Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The psychology of happiness made deceptively simple
In this follow-on to his first book, You Can Have What You Want, Michael Neill offers an entertaining, easy-to-read "how-to" book on happiness.

One of the hallmarks of Michael's writing is his ability to take pretty sophisticated stuff and make it simple to understand and put into practice. He uses a blend of personal anecdotes, stories and metaphors, and...
Published on January 21, 2008 by Stever Robbins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Feel Happy Now
This book has great sugguestion outrageous sugguestions on being happy.At times he mentions to try to be unhappy instead of being happy believe it or not,but he has his reasons for sugguestion that when you read the book you will find out.He also mentions taking time to practice a cartoon voice here and there pretend you are mickey mouse he mentions at one point as,well...
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The psychology of happiness made deceptively simple, January 21, 2008
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
In this follow-on to his first book, You Can Have What You Want, Michael Neill offers an entertaining, easy-to-read "how-to" book on happiness.

One of the hallmarks of Michael's writing is his ability to take pretty sophisticated stuff and make it simple to understand and put into practice. He uses a blend of personal anecdotes, stories and metaphors, and step-by-step instructions to get his points across.

As with his first book, Michael doesn't take a "woo-woo" approach to the topic. There's no "Angel Therapy" in this book. Michael writes about happiness with rigorous application of applied psychology, yet his style couldn't be more accessible.

The book takes many of the findings of positive psychology and happiness research and rather than just presenting it and saying, "figure out how to do this," he walks you through applying it to your own life.

Part one examines the link between body-state and state-of-mind. Michael gives physical exercises that show you how to control your attitude by controlling your physical body. The exercises can even be done while you're reading.

Part two shows us how the stories we tell ourselves determine our happiness. He weaves in positive psychology's learned optimism research, showing how to change internal stories to be more optimistic and powerful. This section also covers anxiety, fear, and panic attacks.

Part three covers the gamut of our emotions, including self-worth (including a 360-degree feedback exercise to find out how you're perceived by others), gratitude, compassion, attachment to planning, and living a life of inspiration.

All in all, the book's content is excellent. If anything, there's so much here that it's hard to put it all into practice. I've adopted the practices one or two at a time over the last year (I read the UK version the moment it came out) and the improvement in my mood and happiness has been incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An olive branch and a slapstick to any unhappy life!, January 10, 2008
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
When I got a copy of Michael Neill's first book "You Can Have What You Want" I actually began my Amazon review with the statement "It is your duty to be happy, happy people make for a better world. "

In the flow of this thinking I find his next book directly coaches the reader on a way of not only making "Happiness" a feeling, but a way of life.

Wisely, the founding fathers of America included the pursuit of happiness in the charter for citizens of a new kind of country, the United States. For your new kind of life, Neill wisely outlines a pursuit for anyone to make happiness their reality in a fun, easy-to-read manner. I believe this book on happiness is in many ways even better than his first in that it is VERY practical, deeper and illustrates his passion for life that makes you, the reader, begin to make your own peace and success a personal concern. Words are powerful, the words in this book and the words that you use to define your life as Neill makes so clear here.

Michael makes happiness "now" a possibility for anyone; outlining a simple (not simplistic) series of three parts "Feeling Good," "Feeling Better" and finally "Feeling Happy" which are broken into chapters that are easy and fun to digest and understand.

Trust me, you will at least know how you could be happy after reading this, even if you don't give yourself permission to be happy right away. Read it, and open your life to the possibility of it being generally a happy one regardless of your circumstances. I have read a few books on the subject and this is one of the top ones in the field.

Best of all, his book has the important distinction of coaching to be happy NOW, not by looking backwards at your life, because nothing can block happiness now, more than happiness remembered. Michael's book is about your life now. It succeeds on every level that the book aspires to illuminate.

Feel Happy Now delivers a lifetime of wisdom from the author with the goal of making anyone who reads it feel like they have had a one on one coaching from Mr. Neill about their life at the present moment.

