Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


240 of 246 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal ASOIAF cookbook!
I unfortunately ordered The Unofficial Game of Thrones Cookbook: From Direwolf Ale to Auroch Stew - More Than 150 Recipes from Westeros and Beyond before this one (my incessant need to buy anything asoiaf-related), and it was a disappointent. Recipes that weren't related to the book, no pictures, no glossy pages....pretty much BORING. This, on the other hand, the...
Published on June 2, 2012 by D. C. Obraztsov

versus
17 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For experienced bakers only
I love to bake and have done entire medieval dinners for friends so I was excited to try recipes from the Feast of Ice and Fire. I tried the medieval version of the Wintercake and the modern version of the Honey Biscuits. In both cases I had to add far more liquid than specified in the recipe just to get the dough to stick together. I tried each recipe more than once to...
Published 22 months ago by AvidReader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 527 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect., July 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book has some great recipes that are incredibly easy to produce, all are delicious! I was especially excited to see the medieval versions of the recipes included with the modern versions. You will want to make sure you stock your cupboard and spice rack with the items listed in the beginning of the book because the subtle flavors of things like long pepper are really the icing on the cake!

As the title suggests, there was a small problem. Some of the recipes are 99.9% complete, but forget to mention when you add salt to the bread mix or some other minor issue. If a truly new chef were to pick up this book, they might have a problem figuring some of the recipes out. Otherwise, it's a stellar cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook ever., August 20, 2012
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
My wife got this for me. I am a huge fans of A Song of Ice and Fire. While reading the books, I used to tell my wife about how well GRR Martin described the feast and meals throughout the story. This winter, I saw this book was coming out, and almost jumped out of my kilt in excitement! It arrived today, and I have been reading through it to myself and aloud to my wife. This is ridiculously well done, with loving dedication to the Song of Ice and Fire books, each recipe is accompanied by the quote referencing it in the novels, and authentic medieval recipes and their modern equivalent. They also give pairing suggestions, and whole menu arrangements for throwing a dinner party. If you are a fan of Martin's books, the HBO series, The Lord of the Rings, Medieval Times, Vikings, Knights, or anything of that nature. BUY. THIS. BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Foods - you cook or you marvel at the food porn, August 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
Great book with really nice pictures and backstory for all the recipes. They're arranged in a really helpful way so you can decide if you want to explore the flavours of the north or try something quite exotic from across the narrow sea. It also has a foreword by George R.R Martin himself, so they're even author approved and tasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, July 3, 2012
By 
Lady Aoife (Bartlesville, OK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
As a GRRM fan and also a medieval re-enactor with an interest in food, I completely enjoyed this book. It has modern and medieval redactions of most recipes and the photos are "appetizing". It's fun to see what these ladies have come up with to represent each country in the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Wait To Try Them...But I Need To Learn To Cook First, I Suppose, September 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
Wow! I can't wait to try some of these. It came the other day, but I haven't worked up the nerve to try and cook anything yet. I'm not much of a cook, in fact I don't cook at all. but now that I have this book I just might. If you are a fan of either the show or the books then I recommend this book, even if like me, you are not handy in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great recipes, easy to make!, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
great book! a must-have for ASOIAF fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
Love this book! Love that for some of the items it gives you a choice of modern day recipes or the more obscure and adventurous medieval recipes. Food was great and easy to follow directions. We have a Game of Thrones feast every Sunday when the show comes on for the season and all the sides and main dishes and desserts I get from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just finished reading, and loving it., July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The recipe in here are outstanding. And these dessert are the kind I can see myself eating. I can't do sweets because of how sweet they are. So the explanation in here on the difference in sweetness is what I need. Time to research more renaissance and medieval cookery. Family be ready to feast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting cookbook for Game of Throne fans., July 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
I love to cook. I love to watch Game of Thrones. The cookbook is the best of both worlds for Game of Throne fans who love to cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook (Hardcover)
It has great recipes. Lots of them are just like in the book! You will not regret buying this cook book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 527 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook
A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Game of Thrones Companion Cookbook by Chelsea Monroe-Cassel (Hardcover - May 29, 2012)
$35.00 $19.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.