Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you already own the first set
You may not want or even need this one. As listed, there is only an additional 10 minutes of footage from the first set to this, "The Definitive Collection" of "Father Ted". Here is a list of the bonus material:

* Commentary with Graham Linehan, Arthur Matthews, Ardal O'Hanlon, Tim Shuttlewoode & Chris Claycee
* Interview with Writers
* A...
Published on February 1, 2008 by Howie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but I love British sitcoms
Had never seen this series, but I love British sitcoms. Well, these are ok, but after a bit they are rather "too much". Not as funny as the little bit they show to entice you. After a few episodes, they get old.
Published 4 days ago by Carol L


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you already own the first set, February 1, 2008
By 
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
You may not want or even need this one. As listed, there is only an additional 10 minutes of footage from the first set to this, "The Definitive Collection" of "Father Ted". Here is a list of the bonus material:

* Commentary with Graham Linehan, Arthur Matthews, Ardal O'Hanlon, Tim Shuttlewoode & Chris Claycee
* Interview with Writers
* A Christmassy Ted
* Tedfest 2007 - A Very Ted Weekend
* Tedfest 2007 - Two Tribes Go To War
* Comedy Connections
* Comic Relief with Ted & Dougal
* Craggy Island Memories
* Dougal's Sound Effects Gallery
* Biographies
* Photo Gallery

The additions to the previous "Holy Trilogy" are:
* The 2 "Tedfest" featurettes (from a 2007 Father Ted convention)
* A 30-minute episode of the BBC program "Comedy Connections" from 2004 detailing the former and subsequent careers of the cast and writers
Craggy Island Memories
* Commentary tracks on the series 3 episodes (of which there were none on the original "The Holy Trilogy" - Series 1 and 2 already had commentary tracks by writer Graham Linehan who is joined on the 2nd half of series 2 by actor Ardal O'Hanlon.)
* Dougal's Sound Effects Gallery

While there is nothing left off the original release and the additions add only "10 minutes" to the running time (even though they add up to more), these additional features seem to make a double dip unnecessary unless you are a "Father Ted" completist.

I purchased the first "Holy Trilogy" box set as a blind buy when looking for some new British comedy and was pleasantly suprised. While it took a few episodes to warm up to the characters, the series quickly grew on me. It's irreverent humor and situations were a breath of fresh air over more staid approaches to religion in comedy. At times it has a surreal feel and frequently could easily offend those with little tolerance but I can see Priests in such situations behaving similarly. After all, they are people too and if you are truly honest about religion you must admit that there are people like these characters in them all. If you are easily offended you should probably look elsewhere ("The Vicar of Dibley" is much "safer" while still being funny). If you enjoy irreverent British humor you should give "Father Ted" a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy!, January 26, 2008
By 
R. Rossier "ronniejo" (Minocqua, Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
This is an extraordinary show. The only minus is it was only on for three seasons. It is side-splittingly funny. You will be laughing out loud as Father Ted, Father Dougal and Father Jack, along with their housekeeper, Mrs. Doyle, stumble through life, almost demolish Catholicism, reveal the hypocrisy rampant in us all, and make social commentary that is incredibly witty, but is also bitingly accurate! Whether you're just looking for a laugh, or enjoy seeing pompous arse's brought down low, this show is for you. And as an added bonus, the location,the fictional "Craggy Island" is one of the most beautiful locations ever! You need this in your collection! And the Yuletide extra, "A Christmassy Ted" is worth the price all by itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Father Ted, August 17, 2008
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
Apparently the definitive Collection is not necessary if you already own The Holy Trilogy. That being said, I did not, and therefore found this to be a necessity to my tv on dvd collection. Although most of the special features aren't vital, it's nice to see Ted & Dougal's TV spots and to here the actor who portrayed Dougal joke about on his commentaries. If you've already seen Father Ted, and enjoy it, this is worth the price, and will provide plenty of laughs for you, and the people you know who weren't fortunate enough to stumble upon this on there own. If you haven't seen this show, well a brief synopsis would be it focuses on three priests (In the looses sense) one a monosyllabic drunkard, another a man child, and the third, the title character, just happens to always be in the wrong place in the wrong time (and is probably an embezzler) and how they really want to just be normal people (which doesn't stop them from using there priest status when it benefits them) on an island of the mainland of Ireland full of people who are the farthest thing from normal. Watch an episode first and if you like 1, you'll like all 25 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the great thing about Catholicism. It's so vague and no one really knows what it's about, July 12, 2010
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
Once upon a time, on an Irish island so small that it didn't appear on the maps, there lived these three priests... yeah, it sounds like the setup for a joke or a really bad religious story.

