Customer Reviews


509 Reviews
5 star:
 (361)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of 'Fearless' Platinum Edition [RE-RELEASE]
After the success of Fearless, Taylor Swift and her label decided to re-release it. With some re-releases, you get shoddy remixes or re-toolings of the big hits, perhaps an acoustic version or two and a live track. Not so with the platinum edition. This is more of an extended version of the original album than the simple run-of-the-mill repackaged original version. The...
Published on October 26, 2009 by Antoine D. Reid

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Download Instead
I was disappointed when I received this order and discovered that you cannot copy the music onto your computer. I always copy music onto my iPod for portable use, as well as, use the CD in my car. If you already have the original Fearless album, I recommend downloading only the new tracks from the Platinum edition.
Published on March 9, 2010 by M. Bakcsy


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of 'Fearless' Platinum Edition [RE-RELEASE], October 26, 2009
By 
After the success of Fearless, Taylor Swift and her label decided to re-release it. With some re-releases, you get shoddy remixes or re-toolings of the big hits, perhaps an acoustic version or two and a live track. Not so with the platinum edition. This is more of an extended version of the original album than the simple run-of-the-mill repackaged original version. The platinum edition has five entirely new tracks, plus a piano/acoustic version of the original release's "Forever and Always". What makes the new tracks and re-release worth purchasing is that you're definitely getting an improved and superior version of 'Fearless'; the new tracks are mixed in with the originals and you can't really tell that they were produced any differently than the original tracks. They are of the same quality and caliber, enhancing the experience of listening to Taylor Swift. They aren't much different from the originals; these new songs are mostly about young love, ambivalence, optimism (even in the face of heartache or tarnished relationships).

The Good: This isn't the typical 'country' music many are familiar with. Taylor Swift, having written most of the songs herself, brings a lot of her personal experiences and reflections into the music and the songs feel more authentic. While she's in the genre of country there's also a heavy presence of pop running throughout the tracks. 'Fearless' has a theme to it; songs about young experience and "fearlessness" in the face of many obstacles and new experience; on the track "Fifteen" she sings about school and not exactly fitting in, an experience everyone can relate to in some way. On "Hey Stephen" and "You Belong To Me" she sings of crushes and young love. "Jump Then Fall" is all about taking a chance on love. The mass appeal of Taylor Swift is probably how relatable her music and persona is. Unlike many artists her age who are singing about partying in clubs or trying to make 'country music' that's either too stereotypical or too dance-orientated, she's singing about life and things she and everyone experiences and goes through. Another good thing about this edition is that it comes with a DVD of the music videos from the singles released as well as some behind-the-scenes footage. For me, this enhances the experience because you're able to see and hear the creative process and witness how involved she is. It helps to also get the point across that there's a real person behind the music and lyrics and she's not just a puppet or product of her music label and the industry. Also, the video of her CMA performance of 'Thug Story' with T-Pain, a definite fan-favorite moment of the past year, is included and makes the DVD a true must-have. Sure, it's silly and definitely not country but it shows the versatility of Swift and her willingness to make fun of herself and have fun.

The Bad: There's not a lot to complain of. If there's a flaw to the album is that it can be a bit light and upbeat. The tone of the album, even when she sings of unpleasant feelings and of insecurities or unfulfilled loves, she never truly goes 'deep' or to a pure unhappy place. It gets a bit annoying that emotionally the album feels a little heavy on the positive and optimistic vibes, but again, that's a personal criticism. "You're Not Sorry" is probably the least 'happy' song with the new track "Untouchable" following close behind. Also, a minor nit-pick but the cover artwork doesn't reflect that this is really a new product. All that it looks like is the designer or label being lazy and short on time and sticking a black background behind the same photo from the first released. Perhaps the thought was that the black background and 'platinum edition' added in would give the impression of newness but the black background and her expression change the vibe or tone of the album from upbeat and optimistic to slightly moodier and depressing, which the album and music are not. Minor critique that doesn't detract much from the music. The new tracks are good but it would have been nice if the label also included many 'pop' versions of her singles that have been released through iTunes and other online venues over the course of the year. The pop versions "You're Not Sorry" and "Love Story" give both songs a different vibe and the variety would have made the release a bit more interesting.

In the end, if you haven't purchased 'Fearless' yet, this is the edition to get. Even so, the new tracks and the DVD with the music videos together account for a mini EP and is worth purchasing.

