Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's All In The Book
Jack Challem has created a complete guide to addressing our "genetic nutritional needs". Along with a concrete expanation of the genenic link between nutrition and health, Jack provides a blueprint to guide the reader in choosing supplements and a menu that supoports healthy nutrition for our genes. He even includes recipes! He has taken a complex subject and made it easy...
Published on March 16, 2005 by Annette Austin

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack Challem, Jack Challem, Jack ...
I do not mean to discredit the author's work, particularly as I have not read this book, but I spent some time looking at the reviews and merely want to caution other consumers that all 9 presently existing 5-star reviews either begin directly with the author's name or by pointing out that he is an expert / veteran etc. health writer:

Expert health writer, Jack...
Published on May 14, 2011 by Caledophil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack Challem, Jack Challem, Jack ..., May 14, 2011
This review is from: Feed Your Genes Right: Eat to Turn Off Disease-Causing Genes and Slow Down Aging (Paperback)
I do not mean to discredit the author's work, particularly as I have not read this book, but I spent some time looking at the reviews and merely want to caution other consumers that all 9 presently existing 5-star reviews either begin directly with the author's name or by pointing out that he is an expert / veteran etc. health writer:

Expert health writer, Jack Challem, scores ...
Jack Challem has created ...
Challem has provided ...
This latest work by veteran health writer Jack Challem ...
Jack Challem is at his best in ...
Jack Challem's book ...
Jack Challem's "Feed Your Genes Right" ...
Once again, Jack Challem has come up with...
Jack Challem's latest contribution is ...

As if that wasn't suspicious enough, 8 out of the 9 were posted in 2005, mostly early in the year.

Now you decide if this isn't someone desperately trying to make a name for himself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but requires further research, July 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book begins with a discussion on how the author views genes as being variable, not fixed, which is a mistake he claims many doctors make. He then explains how he uses vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and vitamin-like substances to bolster his own health, and makes recommendations to others. The book is written in a clear style and even people without much background in biology or nutrition shouldn't have trouble reading it.

Nothing in the book is necessarily new; having taken nutrition classes in college I had heard of all of the substances he talks about. However, their interaction with genes was fascinating to read about. These interactions were drawn from studies published in journals, which he summarizes.

Here is where caution is needed: Yes, the author cites actual published medical studies. However, they are relatively few in number, compared to the number of studies that exist. Some of his recommendations are based on the results of only one study, sometimes with just a handful of participants. Some are based solely on animal studies. Anyone who knows anything about statistics will tell you not to base your whole course of action on such paltry information. Many, many studies need to be done that consistently show similar results in humans in order to form such determined recommendations as the author freely gives.

In addition, the author's recommendations for supplementation are in many cases several (sometimes several 100) times higher than the established safe DVs. While it's true that taking so much more of a water soluble vitamin such as vitamin C daily probably won't harm you, taking such large doses of fat soluble vitamins *may* lead to toxicity. This is another area that needs more research before jumping on board the author's recommendations.

Finally, I was going to give this book 3 stars, but when I glanced at the other reviews, I noticed, as another reviewer has mentioned, that the majority of them seem to be nothing but propaganda. I suspect they were written by the author or his friends, and my opinion of him in general and thus, in his ability to give good nutrition advice, dropped. Hence, only 2 stars. Read the book if you're interested, but be wary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's All In The Book, March 16, 2005
Jack Challem has created a complete guide to addressing our "genetic nutritional needs". Along with a concrete expanation of the genenic link between nutrition and health, Jack provides a blueprint to guide the reader in choosing supplements and a menu that supoports healthy nutrition for our genes. He even includes recipes! He has taken a complex subject and made it easy for anyone to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nutrigenomics Explained, June 7, 2005
Expert health writer, Jack Challem, scores with this skillfully written and detailed book on the new science of nutrigenomics. This emerging discipline explains how nutrition affects health by altering the expression of various genes. Jack adeptly shows how nutrigenomics enables people to better manage their health and well being by specifically matching their diets with their unique genetic makeup. If you are not yet up to speed on nutrigenomics, then this book is an indispensable read. As per Jack's norm, it is thoroughly researched and contains cutting edge information. I recommend it highly.

