Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars [3.5] There's a new sheriff in town
Wu Jing made his presence quite known in the wonderful Kill Zone movie, which was originally recognized for Donnie Yen vs Sammo Hung, but some people like myself may have found the Donnie Yen vs Wu Jing fight the real highlight of the film. Wu Jing was very memorable. I was very pleased to learn that another HK martial arts movie would be continuing to showcase his...
Published on January 23, 2008 by dominion_ruler

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wu Jing deserves a better vehicle than this
I have never seen an unassuming martial arts movie go so bad so fast. Fatal Contact stars Wu Jing in an ill-defined role in a very thin plot line about underground fighting in Hong Kong. That's not a huge problem though because there's a lot of charm and grit to the majority of Fatal Contact. The movie allows plenty of opportunities for Jing to show off his skills, and...
Published on January 9, 2011 by thepete8


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars [3.5] There's a new sheriff in town, January 23, 2008
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
Wu Jing made his presence quite known in the wonderful Kill Zone movie, which was originally recognized for Donnie Yen vs Sammo Hung, but some people like myself may have found the Donnie Yen vs Wu Jing fight the real highlight of the film. Wu Jing was very memorable. I was very pleased to learn that another HK martial arts movie would be continuing to showcase his talents, this time, by putting him as the lead role in "Fatal Contact". While in Kill Zone he played a villain, he's a good guy here - in fact, a very good guy, too good. As the story describes on the reverse dvd cover "he is a young naive man". That actually got to be nearly annoying early on, but in the end, that sets things up for a better story.

Not that I purchased this for story, but I was rather amazed. Like Kill Zone, there is emotion to this film and depth between characters. You wouldn't expect this from things early on in the film. This movie gets a slow start, and even slow with the action. But that is the beauty of it in the end. The film slowly gets darker and deeper, and the action...yeah, as expected is teriffic.

In the end it is all about the action. Wu Jing is definetly in top shape here. He's extremely athletic, fast and powerful. His moves and style are very refreshing to the martial arts genre. The directing and choreographer certainly worked well with this guy, and it shows in every breathtaking scene. The action in the film is nearly all one on one fights, and while they begin kinda slow and short, each fight gets longer and more brutal. I was expecting the climax of the film to be a huge fight, but instead it focuses on a very important element to the story. It's still not dissapointing, but it's not a fight scene so much.

Like many will point out, Chan an Li are going to be gone soon, and surely missed. We certainly don't want the genre to leave them. They can never be replaced, but when you got guys like Tony Jaa and now Wu Jing, things ar looking good for the future of ths genre. Fatal Contact could have been better overall, as the story is not great, but still above average for this genre. It comes down to martial arts action, and even more so, watching Wu Jing in action.

Action - 4.5
Characters - 3.5
Dubbing - 2.5
Story - 3.5
Overall - 3.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wu Jing kicks his way into a starring role... finally!, January 22, 2008
By 
Mantis (Detroit, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
I won't dive too deep into this. For one, it's pretty shallow. For two, you need to see it for yourself. The fast and graceful Wu Jing plays Kong, a martial artist who performs for the (contemporary) opera. His athletic prowess is observed by some gangsters, who offer him some lucrative pay to fight in underground matches for them. He declines, of course, then is persuaded by the girl he likes. She is attracted to money, and she likes watching other guys get their tails kicked. She's also really hot, so he decides to go for it. After he wins a couple of matches, his girl negotiates better pay and higher stakes. A rival gangster (a pimped out Ken Lo), whose fighters have all lost to Kong, is determined to beat him. So the matches get more and more dangerous.

Like "The Protector", this movie is short on plot and heavy on fights. The plot in this is WAY more coherent, but the fights aren't nearly as plentiful. This is more of a heart-breaker because with some tightening up, it could've been a good movie all around. With fights like these though, I'll take what I can get. These are some of, if not THE best fights that I've ever seen. This is the type of choreography (by Nicky Li, a former member of Jackie Chan's stunt team) and editing that should be done in ALL fight movies. The brawls are FAST, creative, tough, and athletic.

