Customer Reviews


846 Reviews
5 star:
 (534)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (76)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (88)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


179 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool Box Set
I know many people want to wait for the box that will come out after the 7th movie, but as I want to watch the movies again prior to 2010, this made for an excellent hold over until then.

The box itself looks and feels like an old piece of luggage and there are lots of fun things inside. Each movie comes as a two disc set enclosed in a case resembling a text...
Published on December 12, 2007 by L. Moskowitz

versus
87 of 105 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing 5th movie
I just sat down to watch the 5th movie in this set and unfortunately what was in the package wasn't the movie, but "special features". Which means either I have to exchange the set and try my luck again (looks like this is a common problem with this set) or I just fork over more money to get just the 5th movie. Very sloppy to be selling something like this.
Published on January 21, 2009 by E. Bauer


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

179 of 202 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool Box Set, December 12, 2007
By 
L. Moskowitz (Skillman, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I know many people want to wait for the box that will come out after the 7th movie, but as I want to watch the movies again prior to 2010, this made for an excellent hold over until then.

The box itself looks and feels like an old piece of luggage and there are lots of fun things inside. Each movie comes as a two disc set enclosed in a case resembling a text book. There are two extra "books", the interactive DVD game and an disc full of Harry Potter extras (various short documentaries for each film).

In addition to the DVDs, the box also contains trading cards and bookmarks. The cards are very cool, but the bookmarks are the highlight of the extras. They are of metal construction and are very detailed. There are bookmarks of Hedwig, Harry's Broom, a Golden Snitch, Gryffindor Shield, and Voldemort's Prophecy.

If you don't want to wait until after The Deathly Hallows or you just want a really impressive set to collect, I highly recommend you pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


171 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Features, December 16, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just received this today, and I wanted to post the Special Features listed on the back of this set in hopes that I can help others wishing to buy this.

The special features are listed by movie, so here goes:

*Year 1: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Additional Scenes . Capturing the Stone: Casting and Bringing the Novel to Life . Around the world multilanguage Clip . Ghosts of Hogwarts . Yearbook Character Clips . Lessons in Quidditch and What it takes to hatch a Dragon Egg

*Year 2: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Additional Scenes . Conversation with Author J.K. Rowling and Screenwriter Steve Kloves . Building a Scene: Moviemaking Magic . Visit Lockhart's Classroom to view his Certificates and Required Reading . Interviews with Students, Professors and More

*Year 3: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkapan

Additional Scenes . Creating the Vision: Director Alfonso Cuar'on, Author J.K. Rowling and others reflect . Conjuring a Scene: The On-set Magic of Cinematic Craftspeople . Shrunken Head Interviews with Heroes, Gryffindors, Slytherins, Teachers, Dursleys and Filmmakers . Choir Practice . Care of Magical Creatures

*Year 4: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Additional Scenes . Conversations with the Cast . Preparing for the Yule Ball . Reflections on the Fourth Film . Harry vs the Horntail: The First Task . Meet the Champions . In Too Deep: The Second Task . The Maze: The Third Task . He Who Must Not be Named

*Year 5: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
(SPECIAL FEATURES FOR OotP ARE IN HIGH DEFINITION)

Focus Points: Featurettes and Production Diaries . Additional Scenes . The Hidden Secrets of Harry Potter: Revisit the First 5 Movies for Clues . Trailing Tonks: Personal Film . Set Tour . Harry Potter: The Magic of Editing - Director David Yates and Editor Mark Day Show What a Difference a Good Edit Makes and Then Allow You to Edit a Scene

--------------------------------------------------

Overall I'm very excited about this, even without any of the Special Features, you still get all five movies in Full High Definition
[1080p High Definition 16x9 2.4:1] for less than $90.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Good Boxed Set That Should Have Been Great, December 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would have loved to give this one a five star rating but I would be in denial to do so. First of all let me say for better or for worse I really enjoy all five of the Harry Potter movies. Sure I wish the last two films were longer but realistically it's impossible to convert a 700 plus page book into a movie that's two hours and change.

For the most part the movies here look spectacular. For the most part. "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" looks really good. But for the price of a BD movie it should look a lot better. The rest of the catalogue looks terrific however, especially Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

As others have stated the packaging is rather cumbersome. I would have preferred the movies be in their regular blue cases as opposed to the cases that are different sizes. Still, I am sure most collectors will be happy with this set. Although it's not perfect, this set will probably make any Harry Potter fan fortunate enough to own a Blu Ray player happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better picture and sound, fewer extras, no BD innovation, August 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Briefly
=====
When I ordered the Years 1-5 Blu bundle I already had years 1-4 on DVD and year 5 on Blu. My expectations were to get significantly better picture quality and improved sound. These being at least for years 1-4 original DVD re-releases, I did not expect a lot of Blu 'special treatment'. My expectations, both the positive and the negative ones were generally met with a few disappointments on the special features treatment.

Physical delivery
============
We get a small bundle. Each individual movie is delivered on one Blu disc inside a Blu slim case. There's nothing inside the case but the disc itself. The carton box lists the special features for each of the 5 movies on the back.

Video
====
Movies are all presented on 1080p and a 2.4:1 aspect ratio. The picture quality is excellent even by Blu standards.

Sound
=====
Linear PCM 5.1 sounds amazing. It's a clear improvement over the DVD's Dolby 5.1 which is also available as the default audio option.

