Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Trip!!
What a trip! This book is eerie, one thrill after another. Kept me riveted from beginning to end. A real page turner! So good, I read it twice! Tried hard to guess the ending without success! Keep these coming. Can't wait for the next one!
Published on May 31, 2011 by Chris K

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unanswered questions
I enjoyed the story and it kept me interested. The characters were interesting but not as fleshed out as I like them to be. I wasn’t vested enough to care what happened to them. Also, the end seemed a bit rushed and I felt there were parts unexplained. I don’t want to go into detail as I don’t want spoilers but there were some stories that just left...
Published 19 days ago by Angel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Trip!!, May 31, 2011
This review is from: Fatal Storm (Chase Dagger Mysteries) (Paperback)
What a trip! This book is eerie, one thrill after another. Kept me riveted from beginning to end. A real page turner! So good, I read it twice! Tried hard to guess the ending without success! Keep these coming. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twilight Zone-style mystery, July 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Storm (Chase Dagger Mysteries) (Paperback)
Chase Dagger is still recovering both mentally and physically from when he'd been hurt a couple of months ago. He's physically healing at a fast rate due to having been given Sara's blood to save his life, but mentally he's dealing with the fact that he's not invincible. He's been on the run from Betta Tec for years, but only in the last book discovered he's got a tracking chip implanted in his neck. He's wearing a necklace that prevents it from working, but fears he should be on the run again. Sara finally has enough, shaves his beard and forces him to go back to investigating and take on a case of a man who disappeared 14 months ago.

At the same time, Sheila, Chase's rich and bratty ex-fiance, goes missing when at an old mansion with three ghost hunters during a violent storm. While the police are looking for her, Chase's missing man turns up dead on the same property with the scarf Sheila wore when she went missing, tied around his neck. By all accounts, the man was just killed, yet he's wearing the same clothes, has the same stomach contents, the 2 day-old tattoo that all matches the day he disappeared. Where has he been and how is everything the same? Chase, Sara, Padre and Skizzy spend the night with the ghost hunters in the mansion to find some answers.

What I love about this series is that even though Sara is a shapeshifter--as far as she knows she's the only one--it's nothing like the currently popular Urban Fantasy genre with vampires, demons, witches, etc. This is first and foremost a mystery and Chase is the only living person who knows what Sara is capable of. Yet they keep encountering cases that involve the paranormal, but with more of a Twilight Zone feel to them.

Within the five books we've seen Sara grow from a very shy, timid young girl into a more confident woman, although she still can't handle being in a crowd. Chase is fighting his feelings from her more than ever, believing he still needs to maintain a working relationship and look at her as an older brother. But his jealousy is evident when other males look at Sara. The slow pace of this apparently budding relationship is adding a nice level of tension.

The mystery is, as always, very interesting. The secondary characters are all on hand, although with most of the story taking place outside of the home, we don't get much interaction with Einstein, the parrot. With the last couple of books there was some forward movement in learning about Chase and Betta Tec. You won't find that in this story. In that aspect he's recovering from what happened in the last book and dealing with whether or not it would be best if he hit the road. That issue gets resolved, so I'm hoping for more forward motion in the next story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars taut Hoosier haunted house story, April 18, 2011
This review is from: Fatal Storm (Chase Dagger Mysteries) (Paperback)
Nineteen year old Sara Morningsky is a beautiful shapeshifter who can turn into a falcon and a wolf. Her grandmother insured she would be looked after; choosing private investigator Chase Dagger to watch over the innocent teen who has no concept of how ugly the world is. Together the pair has solved supernatural cases; while Chase fights his feeling although he knows deep in his soul he loves Sara as adult to adult and not parent or big brother to a child.

Four paranormal investigators are staying overnight in an allegedly haunted mansion near Cedar Point, Indiana when a storm breaks out. By morning, three remain as reporter Sheila Monroe vanished. On the grounds, a body of a man who disappeared over a year ago is found. However, instead of having the look of a person who vanished fourteen months ago, he appears to have left yesterday as his tattoo is still healing and his stomach contains the food he ate hours before he disappeared. Sara and Chase had been looking for that man so they decide to stay overnight to ascertain what is going on. A storm is heading their way and with it will be shockers for those occupying the house.