Listen to These: "Come In With the Rain", "Forever and Always" (Piano Version), "You're Not Sorry"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~brilliant songwriter~, November 11, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
Taylor Swift is one talented teen! She had a hand again in every song on her highly anticipated sophomore CD - this time she wrote 7, and co-wrote 6. The first single, "Love Story" is a good example of how she can combine great lyrics with a catchy beat - and then produce a smash crossover hit. The most remarkable thing about the album is that it is incredibly balanced...and almost every song is so good that it could be released as a radio single. I think it is now safe to say that she is a rising star who will just keep on rising!

Taylor opens the album with the strong title track "Fearless", and ends the album with the powerful theme song of the summer Olympics, "Change". In the middle is a catchy song that she wrote with John Rich - "The Way I Loved You" - and an epic tune which is sure to be a smash hit - "You Belong With Me". "Fifteen" is her most personal song, a bittersweet gem where she sings about her freshman year and her best friend for the past 5 years, Abigail. "White Horse" (which has already been featured on Grey's Anatomy) is a well written tearjerker - a heartfelt song that is just waiting to become her next big single. A good example of her more acoustic side is "Breathe" - a simple song written with Colbie Caillat who also sings background vocals in the song. Taylor's writing seems to have matured and grown in the past 2 years. Take "The Best Day" for example - which is a completely different but awesome song, which is written about her family. She appeals to a wide audience, and executes this so well here on Fearless.

It's incredible how quickly Taylor crossed over and became not only a big country star, but a huge pop star also. It took only her second single - Teardrops On My Guitar - for her to become amazingly popular in mainstream music! Then she continued to release 3 more hits (two of them #1) off her debut album. Talk about a hard act to follow - but I can't see this trend stopping anytime soon with Fearless - this album is a major home run. She isn't the same country artist who sang "Tim Mcgraw", and I understand that some people will not be happy about that. If there are any flaws here, it would be that many of the songs are pop-country hits which are about the same subject - teens. You can't please everyone, but look for her to just become even bigger and more popular, with more #1's and crossover pop smash hits. Taylor's sophomore CD is very well done...filled with excellent, self-penned, radio-friendly top 40 hits! Overall ~ 9/10 ~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for Platinum!, November 4, 2009
Like her self-titled debut album Taylor has re-released Fearless in a Platinum Edition, due to the original 13 track 2008 release which has been certified 5 times Platinum. This re-release like her Deluxe Edition of her self-titled album features new songs and a DVD.

The CD contains 5 new songs and a piano version of Forever & Always (previously released on Fearless) & the original 13 tracks on the Fearless album. The new songs include, "Jump Then Fall", "Untouchable", "Come in With the Rain", "Superstar", & "The Other Side of the Door." "Untouchable" was performed prior to it's release on the Clear Channel Stripped site by Taylor as a big promotion for the 2008 release of Fearless. "Come in With the Rain" has been available as a digital download since 2007. I rate the new songs 5/5 because they are all very good and well done. "Jump Then Fall" is currently my favorite new song.

The DVD that comes with Fearless Platinum Edition contains the 5 music videos that have been released prior to it's release, this includes, "Change", "The Best Day", "Love Story", "White Horse", & "You Belong with Me", 3 "on the set" behind the scenes making of the music videos ("Love Story", "White Horse" & "You Belong with Me"), a photo gallery of the 2009 Fearless Tour, A behind the scenes of the first show of the Fearless Tour in Evansville, Indiana. and the parody video of "Thug Story" with T. Pain that Taylor did for the 2009 CMT Music Awards. There is also 2 different exclusives, one done by Wal-Mart and one done Target. The Wal-Mart exclusive version of Fearless Platinum Edition contains 2 DVD exclusive bonus content of the V-Fest UK: Live performances of "Love Story" and "You Belong with Me" and the Target exclusive version also contains 2 DVD exclusive bonus content of the Clear Channel Stripped performances of "Untouchable" and "Fearless"

All together the album is great and you won't be disappointed. Please note that there is only 5 new songs, not 6 as advertised seeing as the "Forever & Always (Piano Version) is just that, a piano mix of it's previously release. So if you are a Taylor Swift fan, you don't wanna be without Fearless Platinum Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous songwriter, December 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
I am a 61 year-old man, a child of the 60s. Nonetheless, I love this CD enough to bother writing this, my first ever Amazon review.

Taylor Swift has an adequate singing voice, but nothing special. What is very special, however, is the clarity, simplicity, honesty and accuracy of her songwriting. And although it took me awhile to realize it, the backup musicians on this CD are also very good.

Taylor was only 19 (or was it 18?) when these songs were written. Her life experience was limited, and so is the scope of what she writes about. There are one or two too many references to kissing in the rain (it must have been some kiss). Nonetheless, she sticks to what she knows, and she portrays it very very well.