Dragon Dynasty gives us a great version with plenty of special features. I haven't watched any of them yet. I didn't think that the extras were necessary to recommend the film. The English dub is bad, so I would recommend the subtitles. I don't know who this is on the cover though. It really doesn't look like Wu Jing at all. -1 star for plot. 5 stars for fights. 5-1=4

2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REALLY VERY GOOD, March 22, 2011
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
FATAL CONTACT

As any of you may know I am a huge Asian Cinema fan and would like to think I own a nice collection. Years ago I came across a film named Underground Fist and of course had to have it since a "SPL" [or Killzone] cast member that impressed me was starring. His name of course is Wu Jing and were he played a villain in that film he is the lead "good guy" here in this one. I of course had to have it and watch so I did and found it to be a very good film. Still while not perfect I liked it for reason other than the fighting [still liked that though].

The film follows a young man named Kong [Wu Jing] after he is finished one night performing in an Opera. In attendance were some gangsters representing a man interested in Kong for his athletic abilities, they of course work for a man who promotes underground fighting. At first Kong is against it and wants nothing to do with it but a girl named Siu Tin [Miki Yeung] convinces him to give it a shot. As he is all about this girl he agrees and his mission to fight for cash is underway. He is given a place to stay by the boss at another employ's place, his name is Chan Shing aka Captain [Ronald Cheng]. The tree quickly begin to bond and form a friendship as a rival underground promoter looks to take Kong out.

I know that you may be saying that the story is one that has been told before, and that is true. But what surprised me here and what I loved most about the film was the relationship between the three and the chemistry between the three characters and actors. There was much more to this film than the fighting as the three friends are allowed to grow as characters and with each other. Wu Jing not only got to shine here with his martial arts performance [he is the real deal] but got to show some of his acting abilities as well. Miki Yeung was the perfect good girl gone bad type character that you believe Kong could fall in love with. She was very well cast here in this film was Ronald Cheng who stole the show as far as acting. His comedic timing was a great release in the film plus he was very good in his own fight scenes as well.

Speaking of fighting Jing was the right man for the job here as he is quick and deadly but smooth at the same time. But I would really like to point out that my favorite scenes in the film would most likely be the training scenes. When Kong needs to train it is the Captain that does it and the official training scenes are both funny and realistic. Still the scene in which Cap takes some bowls from a beggar and has Kong work is combinations and hands on those is excellent. Honestly that scene is what I pictured would play at an awards show when they said this film as a nomination. You know what I mean like at the Oscars the presenter will say "insert movie title" and then a scene will play, this is the scene I pictured would play.