Special features
============
This is where, surprisingly, the Blu edition offers 'less' than the DVD.

- All the DVD ROM features present on the DVD releases are missing. This is understandable and not unexpected. There are very few computers with Blu drives these days.
- All the 'interactive' features present on the DVD releases are missing. This is not understandable or expected because greater interactivity is one of Blu's selling points.
- All the other DVD features are present on the Blu releases but they are all unchanged - the same low resolution.
- No new special features were added to the Blu releases. Not even the invitation to access the movie's Web site wasn't translated into a hyperlink and there is no BD-Live.

Rating
=====
The bundle is definitely recommended to anyone who hasn't bought the Harry Potter movies on DVD already if one can't wait for 2 more years to get the complete 7-movie pack that MIGHT benefit from a special Blu facelift.

For someone like me, who already has the DVD copies, it was a 'maybe'. I took advantage of a deep discount opportunity at Amazon and I don't regret my purchase. I will probably try to resell my single 'Order of the Phoenix' Blu copy and the individual years 1-4 on DVD.

Overall, this bundle can't get the 5-star 'exceptional' rating but earns a solid 4 stars because, while the movies themselves are presented well, nothing special was done to add to the original DVD special features, to enhance the existing ones or to take advantage of any Blu-ray specific capabilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 105 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing 5th movie, January 21, 2009
By 
E. Bauer (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just sat down to watch the 5th movie in this set and unfortunately what was in the package wasn't the movie, but "special features". Which means either I have to exchange the set and try my luck again (looks like this is a common problem with this set) or I just fork over more money to get just the 5th movie. Very sloppy to be selling something like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MIS-PACKAGED, January 19, 2009
I recieved everything listed EXCEPT FOR THE FIFTH MOVIE. I recieved the "special features" for the fifth film instead (which does me litte to no good) but the other 4 movies were the widescreen films as listed. I dont like that this item is hit-or-miss but I still got 4/5 movies for 30 dollars so i guess the price was right. I don't like the false advertising though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 110 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the stand-alone blu-ray disks..., December 20, 2007
By 
J. York (Cypress, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This set is bizarre and seems thrown together from an odds & ends bin of spare parts. Inside the exterior "trunk", the disks come in two different sizes of folding cases that do not at all resemble a product family. You're really stuck storing all of the disks in this case forever because none of the disks has sufficient labeling to be on the shelf by themselves.

For uniformities sake, I'd much have preferred to buy the 5 blu-ray disks individually- especially knowing that another three movies will have to be purchased to complete this "set" in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potter on Blu-ray? Bloody brilliant!!, January 18, 2009
By 
K. Sparkuhl (Nampa, Idaho, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Packed in five slim-line Blu-ray cases and housed in an attractive box, this Harry Potter box set fits in nicely with my steadily growing Blu-ray collection. All the movies have been given the standard Blu-ray treatment: interactive menus, in-depth interviews and features, along with stunning, razor sharp images and crystal clear, Dolby Digital True-HD sound. It's the stuff that Blu-ray is known for and it's been put together quite nicely in this fabulous set. If you're a fan of Harry Potter, you already know the movies. But, if you already own a Blu-ray player or simply need an excuse to buy one, this is a great set to get you started in viewing movies in their true HD glory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix HD DVD PiP ROCKS!, December 13, 2007
By 
The HD DVD version of "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" is amazing! The PiP feature along with the little featurettes you can immediately switch over to while watching the film is absolutely one of the most outstanding gifts this Hi-Def version has going for it. It is truly enjoyable to watch the actors of the film talk to you about the scenes and give their little tidbits and inside information on what went into the making of the film. The PiP experience is a wonderful and personal way to enjoy this or any other HD DVD that has it and I can't praise this superior technology enough. I got the years 1-5 special boxed set edition so all the added "making of" specials included on the bonus disc is also a big plus for getting this special HD DVD edition. Of course, some people would rather wait until they finish the final film in the series to get a boxed set, but if your are a true Harry Potter fan then do yourself a favor and get the HD DVD boxed set now rather then wait until sometime after 2010 when the 7th film is slated for completion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picked up the set today, December 11, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Clearwater, FL United States) - See all my reviews
While I'm new to HD DVD's, from the few I've seen, I'm very impressed with this set. Going from the first 2 movies seen so far, the graphics are VERY crisp and clear, so much though that sometimes you can see the difference between live actors and the CGI sets, something more blurred out from the less sharp DVD's.

The sound is great, after watching 'Phantom of the Opera' by ALW, I was a little disappointed in its sound, and was hoping that the HP set was not as bad, and I was happy to find that the sound was great!

Extras, the three plus hours of extras on the bonus DVD is nice, there's a card set that's like the cards in the 'Chocolate Frogs' which comes in the envelope invitation to Hogwarts in the first movie. A very impressive bookmarker set within with a flying broom letter opener, three bookmarker in the shape of a owl, seeker ball and the snake symbol from the second movie as well as a Gryffindor badge. All in steel and would I think cost a bit if sold separately.

It all comes in a nice box that's shaped like Harry's trunk, everything nicely packaged and sweet. As for the price, if your want all five movies you're already looking at $130+ for the HD versions, so if you can afford it, this is a cheaper way to go and one of the better Limited Edition Box Set's as I've seen, whether it's HD, regular DVD's or VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.