Last night I surveyed this CD, putting the songs into categories of (1) excellent, (2) very good, (3) OK and (4) not good. Here's my take: 4 excellent, 8 very good, 1 OK. I am a tough grader, and I would have to go way back to find another record this good. Being a bit of a country fan, I would think of Garth Brooks or Rodney Crowell. Beyond that, maybe a Joni Mitchell or Beatles album. (Joni was an even bigger talent in my mind -- more poetic, better voice).

Taylor Swift is fresh, genuine, spunky, sincere and a very talented writer. Do yourself a favor and buy this CD, if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Download Instead, March 9, 2010
By 
M. Bakcsy (Perkasie, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was disappointed when I received this order and discovered that you cannot copy the music onto your computer. I always copy music onto my iPod for portable use, as well as, use the CD in my car. If you already have the original Fearless album, I recommend downloading only the new tracks from the Platinum edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure country-pop cotton candy sprinkled with hearts and rainbows, December 1, 2008
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
Ironically, I thought the first Taylor Swift album was terrible [I got it for free, thankfully], but I heard her sing "Love Story" on the Country Music Awards, and although her vocals were weak, I found the song very catchy, so I picked up "Fearless" on sale. As cheesy and girly as it is, I LOVE this album, and have been listening to nothing else for the 2 weeks since I got it. The title track ("Fearless") is the first song on the album, and it's a strong opener. Though I must say, "Fairy Tale" would have been a much better title for this album since these lightweight tunes are about as 'fearless' as a puppy dog on a stormy night, and have tons of prince/princess/horses/hand-holding/standing outside of bedroom windows type references.

"Fearless" is a collection of songs that any teeenaged girl can relate to. Are the lyrics profound? Nah. The music innovative and brilliant? Nope. But nor does it need to be. The beauty of this album is in it's simplicity, and the best way to enjoy this cd is to take it for exactly what it is: the romantic musings of a young girl in [and sometimes out] of love, set to catchy melodies with memorable hooks. For a little old lady like myself [I'm 29], this is a pleasant throwback to high school; a time when you want so badly to fit in, and whether or not your crush smiled at you could make or break your day. It's fun to revisist those days through the eyes of a young singer for whom this stuff is recent reality.

I had every reason not to like this cd [not a *huge* country fan, not 18, never known "small town" life, etc.], but like a plain ol' peanut butter and jelly sandwhich, it just hits the spot.

Favorite tracks:

Fearless
Breathe
Fifteen
Love Story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Songwriting, But Maybe Could've Used A Little 'Fear', November 18, 2008
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
"Even country music needs its own Britney Spears." That's what the store clerk who check me out said about the disk when I bought it. I was gonna spout off a quick reply, something like 'thanks but no thanks for your opinion,' but then I thought about it: if Britney represents her values to her fans thru singing and songwriting, then sure Taylor Swift represents her values to her fans in the same way ... so I let the comment pass.

Bursting onto the scene not very long ago (this is only her 2nd album), Taylor has quickly become a voice of empowerment for young women (and those young-at-heart!) everywhere. Her lyrics are real -- based on her own "fearless" living -- and she deserves every ounce of recognition she's receiving in both the country and pop music communities.

Fearless (4 out of 5)
"You take my hand and drag me headfirst fearless." Love, like life, is all about taking chances.

Fifteen (3.5 out of 5)
Reflective, poetic in a mildly melancholy way. "This is life before you know who you're gonna be."

Love Story (4.5 out of 5)
Ah, young love. It always seems so real when you're in it, and it always seems so unreal when you're looking back on it. William Shakespeasre's "Romeo & Juliet" never ended as happily as this confection sounds, but wouldn't the world be a better place if it did? Easily one of the best tunes here.

Hey Stephen (3.5 out of 5)
"I can't help it if you look like an angel." It sounds like someone named Stephen is getting lucky with Taylor, and deservedly so. More celebration of young love, and I gave it an extract .5 just for Taylor's opening and closing humming. Lovely. What gives the song much of its charm is she allows her voice to be a bit more 'raw' and real than anywhere else on the album, which matches the lyrics perfectly. (If my name were Stephen, it'd probably be a perfect 10 song!)

White Horse (5 out of 5)
"I'm not a princess, this ain't no fairy tale ..." Love gone bad and turned into disappointment never sounded quite so sorrowful as it does behind Taylor's youthful voice, tinking piano, soft guitar, and weeping strings. Jilted girls everywhere will be crying into their pillows at bedtime with this song playing in the background. "It's too late for you and your white horse to come around."

