Customer Reviews


329 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful box set..and the first movie..FINALLY proper aspect ratio!
I enjoyed this series of films very much. The "Goldmember" film a bit less but overall a very creative and funny pop culture feast! One of the big bonus's for me anyway is to finally have the original Austin Powers movie in the proper 2:4 aspect ratio after years of having to watch it on 1:85 on normal DVD. This may not mean much to some viewers but to those interested in...
Published on February 22, 2009 by Richardson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 disks
I was expecting three DVDs. One had two movies and which may be OK if it at least where labeled. Spend a little more money.
Published on January 6, 2013 by MBswinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Got the Collection, December 6, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dave "Davelandweb" is pretty much dead on except for the extended surround formats which are not mentioned on the product. I'm using Dolby TrueHD anyway with a 7.1 receiver that applies a back surround matrix to 5.1 material anyway so it's all good. Visually, all the transfer look good with just a bit of film grain and very few blemishes here and there. Reminds me of how good the DVD transfers were. The Blu-ray versions blow them away, I'm just saying the DVDs were pretty good for what they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For a James Bond Rip-Off, it sure did take on a life..., August 17, 2004
of it's own. When it started, they just wanted to make a comedey version of James Bond (If you haven't noticed, here's somethings that might spark your memory). Obviously, they're both Spy's under cover, going on missions, and getting the girl, but here's what you might not have noticed...

Bond: The Spy Who Loved Me, Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me

Bond: Dr. No, Powers: Dr. Evil

Bond: Goldfinger, Powers: Goldmember

Bond: Octopussy, Powers: Austinpussy

... and those are just a few examples. I guess my point is, is that some people don't realize it was a rip-off, and despite that, it turned out to be a very funny movie! (btw, I only know so much about Bond because of my little brother, he's a big fan.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good trilogy..., January 19, 2005
they need to come out with a new one, I'm getting mad because the last one they came out with so far was in Summer 2002... anyway onto the movies.

Austin Powers:International Man of Mystery - 9/10, I like this one because it was the first & the jokes are really funny, Probably the most crude of the 3 also.

Austin Powers:The Spy who Shagged Me - 7/10, My least favorite of the 3, It just didnt have what the first one did, but Fat (...), & Mini Me were cool.

Austin Powers (in) Goldmember - 10/10, The best & funniest one, Mike Myers plays Goldmember, Goldmember is the funniest charactar from these movies I can remember, The best by far, but they need a fourth one!!! Buy these if you dont have them ( I bought the 3 pack).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shag Now! Don't Shag Later With This Collection!!!, April 25, 2004
By 
C.S Lee "hairyLGS" (Selangor, West Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mike Myers, I thank you for this incredible collection set that's worth my money and everything else in it!
Alright folks, this is a collection set of Austin Powers that's not just worth buying for its worth owning!
Take a look at the individual specs for each movie. Then, take a look at the special features offered in each movie. And then, just do the math and what do you have? A movie collection that's worth all the laughs in the world that no matter how many times you watch it, you'll still keep on laughing.
So, shall we shag now or what? Don't make this collection wait, baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st-Great 2nd-Good 3rd-pretty good, January 27, 2006
Austin Powers International man of mystery is one of the funniest and most original comedies ever created. Mike Myers at his best.

The Spy Who Shagged Me is also hilarious. It feutures two new fantastic characters (Mini Me and Fat Bastard), still incredibly funny.

Goldmember is the clear least of the three. It is still somewhat funny, but it doesn't compare to the first or even the second. Pretty much all of the jokes are either recycled from the first two or laughlessly blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trio of movies for a great price., November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Austin Powers Triple Feature (International Man of Mystery / The Spy Who Shagged Me / Goldmember) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Grew up watching the movies and TV shows this trio of films spoofs, satirizes, pokes fun at and generally enjoys mocking while at the same time they revere, honor and pay homage to them. Absolute classics. Individually all three are Masterpieces and together they make a priceless addition to your collection. (At least they are if you are like me and they strike a perfect cord with your childhood and youth.)

The packaging is Spartan. One slim jewel case, no insert, no bells and whistles. The three disks have the usual features and bonus materials available. The Blu-Ray format doesn't do much for the movies as they are not high impact experiences dependent on big FX splashes across the screen, but it doesn't hurt either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT COLLECTION!!!, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If your an "Austin Powers" fan, this is a great deal. Very small price for so much enjoyment. Now it does not have any new special features, but they each have commentaries.
All 3 movies (International man of mystery, The spy who shagged me, and Goldmember) are here. NOTE: Disc one is "the Spy who Shagged Me", disc two side A is "International man of mystery" and disc two side B is "Goldmember'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powers by name, Powers by reputation!, December 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not gunna review the movies...most people already do that. I just wanna say this collection is very much worth the money. I didn't even expect bonus stuff but each movie does have some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Shagadelic, baby..., June 20, 2008
By 
Thomas Glebe (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
I must admit that when I first saw the initial Austin Powers movie, I didn't really quite get it. And I didn't really like it as well. However, in retrospect, I must also admit that my feelings about the first movie (and sequels) slowly changed as I realized that really, this series of movies were/are not so much parodies of the James Bond films, but parodies of lesser known, earlier spy film lampoons and exotic, comedic spin-offs such as James Coburn's "In Like Flint" and "Our Man Flint," the Matt Helm (Dean Martin) efforts, and so forth. If you have casually seen a few or most of the "serious" James Bond films, you might not get this important aspect, as I seemingly did not at first, because while the Austin Powers films are supposed satires of the original Bond films, they are in essence, actually parodies of parodies. Clear as mud?

