Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After years of frustration the wait is finally over!
After years of frustration of her fans & petition drives, the the wait is FINALLY over! This is probably the most fun, danceable & peculiar masterpieces of the early 80s. Brought to my attention in a most suitably bizzare way, the drag queens my fair city loved to dress up as Nina Hagen and lip-synch to New York, New York [no, not the Frank Snore-atra snooze]. Every song...
Published on April 13, 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite addictive and will grow in you like a fungus
The Good
"New York New York" is a trippy disco laced ode to the city's dance scene in the early eighties. Nina is a little demonic in her delivery, but some my actually call it eccentric. Synthesizers and faint guitars take control of "My Sensation." If you really haven't grasped the zaniness of Nina Hagen after the first two songs, you're sure to get the point on...
Published on December 11, 2007 by George Dionne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After years of frustration the wait is finally over!, April 13, 2007
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
After years of frustration of her fans & petition drives, the the wait is FINALLY over! This is probably the most fun, danceable & peculiar masterpieces of the early 80s. Brought to my attention in a most suitably bizzare way, the drag queens my fair city loved to dress up as Nina Hagen and lip-synch to New York, New York [no, not the Frank Snore-atra snooze]. Every song on this CD will captivate your imagination and wonder how the h*ll she even thought up this stuff as she sings in an entire parade of of vocal styles. Although at points a bit silly, there is not one bad song to be found here & is a good place to start when first discovering this talented lady. There is even a tidbit of very early Red Hot Chili Peppers lending a hand on 'What It Is' or 'Was Ist Is' found on the German language version of album.

Nina Hagen still continues to make great music to this day although some may of it may be difficult to find to this point in time. BTW, no this is NOT the '99 Red Luft-Balloons' Nina. Too bad Koch didn't think to include the handful of German language versions from her LP 'Angstlos', the video 'Zarah' or some live klips that would have made a wonderful addition to this CD or a 'Limited-Edition' double-disc pack for fans. Lacking any extras, I would have given this CD 4.5 stars rating if that was an option. One can only hope her 1985 record[s] 'In Ecstacy'/'In Ekstase' will follow on CD soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars her Giorgio Moroder produced album on CD at last!, February 20, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
It's been a REAL long time, but at last, Nina's collaboration with 80s synthdance master Giorgio Moroder makes its way to CD, with excellent mastering. The only surprise here is the lack of any bonus tracks, namely, the 12" mix of Zarah. But at least that is available on the 14 Friendly Abductions CD. Now we can only hope that her album In Ekstase finally gets released in its English language version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fearless indeed!, February 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
After the scary NUNSEXMONKROCK, Nina shot herself into another direction proving she is capable of numerous musical genres. Well worth the price, you won't be disappointed. And The Red Hot Chili Peppers guest on one song!

This is probably her most bizzare, almost mainstream sounding cd. Her synth-pop masterpiece. She sings in a variety of voices ranging in topics from New York City, to aliens coming through a tv set while the watcher sleeps during news specials. And the reading of a French Menu!

And it is all light, bouncy, and brimming with energy!

And although it should have been included here as a cd enhancement, the video for "Zarah" would have been an added treat! If you can locate it, watch it...possibly one of the most interesting videos out there from the early 80's...and Nina contorts her face into a multitude of hilarious looks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "you can be my baby doll!", May 6, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
It has been a long wait but, finally the goods have been delivered once again. I thought I was going to die before the release of Fearless would see the light of day on compact disc. Nina Hagen's music needs to be swallowed with caution, but beware once it is in your system there is no turning back! You will never be the same again! There is no space for fillers in this release, every song jumps at you and leaves no room to surrender, every track stands on its own without any help from the rest. Let us hope that the next Nina Hagen release on compact disc will be "Angloss", but we can only hope!

Fearless without a doubt it is one album I eagerly waited to have for many, many years, there is so much to explore, one can easily place this album next to the great Kate Bush's record,"The Dreaming"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My All Time Favorite Pop Album, July 26, 2010
By 
Jeff N (Oakdale, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
I discovered Nina Hagen when a friend loaned me Nunsexmonkrock in the early 80s. I loved Cosma Shiva and UFO so much, I put them on a cassette to play in the car over and over. Nunsexmonkrock is one of her very best albums. She actually never did do very many albums in the New Wave/Dance/Pop style with metaphysical lyrics that some of us love so much...

The Fearless LP is about the only other really great album she ever did (if you prefer her early style). I was so excited when Fearless was finally released on CD. It is my all time favorite Pop Album!

After listening to Fearless off and on for many years, I have never gotten tired of it at all. It's Timeless. It's sweet. It's fun. It's Enlightening. Because I do enjoy it so much, I think Nina is at her best here, and the music itself - the arrangements, the instrumentations, the "sound" and sound quality... It's all just awesome.

* * *

The Best of Nina Hagen - 14 Friendly Abductions, however, is terribly distorted, and does not have her best songs! If you look at it on Sound Studio (or any other sound editing software) you will see why every song sounds distorted. They cranked up the volume during the re-mastering and almost every note in every song is "clipped" really badly. That's when the curved peaks are cut off and literally missing their tops, because there was no place for them to go, which does result in distortion. Instead of nice wavy lines, it looks like someone spilled a lot of ink in a rectangular box.

Plus, "14 Friendly Abductions" is an interesting title considering that it's missing Flying Saucers and UFO, two of her best songs! It's missing a Lot of her best songs, actually.

So, get Fearless and Nunsexmonkrock. That would be hugely better than The Best of Nina Hagen, a distorted mess that is missing so much of her best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effervescent Jubilant Transcendent Disc by the Outer-Space Diva, October 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
Listening to "Fearless", one of my favorites from the Eighties, can be a double-edged experience as it takes me back to bittersweet memories of my often rebellious twenties in New York City. I have never been an avid concertgoer, but Hagen is one of those artists who I remember having seen live, on at least one occasion, in the era of the disc. "Fearless" does not have the somber quality of "Nunsexmonkrock", yet it is just as conceptually daring, as well as thematically consistent, as its predecessor. "Fearless" is a more accessible and danceable Hagen, with Nina experimenting with proto-rap and / or a variation on rap as it existed before and during the time of this record's release (before that form became so pretentiously heavy and tending towards the non-melodic). The Giorgio Moroder / Keith Forsey production gives this record a great polish, and complements Nina's extra-terrestrial vision. This is a feel-good disc; though listening to Miss H. is always intense, whether her mode / mood is light or dark. Although she usually takes it into the realm of the fantastic (IE her obsession with UFOs), I believe that her spirituality is heartfelt, and something that continues to keep her grounded. This record is the musical equivalent of a Kenny Scharf painting. Nina Hagen was, is, and always will be avant-garde in the best sense of the term.

Stephen C. Bird, author of "Hideous Exuberance"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD at last, April 9, 2007
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
Having been released on CD only in Brazil during the 90's, here it is now, in 2007, for world wide degustation.

New York New York was quite a hit on dancefloors all around.

I became addicted to this album.

It is soooooooooooo good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, June 1, 2007
By 
T. Madsen (illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
This CD is fun to listen to - and Nina will entertain you with her fantastic voice and imagination!! Fearless is just as great as Angstlos! Nina is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, March 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
I love this cd. There are some songs, O.K., whatever, maybe two that I can do without. But the rest LOVE IT! It is different, but you know what I like different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nina!, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
My favorite Nina Hagen Album. Great! The band and songs are of her very best. She is truly amazing and her insight is cosmic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fearless
Fearless by Nina Hagen (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.