---Tom K

PS The Appendix at the end entitled "To be opened in case of emergency" is worth the price of the book alone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can be EFFORTLESSLY happy. Order this book NOW!, January 13, 2008
By 
Walker West (Manhattan, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
99% of people I met told me "I will be happy if..." or "I was happy when..." as if such a magic moment is illusive and random. (I must admit that I was there as well) We believe that happiness comes with specific conditions, and try to fulfill those conventional, and traditional requirements while our NOW moments are filled with unhappiness.

You can change this old habit, limiting beliefs, right now with Michael Neill's scientifically sound HAPPINESS FORMULA, which he tested for himself and many others. All you have to do is order the book, read, and follow the step-by-step instructions. Yes! It's that simple! Your brain will be configured automatically to a "FEEL HAPPY NOW!" state, which installation will be permanent. Your old program no longer runs successfully. You can't get your unhappiness back. No reason for you to wait for happiness to knock at your doorstep. You can create your happiness NOW!

If you want to be HAPPIER, you will order Michael Neill's other book, "You Can Have What You Want" together with this book. I am a life coach, and use these two books as my coaching bible. They have worked for me, and for my clients without any side effect. "Too good to be true," you will say, however, you will be surprised when you read it. "Try it, you will like it!" It's better than the "green eggs and ham."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively simple, January 30, 2008
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
Don't be put off by Michael's ability to convey complex concepts simply and with humour. The techniques detailed in this book ACTUALLY WORK. Unlike many books that want to show you how you should live, this one offers you the opportunity of real positive change. I end up using these techniques almost subconsciously, probably because Michael, as an NLP master, knows how to get the point across, and I find myself putting into practice what I read quite effortlessly. Its actually quite a fun book to read, even though it does offer you the opportunity for deep lasting change. The thing is Michael keeps telling us that we can have success while having fun and doing it the easy way. Its hard to beleive at first, but in my experience that's exactly what ends up happening! Happy AND Successful? I did not know it was possible, but this is what this book is all about. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Wait? Feel Happy Now!, January 6, 2008
By 
Mandy Evans (Cathedral City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
This super-coach and self-help author fills a fun read with ways to do just what the title says -- feel happy now.

Michael Neill has read more self-help books and studied more personal growth methods than most of us have even heard of. He draws from years of experience as a sought-after success coach and puts it all together so you can forget about trying to achieve happiness. You can ease up on the requirement to pile enough stuff and money together to make yourself happy. You do not even need to master a difficult discipline. Just read and be happy!

Still want to prosper and succeed? No problem. As the author says, "Happiness leads to success more often than success leads to happiness."

Emotional Options: A Handbook for Happiness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael delivers practical happiness!!!!, January 20, 2008
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
There are many books about happiness, but this is one you'll return to again and again. Michael offers a practical and do-able 'try it - you'll like it' approach to happiness. Revealing both his human 'been there, done that' side and his incredible breadth of experience and wisdom, Michael provides the relief that happiness is possible and the way to take action. Don't wait, get your copy now!

Rhonda Hull, Ph.D.
Drive Yourself Happy: A Motor-Vational Maintenance Manual for Maneuvering Through Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on Michael~, January 15, 2008
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
This smart, to the point, change your life book is a god send for any of us who struggle with depression, sadness, and anxiety. Do yourself a favor, read it and then USE IT. This is a book you have to own and use and keep by your bedside!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Feel Happy Now, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Paperback)
This book has great sugguestion outrageous sugguestions on being happy.At times he mentions to try to be unhappy instead of being happy believe it or not,but he has his reasons for sugguestion that when you read the book you will find out.He also mentions taking time to practice a cartoon voice here and there pretend you are mickey mouse he mentions at one point as,well as other things.This is a great book to read if you need cheering up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an excellent book., August 29, 2013
By 
Lissa "xrayiiis" (Palm Desert, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Kindle Edition)
For some reason it's taking me a long time to get thru it, but I'm practicing and retreading all his exercises often. Extremely helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, May 19, 2013
By 
Linda Bosserman (Colorado Springs, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feel Happy Now! (Kindle Edition)
Michael's book is extremely helpful for getting more from life! He has great tips and techniques for aiding us in getting happier and happier every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Feel Happy Now!
Feel Happy Now! by Michael Neill (Paperback - January 1, 2008)
$14.95 $13.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.