Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Talented Artist Stuck in His Ways
I love the Clipse first three albums, but by the time they put out an official re-up gang album they kind of became redundant because lyrically they refused to progressed. If you love lyrics you'll notice Malice has progressed quicker than Pusha T but Pusha has more appeal. Now even though Pusha came out with most of these songs on the previous mixtape, Fear of God 1, the...
Published on November 12, 2011 by Lawrence Smith

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pusha Can Still Improve
Pusha T has always been known as 1/2 of the Clipse which are considered the legendary duo from Virginia. Often exposed by Pharrell always rapping behind the Neptunes productions, Pusha T (and Malice) have always been behind the limelight stuck in the shadows. Even though they have been releasing critically acclaimed albums, they still haven't been full recognized by the...
Published on November 17, 2011 by Ray-Review


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Talented Artist Stuck in His Ways, November 12, 2011
I love the Clipse first three albums, but by the time they put out an official re-up gang album they kind of became redundant because lyrically they refused to progressed. If you love lyrics you'll notice Malice has progressed quicker than Pusha T but Pusha has more appeal. Now even though Pusha came out with most of these songs on the previous mixtape, Fear of God 1, the purpose of this Fear of God EP is to give fans the chance to get a physical copy where the songs are mastered. Pusha's biggest problem is that he spreads himself to thin and uses an array of producers. Since he's on Def Jam/ G.O.O.D. Pusha's Guest should be limited to Odd Future, the G.O.O.D. music roster, and the Star Trek's Roster because you don't wanna get too experimental. Production should be limited to the Neptunes, Just Blaze, Kanye, NO I.D. & Hodgy Beats. Don't spread your too thin because then you get a Hodge Podge of mismatch material like whats on the is ep. Sean "Puffy" Combs, French Montana (who sucks extremely bad), Juicy J, and Meek Mill all have no business on this release, French Montana has ruined more songs in recent years than I can remember. Now honestly I don't mind Coke raps but Pusha has to incorporate other topics into the fray like on "Trouble on my Mind", which is just pure fun on wax. I absolutely love "Alone in Vegas" & "Raid" too, plus the sound quality is up a notch from the original mixtape. No one does coke rap like the clispe, not Ross, or Jeezy (both on the album). While this release is slightly disappointing I'm looking foward to the album releasing next year, I wanna see top notch production, about two Malice verses, cohesiveness , and young guru mastering the classic or near that I hope is coming. I still think Pusha can be an asset to G.O.O.D. Music especially if Kanye gets more involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence., November 13, 2011
Lately I have lost hope in hip-hop, but after listening to this I feel better about the hip-hop scene. Pusha T is really flexing his skills on this album. He used some very polished producers and features on this album. His writing is very personal and honest to the listener. This album is a documentation of the tragedies and triumphs that have occurred in his life. I am impressed, and that says a lot... I don't give many modern rappers props anymore. Cheers Pusha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pusha Can Still Improve, November 17, 2011
By 
Pusha T has always been known as 1/2 of the Clipse which are considered the legendary duo from Virginia. Often exposed by Pharrell always rapping behind the Neptunes productions, Pusha T (and Malice) have always been behind the limelight stuck in the shadows. Even though they have been releasing critically acclaimed albums, they still haven't been full recognized by the mainstream to really consider them stars. Pusha T is now signed to G.O.O.D. Music (run by Kanye West) which is filled with talent all around with the likes of legendary MC's Common & Mos Def, to R&B soulest John Legend, innovators like Kid Cudi and of course living legend Kanye West. With all that talent (and much more to come) Pusha T as a "solo" artist has me a little skepticle. His rappping skills technically wise has always been on-point, but his subject matter is where Pusha T flaws. Pusha T is a "coke" rapper, using cocaine for metaphors almost ALL the time which gets really tiresome.

Adding to that, Pusha T is kind of a weirdo. His personality is interesting but not likeable, he is not the kind of rapper that everybody can relate too, and honestly half of the time I can't really understand what the real message of his songs are. He's not overly complex but his metaphors can be random at times. I still beleive that Pusha T can really adds balance to the G.O.O.D. Music family and he ca still improve. Being considered a veteran in the game doesn't always mean the best, musicality wise Pusha T has to find his nitch, but as rapper, I dare anybody to come at Pusha.

Top Songs:
Trouble on My Mind feat. Tyler, The Creator
Raid feat. 50 Cent & Pharrell
My God
Amen feat. Young Jeezy & Kanye West
Alone In Vegas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fear!!!!!!, November 27, 2011
Pusha T Is A Coke Rapper.....Thats What He Does, Thats What It Is. If Your Looking 4 This EP To Change Your Mind Of This Fact Dont Waste Your Money Or Time. The Original Mixtape Was Dope And So Is This EP. He Could've Put More New Songs On Here Tho. I Wish He Would Have Put "Open Your Eyes" And "BLOW" From The Mixtape On The EP But Hey What Can Ya Do. I Think "Amen" Was A Mistake 4 The Fact That He Only Has Has 1 Verse Where As Kanye Has 2 And Jeezy Kinda Dominates The Song Since It Already Sounds Like His Song (Shawty Redd Production). "What Dreams Are Made Of" Should Satisfy Any Hardcore "HIP HOP HEAD" Like Myself. The Rick Flair Sample Was Great (Shout 2 Killer Mike Who Sampled Rick Flair First). Aside From "Amen", Not Having Enough New Songs And Having WAYYYYY Too Much French Montana Then Any Body Of Music Should Ever Have (2 Tracks) Its A Solid EP. I Like Every Song On Here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pusha goes hard 100% of the time, November 9, 2011
By 
Christopher Wiggins (Greenville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pusha's mixtape was just so hot that a promotion company wanted to put it out mainstream he blessed the fans by adding a few more songs they were going to put it out exactly the same SQUARE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this dude and always have, but the lack of material or run of the mill topics are killing me. We know you slanged rocks, but what's new with you??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Effort - 3 1/2 Stars, November 24, 2011
Pusha T of Clipse releases his proper solo debut effort through 2011's Fear of God: Let Us Pray. Overall, Fear of God is well produced and Pusha T's rhymes are sharp and dark in tone. Most of the material is top rate, but there are a few cuts that are `second tier' when compared to the very best cuts.