The film falters at times when it goes more into the dramatic area to heavily or quickly but the cast makes it work. Written and directed by Dennis Law and chorographed by Nicky Li who is a member of the Jackie Chan Stunt Team. The movie is not perfect but it is really enjoyable. I do highly recommend a viewing and also get the Dragon Dyansty release as it is a 2 Disc special addition with all kinds of goodies. My favorite of those goodies is the audio commentary from writer/director Dennis Law and Dragon Dynasty vet Bey Logan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Contact has fatal flaw (like us all), September 19, 2009
By 
Monte F. Davis "Freeman MD" (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
Jacky Wu Jing just pwned himself into my 'All Time Favorite's' list. Believe me it is not because of the supporting female actresses either. The story seems like it was too complicated for the studio to really produce. That is the fatal flaw of Fatal Contact. OK! Overlook that and hold onto your moms tv nunchaku, (remote), because these guys are making a martial arts movie simply to showcase martial arts. All kinds of styles, including dance style. LOL. Jacky Wu Jing handles these underground fight gangsters like it was Martial Arts Christmas! Prepare to be given the gift of gape! (jaw hanging open, "whoa!" being uttered, and rewind being activated along with frame by frame." One other thing, count how many times Wu Jing hits that karate dude! Whoa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most exciting underground fighting bet movies, June 6, 2007
By 
JustAReader "NoNeed2Comment" (Major Earthquake Faultline) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
okay, here's another good news for the fans of 'fight club' genre movie. the 'fatal contact' is one of the best and most exciting blood-in, blood-out fighting movies ever made into a movie. wu jing, the young man who played that amazing fighting machine, is a shooting star-like new phenomenon that timely took over the aging jet li and on par with the thai rising star, tony jaa. his fighting technique is so perfect and so exciting, his only weakness is that he got a too gentle and kind face, but his acting performance is also so natural and fluent.
okay, let's go back to the movie itself:
the screenplay could and should be better, but it ended up like a wimpy, childish and almost foolish one, badly scripted with poor dialog. there were moments that this movie seemed to be checked on hold unconsciously, often dragged a little bit, like the screenplay writer suddenly lost his clue and didn't know how to go on, slowing down the tempo and the flow of the movie a lot. and it's too locally hongkong feeling. a screenplay only deserved 2 stars as the highest could go.
the fighting scenes arrangement were also done poorly, how come those fights involved so much money got almost no audience?? if the bet and the stakes were so high, why there's no audience? i didn't see any pay-per-view live broadcastging, i didn't see audience over 30 people, i didn't see the gone-crazy betting before each fight. the settings and the manpower seemed to be limited to the least. was it because the production budget too low or what?
but besides these shortcomings, the fightings that wu jing carried out were the most recent excitement i've ever experienced. this is highly recommended, if you were not too picky about what i've pointed out here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 ˝ Stars: Wu Jing's martial arts prowess are the true highlights of this action-drama.., September 22, 2007
By 
Woopak "The THRILL" (Where Dark Asian Knights Dwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
FATAL CONTACT (aka. Underground Fist) is the latest martial arts action film directed by Dennis Law. Jackie Chan is getting old, Jet Li is also getting old and may be retiring from the Wuxia foray (don't think so) and Donnie Yen is, well, always being Donnie "COOL" Yen. Wu Jing, after SPL (aka. Killzone) looks to be the next promising new action star. Martial arts fans are clamoring for a new action hero, Wu Jing's charisma and actual fighting savvy make him a top competitor. (He is the national Wu Shu champ in real life) Aside from Tony Jaa from Thailand, who will make the cut? Director Law thinks Wu Jing can make the cut and he gives him the lead role after the terrific "SPL".

Derived partially from back cover:
A young martial arts champion from Mainland China Kong, came to Hong Kong on a short contract with an opera group. Lured by the promise of wealth into the world of underground full-contact fighting world by a gambling boss and encouraged with his girlfriend Tin (Miki Yeung), Kong brilliant fighting style changes the game. Win after win, Kong becomes unbeatable in the arena. A rival boss seeks a fighter capable of defeating him but Kong still defeats all comers.
Now, Kong realizes that there is more to this underground world than fighting and winning. Kong thought he was in control and he was only using his body and skills for financial gain, but eventually he may end up losing more than he had first bargained for.

The main draw for Fatal Contact would be the extensive fight scenes. A bit of wires were used, but I have to admit that Wu Jing's martial arts prowess is the true highlight of the film. He moves as quick and graceful as a cat, truly this film was tailor-made with his skills in mind. Wu Jing exhibits power and poise in the action sequences. The fights are brutal and fast-paced, bloody and stylized. To the fight director's credit, the fights don't lose its realism and doesn't become repetitive. The fight scenes are very fun to watch.
Kong's character is a showman, therefore, in the beginning it seemed like he lacked "killer instinct". The film successfully develops this aspect of Kong's character that you see him changing with each drag-out brawl. Kong's innocence and good nature slowly evolves into animal instinct.

Miki Yeung plays Tin, Kong's love interest. Her eye-catching way of wearing "short" shorts and her cute smile can captivate Kong as well as the audience. Ronald Cheng plays "Captain", a dopey low-level triad who assigned to take care of Kong. Cheng actually steals the show with his slapstick comedy, his comedic one-liners save the screenplay from the canned melodrama in the film. A lot of the drama falters, and a lot of issues arise, one of them is the role of Theresa Fu who is little more than a plot device to emphasize the burdened conscience of Miki Yeung's character Tin. There is a lot of tough existentialism in the film and the dialogue is too obligatory and the drama ends up hampering the film a little. The screenplay and the direction sometimes tries too hard to call attention to itself with its attempts to add "meat" to the simple plot; it ends up being pretentious. Characters tend to banter overlong with their hopes and dreams, their moral values which end up boring because the characters don't demonstrate said characteristics.

