Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds almost like the First Time
Most of the time when a band rerecords one of its hits, the difference is obvious and immediately apparent. But when I listened to the sample here, I was ready to write that this was the original song. Only after listening to the full-length song could I tell for certain that this is just a really good recreation.

The lead vocal is an almost perfect match for...
Published on September 13, 2011 by Michael Kilgore

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the originals
Why didn't I read the reviews? Sigh. These are not the original versions of the songs. And therefore, IMHO, this is not worth buying, no matter how nicely they are recorded. Why would I ever want hear anything but the original version of Junior Walker's sax solo in Urgent? And someone other than Lou Gramm? Not interested in a Foreigner cover band. No wonder it was...
Published on December 26, 2012 by MA-reader


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds almost like the First Time, September 13, 2011
Most of the time when a band rerecords one of its hits, the difference is obvious and immediately apparent. But when I listened to the sample here, I was ready to write that this was the original song. Only after listening to the full-length song could I tell for certain that this is just a really good recreation.

The lead vocal is an almost perfect match for the original, and the harmonies sound just the same. The instrumentation is a little different at the 2:10 mark, but most of it is spot on.

Since the 1977 version of this song rose to #4 on Billboard and launched the band into at least five years of top-40 hits, it's safe to say that it's pretty good, in a classic rock way. If you liked the original, you'll like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels Like the First CD, October 7, 2011
By 
I've been listening to Foreigner since 1977 when they came out with their self-titled first album. By the way, to this day, their best all the way around. From the music and to the fantastic harmonies, the group could never top that album. As the years went on, band mates left, the group got smaller and then the lead singer had serious health issues and left the band also. Today, Mick Jones continues the legacy of the band with new members and along with Kelly Hansen, lead vocalist, keep the flame alive. Once again, some fans hate the new band because who could ever replace Lou Gramm. To be honest, no one can as no one can replace Steve Perry or Dennis DeYoung or Peter Gabriel or David Lee Roth or Phil Collins. You get my point. At this point, it is what it is. The first cd I love and basically is what I downloaded. I have the other tunes in their classic form and really wasn't interested in that, but wanted to hear these songs done acoustically and I think Mick and the band have done a fine job here. If you're a Foreigner fan I really can't see anything not to like here, unless you're just prejudiced against a different singer then Lou Gramm. Lou Gramm was the heart of Foreigner as far as the singer, but times change, people change, people move on and Mick, I guess, just wanted to keep playing music. Call it whatever you want as far as the whole release thing with CD 2, but pick up the first cd and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like to have heard more, October 9, 2011
This review is from: Feels Like The First Time (MP3 Music)
I saw this CD sitting on a shelf at a local store. After looking into it some more I got a copy. I really enjoyed the unplugged disc the most. The biggest flaw in this disk is the selection of songs. There are no songs taken from the album Head Games. This was a huge disappointment. They chose to many from their first release titled Foreigner. Head Games was the album that put them on the map so they could have at least done one song from this release. The remakes are really cool but they are just remakes of the original tracks except they have a sharper sound as they are done digitally. The DVD is just a bonus as the two audio disks are well worth the price of the package. If you are a fan it is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music and concert, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw Foreigner in concert a few years ago. They are very good musicians. I like the remakes and the DVD concert is definitely a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is fantastic, June 8, 2014
Why? Because...Kelly Hanson (Sp? who knows not checking it)...is just as good a vocalist as Lou folks. Are you one of those folks who get older and dislike when your favorite "OLD" bands get back together, years later, with another singer or band members...just because? Ok...there have been MANY terrible attempts at these things in the history of Rock-N-Roll...but "Foreigner", just is N O T one of them! Their last studio disc is great and so is this 3 disc compilation. I love the Acoustic disc, re-recorded stuff (even though I usually dislike things of this nature) and especially the DVD. The new Foreigner line-up is honestly just as good (if not better) than the original...there is my two cents. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feels Like The First Time (MP3 Music)
I really enjoyed this album. This the second one of their albums that I have downloaded. It is not disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unplugged, rerecorded hits, & concert dvd., October 13, 2011
By 
Gitters (Allendale, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Foreigner's Feels Like the First Time is a triple disc release containing two audio cds and one dvd. The first cd is Foreigner unplugged playing many of their hits acoustic. CD two contains rerecordings of Foreigner's greatest hits with the current line up. The rerecordings are quite good as the band plays the songs just like the original recordings. Kelly Hansen's vocals sound close to Lou Gramm's voice as well. Like I said the rerecordings are good, but they won't replace the original versions. A concert dvd finishes off the set. As far as I know this concert has not been previously released in the United States. The concert runs about 90 minutes, with all the standards like Double Vision, Cold as Ice, Hot Blooded, Juke Box Hero, etc. Feels Like the First Time is not an essential purchase for Foreigner fans, but when you can pick up two cds & a dvd for under twelve dollars you really have no reason to complain because you don't like one or even two of the items. If you enjoy just one of the three you got your money's worth. I bought this for the dvd. I would have gladly paid a little more for it. If you only want the audio discs buy "Records", "The Very Best and Beyond", "Complete Greatest Hits", or even better the first four albums. If you want a live dvd & consider the rest a bonus, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the originals, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feels Like The First Time (MP3 Music)
Why didn't I read the reviews? Sigh. These are not the original versions of the songs. And therefore, IMHO, this is not worth buying, no matter how nicely they are recorded. Why would I ever want hear anything but the original version of Junior Walker's sax solo in Urgent? And someone other than Lou Gramm? Not interested in a Foreigner cover band. No wonder it was only $5. Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zero Stars is more like it, January 4, 2014
By 
John Cassetta (Near Carmen SanDiego) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feels Like The First Time (MP3 Music)
Foreigner without Lou Gramm? That's criminal. This album has all the great songs but it might as well be karaoke night at the bowling alley. Re-recording all of the classics with a different singer is a slap in the face of one of rocks greatest voices. What's next, will the Jimi Hendrix Experience hire a hot shot guitar player to re-do his work? Will the Beatles re-record Abbey Road with Julian Lennon? It's wrong and Lou deserves better than this obvious money grab by Mick Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars canned music, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Feels Like The First Time (MP3 Music)
Sound was way too canned and lacked power. I was hoping for a more concert like sound but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.