Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading for Lent, Wonderful Synthesis of Scriptures
"A Father Who Keeps his Promises" is an excellent book for some one who wants to dive into scripture study for the first time, and for the more experienced scripture reader, who might want to broaden their scope of analysis. It analyzes the theme of the covenant between God and his people throughout the history of the Bible, beginning with Adam and ending with Jesus. The...
Published on January 20, 2005 by Glutton for books

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good if you already have a good knowledge of the scriptures.
I liked reading this book in small increments. I was looking for a book that would help me understand the scriptures better. I need two bookmarks when I read. One to mark where I am reading and one to refer to the actual understanding of scripture by the author. It is very frustrating to flip back and forth but I am trying my best. Maybe I just went beyond my...
Published 17 months ago by mike


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading for Lent, Wonderful Synthesis of Scriptures, January 20, 2005
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
"A Father Who Keeps his Promises" is an excellent book for some one who wants to dive into scripture study for the first time, and for the more experienced scripture reader, who might want to broaden their scope of analysis. It analyzes the theme of the covenant between God and his people throughout the history of the Bible, beginning with Adam and ending with Jesus. The book is worth its price for Hahn's intrepretaiton of the culpability of Eve and Adam alone.

Obviously this is a lot of territory and time to cover. The book is an emphasis on themes, and does not analyze every minute detail or story behind the writing, or provide information about the writers. People searching for critical commentaries on the evolution of scripture as it was written should look elsewhere.

This book analyses how God progressively created covenants between himself and with an individual, then with families, then with a nation and finally with the world. It is a never-ending cyclical story of love, committment, reproach, forgiveness, and redemption. The book preaches love and hope.

Due to space constraints, everything in the Bible is not covered in thorough detail, but only the dominant main characters. However, nuances of the stories that involve the main characters are examined to significant depths, as well as typologies are occasioanlly stressed, to connect threads of thought in the New Testament or later parts of the Old Testament that are introduced, or prefigured in the Old Testament.

Hahn includes excperts from the essential passages to which he refers, so it is not necessary to have a Bible to grasp the main points of the text, but a Bible is an excellent reference to further investigate the nuances that Hahn highlights. I have been reading the Bible for years, but have been greatly enriched by Hahn's insight; particularly with the story of the fall from Eden and the trickery of Jacob over Esau.

Although Hahn is listed as a "Catholic Apologist," this book is a great resource for all Christians. I highly recommend it to any one who reads the scripture, the beginners and the experienced alike. It might also appeal to Jews who are curious to explore how Christians relate the New Covenant as an extension and evolution of Jewish traditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, Bible-based Theology Sure To Provoke Further Study, July 26, 2005
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
I've always enjoyed reading the works of Scott Hahn. From the first time I cracked open he and his wife's book, "Rome Sweet Home," I've liked the simplistic complexity of his books. He can take some of the most difficult of subjects and put them into words that any layperson can understand. He also manages to throw in some "big" words but using great context clues, the reader can pick up on their meaning quite easily.

"A Father Who Keeps His Promises" stays within the boundaries of Hahn's writing style. He gives the reader a basis for understanding God's covenant love through some major players in the Bible and Jesus Christ. He starts in Genesis, working with Adam, and swiftly and easily bridges him to Noah, Abraham, Moses, King David, and finally, Jesus Christ.

In simple terms, Hahn shows us how God has always kept His promises, even though it may take a few years to follow through on them. He does it by using primarily Biblical teachings, but does utilize the Catechism of the Catholic Church, the writings of leaders, Catholic, Protestant AND Jewish, and other books of the Bible that may not be recognized in other churches.

By doing this, Hahn makes a strong argument for the infallibility of the Catholic Church and her teachings. He also disarms many arguments against Catholicism by using the one thing so many naysayers thump in the face of today's Catholic. He does this in a very inoffensive manner, which goes a long way in trying to get his point across.

In short, if you aren't familiar with Hahn's writings or his show on EWTN, I suggest that you start with "Rome Sweet Home" and then work your way into books like "A Father Who Keeps His Promises." It is highly recommended to Catholics, especially those who have come into the Church by way of a Bible-based background. Non-Catholics will also enjoy it for its rich and wonderful message that can be applied to their lives as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book for parish bible study & high school kids, March 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
I have to admit that Scott Hahn has me addicted to studying Scripture, especially with "A Father Who Keeps His Promises". After my third reading, I recommended it to our parish priest, and he loved it. In fact, he decided to use it in teaching our parish Bible Study group this winter. And it's been a big hit with the whole group. So our priest announced last Sunday that he plans to use it again next fall. Meanwhile, one of the members of the Bible Study has adopted it as a text for his Religion class at a local Catholic high school. He says they love it too. I'm not surprised.
I've never done anything like this before, but if you're only going to buy one book about Scripture this year, you really owe it to yourself to make it "A Father Who Keeps His Promises". It will really make Scripture come alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luther in Reverse Indeed!, April 28, 2000
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
Many have described professor Hahn as a kind of Luther in reverse. Countless conversions have resulted from the Holy Spirit's work in Scott Hahn's life and through his work - his audiotapes (most especially his conversions story available free through the Mary Foundation), his lectures (he is a professor at the Franciscan University of Steubenville), and his books.
Rome Sweet Home is essentially his conversion story on tape. This book is the result of Hahn's own doctoral thesis.
Hahn cracks open the Scriptures and explains them like few others can. His Protestant background makes him well suited to explaining the Biblical basis for Catholicism. This book looks at God's progressive covenants with his people over time.
It is an insightful book, full of wit and wisdom. It is easy and enjoyable to read. The reader will come away with a new appreciation for Scripture and all it entails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, October 5, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Downey, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
This is another excellent book by Scott hahn. I've gotten alot out of every book of his I've read. This book tells the story of Gods covenant relationship with his people. You see how over and over God is faithful, but we keep falling away. The book starts with Genesis and Gods covenant with Adam then, Noah, Abraham,Moses,David, and finally Jesus. The last 40 pages or so talks about how Jesus fulfills the covenant. It is my favorite part of the book it goes in depth about the church being the bride of Christ and the eucharist being a renewal of the covanant. This book gave me a deeper understanding of Gods love and mercy and how God has continued to love us even when we fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book for an introduction on God's covenents, April 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
Scott Hahn continues his audio/video tape ministry with an excellent book on the walk through salvation history. This is an easy-to-read book that really helps explain the big-picture of God's promises and love for us. Beginning with Genesis and ending with the New Testement, Dr. Hahn walks his readers through the bible highlighting key coventants with the Old Testement saints and His people and how they build up to the Messiah and His Church. While I had already viewed Dr. Hahn's video tapes on this subject ..."Salvation History", a book is much easier for me to dig into! Buy this book and enjoy Scott's wit and expertise. I wholeheartedly agree with Peter Kreeft in his quote, "I know of no more authentically Biblical, more reliably Catholic, or more exciting theologian in th eworld today than Scott Hahn."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, October 16, 2005
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
The way Bible study is presented in a lot of religion classes seems almost deliberately designed to make students eyes glaze over from boredom or to create fear that they'll never get it.