Loren Cordain, author: The Paleo Diet. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars putting genetic nutrition into action, June 27, 2010
By 
J. Saffell (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jack Challem's book on the interaction of genes and nutrition is perfectly written for the lay person. It makes complex information completely understandable. I find it to be an extremely useful book in understanding autoimmune issues that may have a genetic trigger affected by food and nutritional deficiencies.

Anyone interested in 'Paleo' nutrition will also find this book most useful and illuminating. Additionally, it identified tests that might help me further unravel various health puzzles. If you or a family member have a health disorder that may be connected to a food-triggered gene alteration, you'll find the book useful.

All in all it's one of the best health books I've added to my library. I wish I had known about it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Information, May 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feed Your Genes Right: Eat to Turn Off Disease-Causing Genes and Slow Down Aging (Paperback)
This book is a keeper. It contains a lot of good nutritional information compiled in one book. After checking it out three times from the local library decided I had to have a copy for my own library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast for Sore Genes, March 22, 2005
This latest work by veteran health writer Jack Challem is a clear, easy-to-read entree to the world of nutrigenetics--optimizing genetic performance through nutrition. Nearly all of us can benefit from learning how our food choices influence our genes, and thereby every aspect of our body functions. There is plenty of good advice in this book, backed up with some healthful recipes, for getting the most out of the genes you were born with. The author does not overlook the detrimental effects of cultural influences, such as the shift in fatty-acids ratios in the modern diet, among others. Although this book speaks to everyone, those with certain problems (like too much homocysteine in the blood) may find answers especially for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why we all need "Feed Your Gene Right" by Jack Challem, February 25, 2005
Jack Challem's "Feed Your Genes Right" is nothing short of revolutionary.

This book shows us why we don't need to be enslaved by the spectre of our genetic inheritance.

In clear, simple yet compelling language, Challem singlehandedly provides a voice for the modern science of nutrigenomics, a science which is uncovering the myriad ways through which what we eat determines how our biochemical/metabolic-related genes behave, how they signal, whether they are turned on or off--in short, whether we can put ourselves on a path to optimal health or to a genetic legacy that is (in some cases) best left behind.

"Feed Your Genes Right" offers many practical steps and actionable solutions (including recipes and select supplements) by which we can guide ourselves (yes, including our genes) to true health.

Challem has always been on the forefront of connecting the leading edge of scientific discovery with real-world solutions that don't involve fad diets or gimmicky approaches--just inspired insights that we can embrace for a lifetime.
--James J. Gormley

James J. Gormley is an award-winning journalist, health advocate and commentator who has been a frequent guest on "The Deborah Ray Show," FOX-TV's "Good Day New York," "Conversations With Harold Channer," "BronxTalk" and national radio. A U.S. delegate to a major health conference in China in 2001, Gormley was the editor-in-chief of Better Nutrition magazine from 1995 to 2002. Co-author of the User's Guide to Brain-Boosting Supplements (Basic Health, 2004) and Health Benefits of Phosphatidylserine (Basic Health, 2005) and author of DHA, A Good Fat (Kensington/Zebra, 1999), Gormley is a Policy Advisor to Citizens for Health ([...] He is a sought-after natural products industry analyst and serves as scientific liaison for Purchase, N.Y.-based Nutrition 21 ([...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely Message of Hope and Action, March 2, 2005
Challem has provided both hope and an action plan for those of us with family histories of disease. Using fruits, vegetables and basic supplementation we can turn on "protective" genes and turn off "flawed" genes, improving the quality of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely and Tasty, February 28, 2005
Once again, Jack Challem has come up with a leading-edge topic that he supports with solid research and delicious, easy to follow recipes that help us put it all into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Feed Your Genes Right: Eat to Turn Off Disease-Causing Genes and Slow Down Aging
$14.95 $12.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.