That said, at least the film's good points will please the fans of Wu Jing and Ronald Cheng. Once the film takes off with the action and the occasional comedy, the bad points may be forgiven. It does tend to focus more on its bad points but when viewers get a glimpse of the good points, it is a fun watch.

I have the 1-disc Hong Kong edition released last year.
VIDEO/AUDIO: 2.40 ANAMORPHIC WIDESCREEN. Nice transfer, colors are natural and contrast is sharp. Black levels are solid although somewhat muted in some scenes. 5.1 Dolby/5.1 DTS Cantonese Language track. English Subtitles are good and well timed.

Final remarks: Fatal Contact has the potential to be a very good action film, but it takes its desperate elements too seriously and executes them poorly. It fell to the usual canned melodrama in an attempt to add complicated issues to the simple plot. It's a bit disappointing that Wu Jing will not achieve superstardom from this film, a film can either "make" or "break" an action star. At least, "Fatal Contact" will not "break" Wu Jing. His other supporting roles in "TWINS MISSION"(Horrible) and "INVISIBLE TARGET"(sub-par) will hopefully be a sign for better roles for him. Wu Jing steals the show in these 2 features.
Recommended for action fans and worth a rental for everyone else. (3 ˝ - stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars way better than appreciated, January 18, 2009
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
let there be no doubt about this one thing : this is a total kickass movie. fantastic fights. but the last 15 minutes of the movie especially its bitter end seems to have turned most people off. this i think is primarily because the good guy always wins in most kung fu movies and this differing end took people by surprise/disappointment. but believe me once that surprise is off, when i watched it again i totally enjoyed it - even the ending. the movie's underlying theme is about the bitter life/struggle of the poor in hong kong. so the ending is aligned with this theme. i'm giving it 5 stars, though it is definitely 4+, just to pump up the ratings on amazon so that others needn't be turned off this great movie because of its low grading by amazon reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's no masterpiece...but it's fun, November 21, 2008
By 
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
I'm no martial arts movie expert like some of the other reviews here, but I am a big fan of these films, and most of the releases from Dragon Dynasty. Whether or not you will enjoy this film will probably depend on what you want out of it. If you are content with some great fights, and lots of them, you won't be disapointed. If you are looking for any real drama, you won't like it so much. I give it 4 stars because I'm in it for the fight scenes, and they were really good. I will say, without giving anything away, that there was little drama with the fights. You never really feel like there is any competition or threat of loss. I really enjoyed the film right up until the end, when someone thought they should throw in a twist that feels SO out of place, it is like they spliced it in from some other movie. I appreciate what it was trying to do, but it was like you are racing along in your ferrari, without a seatbelt on, and all of the sudden someone slams on the breaks, and you go flying, unsure of what exactly happened. If you can get over that though, its a fun movie, and fights worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jacky Wu IS the next Jet Li!, May 20, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
For those of you who are not familiar with this works, Jacky Wu is the up-and-coming martials star who is self proclaiming to be the next Jet Li. With the credit of this movie under his belt, he is well on his way to proving that point. I first took note of Jacky Wu in a movie called Tai Chi II. He astounded me with his use of tai-chi and his kicks were amazing. In Fatal Contact he has only proven to have gotten better over the years! His acting is well versed and his fluidity in martial arts styles is a force to be reckoned with. His acting can easily pass for Jet Li in his younger days and coupled with his fighting styles... Well, let's just say, you haven't seen Martial Arts until you've seen this movie. Some of the BEST Fighting you'll see next to Jet and Jacky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Action Movie That Shatters Genre Clichés, May 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Contact (DVD)
Anyone familiar with East Asian cinema knows that Bruce Lee is like some kind of revered God. Yes, he had great influence in many ways, but we need to stop lying to ourselves when thinking that his movies were any good - they weren't. With the exception of a few good martial arts maneuvers, his films are beyond awful. Horrible plot lines, horrible dialogue, horrible characters, horrible humor - and in many cases - subpar, repetitive, and boring action scenes.

