Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raquel in all her glory!
Raquel Welch is delightful in the sexy spy spoof FATHOM. FATHOM has just been given its long-awaited DVD release along with the similarly-themed MODESTY BLAISE, OUR MAN FLINT and IN LIKE FLINT.
Fathom Harvill (Raquel Welch) is a dental hygienist-turned-skydiver who is recruited by a bumbling investigator and his young sidekick Timothy (Richard Briers) to uncover a...
Published on November 13, 2002 by Byron Kolln

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Pictures
I guess I'm on a babe kick. Much like the last film I watched which mostly exists to display the ample charms of Jennifer Connelly (CAREER OPPORTUNITIES), this is a showcase for the 27-year-old Raquel Welch, clad in a variety of bikinis, one-piece swimsuits, and typically 60s bizarro bright-colored mod miniskirts and short dresses. I'll tell you right off the bat that...
Published on January 22, 2010 by Muzzlehatch


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raquel in all her glory!, November 13, 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
Raquel Welch is delightful in the sexy spy spoof FATHOM. FATHOM has just been given its long-awaited DVD release along with the similarly-themed MODESTY BLAISE, OUR MAN FLINT and IN LIKE FLINT.
Fathom Harvill (Raquel Welch) is a dental hygienist-turned-skydiver who is recruited by a bumbling investigator and his young sidekick Timothy (Richard Briers) to uncover a man (Tony Franciosa) and his Chinese girlfriend (Greta Chi), who have reportedly stolen military secrets and encoded information that could potentially end in the earth's destruction.
Fathom ends up in a series of near-fatal encounters as the enemy changes at every turn. Fathom, to her horror, discovers that in order to survive she can trust no-one.
The comical script is played dead-seriously with this stellar cast which also includes the fabulous Clive Revill as Fathom's masterly-foil Serapkin. Welch is luminous in what is regarded as her best film of the 60's, and the film is ably-directed by Leslie Martinson. (Single-sided, single-layer disc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Pure Raquel, June 11, 2004
By 
Alric the Red (in modern times) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
It's not possible for me to think clearly when I'm watching a film starring Raquel Welch. However, when it comes to Raquel, I don't mind a befogged state.

Of course, I'm exaggerating. But FATHOM is a film I've truly enjoyed the five or six times I've watched it so far. She's a pleasure to watch here. And that I would like this film this much surprised me, as I obtained the DVD as one of the films included in the 5-disc Raquel Welch Collection, which I bought mostly for MYRA BRECKINRIDGE, about which I'd heard so much but had never seen. My sheer enjoyment of FATHOM, then, was lagniappe. It's a delightful farce, very light entertainment, featuring an exotic locale. It's typical of the escapist, pop-flavored feature films of that period, and it doesn't pretend to be anything other than a Raquel Welch vehicle. As that, if you're a fan, it succeeds. Her almost constant screen time, combined with the fact of her jaw-dropping pulchritude, makes this an easy film to watch again and again. Admittedly, my affection for FATHOM is slightly nostalgic, as it is so fluffy, it reminds me of my own innocence during the time this film was released. Also Raquel was the reigning Hollywood siren of my generation, her rise to stardom synchronous with my own coming of age. Therefore, when I'm watching it, it's a different kind of escapism than originally intended. I assume if you're considering buying this DVD, you're motivated by similar affections. You're definitely not buying it as part of a study of cinema. Let's face it: This is not LAWRENCE OF ARABIA; the only art on the screen is what Nature itself embodied in the person of Ms. Welch.

