Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW OF KARIN FOSSUM'S HE WHO FEARS THE WOLF BY JOHN CHUCKMAN
I am not a regular reader of mysteries, but my wife has encouraged me to read a number of interesting writers in this genre. One of my favorites is Norwegian writer, Karin Fossum.

He Who Fears the Wolf is a story with her appealing character, Chief Inspector Konrad Sejer, a quiet, thoughtful man with unusual powers of observation and a somewhat melancholy...
Published on December 18, 2005 by John W. Chuckman

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good psychological thriller
In Mrs Fossum's psychological thriller, the main character is a schizophrenic man of 24 called Errki Johrma. He has narrow shoulders and surprisingly wide hips and because he inherited bad hip joints, he moves about with a hideous swing as if he wants to shake off something on his back. His skin is scarred with acne, his eyes deep-set and strange, often downcast, avoiding...
Published on June 22, 2005 by HORAK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling psychological thriller, March 9, 2011
In "He Who Fears the Wolf", Ms Fossum delves into the world of a troubled individual afflicted with schizophrenia. Errki has spent a great portion of his life in and out of mental institutions, and on the day he escapes from his latest confinement, an elderly lady living in a remote location deep in the woods is found brutally murdered. The only witness apparently is a troubled, obese young delinquent, Kannick Snellingen who informs the local police chief. Because of the gravity of the crime, Chief Insp Konrad Sejer is brought in to investigate the case. Matters are complicated by another crime - a bank robbery, in which the chief murder suspect from the previous case, Errki, is found to have been taken hostage by the unidentified robber.

This a tautly-written suspense and psychological thriller - one of the most interesting story arcs in this novel is the dynamics of the relationship between the robber, Morgan and Errki. Though Morgan holds a weapon and seems to be the one in charge, the reader gets the sense that this is not really the case, especially as the story progresses. The way these two individuals interact really drives the story and makes for interesting psychological analysis.

Meanwhile, Insp Sejer tries to solve the case in his usual style - calm, intuitive and deliberate, leaving no stones unturned, and in the process even experiencing a romantic epiphany [Sejer has been widowed a number of years and has been leading a rather quiet existence].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense, tight writing, February 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: He Who Fears the Wolf (Inspector Sejer Mysteries) (Paperback)
He Who Fears the Wolf is written to entertain those readers who don't enjoy a lot descriptive adjectives tossed into a plot,as if it were a salad.
From the beginning, Karin Fossum, as with other Scandinavian authors, such as Henning Mankell, grab your attention and keep it. Like the other Karin Fossum's I've read, this is a "good read."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Exploration of Madness, August 7, 2008
By 
J. Avellanet "of ComplianceZen" (Williamsburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There are moments in this book when you have to set it down and think about what just happened. Not because it's complex, but because you need to digest some of the observations about life and people.

That is one of the reasons that I enjoy Fossum's work - it's not just another detective mystery story. The way she evokes unique sympathy for each of her characters; the endings that seem more like beginnings of a new unfinished story; the ways in which Norway comes alive - all of these appear in every one of her novels.

If you've not read any of the Inspector Sejer mysteries, this is a good one to start with (although it's her second in the series) - there is so much that is well done within the book, that it will make you want to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Curl-Up-And-Read, February 20, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good curl-up-and-read mystery. Even though it is a translation from Norwegian, it reads very well. Nothing seems to be lost. Karin builds her characters in a way that you can visualize them as real folks with real stories. She can twist and turn and keep you guessing. I like that she doesn't reveal the who-dun-it until close to the end, then takes you through their story. I am in my third book and intend to read the whole series. You won't be sorry about this read and her others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, January 3, 2015
By 
Always terrific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, June 29, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found it very dark and depressing.Characterisation was the one redeeming feature of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Character And Story Driven, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very readable series with well developed characters. Each book stands alone.
Only 4 as this, for me, is entertainment versus literary fiction and doesn't trancend. I would highly recommend though do not look for fast pace or heart pounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars In the woods, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was my first Sejer mystery. It just was a little two dreary for me with two of the characters being of a similar background and the third very close. The description of theforst
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pop psycharitry, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was looking for more Scandinavian writers in the genre of Henning Mankell and Maj Sjowell and Per Wahloo. I was quite disappointed with this venture into the minds of a mentally ill young man and an obese boy. The detective hero of the book was overshadowed by these characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Karin Fossum writes a good thriller this time., January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was a good psycho thriller. It's not the typical "who did it" but rather a novel full of surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

He Who Fears the Wolf (Inspector Sejer Mysteries)
He Who Fears the Wolf (Inspector Sejer Mysteries) by Karin Fossum (Paperback - July 3, 2006)
$14.95 $10.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.