You Belong with Me (5 out of 5)
We've all been here before (in the middle of a friendship that coulda/shoulda/woulda been so, so much more), and perhaps that's why Taylor sounds so strong here. She's a lyrical 'everyman,' capturing how we've all felt in the simplest terms. Big refrain. Crank it up.

Breathe (4.5 out of 5)
Sorry, folks, but humming in music is so sexy, and Taylor works it to great effect here. Unexpectantly. Breathy. And, yet, wholesome. "You're the only thing that I know like the back of my hand." Getting past the mistakes made in a relationship pose the greatest challenges, and that's what this tune is all about.

Tell Me Why (2.5 out of 5)
"You could write a book of how to ruin someone's perfect day." Ouch. Getting past some of the mistakes made in a relationship (whoa ... deja vu) pose some challenges not quite worth enduring.

You're Not Sorry (2.5 out of 5)
Wow. Taylor Swift has an awful lot to say about being jilted in a relationship ... and at such a young age, too. I'm starting to feel real bad for this gal. Sad piano turns into a reflection on ending love. Good song, but fairly repetitive to sentiments already explored on the disc. Not the strongest tune here.

The Way I Loved You (5 out of 5)
One of the strongest tracks here b/c, musically, it builds into something that you never expected. A girl finds the perfect man (opens her doors, treats her like a lady, loves her parents, etc.) ... "but I miss screaming and fighting and kissing in the rain, it's 2 am and I'm cursing your name, I'm so in love that I acted insane, and that's the way I loved you." It's tragic when you realize that you love someone else more than the one you're with, and Taylor Swift hits a homerun of a hit here.

Forever & Always (2 out of 5)
Sorry, but this is WAY too repetitive for the same themes already explored on this album. And for Pete's sake, give this girl a hug! Go and kiss her in the rain, already! Heaven knows she needs it at this point!

The Best Day (2.5 out of 5)
A young girl reminiscing about being an even younger girl. Wonderfully poetic lyrics.

Change (4.5 out of 5)
Pop country belted out the Taylor Swift way. Sure, maybe it's a bit predictable, but it's a good kind of predictable. All things change, and the true leaders predict it, welcome it, embrace it, celebrate it. It's about making the world a better place. "It's a revolution, throw your hands up 'cause we never gave in ..."

So what's Taylor so FEARLESS about? Clearly, it's love, and, while anyone can learn a world of lessons by plunging fearlessly into life's greatest mystery, there's a whole other series of lessons waiting for Taylor once the tempering effect that fear has on age. Don't let my 3-star-rating scare you: this is one classy effort and deserves to bought, sold, and celebrated. But what I'm more interested in is Taylor's command of lyrics. I really want to see where this young soul will be in ten year's time. I want to see her develop her skills beyond where she is today, and there's plenty of room (and time) for that to happen ... fearlessly or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, made even better!, May 7, 2009
By 
The international version of the album includes 3 new extra songs, which are very nice. Course they may not be hit single material, as it usually is with bonuses, but they are good quality. It is worth the extra money, especially as lonely planet managed to import an inexpensive version - what I got was a Malaysian printing - top quality both booklet and CD, booklet in English not Malay. The version of "Love Story" is exacly the same as on the American edition - some rumors have surfaced that the international one is different, but they aren't true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing singer songwriter!!!, November 23, 2008
This is another great cd from taylor swift she is an amazing songwriter and singer. It's a great cd but some of the songs sound the same but that does not take away from the cd at all it's great. My 2 favorite tracks on this album are fifteen and the best day. It's a great cd and the dvd is really good too. A must buy if you have the first cd or just like any of taylor's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivers as Advertised!, November 12, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fearless (MP3 Music)
Taylor Swift is what she is: she's going to sing very sweet, innocent songs about love, life, and whatever else it is that she experiences. This isn't going to make the jaded and critical among us very happy, since some can't see such innocence and happiness (for lack of a better term) as anything other than naivete. But if you're not that sort of person, there's a lot to like here. "Fearless" is a good opening track and something you'll probably hear on the radio for a while. The combination of "Love Song" and "White Horse" make for a good "fairy tale that eventually falls apart" story. "You Belong With Me" reminds me a lot of Avril Lavigne's "Sk8tr Boi" in a different genre, and "Breathe" is a sweet love/breakup song. I don't find the music to be overly produced, and the album has a good heart. I wouldn't call it one of the most spectacular albums I've ever heard, but I like Taylor's voice and I seem to be happier after I listen to it, and sometimes that's all you have to ask of your music. Worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fearless
Fearless by Taylor Swift (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.