2 Weeks") and was produced by Sherry Lansing and Stanley R. Jaffe (both worked on "Indecent Proposal", "Black Rain" and "The Accused"). The film also featured the talents of composer Maurice Jarre ("I Dreamed of Africa", "Sunshine", "Dead Poets Society", "Jacob's Ladder" and "Ghost") and cinematographer Howard Atherton ("Indecent Proposal", "Deep Rising" and "Lolita").

The film would star well-known talents such as Michael Douglas ("Basic Instinct", "Wall Street" and "A Perfect Murder"), Glenn Close ("Air Force One", "Damages" and "Hook") and Anne Archer ("Privileged", "Rules of Engagement" and "The Art of War").

Needless to say, "FATAL ATTRACTION" had elements of the 1971 film "Play Misty & Me" but shocked America and the world of the implications of a one night stand, hurting the people around you and to be careful of the unknown and in this case, the unknown was having a one night stand with a psychopath.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"FATAL ATTRACTION" gets its first HD treatment on Blu-ray via 1080p High Definition. The film looks great for a film of its age. Because it was shot in 1987 and seeing many films in the late 80's and early 90's being heavily DNR'd (digital noise reduction) and looking too soft in picture quality, "FATAL ATTRACTION" definitely showcases the detail of the surroundings but also brings out the grain throughout the film. Personally, I would have grain (since it's part of film) rather than excessive DNR and edge enhancement.

The film showcases its vibrancy in colors during the outdoor segments but the indoor segments, really interesting use of lighting to show the differences between Daniel's home and Alex's home and how things continually got darker and darker. "FATAL ATTRACTION" doesn't have the cleanest picture quality but compared to its DVD counterpart, this is probably the best we are going to see of this film on High Definition. Blacks are nice and deep and I didn't see any major compression artifacts or dust.

As for the audio, the film is presented in English 5.1 Dolby TrueHD (including French Dolby Surround and Spanish mono). "FATAL ATTRACTION" is primarily a dialogue-based film where moods and ambiance is brought to life by the music of Maurice Jarre. Overall, dialogue is clean and understandable and music is quite clear.

There are some scenes where you can hear the New York surroundings and crowded scenes (such as the party scene) where you can hear the people around the room. But to tell you the truth, I felt the audio was front channel heavy. I didn't hear much coming from the rear surrounds but the subtle noises as the chilling water drips near the end to the operatic music of Madame Butterfly come quite clear in audio but then, even the single gun shot noise that you hear in the film really doesn't have any punch to it. But in the end, it's the acting and the dialogue that is the priority and how the music enhances the moods of love, sex, despair and violence is what I felt was most important and those two things come clear through the lossless audio.

As for subtitles, "FATAL ATTRACTION" is presented in English, English SDH, French, Spanish and Portuguese.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"FATAL ATTRACTION" comes with the same special features that came on the 2007 DVD Special Edition release. There is nothing that is new to the Blu-ray but the alternate ending and the trailer are featured in HD. Included are:

* Commentary by Adrian Lyne - I have watched a few films with commentary by Adrian Lyne and he's the first person to tell you that he doesn't have the greatest memory. With that being said, with his commentary for "FATAL ATTRACTION", he does remember enough to discuss the details of making the film and talks about it in detail. Especially how many cuts it took for certain scenes, working with the talents such as Michael Douglas, Glenn Close, Ann Archer and the child Ellen Hamilton Latzen. Lyne is upfront about having to reshoot ending and his thoughts of the ending on the final cut of the film. But like previous Lyne commentaries, there are times when he just stops talking. Perhaps watching the film again has captured his attention for a short while. Lyne's commentary is also a bit soft and low, so you may need to turn your speakers up a bit.
* Forever Fatal: Remembering Fatal Attraction - Cast & Crew Interviews - (28:15) A wonderful featurette about the making of the film. From working with James Dearden and then finding the talent who would be right for the film (Michael Douglas was already in consideration) and why they chose the talent to portray those roles but also learning how no studio or director wanted to do the film. What was amazing to hear is how Glenn Close fought for the original ending. As an actress so into her craft, she researched her role for Alex Forrest and felt the ending was perfect but at the screening of the preview, audiences disliked the ending and thus they reshot the ending to the film despite Glenn Close being against it. And of course, discussion about how the film became a phenomenon and the worldwide media coverage that it received. Presented in Standard Definition.
* Social Attraction - The Cultural Phenomenon of Fatal Attraction - (10:00) "FATAL ATTRACTION" became a cultural phenomenon. On one side, it received media coverage because of how shocking the thriller was. The film became popular among psychiatrists but the film also received backlash by feminists. Presented in Standard Definition.
* Visual Attraction - Behind-the-Scenes Production Featurette - (19:39) In order to create the world of "FATAL ATTRACTION", a lot was done in set design, makeup and just creating this overall, visual sense of the film.
* Rehearsal Footage - (7:05) The original rehearsal footage of Glenn lose and Ann Archer. If you thought their acting was powerful in the film, the rehearsals were just as powerful! Presented in Standard Definition.
* Alternate Ending with an Introduction by Adrian Lyne (HD) - (11:51) The original "Madame Butterfly" ending. In the end, I would have to agree with the filmmaker and happy they changed the ending for the final cut.
* Original Theatrical Trailer (HD) - (1:33) The original theatrical trailer presented in High Definition.