And that's enough art for me. The rest of it is just plain fun. To my taste, this is a sort of extended video, and, instead of it showcasing some MTV rock star, it permits me an uncluttered appreciation for this phenomenally beautiful and graceful woman. If you're a Raquel fan and you're looking for an opportunity to indulge your membership among her fandom, this is a film you'll enjoy. You'll find it a very relaxing, G-rated, escapist fantasy starring the premier screen goddess of any time. It'll be time well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun---in a lime-green bikini!, June 28, 2005
By 
jon sieruga (Redlands, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
Knockout Raquel Welch creates a sexy, lively, tongue-in-cheek character here, playing Fathom Harvill, wise-cracking, sky-diving dental assistant(who's "sick of staring at molars!")mixed up in murder and intrigue in Spain. Someone took great care to cast lots of colorful eccentrics in the supporting roles, and the beauty of the location is perfectly captured. Of course it's a sub-James Bond fluffball, but the aerial stunts and blue-screen effects are fantastic and the script is a charming collection of witty one-liners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fathom on DVD... worth the wait!, August 13, 2002
By 
Jarkko Inkovaara (Cambridge,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
I just got my copy of "Fathom" on DVD ..being a huge Raquel Welch fan,and of 60's spy capers i have patiently waited for this movie to finally come on the market.I saw this movie originally when i was 14 years old,and i tried to see if i could get it on video & DVD,but it wasn't avalible.
Probably because of the nastolgia for 60's spy movies,in part due to the sucess of Austin Powers,these gems are finally being re-released i couldn't be happier!
I really enjoyed this film alot,beautifully shot in Spain,i enjoyed chracters,the sets,cars,the costumes,gadgets,and the music..and ah-em ... Raquel Welch,especially in the lime green bikini peddaling the catamaran.
In today's very graphic, sex-voilence action films,Fathom is refreshing,a throw back to the care-free 60's.
I've been turned on to alot of 60's movies,because of the current tastelessness.. of contemporary Hollywood films,Fathom,the Avengers,early Bond flicks,are the perfect antidote for me.
The whole time i was watching Fathom i could image Austin Powers sitting down next to me saying "yeah baby" whenever Raquel would appear on film.
This movie is a must have for any collector of 60's spy movies,and of Raquel Welch.
Definatly recomended.
The plot is easy to understand,no complicated Tom Cruise "Mission Impossible" here,the bull chase is definatly original in Fathom.Greta Chi who is also very sexy like Raquel in this film is her nemesis,and pulls it off very well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life can be great!, March 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
Can you imagine being paid to spend days making a movie with Raquel Welch in such a beautiful setting. Not to mention the outfits Miss Welch was wearing. Tony Franciosa definately had some very good Karma to be able to achieve this. Outside of the obvious... This is a wonderful movie with terrific acting. Tony Franciosa is probably the most under rated actor of all time. He has a great intensity that shines beneath the smoothest "one of a kind" voices on this planet! Raquel Welch is indescribale... So Beautiful.. and so Talented! A fast moving fun movie not unlike a good James Bond movie with a cute and funny twist. And the period in which this was filmed was such an innocent sweet period in our world. I highly recommend this film for pure escape and great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Racquel Welch gives an amazing performance., December 13, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
It takes real dedication and confidence in one's craft to rise above the leering nature of the script and deliver a layered, subtly nuanced performance. Ms. Welch's sacrifice for art is evidenced by her willingness to flatten her chest and let her leg hair grow for the stunt scenes involving a mad bull.
Seriously, though, I enjoyed the film. A lot. It had some good twists in the silly yet straightforward manner manner of many 60's caper-ish films, a fast pace, some decent writing, some suspense, and nice location shooting.
But it probably would not stand up so well to repeat viewings, as what I enjoyed the most was definitely the skimpy outfits on display. There's nothing like a green bikini to gloss over a movie's shortcomings.
But you knew that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Pictures, January 22, 2010
By 
Muzzlehatch (the walls of Gormenghast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
I guess I'm on a babe kick. Much like the last film I watched which mostly exists to display the ample charms of Jennifer Connelly (CAREER OPPORTUNITIES), this is a showcase for the 27-year-old Raquel Welch, clad in a variety of bikinis, one-piece swimsuits, and typically 60s bizarro bright-colored mod miniskirts and short dresses. I'll tell you right off the bat that if you're not watching this for her, or because you're obsessed with seeing every 60s film that got made directly as a result of the James Bond craze, you could well end up being a little bit disappointed.

Raquel plays Fathom Harvill; her first name gets explained a couple of different times as having different meanings, a joke which has some ramifications in the film (nobody - except, it seems, Fathom - is telling the truth about anything) but gets old quickly as does most of the humor here. The actual storyline is complex without being really very interesting: young dental hygienist/skydiver Fathom is recruited as a one-time agent to recover a sensitive piece of nuclear equipment from wealthy arms merchants on the coast of Spain, but quickly finds out that the British agents who hired her (Ronald Fraser and Richard Briers) may not be who they seem to be; the nuclear device may in fact not exist, but there's a valuable Chinese antique that these guys and an American who might have defected to China during the Korean war (Anthony Franciosa) are looking for, along with a Russian antiquities collector (Clive Revill). Everybody's lying, and Raquel's on the run most of the time, but it never feels very compelling and director Leslie H. Martinson, mostly known for his TV work, just doesn't seem to be able to build any excitement.

