Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for younger kids!!!
This is the funnest party game!! Be careful who you play with, mixing words up can get pretty naughty at times. Playing with your 20 something friends and parents or grandparents is not recommended. Make those separate games, play with friends OR parents/grandparents. Otherwise there could be some major embarrassment!!! Unless you don't care about that.

It is a...
Published on December 30, 2011 by Country Girl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Quality a little questionable
We love the game! Rolling laughter filled the room and family and friends. Even little ones enjoyed making up funny words.

The condition of the game was a little questionable. Some pieces were worn and the trays were broken. Maybe it happened in shipping, or maybe it was really a used game that was repackaged...who is to know?

We loved it all the...
Published 4 months ago by Caitlin Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun and silly game, March 21, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
I first played this game about a year ago, when someone brought it to my Friendly People Games meetup group in NYC. I got it for Christmas and played it a second time. No dictionary is needed because the words are all nonsense. Here's the basic premise:

Like Apples and the T-shirt game, players take turns being the "Wordmeister" or judge. The other players all try to make up a nonsense word based on a given definition and the cubes they have in front of them. There are 21 cubes, each six-sided with a different letter or syllable on them, like UBER, FWAP, Y, TION. Player get three cubes for each round. They use these cubes to form a word for the definition on the card that the judge reads, like "the sticky stuff on movie theater floors." One at a time, players reveal their words by lifting the cube holder that hides their words from others. After hearing all the choices, the judge picks a winner. That person gets the definition card. Depending on how many are playing, the first one to get a stated number of cards (like four or five) wins.

Up to seven can play and everyone plays each round, so there's no sitting around and waiting your turn, like Trivial Pursuit. You'll get laughs from some of the words you make. A fun game that will liven up your game night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for younger kids!!!, December 30, 2011
By 
Country Girl (Bellingham, WA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
This is the funnest party game!! Be careful who you play with, mixing words up can get pretty naughty at times. Playing with your 20 something friends and parents or grandparents is not recommended. Make those separate games, play with friends OR parents/grandparents. Otherwise there could be some major embarrassment!!! Unless you don't care about that.

It is a FUN game!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game!, October 7, 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
Played Faux-Cabulary last weekend with a bunch of friends and we all loved it. It's definitely one of the best word games I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way better than Apples to Apples, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
Faux-cabulary is like an improved Apples to Apples. Being able to make your own words from the dice provided is a great aspect to the game. And the definitions on the cards very much need words for them. Of course, at times you're going to get stuck on finding a word with the 3 random dice you get, but sometimes putting your dice in a random order works for the better. Being able to use any number of the 3 dice you get also adds to the variations. Just one thing, this game is best with a large group. It's by the makers of Apples to Apples, so it's meant to be a party game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrate your inner Wordmeister, August 12, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
This game celebrates your made up words! Playing in a group of 7, I've never laughed so hard at some of the combinations of words. That blue liquid used in diaper commercials? "Uber Boom Jelly" was the winner in our group. A great Saturday night game night game for those who want a relaxing and fun party game experience. No stress or anxiety in this game, just lots of laughter and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Game I've Ever Played!, July 27, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
I picked up this game after playing it at friends house. It's hilarious. I brought it over to my grandmothers for the family BBQ. The entire family got into it. We have a big extended family and all my cousins were just into it. We played it for hours. Everyone was laughing so hard. We couldn't walk away from it. I haven't laughed that hard in years. This is officially my favorite game ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative and fun, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
This is a great game to play with family, friends, or a group you do not know very well. Given the simplicity and fact there is no "right" answers, all ages can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably better for families with kids, July 3, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
My sister likes this more than me. You are going to want to get one or both expansions pretty much immediately, and this game is probably best for teens, as it's a little too "clean" for grown-up game night. This game is a great warmup/icebreaker and should not follow Cards Against Humanity unless you want to immediately end game night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Quality a little questionable, May 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
We love the game! Rolling laughter filled the room and family and friends. Even little ones enjoyed making up funny words.

The condition of the game was a little questionable. Some pieces were worn and the trays were broken. Maybe it happened in shipping, or maybe it was really a used game that was repackaged...who is to know?

We loved it all the same, especially for the discounted price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Fun, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words (Toy)
If you have friends who think really randomly, this game is perfect. Its an ADD person's dream. There are so many hilarious combinations for dice words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Faux Cabulary - The Outrageous Game Of Wild New Words
$29.99 $18.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.