Scott Hahn, is as always, a breath of fresh air. In A Father Who Keeps His Promises, Dr. Hahn, shows in a cheerful and humorous way how God has throughtout salvation history been working toward bringing His family home. A covenant was made first with one couple then evenutually with a tribe and finally through the sacrifcie of Jesus Christ with the whole world. Dr. Hahn shows that the bible isn't just a collection of lessons. It is all one story about God's love for his children. After reading this book I've committed myself to increasing my scripture reading. This is a brilliant work that an ordinary person in the back pew can understand, enjoy and learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible in a Book, September 28, 2006
By 
Carson Weber (Sacramento, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
As a parish director of adult faith formation, this is a book that I am continually placing orders for and promoting among my adult students in the parish. Why? Because this text is what I like to call "The Bible in a book." Scott Hahn, Ph.D. has taken years of his personal research and blended it with his unique writing style, which is accessible to the average layperson - not reserved for the Biblical scholar. The result is a text that summarizes Salvation History in 290 pages from an authentically Catholic, orthodox perspective.

Having read this text 4 times from front to back and sections many more times over, this is one of my all time favorite "Catholic" books. Each time I pick it up, it is as if I haven't read it before.. because it is so densely packed with great information. This text was my first real introduction to the Bible as an undergraduate student studying business. It lead me to further study and eventually to an M.A. in Theology, studying under Dr. Hahn himself at the Franciscan University of Steubenville.

One of the gems of this book is the compilation of endnotes in the back of the book, backed with references to Biblical scholarship. If these endnotes were sold as a separate book for the same price as the book itself, I would spend the money on them - they're that great. They really help the reader understand where Dr. Hahn gets concepts such as the firstborn sons of Israel holding a priestly office (before Exodus 32), Melchizedek's identification as "Shem" who outlived Abraham by 35 years, how the plagues wrought upon Egypt through Moses were judgements against each of Egypt's golds (e.g. the Nile, Frogs, Bulls, Rams), how the sacrifices of the Mosaic Law were physical renunciations of Egyptian idolatry (Egyptians worshipped those animals Israel was commanded to sacrifice), and the nature of Deuteronomy as a compilation of concessionary, lesser laws that permitted sins such as divorce/remarriage, usury, and the sort of warfare Israel perpetrated against the Canaanites.

Get this book.. it is worth well more than the few dollars Amazon charges for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great!, June 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
This is a great book! It is very readable and helps people understand so much of the Bible! The chapter on the Eucharist is great as well! It helps in defending the belief in the Real Presence (though this book is not an apologetics book). I do, however, want to correct a statement written by a reviewer on April 9, in which that reviewer said Hahn thought that the idea of the covenant was a completely Catholic one. I don't know how the reveiwer got that idea. This book does not say or imply this at all. In fact, read another of Hahn's books, Rome Sweet Home, on page 27. There he describes how while a Protestant he saw a Catholic book on covenant theology. At that time he thought "I looked at it and thought, Liturgical Press? This guy's a Catholic! A Papist! What was he doing hijacking the Protestant notion of the covenant?" Of course, Hahn wouldn't write this if he believe the covenant was just a Catholic idea. Sorry about so much time on this; I just think it's an important statement to correct. Anyway, read A Father Who Keeps His Promises. It is a great book for any Christian to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanna know how much God loves you?, November 22, 1999
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture (Paperback)
I'm a cradle Catholic, but through Scott Hahn's tapes and especially this book, I've discovered how rich, powerful, and loving my faith actually is. I urge all Catholics, all Christians, and any others with only a slight interest in God to buy this book and ingest its every word. Dr. Hahn's explanantions are thought provoking yet lighthearted, informational as well as inspiring, entertaining while also being essential for understanding the true love of Our Father. You'll enjoy it and cherish it. I just finished it and will pick it up to re-read it tonight. This study provides a wonderful explanation of how the Old and New Testaments reveal God's promise to love us from the beginning of time, despite Man's continuous rebellion. Scott shows how the Father slowly forms His family through His covenant promises, climaxing in the universal family established with Christ's New Covenant. Scott breaths new life into the stories of Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, and David and explains the true significance of Christ's Passover celebration with His apostles. To know God is to love Him. This book will help you do both. (Also great for CCD teachers trying to get a grasp on the significance of the Old Testament stories.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Father Who Keeps His Promises: God's Covenant Love in Scripture
$16.99 $14.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.