Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now HTL
Fated (Alex Verus Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Fated (An Alex Verus Nove... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Fated (An Alex Verus Novel) Mass Market Paperback – February 28, 2012

304 customer reviews
Book 1 of 7 in the Alex Verus Series

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$3.27 $2.55

$7.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Fated (An Alex Verus Novel)
  • +
  • Cursed (Alex Verus)
  • +
  • Taken (An Alex Verus Novel)
Total price: $22.21
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews


"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously---and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list." ---Jim Butcher --This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

About the Author

Benedict Jacka is the author of the Alex Verus series and the Ninja series. He earned a BA in philosophy from Cambridge University and has held positions ranging from civil servant to bouncer to teacher. He lives in London.

With acting credits that span stage and screen, Gildart Jackson is most often recognized for his role as Gideon on Charmed. He has also been featured on Providence and General Hospital, and his theater roles include Trigorin in The Seagull, Henry Higgins in My Fair Lady, and Adrian in Private Eyes at the Old Globe. --This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

Product Details

  • Series: An Alex Verus Novel (Book 1)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Ace; Original edition (February 28, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9781937007294
  • ISBN-13: 978-1937007294
  • ASIN: 1937007294
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 0.9 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (304 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #77,526 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Benedict Jacka became a writer almost by accident, when at nineteen he sat in his school library and started a story in the back of an exercise book. Since then he's studied philosophy at Cambridge, lived in China, and worked as everything from civil servant to bouncer to teacher before returning to London to take up law.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful By The Qwillery on March 3, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Fated is the first in a new series about a mage named Alex Verus.

Alex can see possible futures. As a diviner, he has to rely on sorting through the futures, his intelligence and the occasional use of the martial arts that he studies. He doesn't have power over the physical world (e.g., throw fire). Alex owns a magic shop in a section of London called Camden Town. He's a loner. Something happened in his past that has made him want to be on his own. We get more and more information about what happened to him and why he prefers to be a loner throughout the novel. Alex gets caught up the machinations of several factions of mages. They all want a particular relic and they all want Alex to help them get it. The mystery surrounding that relic kept me guessing.

Over the course of the novel, Mr. Jacka does a wonderful job explaining the magic system within which Alex operates. The world building (magic world in plain sight) is exceptional. There are references to myths and supernatural creatures that are seamlessly woven into the story adding to the richness of the magical world.

I really like Alex. He's intelligent, tough when he has to be, and a good guy. He also makes mistakes and gets himself into trouble out of simple curiosity, which seems to be a diviner trait. While Alex is the main character, there is a terrific supporting cast including Luna, Alex's sort of apprentice, Starbreeze, a ditzy air elemental, and many mages both Light, Dark, and scary. Luna is a great character, and I'm looking forward to reading more about her in future books.

There will be inevitable comparisons to The Dresden Files, but Alex Verus does not pale by the comparison. Fated is the start of a wonderful new Urban Fantasy series. It is well written, well-paced and a thoroughly engaging read. I'm hooked.

I give Fated 5 Qwills. Originally posted at The Qwillery.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful By M. Wanchoo VINE VOICE on March 13, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Benedict Jacka's debut has received quite some hype before its release and a blurb from Jim Butcher (coming from JB, this was something special as he currently blurbs biennially). All things considered this results in tremendous expectation to arise for a debut book. Anne Sowards also had mentioned Fated as one of the books to look out for in 2012 in her Fantasy Book Critic interview. All things considered, I was very curious to see how the book would turn out to be.

Fated begins us with Alex Verus who is sitting in his magic charms shop called "Arcana Emporium" and divining the near future as that is his power. He receives a phone call from Luna who requests his help and after a quick divination, he decides to meet her. On his way however an old acquaintance comes to meet him to offer him a job of sorts wherein his divining powers are a requirement. The job offer pisses Alex off and he soon continues on his way to meet Luna. That's when things start getting hairier as readers are given a clue about Luna's unique problem and the thing she's carrying. The actual plot begins and the readers are immersed into the world of Alex Verus wherein fate might not play that strong a role as it usually does.

The good part about this debut is that the story does its best to entrance the reader, beginning from its strong prose to the narrator's distinct voice. The author unveils the story nicely and then doles out the world details very conveniently. The story is a straight forward one which though like most urban fantasies has a central mystery plot which slowly unfolds over the course of the book. The mystery aspect is a decent one and deals with a recovery of a certain object which requires the aid of divination magic.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Books31 on May 29, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
When I wrote that Fated and Benedict Jacka would be perfect for fans of Jim Butcher I wasn't lying, and Cursed, the second book in the series helps prove this statement.

Cursed follows the ramifications of Fated. Alex is no longer able to live the quiet hidden life he had become so accustomed to. Other mages have begun coming to his shop, asking him to take on cases, hoping to use him as a pawn in their own games. Of course these mages aren't the forgiving type and if they can't use him, they will make sure no one else can either. This leaves them with a very serious problem though, how do you kill a mage who can see the future?

Cursed is just bloody exciting. It is filled with action, magic, and assassination attempts. Readers will be drawn in and unable to escape until the final page. The character's (especially Alex, Sonder, and Arachne) are all well written and complex. Alex is not the white knight of a character that he tries to be, and in Cursed readers really get a chance to explore his darker side.

Of course besides interesting characters and lots of action, Cursed is full of some pretty exciting magic. Some of it is not surprising (such as typical magic like fire mages, and ice mages), but some of the new additions, such as Sonder's time magic, the monkey's paw, and while not a new addition I still think the idea of using a curse as magic is pretty cool.

All in all, Cursed is fun and exciting, exactly what I wanted out of it. Jacka lays another strong foundation for this fledgling series that has the potential to become something huge. Definitely get in on the ground floor by reading Cursed, and another plus to getting it now is that Taken, the third book in the series, comes out in August, so readers wont have to wait long to read the next in the series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Fated (An Alex Verus Novel)
This item: Fated (An Alex Verus Novel)
Price: $7.99
Ships from and sold by

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: last pairs, death mage, felix castor, benedict jacka, the white aura