Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the Old Fox
In this book, Al Ellis tells you everything you need to achieve long-term freedom from emotional upset. He explains why certain modes of therapy are ineffective and counter-productive. Even if they do no harm, they do not deliver the help you need, as opposed to more efficacious modes of therapy, such as REBT (Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy) and Cognitive Therapy...
Published on July 30, 2002 by Mike Finn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars His books have been better, I give this an OK
His books have been better, I give this an OK. If you are not familiar with REBT you may get lost in some of Dr. Ellis's verbiage. Otherwise, if you can work throw some of his "funky town talk" it's a decent book.
Published 4 months ago by Sirhikesalot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the Old Fox, July 30, 2002
By 
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
In this book, Al Ellis tells you everything you need to achieve long-term freedom from emotional upset. He explains why certain modes of therapy are ineffective and counter-productive. Even if they do no harm, they do not deliver the help you need, as opposed to more efficacious modes of therapy, such as REBT (Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy) and Cognitive Therapy. He distinguishes between merely palliative techniques, like Yoga and Meditation, which help you feel better, but do not lead to lasting improvement, and those which help you get better and stay better.
Ellis makes no bones about the fact that it is often difficult to achieve the changes you want to make - but that's no reason for not doing so!
Having tried other therapeutic methods, until I discovered Dr. Ellis at one of his legendary Friday night workshops, I can tell you that if you stick to the principles laid out in this book, you will be the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Principles of Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy, April 17, 2002
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
In this book, Ellis shows the interested reader how Rational Emotive Therapy works, what the underlying philosphy is, and - most importantly - what you can do to get yourself out of emotional difficulties.
He emphasizes not only the aspect of feeling better, which many clients can more or less easily do (e.g. by exercising, meditating or distracting oneself from difficult feelings and situations). It is much more important to actually get better and permanently stay better. Ellis shows how you can achieve the kind of deep restructruring of your basic philosphies of life. He specifically recommends the use of the following techniques:
- Logical Disputing, e.g.: does it really follow that I am a worm if I am acting wormily?
- Realistic Disputing: Where is the evicence for my absolutist belief?
- Pragmatic Disputing: making cost-benefit ratios of short and long term benefits of my behavior and thinking patterns
To effectively dispute your irrational beliefs, you better dispute them cognitively, emotionally and behaviorally.
What I as a psychologist especially liked about this new book, are Ellis' exemplary disputations of low frustration tolerance, self-downing and other downing. This can help clients considerably to apply the ideas to their real life problems.
A good book to use for bibliotherapy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Time Tested Tool is Very Valuable, June 26, 2009
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
Feeling Better and Getting Better is certainly one of the most effective and most useful books I've ever studied to get a handle on my thoughts, habits, fear, and self-downing. I can easily see the cause and effect of my thoughts, which are mostly paper tigers...and honestly, after almost 18 years of studying, I am fortunate to have this valuable book in my arsenal.

To benefit the most (as with any time tested tool) you have to be honestly dedicated, ready to change and persistent because deep rooted habits, IR's (irrational thoughts) and beliefs can be challenging to shift - but they do change for the better. I tell you, it's a relief to quit fighting with my reality as much. So roll up your sleeves and develop USA (unconditional self-acceptance) and unearth your genuine self worth. I tip my hat to Dr. Ellis.

Another Very effective book is "SOS Help For Emotions" by Dr. Clark. This easy read makes the process of changing for the better a tad fun the way it's written, plus it has tests to make sure you get it and apply the new tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical way to thinking more rationally, January 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
I've read several of Dr.Ellis' books and this one has a lot of the same ideas, but it goes a bit further with how to not just feel better but to get better. I find his methods are very practical as long as one is willing to see the way one might be upsetting themselves with their thinking and willing to push themselves to practice his techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recommended supplement to a professional care, January 12, 2002
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better: Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions is a psychological self-help book with a wealth of advice on how to improve one's physical health by harnessing the power of one's emotional state. Chapters discuss such practical methods for improving one's attitude and therefore health such as thinking, philosophizing, emoting, and engaging in positive activities. A highly recommended addition to any personal self-help reading list, Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better is not a substitute for seeing a therapist or counselor, but rather a recommended supplement to a professional care in order to help the reader respond more effectively to treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Ellis, July 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
Those looking for the usual pampering and hand-holding need not look here. This book is for those who truly want to feel better, even if it means taking a sometimes-unpleasant look at their own behavior.
While this is not a manual for the seriously disturbed, those with more common issues will find a great deal of help, so long as they are willing to apply these principles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, September 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
Albert Ellis is still amazingly relevant when it comes to teaching people how to change their thinking. I wasn't very impressed with the title at first, but as I read, I realized that he has a very good point. Much of the therapy out there in the world is focused only on FEELING better, but we also need to GET better, and then we need to STAY better. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Ellis is KING, January 16, 2007
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
No pychologist has contributed more to cognitive-behavior therapy than Dr. Albert Ellis. I highly recommend this book for everyone! This book will enhance your well-being no matter current situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
Very helpful. Better and more up to date than his earlier books. Very useful and practical ideas for lots of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A scientifically proven self help theory, January 18, 2014
By 
Diego Zlotogora (BUENOS AIRES Argentina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions (Paperback)
Albert Ellis theory is called REBT (Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy). The main highlights of this theory are:
- that "people disturb themselves by the things that happen to them and by their views, feelings and actions"
- that "people have a choice of how they feel"
- that there are 3 main irrational beliefs that disturb people: a) Ď absolutely must perform well b) I absolutely must be treated fairly by others c) I must not find life's conditions very hard
In order to dispute these Irrational Beliefs that are the source of your suffering, he proposes a number of thinking, feeling and behaving methods of actively disputing and counter attacking these beliefs.
REBT's effectiveness was scientifically proven according to Ellis, unlike other psychological theories such as psicotherapy. This is supposedly a great advantage about it. You read it and he really knows how to "sell" it. But I wonder, if REBT is so succesfull why is it that it hasn't become the standard practice of every psychologist? I don't know. However, I recommend this book to everyone interested in psychology and getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Feeling Better, Getting Better, Staying Better : Profound Self-Help Therapy For Your Emotions
$16.95 $14.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.