JUDGMENT CALL:

I'm not going to lie to you, "FATAL ATTRACTION" scared the crap out of me when I first watched it many years ago and it scared the crap out of me watching it again over 20 years later.

I remember it becoming a cultural phenomenon, in my opinion, because "one night stands" are always shown as things that happen in life but the film shows us the ramifications and the dark side that exist. Sure, we would see a break up of a relationship or a divorce from infidelity on film but "FATAL ATTRACTION" explores the side heavily and doesn't miss a heartbeat. Instantly, showing us a woman who would not be ignored, has some psychological problems and how she became obsessed.

You can analyze this film on the psychiatric side of things or the human-side of things and ask yourself, who is at fault? Who is the victim? In a way, all are victims in a way.

The film was powerful in a sense that Glenn Close played Alex Forrest, a troubled woman just perfectly. Her gaze, her look, everything about her sent shivers down my spine. But its what Glenn Close said on the special features that when playing the part, she felt there was some major trauma that this woman had gone through long ago to be this way. And Close did a good job of researching and bringing this character out and making her alive, but also terrifying.

Michael Douglas is just the "everyman" in this role. A normal, hardworking person with a family that he loves but now has to deal with the ramifications of his extramarital affair and the implications it has on his family, to Alex and to himself. Anne Archer as Beth was the wife one would want. A good mother, loving wife and it's just unfortunate that like in real life, even these good people become a victim. Fortunately, for Archer's character, despite the loving, family and caring tendencies, she's also a strong woman who will not let anything happen to her family. Archer's chemistry with Douglas was also terrific to watch.

I think that the alternate and original ending to the film can be debated. I've read that critics prefer the original but of course, the one that was reshot and is in the final cut was what was needed to please the audience. It was great to hear every on the film comment about having to reshoot the scene.

I'm just glad that all special features from the 2007 DVD Special Edition are included on this Blu-ray release. Although, nothing new added to the Blu-ray, "FATAL ATTRACTION" is still a solid Blu-ray release.

"FATAL ATTRACTION" is a well-done thriller. The acting is terrific, the screenplay was absolutely captivating and yet terrifying. For those wanting an excellent thriller for their Blu-ray collection, you can't go wrong with this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PLAY MISTY FOR ME IS BETTER!, July 20, 2005
By 
Patski (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
The initial "Fatal Attraction" film, "Play Misty For Me" is loads better than this. This film is not without its merits however. Fine performances by the leads and taut direction with no lulls in the plot! Glenn Close appears very unattractive in this film (but then again, she isn't very attractive especially with that tangled hair). She looks like a psycho. One cannnot understand the motivation behind Douglas's character sleeping with her....especially when he has the gorgeous Anne Archer as his wife!! What man in HIS right mind would want to cheat on someone like her??? There is nothing in the script to justify his infidelity. This makes the story less plausible than it could have been, unlike "Play Misty" which involves a single man with a one night stand that went terribly awry. The ending packs a wallop with Douglas, Archer and Close in the bathtub sequence. It would have been helpful though to find out if Close was really pregnant or not. Psychos are pathological liars and will say anything to further their own purposes. Close succeeds brilliantly on all counts and is a great villainness. The screenplay hits another snag in the sequence where Close (Alex) kidnaps the little girl and takes her to the amusement park. There is nothing to show how this is built up? Does she just show up at the school and take the child? The child would be terrified and there would be cause for concern...unless there was no one around, which is highly unlikely. Or does she show up at the school and beguile the little girl with a story of how she is her mother's friend and her mother asked her to pick her up and take her to the amusement park. None of this is shown. All we see is Close and the little girl riding around in a rollercoaster, the little girl having the time of her life, not the least bit afraid. This would have been all right if it had been properly set up, but it wasn't. Also, if I knew there was pyscho threatning my family I would have warned my child to not talk to any strangers!! This is where the plot falls flat. Plus, didn't home security systems exist in 1987???? Or did they just forget to lock their doors when they went to the grandparents house and Close snuck in and started the rabbit stew?? Totally unbelievable. That's why this film merits only 3 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fatal Attraction [Blu-ray]
Fatal Attraction [Blu-ray] by Anne Archer (Blu-ray - 2009)
$14.99 $11.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.