Still the location work on the Mediterranean coast is nice enough, and Raquel is pretty stunning, and shown off to great advantage throughout. And there are moments where it seems like the film is going to go deeper into it's "who is lying to who and for what reason" plot, and one thing we do keep wondering about is whether Raquel's own character is in fact something more than just a pretty face. There's a cute little twist at the very end, after a too-long airplane chase, for example, that had me imagining that it might have been intended as the first in a series of films starring a more and more confident Fathom as a real Bond competitor. It never happened of course, and this is far from the best of the films that followed in Bond's wake so it has largely fallen by the wayside - had it been anybody but Raquel or someone with a similar level of sexy superstardom (Brigitte Bardot?) I suspect it would be totally forgotten. I liked ogling Raquel enough to not be too bored, but I doubt I'll ever bother with a rewatch; more likely I'll head back to James Coburn in the Flint movies, or Dean Martin's Matt Helm when I want a dose of goofy 60s spy stuff.

This DVD, now apparently out of print, is fine; the colors seem just a touch muted at times but are certainly acceptable, and sound and Cinemascope image are very clear. No extras worth mentioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKY SHINES IN ENJOYABLE SPY SPOOF!!!, February 8, 2003
By 
SwellBooks (Park Ridge, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
Maybe I'm in the minority here, but I have always liked this film! Raquel Welch (a very under-rated actress IMHO) is very good here as a amateur sky-diver who gets caught up in the spy game in Spain. The new DVD has a wonderful anamorphic widescreen transfer. It is sharp and colorful and sounds great (the music is quite good). The only extras is a poor looking trailer for this film (full screen) and trailers for Fox's other spy spoof releases, "IN LIKE FLINT", "OUR MAN FLINT", etc. I think it is time to re-evaluate Miss Welch's career and admit that the lady has talent. Start by checking out this film and the wonderful "THREE MUSKETEERS" and "FOUR MUSKETEERS" from Anchor Bay and "FUZZ" with Burt Reynolds and Yul Brynner on MGM DVD. You won't be sorry you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Is Well With Raquel, January 20, 2008
This review is from: Fathom (DVD)
The spy parody has become revitalized in recent years, particularly because of the Austin Powers series. In the late 60's, however, filmmakers were still trying to capitalize on the popularity of the James Bond pictures. After last year's Casino Royale, the Bond genre is alive and well. Perhaps more spy-spoofs are in order, but I can't fathom why Raquel Welch was never a Bond girl, other than the fact that she simply refused. In Fathom, no bond girl ever looked better than Ms. Welsh. Seeing her in a lime green bikini is reason enough to purchase this film. At the risk of sounding sexist, I can't think of a more beautiful woman ever to grace the silver screen. You simply can't take your eyes off her--and why would you want to? I also didn't wince too badly while wathing Ms. Welch sprint around the Spanish countryside in her little red dress. The use of color in the film adds to the eye candy. The acting here is nothing extrodinary, but one doesn't watch Ms Welch because of her skills as a thespian (although she is underrated). If truth be told, Welch is an icon on the screen because of her stunning beauty. She seemed to be having fun while making this picture, and there's nothing wrong with smiling along with her. Note to guys: If you happen to be watching this one with your girl or wife, try to refrain from mentioning the green bikini. Wait for her to ask you about it (don't worry, she will), and when she wants your opinion, simply say, "Well, she looks good, of course, but you'd look even better in that bikini." Smile and enjoy the rest of your evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TREAT FOR RAQUEL FANS, June 15, 2002
By 
ALAIN ROBERT (ST-HUBERT,QUÉBEC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fathom [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A very enjoyable spy movie that won't change your life,but will entertain the guys for sure.Wifes and girlfriends will say:you only bought this because you can look at RAQUEL WELCH bikini clad,and they will be right.She was obviously at the prime of her beauty;her legend is justified there.The film is good clean fun with no erotism.So girls if you want your guy to stay at home one night,buy him this movie for father's day or on his birthday.Beware of the inevitable comparaison with a true beauty.Maybe this will force you to start a diet.Sorry,no offense.Oh yeah,about the story,it starts with FATHOM in the sand...No kidding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fathom
Fathom by Leslie H. Martinson (DVD - 2002)
$14.98 $7.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.