Fortunately it turns out to be the theme for "Father Ted - The Definitive Collection," a kooky comedy about a trio of painfully unholy priests -- moderately crude, quite goofy, and full of insanity. The series gets progressively weirder as it follows the adventures of the titular character and his drunken and/or idiotic sidekicks, and the cast is absolutely brilliant.

On Craggy Island, there's a single Catholic parish run by three priests -- long-suffering Father Ted (Dermot Morgan), half-witted Father Dougal (Ardal O'Hanlon), and deranged foul-mouthed lecherous alcoholic Father Jack (Frank Kelly). They also have a crazy housekeeper obsessed with tea. The priests aren't exactly holy, since all three have been exiled there for various misdeeds.

Over the three seasons, the priests encounter the hostile bishop, a sexy author, a dead-boring houseguest, the worst priest in the world, a trio of bishops, TV hosts, a radical feminist rocker, a slutty milkman, a nervous sheep, and a hardcore nun who could double as an inquisitor.

They have to deal with the blasphemous pornographic film "The Passion of St. Tibulus," a plague of rabbits, a costume competition, bishop buttkicking, bomb-carrying milk floats ("Ted, I wanna be a priest again!"), Ted's reputation as a racist, priests lost in the vast lingerie department, an about-to-crash plane full of priests, giving up their vices for Lent, entering a singing competition, raffling a car (which Ted has wrecked), a stolen whistle, a disastrous seaside holiday, an appearance on "Faith of Our Fathers" and the apparent death of Father Jack.

Small warning: "Father Ted" is definitely not for anyone who wants an all-sparklyhappysunshiny depiction of Catholic clergy, because... well, there's a reason these guys were exiled to Craggy Island. Except for despair, I'm pretty sure the priests on this show manage to commit all the seven deadly sins, plus Dougal's unofficial sin of mind-blowing idiocy.

And it's quite funny. It's not quite as funny as "Blackadder" or "Fawlty Towers," but it's got plenty of entertaining stuff here. There's lots of slapstick, strange problems ("Ah no, not Toilet Duck again!"), hilarious dialogue ("Imagine blowing your head off with a shot-gun. How'd he manage to survive that?" "He didn't, Dougal... he died"), and the priests being rather unpriestly (one of them may actually be a monkey disguised as a priest).

Morgan is quite good as the "straight man" of the cast, who is the most normal despite having stolen charity money -- he's constantly dealing with the idiocy around him with a kind of resigned patience ("He loved children... they were terrified of him, though"). O'Hanlon is thoroughly entertaining as the peabrained Dougal, Kelly makes a wonderful gnarled old drunken coot ("FECK! DRINK! GURLS!"), and Jim Norton has a small role as a hostile bishop with a dirty little secret.

"Father Ted - The Definitive Collection" features the worst Catholic parish in the world, if you consider both priests and parishioners. But it does make for some very funny comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great religious humour!, January 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
I'm willing to bet one's appreciation of this product is hugely dependent upon one's view of religion generally - OR one religion in particular.

I'll come clean and state that I am of the same opinion as the Salvation Army founder, General Booth, who stated his opinion that God deserves to have joy and humour expressed in his name and that He should not be thought only deserving of dirges and solemnity.

This Series is, in my opinion, a veritable masterpiece of humour. It would be all too easy to concentrate upon the bad language and the occasional crudity, but that would be totally wrong. There is a universal humour, that shines through this Series and the participants are all joyfully superb. The - completely unique - housekeeper is a real gem. She lights up the TV screen, every time she comes into view. Watch her every move!!

This show will shock the puritanical, but amaze and delight the average person. Personally, I can't get enough of this brilliant and totally outrageous show. I'd give it 6 stars for humour, without doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME SHOW!!!, February 18, 2011
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
This show is hilarious! I love it to pieces and watch it over and over. The characters are funny and loveable. Father Dougal is a riot on his own. This is a must have for anyone that is a fan of british comedy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars father ted, January 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
great tv shows , my sisters and i love it and watch it all the time. we love british and irish comedy so this feed our need for it. fast shipping too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute favorite that will never get old, October 18, 2010
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
Great comedy, a good mix of both silly and witty humor. I absolutely love this show, one of my all time favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Father Ted, September 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
My husband and I like Father Ted. They quit showing it on BBC America. It was a very good show. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah right, yah! G'wan!, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Father Ted: The Definitive Collection (DVD)
Our family absolutely loves this series! I had watched "FATHER TED" in the late 90's on a local tv station.

I was so excited to find all three seasons on Netflix this past year. My daughter & I watched every episode within weeks! Imagine our horror when Netflix removed every episode save "Christmasey Ted".

I was so excited to find it for a reasonable price on Amazon. I purchased one for my daughter for Christmas, and another for my friends wedding gift in Batley!!

Both arrived flawlessly, one from Amazon.uk & the other from Amazon.com!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Father Ted: The Definitive Collection
$79.98 $37.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.