The fifth Chase Dagger thriller (see Chasing Ghosts and The Good Die Twice) deftly blends mystery and fantasy inside a haunted house horror tale. Sara has matured since joining Chase and he no longer considers her a person who needs his protection as she has proven she possesses strength and fortitude. Chase has changed too since he became Sara's guardian. Their relationship metamorphosis enhances a taut Hoosier haunted house story.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shape Shifting PI Series, February 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Chase Dagger Mysteries by Lee Driver is another odd mystery series that intrigues me.
In the Good Die Twice, Sara is a shape-shifter (hawk and wolf) who helps Private Investigator (PI) Chase Dagger solve crimes. Yes, it sounds weird--but it works for me. Although Sara and Chase are just PI partners, they live in Sara's house with Chase's pet scarlet macaw named Einstein who has a photographic memory.
The second book, Full Moon-Bloody Moon, finds them pursuing another shape-shifter who is the bad guy in this story.
In The Unseen, Sara has gained more personal confidence and their investigation centers on an invisibility cloak. We find out a little more about Chase's secret military organization past.
Further information about Chase's past and his association with Sara is revealed in Chasing Ghosts.
The last book, so far, is Fatal Storm. This book seems like an anomaly in the series because Sara's shape shifting abilities and Chase's fighting talents take a back seat while they validate a Paranormal Investigation Team that is investigation a haunted house and Chase's old girlfriend gets caught up in a time warp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, June 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book carries on the saga of Chase Dagger and his partner, Sara Morningsky, and I am relieved to find that the writing has improved and is more like the earlier books than the last volume. A very inventive and captivating tale, with good character development and plot twists. A couple of problems, though: Who the heck is "Jewel"? I think this book suffers from a malady that seems to be common among some Kindle editions: sketchy proofreading. My guess is that "Jewel" is actually the character "Venus," who started out as "Jewel," and somehow when the character was renamed, a couple of entries escaped the change. Another problem with Kindle editions I have found in the past that occurs once or twice in this book is the duplication of some text, the duplication of some text. :) One would hope that in the hardbound edition these errors do not occur. But even with these pesky nuisances, I highly recommend the book and the series and look forward to the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LEE DRIVER'S "FATAL STORM", June 18, 2011
This review is from: Fatal Storm (Chase Dagger Mysteries) (Paperback)
LEE DRIVER'S "FATAL STORM" (REVIEW)

I have always been a fan of mysteries but this is actually the first mystery I've read that had a paranormal twist to it. Lee Driver knows the language of the mystery genre well and by mixing it with the paranormal has created a story that holds you tightly in place until the very end. The surprises are non-stop and the shocking conclusion is to die for! The characters Dagger & Sara have the makings of ones that will live long in the memory of readers and become fast favorites.

This book is one you'll not want to miss. Look for it in stores soon!

-Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Storm, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good ghost story, but you have to have read at least the two previous books to fully enjoy this one. It will be interesting to see where Sara and Chase go from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Again I loved this book. I thought we might get rid of the ex, but nope. She is very annoying.This story was unconventional and different from the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unanswered questions, October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the story and it kept me interested. The characters were interesting but not as fleshed out as I like them to be. I wasn’t vested enough to care what happened to them. Also, the end seemed a bit rushed and I felt there were parts unexplained. I don’t want to go into detail as I don’t want spoilers but there were some stories that just left me wondering. At the ending there was an individual that was outside the house but I wanted to know how the individual ended up there. Just too much was not well explained. Also how the events in the house took place was seen from the characters point of view I wanted to know what “the man” saw from his side. Better stop there so I don’t let slip any spoilers. I am open to reading more from this author and I would recommend. From the other reviews it seems the books before this one were better so that is why I am open to trying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the story and details. I have the entire series and would highly recomment. Great read, could not put the book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fatal Storm (Chase Dagger Mysteries)
Fatal Storm (Chase Dagger Mysteries) by Lee Driver (Paperback - April 11, 2011)
$16.95 $15.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.