While this DVD trilogy is a great buy for those who love/loved the original three Austin Powers' films (and a fourth one is on the way, they say, yippie) and while one can easily get repeated laughs from frequent viewings of all three, while all three films are better than about 95 percent of most Hollywood comedies, past, present, and future, this collection will always remain a must have for even the most fussy collectors of recent comedy movie series. And particularly collectors of comedic genius Mike Myers' best efforts past/present (especially considering the apparent critically and box-office misfire "The Love Guru"). These three Austin Powers films however, were not created equal, for various reasons. For me, the first is great, the second even better (and the best of the three), but the third is a bit of a slight downer compared to the first two. All three however, have their strong and weak points, and as to which one a fan may like better than another, it's all certainly relative, because all three are very good at the very least, and there are more than enough purely funny moments in all three to make this collection a must have.

Mike Myers got his "big" start in the biz as a member of NBC's "Saturday Night Live," where many of his characters/ideas and unique brands of humor and outlooks on life engendered popular and critical acclaim, including skits and sketches involving Deter, the German neo-wave TV talk/dance show "Sprockets" host, and Barbara ("I'm verklempt") and Wayne's World's Wayne (which led to two feature films). But none of his work prior to his Austin Powers efforts truly showed his potential, in my view. I can only hope that if and when we DO see a fourth Austin movie, it pays attention and tribute to the first two of the series, and less so to the third. Breaking down the three films a bit more individually...

AUSTIN POWERS, INTERNATIONAL MAN OF MYSTERY (the first):

After a few viewings, it became clear to me that this was not so much a parody of semi-serious 60-70's spy, secret agent films as it was and remains a parody of all of those even remotely-genre similar films. This realization is an important part of how one views this and subsequent sequels. This idea is even cleverly incorporated (as are so many others), in the second film, when Austin is seen watching one of the earlier James Coburn spy spoof parodies while watching TV, when Powers says, "Hey, this is one of my favorite movies..." This was in fact, the turning point in my own turn-about appreciation for Myers' entire Austin Powers trilogy. For in more youthful days, I had loved the Flint and Matt Helm flicks and eventually came to see the Austin Powers films and general ideas, as what they were/are really all about, parodies within parodies. And ones done with true comedic abandon.

The first film gets at least 4 and a half stars.

AUSTIN POWERS, THE SPY WHO SHAGGED ME (the second):

After generally converting to a casual fan of the whole Austin Powers experience, after giving the first movie a few viewings, I was so ready for another go-around, and the second film more than delivered. It also cemented me as a die-hard Austin Powers fan. New characters include "Mini-Me" and "Fat Bastard," as well as much more Doctor Evil scenes and ideas, which were the highlights of the first film (and generally all three actually). Both two, new main characters add to the general mayhem and funny parts, as well as does Rob Lowe as a younger Robert Wagner ("number two"), but there are many new incarnations and developments from the first film which only add greatly to the original concepts. Mainly, consistent referrals back to the original effort, and imaginative additions and refinements to the first movie.

Overall, the second film of this original trilogy is without a doubt, in my opinion, the best, and earns 5 stars, without a doubt, baby.

AUSTIN POWERS, GOLDMEMBER (the third):

After some clever and innovative beginnings, but which rely more on their star-studded offerings than their genuine humor or originality, this third Austin Powers film was/is undoubtedly the weakest of the three, but is no doubt worth at least four stars. Mike Myers adds and plays yet another character here, besides Austin, Dr. Evil, and Fat Bastard, in the form of Goldmember, but a lot of the jokes and humor here falls kinda flat more often than not. While it is still a great comedy, it is without question a step down from the first and second films. The female lead, strong and relevant in the two previous efforts, is lacking here, because while singer Beyonce is as gorgeous as Austin's prior two female partners, her acting leaves a lot to be desired, and there really is no "chemistry" between Austin and her as was strongly present in the first two films. There is also a continual but mostly tame, self-referential mock-parody of the series itself here, which gives me the feeling that this third entry wasn't too well thought out or written as were the original and first sequel.

Therefore, at best, Goldmember barely manages 4 stars. But its still pretty good compared to most other studio-released comedies, despite various shortcomings.

After all is said and done, while this type of Airplane/Naked Gun series throws everything at the screen in rapid order, in hopes that at least a few of the many jokes and humorous ideas may stick, and add up to a truly enjoyable time and DVD collection bargain, these films and their own unique brand of humor, do just what they're intended to do. And that is, to make us laugh or at least smile. That is Mike Myers's general career gift to us all, and these three films will always do that for those who appreciate humor for humor's sake. Even if you've seen all three, this is a great buy in that it affords not only commercial free and uncensored, uninterrupted versions of Myers' genius (seeing as how mainstream TV showings of all three seem heavily edited), but a great addition to anyone's collection of rainy-day, forget-your-troubles for awhile, get-a-way movie pleasures. While a lot of the humor is crude and bodily-functioned, sophomoric nonsense, and definitely not suited for all tastes, a lot of the humor and intent additionally hits the mark more often than not. And while most of the hilarity aims for nothing more than what is actually presented, throughout the series, there are equally funny but subtle ideas and perceptions scattered about which one can only discern with repeated viewings.

If and whenever there is a fourth movie in this series, I can hardly wait. Because while the first movie is great, the second even better and arguably the best, the third flawed but still hilarious in parts, all three together for the low price being asked as I write this, is no doubt probably one of the best film comedy collection bargains ever offered. And remember, as was stated in the second film, paraphrasing, try not to think too hard about any of this making much sense, and just enjoy the overwhelmingly silly ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have trilogy for comedy lovers!!!, November 17, 2004
By 
CT (Fresno, CA USA) - See all my reviews
I like this package. Austin Powers is truly a great trilogy. The only problem is that 2 of the DVD's are fullscreen and 1 is widescreen. I wanted all widescreen, but it's ok. I actually found it at my local Target. It was a great deal. Thanks Target! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.