"Changing of Guards," featuring Diddy, opens the effort with superb production work thanks to Rico Beats. The drum programming is hard-edged and overt - nothing short of `killer. The rhymes are sharp the cut is a solid opener. "Amen," featuring Kanye West & Young Jeezy is just a solid if not better, featuring the stuttering drums and synths typical of Shawty Redd's production work. The rhymes are well crafted and solid, if not necessarily the most memorable I've heard personally in 2011. "Trouble on My Mind," perhaps the highlight track of the effort, features odd-ball, potty-mouthed rapper Tyler, the Creator and instantly recognizable production by the Neptunes. Tyler, the Creator is as `X-rated' as always, but we wouldn't have it any other way, right? The hook is catchy, helping to make "Trouble on My Mind" an excellent choice of second-single (following "My God" from earlier in the year).

"What Dreams are Made of" features a loud, passionate opening, in tandem with spoken word performance. The dark nature of the production is disturbing, contributed by The VIP's. Pusha T delivers one of his best performances over a dark loop. "Body Work," featuring Juicy J, Meek Mill & French Montana, is less `refined' or `elite' than the others. Why? "Body Work" is more of a club cut and Pusha T is not the kind of rapper one associates with the club or truly commercial aspirations. Regardless, Rico Beats delivers another standout production. "Everything That Glitters" atones with its slightly lighter sound and Pusha T raps capably over Rico Beats's loop. What is neat about French Montana's performance is that he is so nonchalant about the delivery it is surprisingly appealing.

"So Obvious" features typical Shondrae "Mr. Bangladesh" Crawford production, which is the high point of this cut. The other high point is brief length; this cut is ok, but lacks the greatness of some of the preceding and proceeding cuts. "Feeling Myself," featuring Kevin Cossum, contrasts pace with a `lighter' cut and solid production work contributed by the Bizness. That said, "Feeling Myself" is still a `B' cut at best. "Raid," featuring 50 Cent & Pharrell, is another standout, and is need at this point. The Neptunes's production is unique - funky piano line, unique rhythm/drum groove. Pharrell's hook is strong as is Pusha T's verse, with perhaps 50 Cent being the weakest point - sorry 50.

"My God" still is a solid as it was when it was released as a buzz single. Hit-Boy & Deezy deliver solid production, most notable the marching-band like snare drum. Pusha T's rhymes are top-tier, with the use of drum claps and organ solo lines further accentuating his message. "I Still Wanna" featuring Rick Ross & Ab Liva features heavy material, dealing with the topic of drugs in a very real way. Pusha takes the first verse, Ross delivers strongly on the second verse, and Ab Liva delivers the third. The hook is catchy and noteworthy. Closing cut "Alone in Vegas" possesses a low-key vibe that makes it effective. Another highlight of the B+ cut is Pusha T's stream of consciousness flow.

Overall Fear of God: Let Us Pray is enjoyable, though not perfect. There are more satisfactory moments than not, which makes this effort one of the better rap showings of 2011. That said, it is more underrated, never achieving the commercial aspiration of lauded efforts such as J. Cole, Cole World: The Sideline Story or Kanye West & Jay-Z's Watch the Throne. That said, Pusha T is best represented as an underground, hardcore rapper than a commercialized rapper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such A Great Artist and Album, November 14, 2011
Ive been a fan of Clipse and Pusha T's work on Kanye's work.
But the mixtape caught me off guard because I expected to be like Clipse's old albums. All the beats are insane, such good production.
I havent heard one song I dont like and usually Im pretty picky when it comes to rap albums.
Underrated album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CokeMoneyAtWork, November 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only thing I expected from this album was coke raps, and that was delivered right on time. In addition to what I expected I was pleased to hear some great production, though I don't care for some of the hooks, Pusha did well in carrying the weight on his album then putting that weight in the street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent listen, more enjoyable for someone who indulges that style., April 19, 2012
Pusha T's first solo effort and I am mildly disappointed, I believe this is mainly because of the crowd he rolls with nowadays. It is not a bad album though, don't get it wrong. The production is the disappointing part, as the beats sound like the generic stuff that is filtering through the airwaves nowadays. Oddly, the tracks I enjoyed the most was produced by The Neptunes. Overall, the album encompasses a darker atmosphere. Pusha T performs well, delivering his typical topics: drugs, the streets and lavishness subsequently. The lyrics are scripted well and witty, complemented by excellent direction but the content just does not grip me. The content, accompanied by the production, pushed this one into the uninteresting zone but it is fundamentally sound. A decent listen, more enjoyable for someone who indulges that style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.