Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 30, 2011
This is the funnest party game!! Be careful who you play with, mixing words up can get pretty naughty at times. Playing with your 20 something friends and parents or grandparents is not recommended. Make those separate games, play with friends OR parents/grandparents. Otherwise there could be some major embarrassment!!! Unless you don't care about that.

It is a FUN game!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2012
I first played this game about a year ago, when someone brought it to my Friendly People Games meetup group in NYC. I got it for Christmas and played it a second time. No dictionary is needed because the words are all nonsense. Here's the basic premise:

Like Apples and the T-shirt game, players take turns being the "Wordmeister" or judge. The other players all try to make up a nonsense word based on a given definition and the cubes they have in front of them. There are 21 cubes, each six-sided with a different letter or syllable on them, like UBER, FWAP, Y, TION. Player get three cubes for each round. They use these cubes to form a word for the definition on the card that the judge reads, like "the sticky stuff on movie theater floors." One at a time, players reveal their words by lifting the cube holder that hides their words from others. After hearing all the choices, the judge picks a winner. That person gets the definition card. Depending on how many are playing, the first one to get a stated number of cards (like four or five) wins.

Up to seven can play and everyone plays each round, so there's no sitting around and waiting your turn, like Trivial Pursuit. You'll get laughs from some of the words you make. A fun game that will liven up your game night.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
Faux-cabulary is like an improved Apples to Apples. Being able to make your own words from the dice provided is a great aspect to the game. And the definitions on the cards very much need words for them. Of course, at times you're going to get stuck on finding a word with the 3 random dice you get, but sometimes putting your dice in a random order works for the better. Being able to use any number of the 3 dice you get also adds to the variations. Just one thing, this game is best with a large group. It's by the makers of Apples to Apples, so it's meant to be a party game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
Great game, lots of laughs! I was a little disappointed when I opened my package, the plastic card holder was broken, but it doesn't make a huge difference. Overall, the game is a blast, well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
My sister likes this more than me. You are going to want to get one or both expansions pretty much immediately, and this game is probably best for teens, as it's a little too "clean" for grown-up game night. This game is a great warmup/icebreaker and should not follow Cards Against Humanity unless you want to immediately end game night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
This is a neat idea that just doesn't seem to work well, at least not in the way this game presents it.

The game is simple enough, there are a bunch of dice with 6 different words or word parts on them. A definition is read and you put together 2-3 of these dice to create a word to fit that definition. Then the reader picks the one that makes the most sense/is their favorite.

Like I said, neat idea. But there's only a small number of dice in the game (when playing with the maximum 7 players there were only 2-3 dice left un-chosen each round. This means it can be pretty hard to come up with a workable word for each definition and you can end up picking the same dice several times a game or even in a row. Truly funny or fitting words end up being rare and you can get bored or even frustrated playing when you see the same dice repeatedly or can't come up with anything using your limited options.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
The dice in the game do not match the expansions. I'm usually not very picky but it's a bummer. Not sure which are irregular or which to exchange. If they are all like this that would be very disappointing. Also feel like there are to few dice. Obvious intentional upsell to expansions. Game is decent. -1 star for dice color issue. -1 for too few dice IMHO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
This game is fun as heck for adults but I'd question whether kids should play. Some of the word combinations are questionable. If you're a grown-up, want to have a blast making up stuff...this is the game for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2011
This game celebrates your made up words! Playing in a group of 7, I've never laughed so hard at some of the combinations of words. That blue liquid used in diaper commercials? "Uber Boom Jelly" was the winner in our group. A great Saturday night game night game for those who want a relaxing and fun party game experience. No stress or anxiety in this game, just lots of laughter and fun.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2012
This is a fun game, very similar to Apples to Apples. You have to make fake words made out cubes (from 1-3) with pre-printed syllables on them. Then a word-meister votes on the best word the same as Apples to Apples. It is a nice change, and no one can cheat because it is subjective, you have to play to the personality of the person judging the words. Very fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.