Fast forward to the present: Wu Jing is one of the most talented action stars on the planet (along with Tony Jaa), and he definitely gets to show his goods in Fatal Contact. In fact, EVERYTHING in Fatal Contact is about 10 times better than ANYTHING Bruce Lee ever did. Now, that's not saying that Fatal Contact is the best martial arts film ever made, because it's really not that difficult to make a movie more entertaining than Bruce Lee's films. Even Jackie Chan's lesser efforts are better than anything good ole Bruce ever did. Hell, Jean Claude Van Damme had better movies, and that's not saying much.

During the opening 50 minutes of Fatal Contact there are a series of short (yet sweet) fights, but the two best action set pieces occur during the second half of the film as Wu takes on 3 street fighters (one played by ultra-cool Andy On) and a champion kickboxer, both of which are very well choreographed and violent. Quite literally, the fights seemingly explode on the screen with remarkable intensity. No doubt this is attributable to the choreography and the skill of the performers, as well as the soundtrack, but there's an X-factor here that's difficult to place. Whatever it is, Fatal Contact had me dodging and ducking in my seat along with the characters. A remarkable success indeed. As an added bonus, watch for the hilarious training sequence involving Wu's heavily padded girlfriend.

[..]In all honesty, I can't see the problem. Especially considering how some of the most revered "classics" of martial arts cinema have some of the worst plots and characters imaginable - which brings us to comparisons of those archaic Bruce Lee movies that seem to be popular more for sentimental reasons than actual film quality.

There are two reviews on IMDb as I write this (which proves in and of itself that this film is criminally ignored and underrated). Brucev13 says that the story is "ridiculous", but provides no compelling reasons as to why. He only says that this film "doesn't need the drama." This statement is actually quite ironic considering how many complain that nothing new is ever offered in martial arts films. Well, I can tell you this: No martial arts film in existence has ended quite like this one! Brucev13 also contends that the pace is "a bit slow." I disagree. The pacing is fine if you recognize that the most important character is Siu Tin (played by Miki Yeung) because she influences Wu and how he exerts his power. Every single sentence and action of Siu is an interesting character study that contributes a lot more to Fatal Contact than most other action movies are capable of achieving. Heck, that one friggin scene (you'll know when it happens) is FOREVER embedded into my mind, and will undoubtedly provoke "gasps" of shock from most viewers. You can't say that about the dramatic elements in ANY Jackie Chan or Jet Li movie. Fatal Contact should be commended for executing such an insanely unpredictable scene that is still completely consistent with previously established character psychology.

Now, I do think that the spacing of action is unorthodox here. A few fights are peppered throughout the opening 50 minutes, then the two action set piece showcases follow within the next half hour, leaving the final 30 minutes for . . . something else. And that's the heart of Fatal Contact: follow the "Martial Arts Movie Guide" to a T, only to then completely shatter genre conventions to provide a point that hits the viewer like a ton of bricks. Nicely done! Ace52387 claims that the "whole setup is pretty nonsensical" because "some guys walk into an opera performance, and somehow recognize skill in a performer." What Ace52387 doesn't realize is that those guys already knew that Wu was part of the National Kung Fu Team, and intentionally seeked him out by finding where he worked in his spare time. It's really not that difficult to understand if you pay attention.

Some have even gone so far as to criticize Wu Jing of overacting. Please! If Wu Jing overacts, what does that say about Bruce Lee? Heck, Bruce makes Donnie Yen look tame in terms of flailing arms, stupid screams, and cheesy mannerisms.

As far as the action choreography in Fatal Contact is concerned, virtually no one complains about it. And for good reason - it's awesome! And yes, it's much better than anything Bruce Lee ever did. In fact, the Wu Jing/Andy On fight is about 1,000 times better than the obscenely overrated Bruce Lee/Chuck Norris fight (or any of his other revered battles, for that matter).

When all is said and done, Fatal Contact provides remarkable action AS WELL AS an interesting scenario for the action to revolve around. In other words, it mops the floor with any Bruce Lee film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fatal Contact
Fatal Contact by Dennis Law (DVD - 2008)
$19.93
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.